LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Ceiba, the Mayan World tree

(Page détaillée)

Summary

The Mayan cosmology

For Mayas (and Aztecs as well), the World as a whole was composed of three worlds: celestial, terrestrial and underground or world below.

The terrestrial world

At the origin, Earth rested on the Primeval Waters. Shaped as a quadrilateral, it was divided into four colored sectors, oriented according to the compass points.

The four colours conferred a dynamic and cyclic character to anMayan Earth representation apparently static representation:

  • East (red), linked to birth;
  • South (yellow), associated with life;
  • West (black), proper to darkness and death;
  • North (white), sign of regeneration.

This cycle could equally concern the daily journey of the sun as life in general.

The four vertices of the quadrilateral were associated with sunrise and sunset at winter and summer solstice; besides, two axes divided the cycle:

  • The north-south axis distinguishing the ascension of the sun in the sky between winter and summer solstice and its descent between summer and winter solstice;
  • The east-west axis separating the two (dry and wet) seasons proper to the tropics.

The variable proportions of the quadrilateral dimensions depended on the latitude of the place of observation 1. In a number of Mayan cities, these proportions were often used for the delimitation of buildings, temples or agricultural areas. The human world had to constitute a microcosm, representative of the macrocosm, the cosmic World.

The celestial and underground worlds

Above Earth, the celestial world was shaped as a quadrangular pyramid containing 7 or 13 levels. Each of these levels corresponded to a divinity and the summit to the supreme god.

Below Earth was the underground world, also shaped as a quadrangular pyramid, but with 9 levels. This pyramid was reversed compared to the previous one in order to emphasize that the world below was only a reflection (in the Primeval Waters) of the celestial world. At the summit stood the god of the dead.

The levels of both pyramids accounted for the number of being's states to be achieved before reaching a or the unified state; they revealed the multiplicity of the manifestation gathered within the unity depicted by the pyramid summit.

An excellent illustration of these representations is offered by two monuments of the site of Palenque:

  • A 13 levels pyramid topped by a temple dedicated to god Itzamna;
  • A second 9 levels pyramid, the summit of which was devoted to Came.

View of PalenqueEven nowadays, visitors may not enter directly into this last pyramid called Temple of Inscriptions; they must first climb up to the summit before joining the building base by an internal stairway. The continued descent leads to the sarcophagus of Pacal, the king of the city, buried below the terrestrial world.

This track corresponded to the journey of the deceased or, more symbolically, of beings who wanted to die in the terrestrial world before undertaking the elevation towards the celestial world. In fact, the pyramid was reversed in the representation of the underground world and the deceased or the being stripped of the sluggishness of the lower states, found himself above and not below earth. Then, he was ready to rise to the celestial being's states.

By penetrating the terrestrial depths to ascend towards the celestial heights, the being followed the sun journey from the depths of the night to its rise and culmination in the sky. As the sun goes back to set and regain the night, the being could also go back to Earth and the darkness of ignorance in order to share his experience with others and show the path to them. This voyage from the depths of the night to the heart of light and vice-versa was perfectly inscribed in the Mayan World Tree.

The Mayan World Tree

The trees of the terrestrial world

In the middle of each side of the terrestrial quadrilateral, a tree served as a marker to the entrance of a cave giving access to the world below. We may find such an illustration in one of the very rare pre-columbian Codex of Aztec origin. As the Aztec and Mayan societies have a strong cultural community, it is justified to borrow from the first to enlighten the second when texts are lacking. The text in question is the first page of the Codex known under the names of its last owners, Fejervary-Mayer, and visible today at the World Museum of Liverpool.

The four trees, oriented according to the compass points, are drawn in the image of a Tau cross (Τ), a repeated pattern of the Mayan architecture 2. The trunk of each tree is divided into two lateral branches without pursuing its elevation towards the sky. It illustrates the horizontal deployment of the being's states in the terrestrial world, the world of duality. Only birds above the branches are evoking the elevation towards the higher being's states, the celestial states.

As red is usually associated with east and yellow with south, the birds fly while following the apparent path of the sun, that means, from east towards south, then west (blue) and north (green). In other words, the outline of the Codex suggests a representation of the compass points (see the first diagram below) where north and south are reversed compared to the usual wind rose (see the second diagram). In fact, the reverse pattern corresponds to the view of the terrestrial wind rose from “underneath”, i.e. as if it was seen from the underground world.

