LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The serpent wound round the tree

(Detailed page)

Summary

The being, the tree and the serpent

Chronos, god of timeIn mythology, it is frequent to assimilate a being to a tree or to transform him into a vegetable. His feet laid on earth represent the roots, his torso the trunk the tree and his arms the first branches. As the tree, he symbolizes the link between Earth and Heaven, the axis relating his deepest demons to his most elevated aspirations. If the axis represents the direct path between Earth and Heaven, the serpent enveloping the being or the tree draws an indirect path, which is not rectilinear, but cyclic where the end of a cycle coincides with the beginning of the following.

Each cycle is split into two luminous and dark successive phases. The being is, in fact, oriented according to the four compass points and presents an enlightened side towards south and a dark one towards north. The luminous phase of a cycle corresponds to the birth of a new state of being; the obscure phase to the extinction of this state and the preparation of the birth of a new state by the light of a new cycle.

Besides, the lower cycles are associated with the terrestrial world of obscurity and ignorance while the higher cycles come under the celestial world of light and knowledge. It follows that the descending path from Heaven to Earth, light towards obscurity, corresponds to the manifestation of the Principle at the source of all beings and things. On the other hand, the ascending path from Earth to Heaven, obscurity towards light, goes hand in hand with a return from the manifestation to the Principle.

The cycles can be associated with the apparent daily move of the sun, alternately diurnal and nocturnal, luminous and obscure. As for the descending and ascending paths, they hare to be related to the apparent annual move of the sun or, more precisely, with the movement of the sun at its zenith, descending between the summer and winter solstices and ascending between the winter and summer solstices.

The sun is a sensitive image of the Centre of the universe, of the original immutable Principle. It is the organizer of the cycles of existence and the ray of the World Axis goes through it.

Consequently, the ascension towards the Principle implies passing from one of the multiple cycles to its projection on the Axis. This projection represents the centre of the being's state associated with the cycle. Then, the being will be able to ascend from centre to centre towards the Principle.

The Golden Fleece and the Hesperides' garden tree

The Golden Fleece

Hera (the protective) could not stand the infidelities of her divine spouse, Zeus. Also, she forced Nephele (the cloud), who was in love with Zeus, to marry Athamas, son of Aeolus. The couple got two children, a son Phrixus and a daughter Helle. The couple was in a shaky state and Athamas felt for Ino. Ino planned to get rid of Phrixus and Helle. Close to the moment to be sacrificed, the brother and sister rode on the back of a winged ram with a golden fleece, a gift from Zeus to Hera. The ram had been sent by Hera to save both children. They crossed the sea, but overcome by dizziness, Helle fell in what became the Hellespont (Dardanelles). Having reached Colchide, the eastern limits of the known world, where the sun rises, Phrixus sacrificed the ram to Zeus and gave the fleece to Aeëtes (the eagle), the king of the region. The latter hung the Golden Fleece on a tree protected by a serpent or laid it down in a cave kept by a dragon depending on the version referenced.

Greek vase detail: Jason giving the Golden Fleece to PeliasAeson, king of Iolcos, was deposed by his brother Pelias. Jason wanted to put his father back on the throne and started out for Iolcos. Pelias promised the kingdom to him if he succeeded in seizing the Golden Fleece. Although the mission was renowned for being impossible, Jason embarked with the Argonauts and, after a number of tests, captured the fabulous fleece. However, he was helped in his venture by Medea, daughter of the king Aeëtes. Madly in love with Jason, Medea made use of magic to put the custodian of the Golden Fleece to sleep.

Jason did not confront the custodian of the treasure and he seized a fleece despite the fact that he did not deserve it. Indeed, the acquisition was the work of the couple and when Jason parted from Medea, he found a tragic end. He was never able to rediscover the path of light.

The Golden Fleece is a solar symbol and the horns of the ram an image of the radiance of the star. It is a matter of radiance of the spiritual Sun that never leaves its zenith. It belongs to the invisible world beyond the visible sun; it comes under the Light of the Knowledge of the immutable Principle beyond the light of the knowledge of the visible world.

