LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The triskele and the ternary

(Detailed page)

Summary

The triskele(s)

Typical design of the Celtic art, the triskele (or triskell) became notably the emblem of the Isle of Man, Brittany and Ireland (after the shamrock and the harp). Its drawing, inscribed within a circle, remains unchanged after a third turn rotation to the right or to the left.

Triskele composed of three legs turning around a fixed poleTriskele of three double spirals inscribed in a circleThe coat of arms of the Isle of Man flag is identical on both sides and represents a first type of triskele (from the Greek “triskeles”, which means “has three legs”): three legs, encased in armour, joined at the hip and the circle centre, revolve clockwise. It is a figure that will always fall on its feet as testified by the island motto: “Stabit quocumque jeceris” (He will stand up wherever he will be thrown). This representation type also exists under other forms oriented in the same or opposite direction. 1

One of the most current forms of a second type of triskele consists of three double spirals, the poles of which are coinciding two by two and equidistant from the centre of the circle in which they are inscribed.

It clearly appears that the triskele refers to the number 3. An important number in all traditions and even more significant in the Celtic tradition.

The ternary in the Celtic tradition

1. The Celtic society is completely organized around the sacred and has three functions fulfilled by the representatives of three classes:

  • The sacerdotal class, the function of which is precisely to administer the sacred. In charge of the relationship between the human societies and the divine powers, it organizes and checks the activities of the two other classes;
  • The warrior class, the function of which is to resort to war and magic to defend the society;
  • The hand-crafted and producer class, the function of which is to practise the hand-crafted, agricultural, breeding and commercial activities to ensure the abundance within the society.

The religious function is forbidden to warrior and producer classes. However, the warrior and to a greater extent the producer function is accessible to the members of the sacerdotal class.

The colours attached to these three classes show the undoubted pre-eminence of the religious authority over the Celtic society members, including the King:

  • White is the sacerdotal colour because it contains the whole spectrum of the rainbow colours representative of the rest of the society;
  • Red, the “upper arch” colour of the rainbow, is the King and warrior colour;
  • Blue (green) and yellow belong to the “lower” or “medium” rainbow colours and represent the producer class. 2

2. The sacerdotal class is itself subdivided in three categories:

  • The Druid, generic term applied to all members of the sacerdotal class independently of their specialty. They are the “very scholars” in the triple meaning of the word (Wisdom, Sacred Science and Knowledge);
  • The Bard or “poet” who sings praises or criticisms;
  • The Ovate in charge of the practical part of the worship; in particular prediction, divination and medicine.

3. The Irish pantheon is composed of three Gods:

  • The supreme multi-functional God, in a class of his own, Lug and his two “brothers”:
  • The druid God of friendship and contracts, Dagda;
  • The champion God of war, violence and magic, Ogme.

The World Unity, symbolized by the sovereign divinity Lug, is manifested through the appearance of opposite facets:

  • Dagda representing all what is clear, regulated, ordered and appealing;
  • Ogme covering all what is dark, disrupted, chaotic and sinister.

Nevertheless, Dagda, the God of the contracts, can also resort to the most perfidious tricks and not respect his commitments for, being God, he can do anything in his domain.

Similarly Ogme, God of force and violence, can be cowardly and fearful. 3

So, the opposites do not only exist between polarities, but within the polarities themselves as well. The manifestation is rich of the whole variety contained in the World Unity. The opposite facets evoke both black (yin) and white (yang) halves of the famous yin-yang symbol containing themselves white and black spots respectively. As the Chinese tradition underlines it, there is no yin without yang or yang without yin.

Consequently, the result of the relationships between both opposite facets must not necessarily be purely contractual or conflicting. In fact, it can equally be neutral if perceived as “alchemy” between two complementary principles balancing each other. As an illustration, it is sufficient to evoke a Celtic practice to maintain peace between enemy camps. Each camp kept in hostage, for long periods, volunteers of the adverse camp who were often completely integrated into their new society in the end.

Double spiral as inner boundary line of the yin-yang symbolIn addition, the similarity between the boundary line of the black and white halves of the yin-yang symbol and the double spiral shows that these parallels have nothing to do with chance.

4. We could also mention, among many other examples, the 3 days that precede and follow the celebration day of the most important Celtic “festival”, the “festival” of all functions, Samain. For more details on this subject, see the Celtic “festivals”.

Rather than continuing with a long list, it seems more appropriate to establish the links between these examples and the triskele.

The symbolism of the triskele

The triskele of the first type

It is a gyratory symbol turning around a motionless centre representing the immutable Principle from which everything originates and to which everything returns.

