LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The Sefirotic Tree of the Hebraic World

(Detailed page)

Summary

The ten sefirot

The ten sefirot, the ten divine aspects are distributed horizontally into three columns and vertically into four worlds.

The three columns associate unity and duality:

  • The right column, called Mercy, is relatively active in comparison with the left one;
  • The left column, called Rigour, is relatively passive in comparison with the right one;
  • The middle column, neuter, unifies two by two the sefirot of the two other columns.

More precisely the right column is relatively masculine, luminous and active in comparison with the left column which is feminine, dark and passive. In other words, the left sefirot are nothing without the right ones and vice versa. The third neuter column reflects the interaction of sefirot, apparently opposed, but complementing each other in reality.

Three columns and four worldsThe four worlds ally potentiality and manifestation:

  • The so-called world of Emanation (olam-haatsiluth), of the source of the manifestation of the universe (macrocosm) and being (microcosm);
  • The world of Creation (olam-haberiah) or celestial (macrocosm) and spiritual (microcosm);
  • The world of Formation (olam-hayetsirah) or intermediary (macrocosm) and psychic (microcosm);
  • The world of Action (olam-haasiah) or terrestrial (macrocosm) and bodily (microcosm).

These four worlds are interwoven for creation partakes of the source, formation of creation and action of formation. That also means that formation is beginning to take root in action, creation in formation and the source in creation. In other words, the four worlds can be crossed according to the descending way, the way of manifestation, and the ascending way, the way of return to the source.

The ten sefirot are receptacles that receive and pour the waters of the divine influence originating in the "higher river"; they are distributed among the columns and worlds as follows:

Worlds and columns of the Sefirotic Tree

WorldsAtsiluth
(Emanation)
Beriah
(Creation)
Yetsirah
(Formation)
Asiah
(Action)

Left columnBinah
(Intellect)
Gevurah
(Riguor)
Hod
(Glory)
 
 

Middle columnKeter
(Crown)
Tiphereth
(Beauty)
Yezod
(Fondation)
Malkuth
(Kingdom)

Right columnHochmah
(Wisdom)
Hesed
(Mercy)
Netzah
(Victory)
 
 

Let us note that the preceding image of the ten sefirot represents a ternary shaped as an arrow pointing upwards, towards the Principle, the source of everything, whereas the two others are shaped as arrows pointing downwards, towards the manifestation of beings and things. These arrows are inverted to underline that the manifestation appears to us as a reflection here below of the Principle beyond.

Keter, Hochmah and Binah

Let us firstly specify that the word the most commonly used, “Emanation”, is inappropriate. Indeed, if something could get out of the Principle, of the Whole at the source of everything, it would see itself amputated. All the same, the Emanation concerning, not the Principle, but the Being, the One raises similar objections. As beings have something of the nature of the Being, they can not emanate from…

Keter

The sefirah Keter symbolizes the Centre of the highest world, the world of Emanation representing the universe at a potential, unified and principial state. Keter symbolizes the motionless point, the Centre of the wheel from which everything radiates. At the level of the macrocosm, it is the image of the point generating the axis of the celestial poles, the World Axis, around which the stars are apparently turning. At the level of the microcosm, it is equivalent to the point generating the vertical axis linking zenith to nadir and crossing right through the being. As the Centre of the universe, Keter can consequently be depicted by the point of intersection of the two preceding axes (For an illustration, see the three-dimensional cross).

Keter represents the sefirah that crowns the manifestation of the universe and being. It is said that a crown topped the head of the primeval being, the Adam Kadmon.

The sefirah is associated with white colour, the colour of the Centre. Just as white contains all the other colours of the spectrum of the visible light in an indistinct state, the Centre contains the whole manifestation of the universe in a unified state. It follows that white symbolizes the source of manifestation perceived from the world here below. The non-manifested source is beyond all worlds and associated with black, the absence of colours.

According to different sources, the colours of the other sefirot are various and difficult, if not impossible, to interpret.

Hochmah and Binah

The Hochmah/Binah polarity results from Keter, the unity, and represents two complementary if not indissociable principles.

Hochmah, pure Wisdom, goes much beyond the inner knowledge of outer beings and things. It is the principle at the source of the transcending Knowledge where the being and the universe are only one. It is not only a matter of having a perfect knowledge of things, but to be Knowledge. This supra-cosmic and supra-individual state comes under the informal domain, the essence of things, not their substance.

Binah, the pure Intellect, differs from the mind, reason or consciousness. It is not an individual or human faculty as comprehension, understanding or even discernment. It does not take after discursive reasoning, but Light that illuminates everything, direct Intuition of the Whole. It is the "All Seeing Eye", medium of the supra-cosmic and supra-individual Knowledge.