The golden fruit of the Hesperides' garden tree

Greek vase detail: the Hesperides around the golden fruit treeDaughters of Nyx (the night) and Erebus (obscurity), the Hesperides (nymphs of the west) were known as Arethusa, Erytheia and Hesperia. They lived on an island located on the western limits of the known world, where the sun sets. The three sisters resided in the garden where the tree of the famous “golden fruit” grew, often called “golden apples” because of the Latin origin pomum of the generic word for fruit.

Gold is a symbol of light, particularly of the sun. Situated at the Centre of the World, the Sun symbolizes the Light of the immutable Principle that regulates the movement of the planets and gives life to beings. The immutability is the source of immortality characteristic of a being's state beyond the individual or cosmic existence. The being frees himself from his individual condition and passes from the imprisonment into duality to the release into unity. He is liberated from the cycles of death to a being's state followed by a rebirth into another one. Then, he can be united with the Principle while tasting the fruit of the Hesperides' garden and rediscover his original state.

Kept by a serpent or a dragon, these fruits symbolize the unified state beyond antagonisms. The animal allowed their picking only to qualified beings. In order to be able to decide who deserve them, the custodian had to be able to attain the principle unifying the opposites: celestial and terrestrial, beneficial and malefic etc.

The links of the Hesperides with the tree and the serpent are even more underlined in another legend according to which Arethusa was changed into a willow, Erytheia into a young elm and Hesperia into a poplar:

  • The evergreen willow is a symbol of eternal Light, immortal spiritual Life;
  • The hermaphroditic young elm corresponds to the base of the fork where the opposites are ready to manifest themselves;
  • With its leaves, dark on one side and light on the other one, the poplar symbolizes duality of the opposites: dead and rebirth, night and day, obscurity and light, ignorance and knowledge etc.

These three trees represent three aspects (unity, potential duality and manifested duality) gathered within the Tree of Life and the serpent custodian of its fruit.

The cross and the serpent

Latin and Tau crossesWith its roots plunging into the ground and its branches rising towards the heights, the tree symbolizes the link between Earth and Heaven. Its vertical trunk represents the World Axis gathering all the centres of the being's states together, from the most terrestrial to the most celestial. Its horizontal branches characterize the deployment of the being's states from their respective centres according to an indefinite multitude of modes. It is symbolized by the Latin cross, with one or several branches, of the biblical tradition.

Any horizontal section of the tree at the level of a given state splits the set of the being's states into the higher and the lower states relatively to the considered state. The cutting of the tree at the level of this section keeps only the states lower than the given state. This truncated tree generally depicts the physical and psychical being's states proper to the world of duality. It is symbolized by the Tau cross of the Egyptian tradition.

Wound around the Tau cross, the serpent links the world of duality and the Tree of knowledge of good and evil. As for the Latin cross, it symbolizes the totality of the being's states (physical, psychical and spiritual), the alliance of unity and duality made in the image of the Tree of Life.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “The symbolism of the cross”. Sophia Perennis Publisher 2002;
  • Notably, chapter 25 entitled “The tree and the serpent”.
Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le serpent enroulé autour de l'arbre

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

L'être, l'arbre et le serpent

Chronos, dieu du tempsDans la mythologie, il est fréquent d'assimiler un être à un arbre ou de le transformer en végétal. Ses pieds posés à terre représentent les racines, son torse le tronc de l'arbre et ses bras les premières branches. Comme l'arbre, il symbolise le lien entre la Terre et le Ciel, l'axe qui relie ses démons les plus profonds à ses aspirations les plus élevées. Si l'axe représente la voie directe entre la Terre et le Ciel, le serpent enveloppant l'être ou l'arbre dessine une voie indirecte, non pas rectiligne, mais cyclique où la fin d'un cycle coïncide avec le début du suivant.

