LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The sacred trees of the Celtic world

(Detailed page)

Summary

The sacred forest

The forest constitutes an authentic natural shrine where the sacred trees blossom. The sacred trees of the five provinces of Ireland were the oak, the yew or the ash tree. The oak was at the summit of the sacred tree hierarchy in the Celtic world. It constituted the vegetable support of a symbolism that combines knowledge and force, the main respective attributes of the druid and king.

The preferences for the other types of sacred trees varied according to the different regions. Nevertheless, all countries kept the divinatory value of wood. An expression such as “Throwing wood” was common in all Celtic regions. The yew and hazel trees were frequently used for manufacturing sticks destined to drawing lots and magic. The hazel tree carried science and the consumption of its fruit, the hazelnut, provided knowledge and inspired wisdom from the Other World. The wooden sticks were notably used in Ireland to engrave divinatory or magic inscriptions, the Ogham, the invention of which was attributed to the god Ogme (for more details, see the triskele).

The club of another Irish god, Dagda, was also a symbol of the sacred tree, for it could kill with one end (in this world) and revive with the other (in the Other World).

The notion of sacred tree is remarkably illustrated by the motif of the jar discovered at Arcobriga (Castile, Spain).

Pot, Museo Arqueológico Nacional, MadridFirst of all, the decoration represents two distinct trees linked by a single branch. The common branch symbolizes the union of opposites, both trees their division. That branch is topped by a triangle with a point inside. The two sides of the triangle rejoining at the vertex and the inner point are a clear allusion to the union within unity. The alliance of duality and unity characterizes the sacred trees in general and the Tree of Life notably.

Next, both trees frame a central tree, springing up vertically from the head of a human figure. This tree links the common branch shaped as a celestial vault and the earthly personage with a human appearance; it symbolizes the axis linking Heaven and Earth, the World Axis that extends the being's one.

The axis of the human figure symbolizes the unified states of the being, the union of the opposed aspects depicted by his laterality; the World Axis shows the unified states of the world, the union of the opposed aspects represented by the lateral branches of the tree. In other words, the motif underlines that the individual first has to realize the unification of his own being's states before being able to reach the unified states of the world. As the being's axis is associated with the king's function and the World Axis with the druid's one, the druid will always be able, if necessary, to fulfil the king's function, but the king will never be able to act as a druid.

The big column or the World Axis

Column of Cussy in Cte-d'Or (France))The column was born from the tree. It replaced the post when stone replaced wood in architecture. The buried pedestal of the column corresponds to the roots of the tree, its shaft to the trunk and its capital to the preliminary foliage. As the sculptured posts of the Celtic era have disappeared a long time ago, it is necessary to look at Celto-Roman columns for the evidence for this.

The big column of Cussy (Côte-d'Or, France) rises more than 11 metres above the ground and constitutes one of the rare Gallo-Roman traces dating back to the 3rd century of our era. The pedestal has a quadrangular shape and is surmounted by a hexagonal socle of which seven faces represent the planets and the eighth consists in a dedicates; it bears a cylindrical column decorated with vegetable interweavings imitating bark and topped by a capital on which a statue must have rested originally.

As the tree, the column is an image of verticality, of the axis crossing the three worlds representative of the cosmic and individual worlds. Indeed, the being is in communication with Heaven through the spirit, Earth through the body and the intermediary world through the psyche (for more details, see the Temple). Now, the quadrangular pedestal of the column symbolizes Earth, its shaft and especially its circular top Heaven and the octagonal socle the transitional figure between square and circle, i.e. the intermediary world between Earth and Heaven.

The column symbolizes, at once, the Axis of the World and the axis of the being. The World Axis is represented by the Axis of the celestial poles situated at the vertical of the celestial equator; the axis of the being links nadir to zenith at the vertical the terrestrial horizon. The first points at the polar star, the eternal night, the celestial invisible world; the second at the sun at its zenith, the full day light, the terrestrial visible world. It follows that the World Axis characterizes the druid possessor of the spiritual knowledge and laws ruling the celestial world; the being's axis personifies the king in charge of the application of these laws in the terrestrial world.

The palmette or the Tree of Life

Celts borrowed the theme of the Tree of Life from the Greko-Etruscan iconography, generally represented under the form of a palmette, i.e. a simplified image of the palm tree. The palmette was often employed as a vegetable attribute of the masculine divinity associated with the Tree of Life. That is why, palm trees were little by little transformed into “divine” faces during the 4th century before our era and the beginning of the following one. One of the most beautiful and known examples of this is a face at the base of the handle of a bronze wine pitcher discovered at Waldalgesheim (Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany) and visible in Rheinisches Landesmuseum in Bonn.

