LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Ceiba, the Mayan World tree

(Summary)

Ceiba pentadra tree at the entry of Tikal site

The creation of the Mayan-quiche world

Four centuries ago, a wise man wrote the story of the Quiche people of Mesoamerica in a book entitled the “Popol Vuh” (The Book of Councel). The text told, in symbolic language, the myth of the creation of the Mayan-quiche World, resulting from the Word of an uncreated God.

In the beginning, the World was only darkness enveloping the Primeval Waters. Then, the dark Sky appeared and Earth emerged from waters. Darkness penetrated into the depths of Earth, at Xibalba, the underground world or world below.

Then, plants covered Earth. The creation of man followed and took place in several stages. It successively generated the animal form, the clay figure, the wooden sculpture and, finally, the being made of corn pulp. That is why, Mayas are called “corn beings”. This succession occurred during four consecutive Ages. The transition from one Age to another consisted less in a destruction than a transformation of the preceding Age, in order to integrate it into the following. So, each Age was enriched of a whole past.

During these Ages, different gods appeared as many facets of the original God. Therefore, these gods could only hold “Councel” as one God to decide on the way forward in the course of each Age.

All three worlds (celestial, terrestrial and underground) were connected by an axis symbolized by the World Tree. Its roots plunged into the depths of Earth, its trunk stood up from the ground and its branches flushed the clouds and the Sky. However, the late appearance of the first celestial glimmers hid, in men's eyes, the Tree and the way to follow to exit darkness and reach light. The first beings to get there, after having overcome many obstacles, were the twin brothers Hunahpu and Xbalanque. (Master Magician and Little Sorcerer), the god-heroes of the “Popol Vuh”.

The World Tree represents the link between what is above and what is below, the union of celestial forces and telluric powers. It can be run up and down, in both directions. The Tree helps us to understand why the Mayan man first had to descend into the underground world before raising to the celestial world. Indeed, he was obliged to browse all the degrees of the scale symbolized by the World Axis. The Tree also shows that the three worlds could not be considered separately as they were part of a whole called (Tree of the) World.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Ceiba, l'Arbre du Monde maya

(Résumé)

Arbre ceiba pentadra à l'entrée du site de Tikal

La création du monde Maya-Quiche

Il y a quatre siècles, un sage rédigea l'histoire du peuple Quiche de Mésoamérique dans un livre intitulé le “Popol Vuh” (Le Livre du Conseil). Le texte racontait, en langage symbolique, le mythe de la création du Monde Maya-Quiche, produit de la Parole d'un Dieu incréé.

Au commencement, le Monde n'était qu'obscurité enveloppant les eaux primordiales. Puis, le Ciel sombre apparut et la Terre émergea des eaux. Les ténèbres pénétrèrent jusque dans les profondeurs de la Terre, de Xibalba, le monde souterrain ou inframonde.

Les végétaux couvrirent ensuite la Terre. La création de l'homme suivit et se déroula en plusieurs étapes. Elle généra successivement la forme animale, la figure d'argile, la sculpture de bois et, finalement, l'être fait de pâte de maïs. C'est pourquoi, les Mayas s'appellent les “hommes de maïs”. Cette succession se déroula au cours de quatre Âges consécutifs. La transition d'un Âge à l'autre consista moins en une destruction qu'une transformation de l'Âge précédant, afin de l'intégrer dans le suivant. Chaque Âge s'enrichissait ainsi de tout un passé.

Au cours de ces Âges, différents dieux apparurent comme autant de facettes du Dieu originel. Ces dieux ne pouvaient dès lors que tenir “Conseil” comme un seul Dieu pour décider de la marche à suivre au cours de chaque Âge.

Les trois mondes (céleste, terrestre et souterrain) étaient reliés par un Axe symbolisé par l'Arbre du Monde. Ses racines plongeaient au plus profond de la Terre, son tronc s'élevait depuis le sol et ses branches affleuraient les nuages et le Ciel. Toutefois, l'apparition tardive des premières lueurs célestes dissimula, aux yeux des hommes, l'Arbre et la voie à suivre pour quitter les ténèbres et atteindre la lumière. Les premiers êtres à y parvenir, après avoir surmonté nombre d'obstacles, furent les frères jumeaux Hunahpu et Xbalanque (Maître Magicien et Petit Sorcier), les dieux-héros du “Popol Vuh”.

L'Arbre du Monde représente le lien entre ce qui est en haut et ce qui est en bas, l'union des forces célestes et des puissances telluriques. Il peut être parcouru de haut en bas, dans les deux sens. L'Arbre nous aide à comprendre pourquoi l'homme maya devait d'abord descendre dans le monde souterrain avant de s'élever vers le monde céleste. Il était, en effet, tenu de parcourir tous les degrés de l'échelle symbolisée par l'Axe du Monde. L'Arbre montre aussi que les trois mondes ne pouvaient être considérés séparément car ils faisaient partie d'un tout appelé (Arbre du) Monde.

Page détaillée

Haut