Chaque cycle est scindé en deux phases successives lumineuse et sombre. L'être est, en effet, orienté selon les quatre points cardinaux et présente un côté éclairé au sud et un côté sombre au nord. La phase lumineuse d'un cycle correspond à la naissance d'un nouvel état d'être; la phase obscure à l'extinction de cet état et à la préparation de la naissance d'un nouvel état à la lumière d'un nouveau cycle.

Par ailleurs, les cycles inférieurs sont associés au monde terrestre, de l'obscurité et de l'ignorance tandis les cycles supérieurs relèvent du monde céleste, de la lumière et de la connaissance. Il s'ensuit que la voie descendante du Ciel vers la Terre, de la lumière vers l'obscurité, correspond à la manifestation du Principe à la source de tous les êtres et de toutes les choses. À l'inverse, la voie ascendante de la Terre vers le Ciel, de l'obscurité vers la lumière, va de pair avec un retour de la manifestation vers le Principe.

Les cycles peuvent être associés à la course quotidienne apparente du soleil, alternativement diurne et nocturne, lumineuse et obscure. Quant aux voies descendante et ascendante, elles sont à mettre en relation avec la course annuelle apparente du soleil ou, plus précisément, avec le mouvement du soleil à son zénith, descendant entre les solstices d'été et d'hiver et ascendant entre les solstices d'hiver et d'été.

Le soleil est une image sensible du Centre de l'univers, du Principe immuable originel. Il est l'ordonnateur des cycles de l'existence et le rayon de l'Axe du Monde passe par lui.

En conséquence, l'ascension vers le Principe implique de passer de l'un des multiples cycles à sa projection sur l'Axe. Cette projection représente le centre de l'état d'être associé au cycle. L'être pourra alors s'élever de centre en centre vers le Principe.

La Toison d'or et l'arbre du jardin des Hespérides

La Toison d'or

Héra (la protectrice) supportait très mal les infidélités de son divin époux, Zeus. Aussi, contraignit-elle Néphélé (la nuée), qui était amoureuse de Zeus, d'épouser Athamas, fils d'Éole. Le couple eut deux enfants, un fils Phrixos et une fille Hellé. Le couple battait de l'aile et Athamas s'éprit d'Ino. Ino projeta de se débarrasser de Phrixos et de Hellé. Au moment d'être sacrifiés, le frère et la sœur montèrent sur le dos d'un bélier ailé à la toison d'or, don de Zeus à Héra. Le bélier avait été envoyé par Héra pour sauver les enfants. Ils franchirent la mer, mais prise de vertige, Hellé tomba dans ce qui devint l'Hellespont (détroit des Dardanelles). Parvenu en Colchide, aux limites orientales du monde connu, là où le soleil se lève, Phrixos sacrifia le bélier à Zeus et fit don de la toison à Aiétès (l'aigle), roi de la contrée. Ce dernier accrocha la Toison d'or à un arbre protégé par un serpent ou la déposa dans une grotte gardée par un dragon selon la version référencée.

Détail vase grec: Jason remettant la Toison d'or à PéliasAeson, roi d'Iolcos, fut détrôné par son frère Pélias. Jason voulut rétablir son père sur le trône et se mit en route pour Iolcos. Pélias lui promit le royaume s'il parvenait à s'emparer de la Toison d'or. Bien que la mission fut réputée impossible, Jason embarqua avec les Argonautes et, après nombre d'épreuves, conquit la fabuleuse toison. Il fut cependant aidé dans son entreprise par Médée, fille du roi Aiétès. Fortement éprise de Jason, Médée usa de la magie pour endormir le gardien de la Toison d'or.

Jason n'a pas affronté le gardien du trésor et s'est s'emparé d'une toison en dépit du fait qu'il ne la méritait pas. En effet, l'acquisition fut l'œuvre du couple et lorsque Jason se sépara de Médée, il connût une fin tragique. Il ne put jamais retrouver le chemin de la lumière.

La Toison d'or est un symbole solaire et les cornes du bélier une image du rayonnement de l'astre. Il s'agit du rayonnement du Soleil spirituel qui ne quitte jamais son zénith. Il est propre au monde invisible au-delà du soleil visible; il relève de la Lumière de la Connaissance du Principe immuable au-delà de la lumière de la connaissance du monde visible.

