LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Kien-Mu or Jian-Mu, the Chinese World Tree (Summary)

Chinese World Tree

The Tree at the World Centre

The World tree is usually distinguished from the other sacred trees by its location in the Centre of the Empire and World. It symbolizes the World Axis, the link between Earth and Heaven at the basis of the development of the world in the Chinese tradition. The World tree is described in several Chinese mythical narratives under two distinct names:

  • Kien Mu, the Erect Tree, naturally evokes the World Axis;
  • Jian Mu, the Builder Tree (of the World), also refers to the World Axis, for Jian equally means the sword, the Axis symbol par excellence.

The World Tree brings together all complementary aspects in a balanced way, in contrast to other sacred trees. The other sacred trees generally appear in pairs as they fulfil specific functions and/or take up special places. This is also true for the two trees growing on each side of the World Tree:

  • Fu Sang, or the Leaning Mulberry Tree, grows in the east. Its trunk is so high that its branches have the single function of supporting the ten suns associated with a ten days cycle. Once dried and purified by Xi He, the goddess of the sun Mixed Breath, the sun of the day is carried up to the summit of the tree by a crow, from where it undertakes a new daily voyage.
  • Da Tao Mu, or the Gigantic Peach Tree, probably grows in the west and plays the role of celestial ladder. At the summit of the Gigantic Peach Tree, the gates of Heaven are guarded by the Punishment Gods, assisted by ferocious beasts that push back all beings unworthy of attaining the firmament.

Other trees play similar roles. For instance, Kong Sang, or the Hollow Mulberry Tree, and Kont Tong, known today as the Hollow Paulownia Tree, are, at once, hollow trees and mountains. As mountains, they depict the World Axis. As hollow trees, they are used as shelter for the suns and as a cave for the Emperor. The cave is an image of the cosmic world where the Emperor takes refuge to leave behind the states of being of the obscure or terrestrial world before being reborn in the states of being of the luminous or celestial world. Thus, he travels up and down the World Axis before becoming the intermediary between Heaven and Earth for the beings of the Empire.

Many other trees play various roles that we rediscover within the World Tree at a potential state.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Kien-Mu ou Jian-Mu, l'Arbre du Monde chinois

(Résumé)

L'Arbre du Monde chinois

L'Arbre au Centre du Monde

L'Arbre du Monde en général se distingue des autres arbres sacrés par sa localisation au Centre de l'Empire et du Monde. Il symbolise l'Axe du Monde, le lien entre la Terre et le Ciel à la base du développement du monde dans la tradition chinoise. L'Arbre du Monde est décrit dans plusieurs récits mythiques chinois sous deux dénominations distinctes:

  • Kien-Mu, l'Arbre Dressé, évoque naturellement l'Axe du Monde;
  • Jian-Mu, l'Arbre Constructeur (du Monde), fait aussi allusion à l'Axe du Monde car Jian signifie également l'épée, le symbole de l'Axe par excellence.

L'Arbre du Monde rassemble tous les aspects complémentaires de façon équilibrée contrairement à d'autres arbres sacrés. Les autres arbres sacrés forment généralement des paires car ils remplissent des fonctions spécifiques et/ou occupent des lieux particuliers. Cela est aussi vrai pour les deux arbres s'élevant de part et d'autre de l'Arbre du Monde:

  • Fu-Sang, ou le Mûrier Penché, pousse à l'est. Son tronc est si haut que ses branches ont pour seule fonction de soutenir les dix soleils associés à un cycle de dix jours. Une fois séché et purifié par Xi He, la déesse du soleil Souffle Mêlé, le soleil du jour est porté jusqu'au sommet de l'arbre par un corbeau d'où il entreprend un nouveau voyage quotidien.
  • Da-Tao-Mu, ou le Pêcher Géant, pousse vraisemblablement à l'ouest et joue le rôle d'échelle céleste. Au sommet du Pêcher Géant, les portes du Ciel sont gardées par les dieux de la Punition assistés de bêtes féroces qui repoussent tout être indigne d'accéder au firmament.

D'autres arbres jouent des rôles similaires. Par exemple, Kong-Sang, ou le Mûrier Creux, et Kont-Tong, dénommé aujourd'hui le Paulownia Creux, sont à la fois des arbres creux et des montagnes. En tant que montagnes, ils figurent l'Axe du Monde. En tant qu'arbres creux, ils servent d'abri aux soleils et de caverne à l'Empereur. La caverne est une image du monde cosmique où l'Empereur se réfugie pour laisser derrière lui les états d'être du monde obscur ou terrestre avant de renaître aux états d'être du monde lumineux ou céleste. Il parcourt ainsi l'Axe du Monde dans les deux sens avant de servir d'intermédiaire entre le Ciel et la Terre pour les êtres de l'Empire.

Bien d'autres arbres jouent des rôles divers que nous retrouvons à l'état virtuel au sein de l'Arbre du Monde.

Page détaillée

Haut