Keter pours its waters into Hochmah, Binah and Tiphereth.

Hesed, Gevurah and Tiphereth

Creation is truly a Judaic idea, which was taken over by Christianity and Islam. When people wrote that God has "created the world from nothing", it means from nothing outside Him. As the One, God was, indeed, unable to create the world from any external substance. Nothingness (Ain) is nothing but the whole set of Possibilities of manifestation and non-manifestation inherent to the Principle, to the Whole at the source of everything. As Nothingness is beyond worlds, no sefirah stands at the centre of the world of Creation, even if an eleventh sefirah of Knowledge (Daath) came later in between the sefirot Hochmah and Binah on one hand and Hesed and Gevurah on the other hand.

Hesed and Gevurah

The right column Hesed (Mercy) and the left column Gevurah (Rigour) evoke, for the Christian, the right hand of blessing and the left hand of justice of the Christ. The sefirot Hesed and Gevurah are consequently related to the spiritual authority and temporal power.

Hesed, Mercy, symbolizes the spiritual or sacerdotal authority possessor of the Knowledge of the principles that govern the universe and beings. It does not only preserve the Knowledge in its totality, but transmits it to the beings worth of receiving it. The guardian can only be a Wise person able to attain the global comprehension, the pure Intellect, Binah.

Gevurah, Rigour, characterizes the temporal power generally reserved for the king who receives it directly from the hands of the spiritual authority. He is in charge of the application of the principles, transcribed into laws, and the defence of the territory and beings under his responsibility. He is the guarantor of order and harmony of the civil society and preservation of peace, both essential to the spiritual realization of beings.

Tiphereth

Tiphereth, Beauty, occupies the middle column, the column of balance between Hesed and Gevurah, Mercy and Rigour, spiritual authority and temporal power. It is essential that the spiritual authority does not assume alone all the loads of the temporal domain or that the temporal power usurps or rejects the authority proper to the spiritual domain. Only the balance between the spiritual and temporal functions may preserve harmony and peace.

From that standpoint, the middle column deserves the name of column of Beauty, for it actually occupies the midst between right and left, up and down.

Tiphereth pours its waters into Hesed, Gevurah and Yezod.

Netzah, Hod and Yezod

Formation refers here to formal manifestation and concerns the individual states only, i.e. the human states characterized by a form. The informal, supra-individual manifestation comes under the “Emanation” world. Formal and informal manifestation are both under the aegis of the Principle and constitute the various possibilities of Manifestation.

Netzah and Hod

Netzah, Victory, corresponds to the intermediary domain between Heaven and Earth at the macrocosm level and spiritual and bodily spheres at the microcosm one. It characterizes, at once, the divine Breath, the Soul of the universe (universal), and the vital breath, the individual soul. They both play an important role in the formation of the Cosmos and being.

Victory represents the full realization of the human being who has been able to integrate and unify the psychical and physical aspects to become a being centred within himself. The accomplished human being is nevertheless only a pale reflection of the Wise man who has not only regained the centre of the being, but also the Centre of the universe in order to be only one with it.

Hod, Glory, has to do with consciousness. The informal Consciousness or pure Intellect (Binah) is reflected within the individual under the form of the faculty of knowing oneself. Consciousness surpasses the mind that covers reason, memory and imagination. It partakes of intuitive and direct Knowledge of oneself.

Glory is a matter that concerns at once the divine Glory and the individual glory, which only gets the intelligence of crowds. The glory of the satisfaction of the ego is often accompanied by dissatisfaction linked to the sensation of great emptiness, of non-fulfilment that leads us to look here below for what is beyond or outside us what is inside us.

Yezod

Yezod, Foundation, is the reflection of the informal Consciousness and universe Soul within the individual consciousness and soul. Such an association is essential to let the being become fully human.

Foundation constitutes the basis of the three columns, which are regrouped into Keter. It reflects the Unity proper to the source in the world of Formation.

Yezod pours its waters into Netzah, Hod and Malkuth.

Malkuth

Action concerns the manifested world and more precisely, the world of change. As such, it can not contain its own (immutable) principle. Its existence comes from a principle beyond its domain, i.e. from knowledge. This is why Action is always subordinated to Contemplation, the only one able to attain knowledge.

Malkuth, Kingdom, represents the terrestrial domain of the macrocosm or the bodily sphere of the microcosm.

When "God created Heaven and Earth", Earth appeared as the receptacle of celestial influences. It is the womb where all things and beings are generated by the divine Breath. Earth is the substance potentially containing all the possibilities of the formal manifestation, the development of which corresponds to a passage from potentiality to action.