L'arbre aux fruits d'or du jardin des Hespérides

Détail vase grec: les Hespérides autour de l'arbre aux fruits d'orFilles de Nyx (la nuit) et d'Érèbe (l'obscurité), les Hespérides (nymphes de l'occident) étaient dénommées Aeglé, Érythie et Hespéra. Elles vivaient sur une île située aux limites occidentales du monde connu, là où le soleil se couche. Les trois sœurs résidaient dans le jardin où poussait l'arbre aux fameux “fruits d'or”, souvent appelés “pommes d'or” en raison de l'origine latine pomum du terme générique fruit.

L'or est un symbole de la lumière, tout particulièrement du soleil. Situé au Centre du Monde, le Soleil symbolise la Lumière du Principe immuable qui régule le mouvement des planètes et dispense la vie aux êtres. L'immutabilité est source d'immortalité caractéristique d'un état d'être au-delà de l'existence individuelle ou cosmique. L'être s'affranchit de sa condition individuelle et passe de l'emprisonnement dans la dualité à la délivrance dans l'unité. Il est libéré des cycles de mort à un état d'être suivi d'une renaissance dans un autre. Il peut alors s'unir au Principe en goûtant au fruit du jardin des Hespérides et retrouver son état originel.

Gardés par un serpent ou un dragon, ces fruits symbolisent l'état unifié au-delà des antagonismes. L'animal en autorisait la cueillette aux seuls êtres qualifiés. Afin de pouvoir établir une distinction entre les êtres, le gardien devait être en mesure d'accéder au principe unifiant les opposés: céleste et terrestre, bénéfique et maléfique etc.

Les liens des Hespérides avec l'arbre et le serpent sont encore davantage soulignés dans une autre légende selon laquelle Aeglé fut changée en saule, Érythie en ormeau et Hespéra en peuplier:

  • Le saule toujours vert est un symbole de la Lumière éternelle, de la Vie spirituelle immortelle;
  • L'ormeau ou le petit orme hermaphrodite correspond à la base de la fourche où les opposés sont prêts à se manifester;
  • Avec ses feuilles sombres d'un côté et claires de l'autre, le peuplier symbolise la dualité des opposés: mort et renaissance, nuit et jour, obscurité et lumière, ignorance et connaissance etc.

Ces trois arbres représentent trois aspects (unité, dualité potentielle et dualité manifestée) réunis au sein de l'Arbre de Vie et du serpent gardien de ses fruits.

La croix et le serpent

croix latine et tauAvec ses racines plongeant dans le sol et ses branches s'élevant vers les hauteurs, l'arbre symbolise le lien entre la Terre et le Ciel. Son tronc vertical représente l'Axe du Monde regroupant l'ensemble des centres des états de l'être, depuis les plus terrestres jusqu'aux plus célestes. Ses branches horizontales caractérisent le déploiement des états de l'être à partir de leurs centres respectifs selon une multitude indéfinie de modalités. Il est symbolisé par la croix latine, à une ou plusieurs branches, de la tradition biblique.

Toute section horizontale de l'arbre au niveau d'un état donné partage l'ensemble des états de l'être entre les états supérieurs et les états inférieurs à l'état considéré. La coupe de l'arbre au niveau de cette section ne retient que les seuls états inférieurs à l'état donné. Cet arbre tronqué dépeint généralement les états physiques et psychiques de l'être propres au monde de la dualité. Il est symbolisé par la croix Tau de la tradition égyptienne.

Enroulé autour de la croix Tau, le serpent fait le lien entre le monde de la dualité et l'Arbre de la Science du bien et du mal. Quant à la croix latine, elle symbolise la totalité des états de l'être (physiques, psychiques et spirituels), l'alliance de l'unité et de la dualité à l'image de l'Arbre de Vie.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Le symbolisme de la croix”. Éditions Guy Trédaniel, 1996;
  • Notamment, le chapitre XXV intitulé “L'arbre et le serpent”.
Haut