Triskele composed of three legs turning around a fixed poleThe three legs symbolize at once the development, from the pole, of three facets of the Principle and their envelopment, around the pole, during their return towards the same Principle. The identical character of the three legs indicates that these three facets come within the same order in the hierarchy of manifested things and beings. It follows that the arrangement of the triskele has very little importance. Consequently, this triskele of the first type can only represent a tripartition such as the sacerdotal class, in which the three members are all druids, independently of their speciality.

The rotation in a direction or the other is only there to make a distinction between the development and envelopment movements around the principial centre. Considering a rotation movement rather than the other has no more sense than to privilege the clockwise in comparison with the counter clockwise swastika. For more details on this point, see the double spiral.

The triskele of the second type

This symbol reflects another interpretation of the number 3 as the superior pole stands on another plan than the two other poles, to which it is nevertheless linked up. We can put this triskele in relation to the three Gods of the Irish pantheon.

Lug represents the Principle, the One that produces 2 (polarity Dagda-Ogme), 2 produce 3 (One + polarity) and 3 produce everything. In fact, the rest can only be an indefinite variation on the theme of the One and its polarities. This is the reason why the Irish pantheon is restricted to the number 3.

In accordance with this second type of figure, the superior pole symbolizes the Principle and the two others describe opposite facets. It follows that:

Triskele of three double spirals inscribed in a circleIndefinite move between two opposite polesThe two inclined double spirals represent at once the descending movement from the Principle associated with Lug towards the manifestation of opposite poles, Dagda and Ogme, and the ascending movement of resorption of the opposite poles into Unity.

The horizontal double spiral depicts the back and forth movements between the two opposite poles looking for a state of balance. Despite the fact that Dagda is more important than Ogme in the Irish pantheon, the horizontal character of the double spiral indicates than neither of these Gods dominates over the other from the polarity standpoint that only counts here.

This indefinite play between opposites has only two exits, apart from the constant swinging between them:

  • A resorption of the opposites into the Principle according to the preceding figure;
  • The production of a neutral result, fruit of a mutation of the apparent opposites into complements that balance each other and which are represented by the inferior pole of the following figure.

Note that the last triskele is derived from the former through a sixth turn rotation in one direction or the other.

We could continue with other examples, but it clearly appears that the triskele constitutes a ternary representation, of which plenty of examples can be found within the Celtic tradition.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “The Great Triad”. South Asia Books Publisher;
  • Particularly, chapter II devoted to the different kinds of ternaries and chapter V dealing with the double spiral.
  • Françoise Le Roux et Christian-J Guyonvarc'h:
  • “The Celtic civilization”. Ouest-France Publisher, 1990;
  • “Druids”. Ouest-France Publisher, 1986.

1 back The triskele of the first type looks like the swastika and can, similarly, take on both clockwise and counter clockwise forms.

2 back In all celtic languages, the word “glas” refers at the same time to the main colour in the sky (blue) and on earth (green).
The functions and colours described previously can be brought close to the Indian classes (distinct from castes):

  • The Brahmans (white) or priests;
  • The Kshatriyas (red) or warriors;
  • The Vaishays (yellow) or craftsmen, farmers and merchants.
  • A fourth category, the Shudras (black) is composed of beings with no specific function and unworthy to belong to the preceding classes. Add to that the class-less beings in the strictest sense of the word, i.e. the beings beyond classes (equally black). For more details on this point, see the rainbow colours.

3 back Note the complete correspondence between the couples Dagda-Ogme of the Celtic tradition and Mitra-Varuna of the Indian tradition: Mitra is the God of contracts and Varuna the God of war and magic.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le triskèle et le ternaire

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Le ou les triskèle(s)

Figure typique de l'art celtique, le triskèle (ou triscèle) est devenu notamment l'emblème de l'île de Man, de la Bretagne et de l'Irlande (après le trèfle et la harpe). Son dessin s'inscrit dans un cercle et reste inchangé après une rotation d'un tiers de tour à droite ou à gauche.

Triskèle fait de trois jambes tournant autour d'un pôle fixeTriskèle fait de trois doubles spirales inscrites dans un cercleLe blason du drapeau de l'île de Man est identique sur ses deux faces et représente un premier type de triskèle (du grec “triskélès” qui signifie “à trois jambes”): trois jambes, sanglées et réunies par la hanche au centre du cercle, tournent dans le sens des aiguilles d'une montre. Voilà une figure qui retombera toujours sur ses pieds comme en témoigne la devise de l'Île: “Stabit quocumque jeceris” (Il se tiendra debout où qu'on le jette). Ce type de représentation existe aussi sous d'autres formes orientées dans le même sens ou le sens opposé. 1

Une des formes les plus courantes d'un second type de triskèle consiste en trois doubles spirales dont les pôles coïncident deux à deux et sont équidistants du centre du cercle dans lequel elles s'inscrivent.