Malkuth is "the reservoir where waters originating in higher river are gathering", i.e. all spiritual influences. This reservoir contains the spiritual Centre of this world represented by the hill of Zion. As such, it symbolizes the Holy Earth, guardian of the Hebraic tradition. Malkuth depicts here below the Kingdom crowned by Keter beyond.

The body proceeds from the spirit by the intermediary of the soul. Taking account of the being in his totality (spirit-soul-body) is the only way to understand the formation of a being destined to act. However, it is not his only end. Streaming the river up to its source, reintegrating the spirit at the origin of life and climbing the Sefirotic Tree up to Keter constitute the coronation of existence.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “The Symbolism of the Cross”, Sophia Perennis Publisher, 2002;
  • Particularly, chapter 9 on “The Tree in the midst”.
  • “The King of the World”, Sophia Perennis Publisher, 2001;
  • Notably, chapter 6 on “Melki-Tsedeq”.
Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

L'Arbre Séphirotique du Monde hébraïque

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Les dix séphiroth

Les dix séphiroth, les dix aspects divins sont répartis horizontalement dans trois colonnes et verticalement dans quatre mondes.

Les trois colonnes associent unité et dualité:

  • La colonne de droite, dite de la Miséricorde, est relativement active par rapport à celle de gauche;
  • La colonne de gauche, dite de la Rigueur, est relativement passive par rapport à celle de droite;
  • La colonne du milieu, neutre, unifie deux à deux les séphiroth des deux autres colonnes.

Plus précisément la colonne de droite est relativement masculine, lumineuse et active par rapport à la colonne de gauche féminine, sombre et passive. Autrement dit, les séphiroth de gauche ne sont rien sans celles de droite et vice versa. La troisième colonne, neutre, reflète l'interaction de séphiroth en apparence opposées, mais complémentaires en réalité.

Trois colonnes et quatre mondesLes quatre mondes allient potentialité et manifestation:

  • Le monde dit des Émanations (Olam-haAtsiluth), de la source de la manifestation de l'univers (macrocosme) et de l'être (microcosme);
  • Le monde de la Création (Olam-haBeriah) ou céleste (macrocosme) et spirituel (microcosme);
  • Le monde de la Formation (Olam-haYetsirah) ou intermédiaire (macrocosme) et psychique (microcosme);
  • Le monde de l'Action (Olam-haAsiah) ou terrestre (macrocosme) et corporel (microcosme).

Ces quatre mondes sont imbriqués car la création participe de la source, la forme de la création et l'action de la forme. Cela signifie également que la forme est en germe dans l'action, la création dans la forme et la source la création. Autrement dit, les quatre mondes peuvent être parcourus selon la voie descendante, la voie de la manifestation, et la voie ascendante, la voie du retour à la source.

Les dix séphiroth sont des récipients qui reçoivent et déversent les eaux de l'influence divine provenant du “fleuve d'en haut”; elles se répartissent entre les colonnes et les mondes de la façon suivante:

Mondes et colonnes de l'Arbre Séphirotique

MondesAtsiluth
(Émanation)
Beriah
(Création)
Yetsirah
(Formation)
Asiah
(Action)

Colonne de gaucheBinah
(Intellect)
Gevurah
(Rigueur)
Hod
(Gloire)
 
 

Colonne du milieuKeter
(Couronne)
Tiphereth
(Beauté)
Yezod
(Fondement)
Malkuth
(Royaume)

Colonne de droiteHochmah
(Sagesse)
Hesed
(Miséricorde)
Netzah
(Victoire)
 
 

Notons que l'image précédente des dix séphiroth représente un ternaire sous la forme d'une flèche pointant vers le haut, vers le Principe à la source de tout, tandis que les deux autres sont figurés par des flèches pointant vers le bas, vers la manifestation des êtres et des choses. Ces flèches sont inversées pour souligner que la manifestation nous apparaît comme un reflet ici-bas du Principe au-delà.

Kether, Hochmah et Binah

Précisons tout d'abord que le mot le plus communément utilisé, “Émanation”, est inapproprié. En effet, si quelque chose pouvait sortir du Principe, du Tout à la source de tout, celui-ci se verrait amputé. De même, l'Émanation rapportée, non au Principe, mais à l'Être, à l'Un soulève des objections similaires. Comme tous les êtres participent de l'Être, ils ne peuvent en émaner.

