LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The Sefirotic Tree of the Hebraic World

(Summary)

The Kabbalah

The Kabbalah (in Hebrew qabbalah) describes the highest, the most inner aspect of the Hebraic tradition. It represents the esoteric and initiatory part, the spirit of a formerly oral tradition comparatively to the exoteric part, the letter of more recent texts.

The three columns

According to the Hebraic Kabbalah, there was nothing at the beginning. In this emptiness (Ain) appeared The One, God who created Heaven and Earth linked by the three great columns of the Sefirotic Tree. The right column (masculine, luminous and active) and the left one (feminine, dark and passive) were unified within the middle column. Consequently, the Sefirotic Tree integrates Unity and duality, the Tree of Life and the Tree of Science of good and evil of the Biblical tradition. Also called the Tree of Life, the Sefirotic Tree was first described in the book of Formation (Sepher Yetsirah) and then in the book of Splendour (Sepher haZohar), the two most important works of the Hebraic esoteric doctrine.

God manifests himself according to ten degrees, ten lights, ten words or ten divine aspects named sefirot and distributed between the three columns of the Sefirotic Tree as follows:

The three columns of the Sefirotic Tree

Left columnBinah
(Intellect)
Gevurah
(Rigour)
Hod
(Glory)
 
 

Middle columnKeter
(Crown)
Tiphereth
(Beauty)
Yezod
(Foundation)
Malkuth
(Kingdom)

Right columnHochmah
(Wisdom)
Hesed
(Mercy)
Netzah
(Victory)
 
 

A sefirah (the singular) is a receptacle destined to receive spiritual influences and to transmit them. The sefirot can be represented as receptacles that receive and pour the waters of the "higher river".

The sefirot also refers to an equivalence numerical system to establish a relation between the divine manifestation and the source. The choice of the number 10 (= 1 + 9) symbolizes the full development of Unity during a denary cycle, the full realization of the One, of God.

The two directions

The tree can be travelled in two directions:

  • In the descending direction from Heaven to Earth, the ten sefirot symbolize the various degrees of the divine manifestation, at the level of the universe (macrocosm) as well as of the being (microcosm). According to the Hebraic Kabbalah, the universe and beings were formed from the division of the primeval being, Adam Kadmon. The higher degrees of the sefirot correspond to the principles at the source of the manifestation and are associated with the roots of the tree; the lower degrees are related to the manifestation itself symbolized by the foliage of the tree. Consequently, it is a matter of an inverted tree, representative of the Will of Heaven on Earth;
  • In the ascending direction from Earth to Heaven, the ten sefirot symbolize the ladder of degrees of the return from the divine manifestation to the Divine in Itself. The reintegration can concern the macrocosm and the microcosm as well. Now, as all beings are parts of the primeval being, their reintegration in the original Unity corresponds, in a way, to a reconstruction of the Adam Kadmon. The primeval being is usually shown from behind so that the spectator can even better identify himself with him (regarding right and left hands).

Inverted treeAdam Kadmon

The right and left columns associate the opposed sefirot two by two and come within the world of duality. The middle column gathers together the states unifying the opposed sefirot and represents the world of Unity. It follows that:

  • During the descent alongside the tree describing the manifestation of Unity, the middle column, of course, appears before the lateral ones related to the world of duality;
  • During the ascent from the divine manifestation towards Unity, the lateral columns first have to reintegrate the middle column in stages before the ascension of the entire axis linking Earth and Heaven can occur.

Sefirotic tree descentSefirotic tree ascent

Let us note that the two ternaries of the lower sefirot are inverted in comparison with the ternary of the higher one. Indeed, the two lowest ternaries constitute the reflection in the cosmic and individual domain of the highest ternary that comes within the supra-cosmic and supra-individual domain.

The sefirot constitute a whole reflecting the One. No divine aspect, no sefirah can be fully understood without the knowledge of its relations with the other aspects, the other sefirot.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

L'Arbre Séphirotique du Monde hébraïque

(Résumé)

La Kabbale

La Kabbale (de l'hébreu qabbalah) désigne l'aspect le plus élevé, le plus intérieur de la tradition hébraïque. Elle représente la partie ésotérique et initiatique, l'esprit d'une tradition anciennement orale comparativement à la partie exotérique, à la lettre de textes plus récents.