Il apparaît clairement que le triskèle fait référence au nombre 3. Un nombre important dans toutes les traditions et plus significatif encore dans la tradition celtique.

Le ternaire dans la tradition celtique

1. La société celtique est entièrement organisée autour du sacré et de trois fonctions exercées par les représentants de trois classes:

  • La classe sacerdotale dont la fonction est précisément d'administrer le sacré. En charge des rapports entre les sociétés humaines et les puissances divines, elle organise et contrôle les activités des deux autres classes;
  • La classe guerrière dont la fonction est de recourir à la guerre et à la magie pour la défense de la société;
  • La fonction artisanale et productrice dont la fonction est d'exercer les activités artisanales, agricoles, d'élevage et commerciales pour assurer l'abondance dans la société.

La fonction religieuse est interdite aux classes guerrière et productrice. Par contre, la fonction guerrière, et a fortiori productrice, est accessible aux membres de la classe sacerdotale.

Les couleurs attachées à ces trois classes montrent la prééminence indubitable de l'autorité religieuse sur l'ensemble des membres de la société celtique, Roi y compris:

  • Le blanc est la couleur du sacerdoce car il contient tout le spectre des couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel représentatives du reste de la société;
  • Le rouge, la couleur de la partie “supérieure” de l'arc-en-ciel, est la couleur du Roi et des guerriers;
  • Le bleu (le vert) et le jaune figurent au “bas” ou au “milieu” de l'arc-en-ciel et représentent la classe productrice. 2

2. La classe sacerdotale est elle-même subdivisée en trois catégories:

  • Le Druide, terme générique appliqué à tous les membres de la classe sacerdotale indépendamment de leur spécialité. Ce sont les “très savants” au triple sens du mot (Sagesse, Science sacrée et Connaissance);
  • Le Barde ou “poète” qui chante les louanges ou les blâmes;
  • Le Vate en charge de la partie pratique du culte; en particulier la prédiction, la divination et la médecine.

3. Le panthéon irlandais comprend trois dieux:

  • Le dieu suprême multifonctionnel et hors classe, Lug et ses deux “frères”:
  • Le dieu-druide de l'amitié et des contrats, Dagda;
  • Le dieu-champion de la guerre, de la violence et de la magie, Ogme.

L'Unité du Monde, symbolisée par la divinité souveraine Lug, se manifeste sous l'apparence de facettes opposées:

  • Dagda représentant tout ce qui est clair, réglé, ordonné et attrayant;
  • Ogme recouvrant tout ce qui est sombre, déréglé, chaotique et sinistre.

Toutefois, Dagda, le dieu des contrats, peut aussi recourir aux ruses les plus perfides et ne pas respecter ses engagements car, étant dieu, il peut tout dans son domaine.

De même Ogme, dieu de la force et de la violence, peut se montrer lâche et peureux. 3

Ainsi les opposés n'existent pas seulement entre les polarités, mais également au sein des polarités elles-mêmes. La manifestation est riche de toute la diversité contenue dans l'Unité du Monde. Les facettes opposées évoquent les deux moitiés noire (yin) et blanche (yang) du fameux symbole yin-yang qui elles-mêmes renferment respectivement du blanc et du noir. Car, comme le souligne la tradition chinoise, il n'y a pas de yin sans yang ni de yang sans yin.

En conséquence, le résultat des rapports entre les deux facettes opposées ne doit pas obligatoirement être purement contractuel ou conflictuel. En effet, il peut également être neutre s'il est perçu comme une “alchimie” entre deux principes complémentaires qui s'équilibrent l'un l'autre. Il suffit d'évoquer, à titre d'illustration, une pratique celtique de maintien de la paix entre camps ennemis. Chaque camp gardait en otage, pour de longues périodes, des volontaires du camp adverse qui finissaient d'ailleurs souvent par s'intégrer totalement dans leur nouvelle société.

Double spirale, ligne de démarcation du symbole yin-yangEn outre, la similitude de forme entre la ligne de démarcation des parties noire et blanche du symbole yin-yang et la double spirale montre que ces rapprochements n'ont rien de fortuit.

4. Nous pourrions aussi mentionner, parmi bien d'autres exemples, les 3 jours qui précèdent et suivent le jour de la célébration de la “fête” celtique la plus importante, la “fête” de toutes les fonctions, Samain. Pour plus de détails sur ce sujet, voir les “fêtes” celtiques.

Plutôt que de poursuivre une longue énumération, il semble plus opportun d'établir les liens entre ces exemples et le triskèle.

Le symbolisme du triskèle

Le triskèle du premier type

Il s'agit d'un symbole giratoire tournant autour d'un pôle immobile représentant le Principe immuable d'où tout provient et où tout retourne.