Kether

La séphirah Kether symbolise le Centre du monde le plus élevé, le monde des “Émanations” représentant l'univers à l'état potentiel, unifié, de principe. Kether symbolise le point immobile, le Centre de la roue à partir duquel tout rayonne. Au niveau du macrocosme, elle est l'image du point générateur de l'axe des pôles célestes, de l'Axe du Monde, autour duquel les astres tournent en apparence. Au niveau du microcosme, elle est assimilable au point engendrant l'axe vertical reliant le zénith au nadir et traversant l'être de part en part. En tant que Centre de l'univers, Kether peut en conséquence être figurée par le point d'intersection des deux axes précédents (Pour une illustration, voir la croix tridimensionnelle).

Kether représente la séphirah qui couronne la manifestation de l'univers et des êtres. Il est dit qu'une couronne coiffait la tête de l'être primordial, l'Adam Kadmon.

La séphirah est associée à la couleur blanche, la couleur du Centre. De même que le blanc contient toutes les autres couleurs du spectre de la lumière visible à l'état indifférencié, le Centre contient toute la manifestation de l'univers à l'état unifié. Il s'ensuit que le blanc symbolise la source de la manifestation perçue depuis le monde ici bas. La source non manifestée est au-delà des mondes et associée au noir, à l'absence de couleurs.

Selon différentes sources, les couleurs des autres séphiroth sont diverses et difficiles, voire impossibles, à interpréter.

Hochmah et Binah

La polarité Hochmah/Binah découle de Kether, de l'unité, et représente deux principes complémentaires pour ne pas dire indissociables.

Hochmah, la Sagesse pure, va bien au-delà de la connaissance intérieure des êtres et des choses extérieurs. Elle est le principe à la source de la Connaissance transcendante où être et univers ne font qu'un. Il ne s'agit pas d'avoir seulement une parfaite connaissance des choses, mais d'être Connaissance. Cet état supra-cosmique et supra-individuel relève du domaine de l'informel, de l'essence des choses, non de leur substance.

Binah, l'Intellect pur, est bien différent du mental, de la raison ou de la conscience. Il n'est pas une faculté individuelle ou humaine de compréhension, d'entendement ou même de discernement. Il ne tient pas du raisonnement discursif, mais de la Lumière qui illumine tout, de l'Intuition directe du Tout. Il est “l'Oeil qui voit tout”, support de la Connaissance supra-cosmique et supra-individuelle.

Kether se déverse dans Hochmah, Binah et Tiphereth.

Tiphereth, Hesed et Gevurah

La Création est une idée proprement judaïque qui fut reprise par le Christianisme et l'Islam. Quand les textes disent que Dieu a “créé le monde de rien”, cela signifie de rien en dehors de Lui. En tant qu'Un, Dieu n'a pu en effet créer le monde à partir de quelque substance extérieure. Le Rien (Aïn) n'est rien d'autre que la totalité des Possibilités de manifestation et de non manifestation inhérentes au Principe, au Tout à la source de tout. Le Rien étant au-delà des mondes, aucune séphirah ne figure au centre du monde de la Création même si une onzième séphirah de la Connaissance (Daath) est venue s'intercaler ultérieurement entre les séphiroth Hochmah et Binah d'une part et Hesed et Gevurah d'autre part.

Hesed et Gevurah

La colonne de droite Hesed (Miséricorde) et la colonne de gauche Gevurah (Rigueur) évoquent, pour le chrétien, la main droite bénissante et la main gauche de justice du Christ. Les séphiroth Hesed et Gevurah sont en conséquence à mettre en relation avec l'autorité spirituelle et le pouvoir temporel.

Hesed, la Miséricorde, symbolise l'autorité spirituelle ou sacerdotale détentrice de la Connaissance des principes qui gouvernent l'univers et les êtres. Elle préserve non seulement la Connaissance dans son intégralité, mais la transmet aux êtres en mesure de la recevoir. Le dépositaire ne peut être qu'un Sage à même d'accéder à la compréhension globale, à l'Intellect pur, Binah.

Gevurah, la Rigueur, caractérise le pouvoir temporel dévolu généralement au roi qui le reçoit directement des mains de l'autorité spirituelle. Il est en charge de l'application des principes transcrits sous forme de lois et de la défense du territoire et des êtres sous sa responsabilité. Il est le garant de l'ordre et de l'harmonie de la société civile et de la préservation de la paix indispensables à la réalisation spirituelle des êtres.

Tiphereth

Tiphereth, la Beauté, occupe la colonne du milieu, la colonne de l'équilibre entre Hesed et Gevurah, entre Miséricorde et Rigueur, entre autorité spirituelle et pouvoir temporel. Il est essentiel que l'autorité spirituelle n'assume pas seule toutes les charges du domaine temporel ni que le pouvoir temporel usurpe ou rejette l'autorité propre au domaine spirituel. Seul l'équilibre entre les fonctions spirituelle et temporelle peut garantir l'harmonie et la paix.