Les trois colonnes

Selon la Kabbale hébraïque, au commencement il n'y avait rien. Dans ce vide (Aïn) apparut l'Un, Dieu qui créa le Ciel et la Terre reliés par les trois grandes colonnes de l'Arbre Séphirotique. Les colonnes de droite (masculine, lumineuse et active) et de gauche (féminine sombre et passive) furent unifiées au sein de la colonne du milieu. L'Arbre Séphirotique intègre en conséquence l'Unité et la dualité, l'Arbre de Vie et l'Arbre de la Science du bien et du mal de la tradition biblique. Appelé aussi Arbre de Vie, l'Arbre Séphirotique fut décrit pour la première fois dans le livre de la Formation (Sepher Yetsirah) et puis dans le livre de la Splendeur (Sepher haZohar), les deux ouvrages les plus importants de la doctrine ésotérique hébraïque.

Dieu se manifeste selon dix degrés, dix lumières, dix paroles ou dix aspects divins nommés séphiroth et répartis entre les trois colonnes de l'Arbre Séphirotique de la manière suivante:

Les trois colonnes de l'Arbre Séphirotique

Colonne de gaucheBinah
(Intellect)
Gevurah
(Rigueur)
Hod
(Gloire)
 
 

Colonne du milieuKeter
(Couronne)
Tiphereth
(Beauté)
Yezod
(Fondement)
Malkuth
(Royaume)

Colonne de droiteHochmah
(Sagesse)
Hesed
(Miséricorde)
Netzah
(Victoire)
 
 

Une séphirah (au singulier) est un récipient destiné à recevoir les influences spirituelles et à les transmettre. Les séphiroth sont autant de récipients qui reçoivent et déversent les eaux du “fleuve d'en haut”.

Les séphiroth font aussi référence à un système d'équivalences numériques propres à établir une relation entre la manifestation divine et la source. Le choix du nombre 10 (= 1 + 9) symbolise le plein développement de l'Unité au cours d'un cycle dénaire, la réalisation complète de l'Un, de Dieu.

Les deux sens de parcours

L'arbre peut bien entendu être parcouru dans les deux sens:

  • Dans le sens descendant du Ciel vers la Terre, les dix séphiroth symbolisent les divers degrés de la manifestation divine, aussi bien au niveau de l'univers (macrocosme) que de l'être (microcosme). Selon la Kabbale hébraïque, l'univers et les êtres ont été formés à partir du morcellement de l'être primordial, l'Adam Kadmon. Les degrés supérieurs des séphiroth correspondent aux principes à la source de la manifestation et sont associés aux racines de l'arbre; les degrés inférieurs sont en relation avec la manifestation elle-même symbolisée par le feuillage de l'arbre. Il s'agit en conséquence d'un arbre inversé représentatif de la Volonté du Ciel sur la Terre;
  • Dans le sens ascendant de la Terre vers le Ciel, les dix séphiroth symbolisent l'échelle des degrés du retour de la manifestation divine vers le Divin en soi. La réintégration peut aussi bien concerner le macrocosme que le microcosme. Or, comme tous les êtres sont des parcelles de l'être primordial, leur réintégration dans l'Unité originelle correspond en quelque sorte à une reconstitution l'Adam Kadmon. L'être primordial est habituellement montré de dos afin que le spectateur puisse d'autant mieux s'identifier à lui (au regard de la droite et de la gauche).

Arbre inverséAdam Kadmon

Les colonnes de droite et de gauche associent deux à deux les séphiroth opposées et relèvent du monde de la dualité. La colonne du milieu regroupe les états unifiant les séphiroth opposées et représente le monde de l'Unité. Il s'ensuit que:

  • Lors de la descente le long de l'arbre décrivant la manifestation de l'Unité, la colonne du milieu apparaît bien évidemment avant les colonnes latérales reliées au monde la dualité;
  • Au cours de la remontée depuis la manifestation divine jusqu'à l'Unité, les colonnes latérales doivent d'abord réintégrer par étapes la colonne du milieu avant que l'ascension de l'intégralité de l'axe reliant la Terre et le Ciel ne puisse entreprise.

Descente Arbre SéphirotiqueAscension Arbre Séphirotique

Notons que les deux ternaires des séphiroth inférieures sont inversées par rapport au ternaire des séphiroth supérieures. En fait, les deux ternaires constituent le reflet dans le domaine cosmique et individuel du ternaire le plus élevé qui relève du domaine supra-cosmique et supra-individuel.

Les séphiroth constituent un tout reflétant l'Un. Aucun aspect divin, aucune séphirah ne peut être pleinement comprise sans la connaissance de ses relations avec les autres aspects, les autres séphiroth.

Page détaillée

Haut