LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The World Tree, unity and duality

The World, Middle and inverted Trees

The tree is a symbol common to various traditional forms. It is represented under varied appearances because of its double nature:

  • The trunk links the roots plunging into the earth to the top rising in the air; it depicts the vertical link, the Axis between Earth and Heaven;
  • The lateral branches represent the division, the separation in comparison with the common trunk.

The lateral branches figure duality coming out of the common trunk that unites them. The tree gathers at once unity through its vertical trunk and duality through its horizontal branches. This double nature can be found in various trees proper or common to different traditional forms.

Tree, unity and duality

Trunk of the divided treeTrunk of the divided and then reunified treeThree trees united by their rootsThe ideas of unity and duality are even more explicit in Chinese symbolism. The Chinese, for instance, represent trees where the trunk or the branches separate or rejoin themselves after having been divided. In the first case, everything is coming out of unity and deploying in the duality of the universal manifestation process. In the second, everything is coming out of unity, manifested in duality before rediscovering the lost unity.

Instead of sticking to a unique tree, it is also possible to represent a set of three trees united through their roots. in this case, the middle tree symbolizes unity whereas the two lateral ones correspond to the manifestation of duality. We rediscover here something similar to the description of Jesus's crucifixion. Christ's cross was placed between the crosses of the good thief on his right and the bad one on his left. The cross, or more precisely its vertical branch, and the Middle Tree symbolize the Middle Path, the way of union beyond antagonisms.

The picture of the three trees, of unity and duality, can notably be found in Biblical and Hebraic traditional forms:

  • In the biblical symbolism, the “Tree of Life” matches the “Tree of knowledge” of good and evil;
  • In the Kabbalah, the “Sefirotic Tree” is composed of the “middle” column located between the “right” and “left” ones depicting duality.

Many other traditional forms use the image of the tree in relation to their own world representation. Let us quote for example:

  • In the Sufi form, the universal tree is viewed in its harmonious and total development from the principial seed to the complete manifestation;
  • In the Buddhist form, Gautama found illumination and showed the way to his disciples at the foot of the “Bodhi” tree.
  • In the Chinese form, the “Kien Mu” has nine branches and nine roots respectively reaching nine Heavens and nine sources where the dead are resting;
  • In the Nordic form, “Yggdrasil” is a gigantic tree; its branches bear nine worlds split into three domains and its three roots draw the water from three sources;
  • In the Celtic form, the sacred trees are numerous and representatives of the region where they are venerated.
  • In the Hindu form, “Agni”, the igneous principle, is also known as Vanaspati or the Lord of Trees;

Even when they are associated with known species, these trees symbolize the World Tree and their trunk the World Axis within the various considered forms. As the World Axis, the World Tree can only be located at the World Centre.

The branches of the tree spreading in a horizontal plane represent the various modes associated with the development of the World in a given state. These modes can appear to complement or oppose each other as in any manifestation process based on duality. The portion of the common trunk to these embranchments characterizes the centre of this state where the various modes are unified. The totality of the trunk, the Axis consequently represents the set of the centres of the World states from the most terrestrial to the most celestial.

All these states are deploying themselves from the roots of the tree which constitute an image of the Principle at the source of manifestation. Just as the World Tree, the Principle represents the World Centre.

Inverted tree

The straight and inverted treesThe representation of the tree that rises from the roots to the top conveys a metaphysical vision starting from the Principle (roots) to the deployment of the manifestation (branches). The inverted vision starting from the manifestation (branches) and going back to the Principle (roots) corresponds to a cosmological vision associated with the representation of the inverted tree. The later is the reflection of the previous one in the mirror of the waters separating the world beyond, of the Principle, from the world below, of the manifestation. These two trees are only linked through the one and unique Principle and can schematically be represented by the opposite picture. Seen bottom up, i.e. from the manifestation point of view, the tree is inverted. Seen top down, i.e. from the Principle point of view, the tree is set upright.

The two trees not only offer an image of two inverted views of the World (macrocosm), but also of the being living inside (microcosm).

It follows that the tree also symbolizes the manifestation of the celestial unified being into his terrestrial divided state (descending path) and the reintegration of the terrestrial being into his celestial state (ascending path). Then, the being rediscovers his original state, the state of the “Primeval Androgyne”.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symbols of Sacred Science”, Sophia Perennis Publisher, 2004;
  • More specifically, chapter 51 on “The World Tree”.
  • “The Symbolism of the Cross”, Sophia Perennis Publisher, 2002;
  • Particularly, chapter 9 on “The Tree in the midst”.
Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

L'Arbre du Monde, unité et dualité

Les Arbres du Monde, du Milieu et inversé

L'Arbre est un symbole commun à diverses formes traditionnelles. Il est représenté sous des apparences variées en raison de sa double nature:

  • Le tronc relie les racines plongeant dans la terre et la cime s'élevant dans les airs; il figure le lien vertical, l'Axe entre la Terre et le Ciel;
  • Les branches latérales représentent la division, la séparation par rapport au tronc commun.

Les branches latérales dépeignent la dualité sortant du tronc commun qui les unit. L'Arbre réunit à la fois l'unité par son tronc vertical et la dualité par ses branches horizontales. Cette double nature se retrouve dans les divers arbres propres ou communs à différentes formes traditionnelles.