De ce point de vue, la colonne du milieu mérite l'appellation de colonne de la Beauté car elle occupe réellement le milieu entre droite et gauche, haut et bas.

Tiphereth se déverse dans Hesed, Gevurah et Yezod.

Yezod, Netzah et Hod

La Formation fait référence ici à la manifestation formelle et concerne les seuls états individuels, c'est-à-dire les états humains caractérisés par une forme. La manifestation informelle, supra-individuelle relève du monde de “l'Émanation”. Manifestation formelle et informelle sont toutes deux placées sous l'égide du Principe et constituent l'ensemble des possibilités de la Manifestation.

Netzah et Hod

Netzah, la Victoire, correspond au domaine intermédiaire entre Ciel et Terre au niveau du macrocosme et entre spirituel et corporel au plan du microcosme. Elle caractérise à la fois le Souffle divin, l'Âme de l'univers(el), et le souffle vital, l'âme individuelle. Toutes deux jouent un rôle important dans la formation du Cosmos et de l'être.

La Victoire représente la réalisation complète de l'être humain parvenu à intégrer et à unifier les aspects psychiques et physiques et à devenir un être centré en lui-même. L'être humain accompli n'est toutefois qu'un pâle reflet du Sage qui a non seulement regagné le centre de l'être, mais également le Centre de l'univers pour ne faire plus qu'Un avec lui.

Hod, la Gloire, a trait à la conscience. La Conscience informelle ou l'Intellect pur (Binah) se reflète dans l'individu sous la forme de la faculté de se connaître soi-même. La conscience dépasse le mental qui recouvre la raison, la mémoire et l'imagination. Elle participe de la Connaissance intuitive et directe de soi.

La Gloire dont il s'agit concerne à la fois la Gloire divine et la gloire individuelle qui n'a que l'intelligence des foules. La gloire de la satisfaction de l'égo s'accompagne souvent de l'insatisfaction liée à la sensation de manque, d'incomplétude qui nous fait rechercher ici-bas ce qui est au-delà ou au dehors de nous ce qui est en nous.

Yezod

Yezod, le Fondement, est le reflet de la Conscience informelle et de l'Âme de l'univers dans la conscience et l'âme individuelle. Une telle association est indispensable pour que l'être puisse devenir un être humain à part entière.

Le Fondement constitue la base des trois colonnes qui se regroupent en Kether. Il reflète dans le monde de la Formation l'Unité propre à la source.

Yezod se déverse dans Netzah, Hod et Malkuth.

Malkuth

L'Action concerne le monde manifesté et plus précisément, le monde du changement. En tant que telle, elle ne peut contenir son propre principe (immuable). Son existence lui vient d'un principe au-delà de son domaine, i.e. de la connaissance. C'est pourquoi l'Action est toujours subordonnée à la Contemplation, la seule à même d'accéder à la connaissance.

Malkuth, le Royaume, représente le domaine terrestre du macrocosme ou corporel du microcosme.

Quand “Dieu créa le Ciel et la Terre”, la Terre apparut comme le réceptacle des influences célestes. Elle est la matrice où toutes les choses et tous les êtres sont générés par le Souffle divin. La Terre est la substance contenant en puissance toutes les possibilités de manifestation formelle dont le développement correspond à un passage de la puissance à l'acte.

Malkuth est “le réservoir où se réunissent les eaux provenant du fleuve d'en haut”, c'est-à-dire toutes les influences spirituelles. Ce réservoir contient le Centre spirituel de ce monde représenté par la colline de Sion. À ce titre, elle symbolise la Terre Sainte dépositaire de la tradition hébraïque. Malkuth figure ici-bas le Royaume couronné par Kether au-delà.

Le corps procède de l'esprit par l'intermédiaire de l'âme. Seule la prise en compte de l'être dans son ensemble (esprit-âme-corps) permet de comprendre la formation d'un être destiné à agir. Telle n'est pas cependant sa seule finalité. Remonter le fleuve jusqu'à sa source, réintégrer l'esprit à l'origine de la vie et escalader l'Arbre Séphirotique jusqu'à Kether constitue le couronnement de l'existence.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Le symbolisme de la croix”. Éditions Guy Trédianel, 1996;
  • En particulier, le chapitre IX sur “L'Arbre du Milieu”.
  • “Le Roi du Monde”. Éditions Gallimard, 1958;
  • En particulier, le chapitre VI intitulé “Melki-Tsedeq”.
Haut