View from below
Wind rose from below

View from above
Wind rose from above

This interpretation is corroborated by the characters listed on the first page of the Codex. First of all, there are 9, the number of the underground world par excellence. Then, they represent the “Lords of the Night”, the nocturnal world, the underground world. Moreover, the central character is the “Lord of the four directions”.

The tree pointing towards south in the underground world and north in the terrestrial world is a ceiba. Easily recognizable by its thorns, it also presents a bulge of the trunk in the image of a pregnant woman. Now, in the cycle of the compass points mentioned above, north precisely corresponds to the period of regeneration followed by birth at east, life at south and death at west.

Just as the four compass directions radiate from a single point, the centre of the terrestrial world, the four trees are horizontal projections of a single vertical Tree also located at the centre. It is called the "Great Mother Ceiba" in reference to Mother Earth. This tree plunged into the terrestrial depths, rises to the heavenly heights and goes through all worlds.

The Tree of all worlds

The top of the sarcophagus of king Pacal in the Temple of Inscriptions in Palenque offers a symbolic representation of the Mayan World Tree. Shaped as a cross, it is not only horizontally deployed, but also vertically in order to cover all being's states conversely to the trees of the Aztec Codex.

At the foot of the tree, the god of corn rests in a fetal posture. It symbolizes the germ that will come out of the ground, rise vertically and be the bearer of ears representative of superior being's states.

A snake, wrapped around the branches, has a head at each end (for more details, see the amphisbaena). It symbolizes the upward and downward paths along the tree or the daily path of the sun.

At the top of the tree, Itzamna stands enthroned in the form of the heavenly bird.

Above, the zenith that the sun reaches once or twice a year in the tropics (for more details, see the position of the sun on the celestial sphere).

More than in any other tradition, the Mayan World Tree symbolizes the World Axis, the vertical axis linking nadir to zenith. Moving up and down this axis, means plunging into the depths to rise towards the heights and reach the supreme state, the ultimate state, the state of God of Heaven and Earth before coming down to earth.

Bibliography

  • Raphaël Girard
  • “Esoterism of the Popol Vuh”. Theosophical University Press, 1979.
  • Internet access: Popol Vuh

1 back At the solstitial sunrise and sunset, the angle formed by the north-south axis and one of the diagonals of the quadrilateral can be determined from the following formula (see the position on the celestial sphere):

cos a = - sin(δ)/cos(φ)

Where φ represents the latitude of the place and δ the declination of the sun at the solstices (±23.5°).

In the case of the city of Palenque for example, φ = 17.5°, and

a = acos [sin(23.5°)/cos(17.5°)] = 65.3°

In other words, tg(65.3°) = 2.2 and the sides of the quadrilateral are in an approximate ratio of 2 to 1.

2 back The tower of the palace of Pacal in Palenque must also have been used as astronomical observatory. The sun rays could penetrate inside the building through openings shaped as a Tau cross (Τ) and then end in very precise locations at privileged moments of the year. The construction of such buildings was organized around these marks drawn on the ground before laying the first stone down.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Ceiba, l'Arbre du Monde maya

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

La cosmologie maya

Pour les Mayas (comme pour les Aztèques), le Monde dans son ensemble était composé de trois mondes: céleste, terrestre et souterrain ou inframonde.

Le monde terrestre

À l'origine, la Terre reposait sur les Eaux primordiales. Représentée sous la forme d'un quadrilatère, elle était divisée en quatre secteurs colorés et orientés selon les points cardinaux.

Les quatre couleurs conféraient un caractère dynamique et cyclique à une représentationReprésentation maya de la Terre d'apparence statique:

  • Est (rouge), lié à la naissance;
  • Sud (jaune), associé à la vie;
  • Ouest (noir), propre aux ténèbres et à la mort;
  • Nord (blanc), signe de régénération.

Ce cycle pouvait aussi bien concerner la course quotidienne du soleil que la vie en général.

Les quatre sommets du quadrilatère étaient associés au lever et au coucher du soleil aux solstices d'hiver et d'été; de plus, deux axes divisaient le cycle:

  • L'axe nord-sud distinguant l'ascension du soleil dans le ciel entre les solstices d'hiver et d'été de sa descente entre les solstices d'été et d'hiver;
  • L'axe est-ouest séparant les deux saisons (sèche et humide) propres aux tropiques.