Triskèle fait de trois jambes tournant autour d'un pôle fixeLes trois jambes symbolisent à la fois le développement de trois facettes du Principe à partir du pôle et leur enveloppement autour du pôle au cours de leur retour vers ce même Principe. Le caractère identique des trois jambes indique que ces trois facettes relèvent du même ordre dans la hiérarchie des êtres et des choses manifestées. Il s'ensuit que la disposition du triskèle n'a que peu d'importance. En conséquence, ce triskèle du premier type ne peut que représenter une tripartition telle que celle de la classe sacerdotale dont les trois membres sont tous des druides, indépendamment de leur spécialité.

La rotation dans un sens ou dans l'autre n'est là que pour distinguer les deux mouvements de développement et d'enveloppement autour du pôle principiel. Retenir un mouvement de rotation plutôt que l'autre n'a pas plus de sens que de privilégier le swastika dextrogyre par rapport au sénestrogyre. Pour davantage de détails sur ce point, voir la double spirale.

Le triskèle du second type

Ce symbole s'apparente à une autre interprétation du nombre 3 car le pôle supérieur se place sur un autre plan que celui des deux autres pôles auxquels il est néanmoins relié. Nous pouvons mettre ce triskèle en relation avec les trois dieux du panthéon irlandais.

Lug représente le Principe, l'Un qui produit 2 (polarité Dagda-Ogme), 2 produit 3 (Un + polarité) et 3 produit tout. En effet, le reste ne peut être qu'une variation indéfinie sur le thème de l'Un et de ses polarités. C'est pourquoi le panthéon irlandais est restreint au nombre 3.

Conformément à la figure du second type, le pôle supérieur symbolise le Principe et les deux autres pôles décrivent des facettes opposées. Il s'ensuit que:

Triskèle fait de trois doubles spirales inscrites dans un cercleMouvement indéfini entre deux pôles opposésLes deux doubles spirales inclinées représentent à la fois le mouvement descendant du Principe associé à Lug vers la manifestation des pôles opposés, Dagda et Ogme, et le mouvement ascendant de résorption des pôles opposés dans l'Unité.

La double spirale horizontale figure les mouvements de va et vient entre les deux pôles opposés à la recherche d'un état d'équilibre. Bien que Dagda soit plus important que Ogme dans le panthéon irlandais, le caractère horizontal de la double spirale indique qu'aucun de ces dieux ne prédomine sur l'autre du point de vue de la polarité qui seul importe ici.

Ce jeu indéfini entre opposées n'a que deux issues, en dehors du perpétuel balancement entre eux:

  • Une résorption des oppositions dans le Principe à l'image de la figure précédente;
  • La production d'un résultat neutre, fruit d'une mutation des oppositions apparentes en complémentaires qui s'équilibrent et représenté par le pôle inférieur de la figure suivante.

Notons que ce dernier dérive du premier à partir d'une rotation d'un sixième de tour dans un sens ou dans l'autre.

Nous pourrions poursuivre avec d'autres exemples, mais il apparaît clairement que le triskèle constitue un des modes de représentation du ternaire dont la tradition celtique offre nombre d'exemples.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “La Grande Triade”. Éditions Gallimard 1957;
  • Particulièrement, le chapitre II consacré aux différents genres de ternaires et le chapitre V dévolu à la double spirale.
  • Françoise Le Roux et Christian-J Guyonvarc'h:
  • “La civilisation celtique”. Éditions Ouest-France, 1990;
  • “Les Druides”. Éditions Ouest-France, 1986.

1 retour Le triskèle du premier type s'apparente au swastika et peut, de la même façon, revêtir les deux formes dextrogyre et sénestrogyre.

2 retour Dans toutes les langues celtiques, le mot “glas” désigne à la fois la couleur dominante dans le ciel (bleu) et sur terre (vert).
Les fonctions et les couleurs décrites précédemment peuvent être rapprochées des classes de l'Inde (à distinguer des castes):

  • Les Brâhmanes (blanc) ou prêtres;
  • Les Kshatriyas (rouge) ou guerriers;
  • Les Vaishays (jaune) ou artisans, agriculteurs et marchands.
  • Une quatrième catégorie regroupe les êtres sans fonction spécifique et indignes de figurer dans les précédentes, les Shûdras (noir). À cela s'ajoute les hors classes, au sens supérieur du mot, c'est-à-dire les êtres au-delà des classes (noir également). Pour plus de détails sur ce point, voir les couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel.

3 retour Notez la totale correspondance entre les couples Dagda-Ogme de la tradition celtique et Mitra-Varuna de la tradition indienne: Mitra est le dieu des contrats et Varuna le dieu de la guerre et de la magie.

Haut