Arbre, unité et dualité

Tronc de l'arbre diviséTronc de l'arbre divisé, puis réunifiéTrois arbres unis par leurs racinesLes idées d'unité et de dualité sont encore plus explicitement réunies dans le symbolisme chinois. Les Chinois représentent, par exemple, des arbres dont le tronc ou les branches se séparent ou se rejoignent après avoir été divisées. Dans le premier cas, tout part de l'unité et se déploie dans la dualité du processus de la manifestation universelle. Dans le second, tout part de l'unité, se manifeste dans la dualité avant de retrouver l'unité perdue.

Au lieu de s'en tenir à un arbre unique, il est aussi possible de représenter un ensemble de trois arbres unis par leurs racines. Dans ce cas, l'arbre du milieu symbolise l'unité tandis que les deux arbres latéraux correspondent à la manifestation de la dualité. Nous retrouvons ici quelque chose de semblable à la description de Jésus crucifié. La croix du Christ était placée entre celles du bon larron sur sa droite et du mauvais sur sa gauche. La croix, ou plus précisément sa branche verticale, et l'Arbre du Milieu symbolisent la Voie du Milieu, la voie de l'union au-delà des antagonismes.

L'image des trois arbres, de l'unité et de la dualité réunies, se retrouve notamment dans les formes traditionnelles biblique et hébraïque:

  • Dans le symbolisme biblique, “l'Arbre de Vie” est assorti de “l'Arbre de la Science du bien et du mal”;
  • Dans la Kabbale hébraïque, “l'Arbre Séphirotique” est formé de la colonne du “milieu” située entre les colonnes de “droite” et de “gauche” figurant la dualité.

Bien d'autres formes traditionnelles utilisent une image de l'arbre en relation avec leur propre représentation du monde. Citons par exemple:

  • Dans la forme soufite, l'arbre universel est envisagé dans son développement harmonieux et total depuis la semence principielle jusqu'à la manifestation intégrale;
  • Dans la forme bouddhiste, Gautama trouva l'illumination et montra la voie à ses disciples au pied de l'arbre de la “Bodhi”.
  • Dans la forme chinoise, le “Kien-Mu” a neuf branches et neuf racines qui atteignaient respectivement les neuf cieux et les neuf sources où reposent les morts;
  • Dans la forme nordique, “Yggdrasil” est un arbre gigantesque; ses branches supportent neuf mondes répartis en trois domaines et ses trois racines puisent l'eau à trois sources;
  • Dans la forme celtique, les arbres sacrés sont nombreux et représentatifs de la région où ils sont vénérés.
  • Dans la forme hindoue, “Agni”, le principe igné, est aussi dénommé Vanaspati ou Seigneur des Arbres;

Même quand ils sont associés à des espèces connues, ces arbres symbolisent l'Arbre du Monde et leur tronc l'Axe du Monde au sein des diverses formes considérées. En tant qu'Axe du Monde, l'Arbre du Monde ne peut être situé qu'au Centre du Monde.

Les branches de l'arbre s'étendant dans un plan horizontal représentent les diverses modalités associées au développement du Monde dans un état donné. Ces modalités peuvent apparaître complémentaires ou opposées comme dans tout processus de manifestation fondé sur la dualité. La portion de tronc commun à ces embranchements caractérise le centre de cet état où les diverses modalités sont unifiées. La totalité du tronc, l'Axe représente par conséquent l'ensemble des centres des états du Monde depuis les plus terrestres jusqu'aux plus célestes.

Tous ces états se déploient à partir des racines de l'arbre qui constituent une image du Principe à la source de la manifestation. Tout comme l'Arbre du Monde, le Principe représente le Centre du Monde.

Arbre inversé

L'arbre droit et l'arbre inverséLa représentation de l'arbre qui s'élève tout droit depuis les racines jusqu'à la cime traduit une vision métaphysique partant du Principe (racines) pour aboutir au déploiement de la manifestation (branches). La vision inverse partant de la manifestation (branches) et revenant au Principe (racines) correspond à une vision cosmologique associée à la représentation de l'arbre inversé. Ce dernier est le reflet du premier dans le miroir des eaux séparant le monde d'en haut, du Principe, du monde d'en bas, de la manifestation. Ces deux arbres sont liés par le seul et unique Principe et peuvent être schématiquement représentés par la figure ci-contre. Vu de bas en haut, i.e. du point de vue de l'être manifesté, l'arbre est inversé. Vu de haut en bas, i.e. du point de vue du Principe, l'arbre est redressé.

Les deux arbres n'offrent pas seulement une image de deux vues inverses du Monde (macrocosme), mais également de l'être qui l'habite (microcosme).

Il s'ensuit que l'arbre symbolise aussi la manifestation de l'être céleste unifié dans son état terrestre divisé (voie descendante) et la réintégration de l'être terrestre dans son état céleste (voie ascendante). L'être retrouve alors son état originel, l'état de “l'Androgyne primordial”.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symboles de la Science sacrée”. Éditions Gallimard, 1962;
  • Notamment, le chapitre LI sur “L'Arbre du Monde”.
  • “Le Symbolisme de la Croix”. Éditions Guy Trédianel, 1996
  • En particulier, le chapitre IX sur “L'Arbre du Milieu”.
Haut