Les proportions variables des dimensions de ce quadrilatère dépendaient de la latitude du lieu d'observation 1. Dans nombre de villes mayas, ces proportions furent souvent reprises pour la délimitation de bâtiments, de temples ou de zones agricoles. Le monde humain devait constituer un microcosme représentatif du macrocosme, du Monde cosmique.

Les mondes céleste et souterrain

Au-dessus de la Terre, le monde céleste était représenté sous la forme d'une pyramide à base quadrangulaire comportant 7 ou 13 degrés. Chacun de ces degrés correspondait à une divinité et le sommet au dieu suprême.

Au-dessous de la Terre se trouvait le monde souterrain, également représenté par une pyramide à base quadrangulaire, mais à 9 degrés. Cette pyramide était inversée par rapport à la précédente afin de bien souligner que l'inframonde n'était qu'un reflet (dans les Eaux primordiales) du monde céleste. Au sommet se tenait le dieu des morts.

Les degrés des deux pyramides représentaient autant d'états d'être à réaliser avant de parvenir à un ou à l'état unifié; ils témoignaient de la multiplicité de la manifestation rassemblée dans l'unité dépeinte par le sommet de la pyramide.

Une excellente illustration de ces représentations est offerte par deux monuments du site de Palenque:

  • Une pyramide à 13 degrés surmontée d'un Temple consacré au dieu Itzamna;
  • Une seconde pyramide à 9 degrés dont le sommet est dévolu à Came.

Vue de PalenqueMême de nos jours, les visiteurs ne peuvent pénétrer directement dans cette dernière pyramide dénommée Temple des Inscriptions; ils doivent d'abord l'escalader jusqu'au sommet avant de rejoindre la base de l'édifice par un escalier intérieur. La poursuite de la descente conduit au sarcophage de Pacal, le roi de la cité, enseveli sous terre.

Ce cheminement correspondait au parcours des défunts ou, plus symboliquement, des êtres soucieux de mourir au monde terrestre avant d'entreprendre l'élévation vers le monde céleste. En effet, la pyramide était inversée dans la représentation du monde souterrain et la dépouille, ou l'être dépouillé de la pesanteur des états inférieurs, se retrouvait non pas sous terre, mais au-dessus. Il était alors prêt à s'élever vers les états d'être célestes.

En pénétrant les profondeurs terrestres pour s'élever vers les hauteurs célestes, l'être suivait la course du soleil depuis les profondeurs de la nuit jusqu'à son lever et sa culmination dans le ciel. De même que le soleil redescend pour se coucher et retrouver la nuit, l'être pouvait aussi revenir sur Terre et regagner les ténèbres de l'ignorance afin de partager son expérience avec les autres et leur montrer le chemin. Ce voyage des tréfonds de la nuit au cœur de la lumière et vice-versa était parfaitement inscrit dans l'Arbre du Monde maya.

L'Arbre du Monde maya

Les arbres du monde terrestre

Au milieu de chaque côté du quadrilatère terrestre, un arbre servait de repère à l'entrée d'une caverne donnant accès à l'inframonde. Nous pouvons trouver une telle illustration dans l'un des très rares Codex précolombien d'origine aztèque. Comme les sociétés aztèque et maya présentent une forte communauté de culture, il est légitime d'emprunter à la première pour éclairer la seconde lorsque les textes font défaut. Il s'agit de la première page du Codex connu sous les noms de ses derniers propriétaires, Fejervary-Mayer, et aujourd'hui visible au Musée Mondial de Liverpool.

Les quatre arbres, orientés selon les points cardinaux, sont dessinés à l'image d'une croix Tau (Τ), un motif récurrent de l'architecture maya 2. Le tronc de chaque arbre se divise en deux branches latérales sans poursuivre son élévation vers le Ciel. Il illustre le déploiement horizontal des états d'être dans le monde terrestre, le monde de la dualité. Seuls les oiseaux au-dessus des branches évoquent l'élévation vers les états d'être supérieurs, les états célestes.

