LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The triskele and the ternary

(Summary)

The two types of triskele

The triskele pattern goes far back in time and has covered a large geographical zone; we can find it in Japan as well as among the Amerindians. Nevertheless, it found and is still finding its widest spreading in the Western European regions. Pattern par excellence of the Celtic art, the triskele is associated with a tripartition of the circle that remains unchanged after a rotation of a third of turn in one direction or the other.

Briefly, the pattern consists of three points, equidistant between each other as regards the circle centre in which it is inscribed. It is nevertheless of two types whether the three points are linked up to the circle centre or between each other.

1. The first type of figure corresponds to a development movement from the Centre into three facets and an envelopment movement of these facets around the Centre, the unitary Principle containing them. These three facets can only be of the same order during their manifestation, i.e. none of them can play a privileged role in comparison with the two others.

A rotation around the centre does not impair at all the pattern, which puts into relation the motionless Principle and the manifestation of three of its facets. As an example of the first type, we can evoke the Indian triple manifestation (“Trimurti”) composed of three Gods: Brahm the Creator, Vishnu the Preserver and Shiva the Transformer. All three are manifested aspects of the “Supreme” God, Brahma, beyond all distinctions and occupying the Centre.

Schematic form of the first type of triskeleSchematic form of the second type of triskeleInverse schematic form of the second type of triskeleDetail of Hoher Dom at Paderborm (Westphalia-Germany)2. Conversely, a rotation of the second type pattern leads to a figure where one of the three poles is comparatively above or under the two others. This pole plays a privileged role that differs according to its relatively superior or inferior position:

The superior pole represents the unitary Principle and the two others, the polarity of the Principle according to two opposed facets. As an example, let us mention the Wise men. The first is offering gold to the “King-child”; the second gives incense to the “Priest” and the third is presenting myrtle to the “Prophet”. The “Prophet” holds the power of the two other functions (sacerdotal and royal), considered in their primeval Unity and manifested separately into the “Priest” and “King”. For more details on this subject, see the Wise men.

The inferior pole characterizes the result of the union of the two apparently opposed facets into a third pole, reflection of the unitary Principle at the level of this polarity only. As an example, let us signal Osiris, Isis and Horus ternary or, more generally, father, mother and child, fruit of the two parents.

The opposite stained-glass window detail of the Hoher Dom at Paderborm (Westphalia-Germany) offers an interesting Christian example of the second type of triskele showing three hares linked through their ears 1. It is often wrongly interpreted as a Trinity representation. Indeed, the Holy Spirit could in no way be compared to the mother.

As a figuration mode of the ternary, the triskele affects various traditions. It is the object of further developments in the framework of the most significant tradition in this respect, the Celtic tradition.

1 back The hare's ears draw a triskele of the second type as underlined by the following riddle: Drei Hasen und Löffel drei und doch hat jeder Hase zwei! (Three hares and three ears, but nevertheless each hare has two ears!).
The illustration of the triskele based on the big ears of the hare echoes the words of Saint Matthew's Gospel (13-9): “He who has ears to hear, let him hear!”, i.e. only the being opened to the divine Word can understand it.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le triskèle et le ternaire (Résumé)

Les deux types de triskèle

Le motif du triskèle remonte fort loin dans le temps et a couvert une large zone géographique; nous le retrouvons aussi bien au Japon que chez les Amérindiens. C'est cependant dans les régions d'Europe occidentale qu'il a connu et connaît encore sa plus grande diffusion. Motif par excellence de l'art celtique, le triskèle est associé à la tripartition du cercle qui reste inchangée après une rotation d'un tiers de tour dans un sens ou dans l'autre.

Schématiquement, le motif consiste en trois points équidistants l'un de l'autre et du centre du cercle dans lequel il s'inscrit. Il est de deux types toutefois selon que les trois points sont reliés au centre du cercle ou entre eux.

1. La figure du premier type correspond à un mouvement de développement à partir du Centre sous la forme de trois facettes et d'enveloppement de ces mêmes facettes autour du Centre, du Principe unitaire qui les contient. Ces trois facettes ne peuvent être que du même ordre au cours de leur manifestation, c'est-à-dire qu'aucune d'entre elles ne joue un rôle privilégié par rapport aux deux autres.

Une rotation autour du centre n'altère en rien le motif qui met en relation le Principe immobile et la manifestation de trois de ses facettes.

Comme exemple du premier type, nous pouvons évoquer la triple manifestation indienne (“Trimûrti”) composée de trois dieux: Brahmâ le Créateur, Vishnu le Préservateur et Shiva le Transformateur. Tous les trois sont des aspects manifestés du dieu “Suprême”, Brahma, au-delà de toutes distinctions et occupant le Centre.

Forme schématique du triskèle du premier typeForme schématique du triskèle du second typeForme schématique inversée du triskèle du second typeDétail du Hoher Dom à Paderborm (Westphalie-Allemagne)2. Une rotation du motif du second type aboutit, au contraire, à une figure où l'un des trois pôles est au-dessus ou au-dessous des deux autres. Ce pôle joue un rôle privilégié qui diffère selon qu'il est relativement supérieur ou inférieur:

Le pôle supérieur représente le Principe unitaire et les deux autres, la polarité du Principe selon deux facettes opposées. À titre d'exemple, mentionnons les Rois-mages. Le premier d'entre eux offre l'or à l'enfant “Roi”, le deuxième donne l'encens au “Prêtre” et le troisième présente la myrrhe au “Prophète”. Le “Prophète” détient la plénitude des deux autres fonctions, sacerdotale et royale, envisagées dans leur Unité première et qui se manifestent distinctement dans les personnes du “Prêtre” et du “Roi”. Pour plus de détails sur ce sujet, voir les Rois-mages.

Le pôle inférieur caractérise le résultat de l'union de ces deux facettes apparemment opposées dans un troisième pôle, reflet du Principe unitaire au niveau de cette seule polarité. Comme exemple, signalons le ternaire Osiris, Isis et Horus ou, plus généralement, père, mère et enfant, fruit des deux parents.

Le détail ci-contre d'un vitrail du Hoher Dom à Paderborm (Westphalie-Allemagne) offre un exemple intéressant de triskèle chrétien du second type montrant trois lièvres reliés par les oreilles 1. Il est souvent interprété à tort comme une représentation de la Trinité. En effet, le Saint Esprit ne saurait en aucune façon être comparé à la mère.

Mode de figuration du ternaire, le triskèle touche à des traditions diverses. Il fait l'objet de plus amples développements dans le cadre de la tradition la plus significative à cet égard, à savoir la tradition celtique.

1 back Les oreilles des lièvres dessinent un triskèle du second type comme le souligne l'énigme suivante: Drei Hasen und Löffel drei und doch hat jeder Hase zwei! (Trois lièvres et trois oreilles et pourtant chacun d'eux en a deux!).
L'illustration du triskèle à partir des grandes oreilles du lièvre fait écho aux mots de l'Évangile de Saint Mathieu (13-9): “Que celui qui a des oreilles pour entendre, entende!”, c'est-à-dire que seul l'être ouvert à la parole divine peut la comprendre.

Page détaillée

Haut