Comme le rouge est généralement associé à l'est et le jaune au sud, les oiseaux volent en suivant la course apparente du soleil, c'est-à-dire de l'est vers le sud, puis vers l'ouest (bleu) et le nord (vert). Autrement dit, le schéma du Codex suggère une représentation des points cardinaux (voir le premier schéma ci-dessous) où le nord et le sud sont intervertis par rapport à la rose des vents habituelle (voir le second schéma). En fait, le schéma inversé correspond à la vue de “dessous” de la rose des vents terrestre, c'est-à-dire comme si elle était vue depuis le monde souterrain.

Vue de dessous
Rose des vents vue de dessous

Vue de dessus
Rose des vents vue de dessus

Cette interprétation est corroborée par les personnages figurant sur la première page du Codex. Tout d'abord, ils sont au nombre de 9, le nombre du monde souterrain par excellence. Ensuite, ils représentent les “Seigneurs de la Nuit”, du monde nocturne, du monde souterrain. De plus le personnage central est le “Seigneur des quatre directions”.

L'arbre orienté au sud pour le monde souterrain et au nord pour le monde terrestre est un ceiba. Aisément reconnaissable à ses épines, il présente en outre un renflement du tronc à l'image d'une femme enceinte. Or, dans le cycle des points cardinaux évoqué plus haut, le nord correspond précisément à la période de régénération suivie de la naissance à l'est, de la vie au sud et de la mort à l'ouest.

Tout comme les quatre directions cardinales rayonnent à partir d'un seul point, le centre du monde terrestre, les quatre arbres constituent des projections horizontales d'un seul Arbre vertical également situé au centre. Il est dénommé la “Grande Mère Ceiba” en référence à la Terre Mère. Cet Arbre s'enfonce dans les profondeurs terrestres, s'élève vers les hauteurs célestes et traverse tous les mondes.

L'Arbre de tous les mondes

La dalle du sarcophage du roi Pacal dans le Temple des Inscriptions à Palenque offre une représentation symbolique de l'Arbre du Monde maya. Il a la forme d'une croix se déployant non seulement horizontalement, mais également verticalement de façon à couvrir tous les états de l'être contrairement aux arbres du Codex aztèque.

Au pied de l'Arbre, le dieu du maïs repose dans une posture fœtale. Il symbolise le germe qui va sortir de terre, s'élever verticalement et être porteur d'épis représentatifs d'états d'être supérieurs.

Un serpent, enroulé autour des branches, possède une tête à chaque extrémité (pour plus de détails, voir l'amphisbaena). Il symbolise les voies ascendante et descendante le long de l'Arbre ou la course quotidienne du soleil.

Tout en haut de l'Arbre trône Itzamna sous la forme de l'oiseau céleste.

Au-dessus, le zénith que le soleil atteint une ou deux fois par an sous les tropiques (pour davantage de détails, voir la position du soleil sur la sphère céleste).

Plus que dans toute autre tradition, l'Arbre du Monde maya symbolise l'Axe du Monde, l'axe vertical reliant le nadir au zénith. Parcourir cet Axe dans les deux sens, c'est plonger dans les profondeurs pour s'élever vers les hauteurs et atteindre l'état suprême, l'état ultime, l'état de dieu du Ciel et de la Terre avant de redescendre sur terre.

Bibliographie

  • Raphaël Girard
  • “Esotericism of the Popol Vuh”. Theosophical University Press, 1979.

1 retour Au lever et au coucher du soleil aux solstices, l'angle formé par l'axe sud-nord et l'une des diagonales du quadrilatère peut être déterminé à partir de la formule suivante (voir la position sur la sphère céleste):

cos a = - sin(δ)/cos(φ)

Où φ représente la latitude du lieu et δ la déclinaison du soleil aux solstices (±23,5°).

Dans le cas de la ville de Palenque par exemple, φ = 17,5°, et

a = arccos [sin(23,5°)/cos(17,5°)] = 65,3°

Autrement dit, tg(65,3°) = 2,2 et les côtés du quadrilatère sont dans un rapport approximatif de 2 à 1.

2 retour La tour du palais de Pacal à Palenque a dû aussi servir d'observatoire astronomique. Les rayons du soleil pouvaient pénétrer à l'intérieur du bâtiment grâce à des ouvertures en forme de croix Tau (Τ) et venir mourir en des endroits bien précis à des moments privilégiés de l'année. La construction de tels édifices était organisée autour de ces repères dessinés sur le sol avant la pose de la première pierre.

Haut