Bronze wine pitcher La palmette Palmette's drawing

The head with two leaves of mistletoe characterizes one of the biggest Celtic masculine divinities, probably Lug (for more details, see the Celtic festivals). It is flanked by two vertical, symmetrical and inverted monsters. Endowed with a griffon's head and a serpent's body, they are the custodians of the fruit of the Tree of Life.

The reverence of Celts for the mistletoe seems to be testified by Pliny the Elder: “The druids… have nothing more sacred than the mistletoe and the tree carrying it, as long as it is a sessile (oak)”. This evergreen shrub is a hemiparasite 1 of deciduous trees of tempered regions. Its seeds are laid by the birds on the branches of the trees, but they grow very rarely, notably on the sessile oak. Therefore, the reverence for the tree carrying it and the god associated with.

The two leaves of mistletoe topping the head of the god symbolize duality of opposites. Nevertheless, as they rejoin above the head, they suggest an ascending movement towards a unified state of being symbolized by a point of the symmetry axis of the figure, which is also the axis of the Tree of Life.

Duality is again reinforced by the two inverted monsters that rejoin in a descending movement towards a unified state of inferior order to the preceding one.

The representation on the palmette combines duality on either side of the axis and unity alongside the axis as in the Tree of Life.

Sheath decoration (Wisbech, England, 4th century before our era)Successive simplifications of the palmette resulted in the form that specialists call pelte because of its resemblance with the antique shield with the same name. It is represented on the bronze decoration of a sheath discovered at Wisbech (Cambridgeshire, England). The cross sectional view of this shield looks strangely like the stylized form of an inverted palm tree.

The sheath is destined to contain the double-edged sword, a symbol of duality. Now, in the story of “Peredur ab Efrog” of the Irish mythology, Peredur meets the Great Miller that handles an axe with one edge giving life and the other death. It is probably a matter of a great Celtic divinity that ensures the passage between the world of living and the Other World or conversely. These two aspects are unified within eternity, symbolized by the axis of the axe or sword.

Bibliography

  • Christian-J Guyonvarc'h:
  • “Irish mythological texts”. Ogam-Celticum, Rennes, 1980.
  • Françoise Le Roux et Christian-J Guyonvarc'h:
  • “The Celtic civilization”, Ouest-France Publisher, 1990;
  • “The Celtic feasts”, Ouest-France Publisher, 1995.

1 back The mistletoe continues to produce chlorophyll whereas the parasitic plants, in the strict sense of the word, have lost this capacity. Besides, the plant would have never had the fame it even knows today without this capacity. The mistletoe had to be gathered at the beginning of cold season, around the 1st November or festival of Samain. The custom nowadays, which associates the mistletoe with the winter solstice and New Year festivities, could be a distant reminder of the yesteryear festival.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Les arbres sacrés du monde celtique

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

La forêt sacrée

La forêt constitue un authentique sanctuaire naturel où s'épanouissent les arbres sacrés. Les arbres sacrés des cinq provinces de l'Irlande sont un chêne, un if ou un frêne. Le chêne était au sommet de la hiérarchie des arbres sacrés dans tout le monde celtique. Il constituait le support végétal d'un symbolisme qui allie connaissance et force, les principaux attributs respectifs du druide et du roi.

Les préférences pour les autres espèces d'arbres sacrés variaient selon les différentes contrées. Toutefois, tous les pays retenaient la valeur divinatoire du bois. Une expression telle que “Jeter les bois” était courante dans toutes les régions celtiques. L'if et le coudrier étaient fréquemment utilisés pour la fabrication des baguettes destinées au tirage au sort et à la magie. Le coudrier était porteur de science et la consommation de son fruit, la noisette, procurait la connaissance et inspirait la sagesse de l'Autre Monde. Les baguettes en bois étaient notamment utilisées en Irlande pour graver les inscriptions divinatoires ou magiques, les Ogam, dont l'invention était attribuée au dieu Ogme (pour plus détails, voir le triskèle).

La massue d'un autre dieu irlandais, Dagda, était aussi un symbole de l'arbre sacré car elle pouvait tuer par un bout (dans ce monde) et ressusciter par l'autre (dans l'Autre Monde).

La notion d'arbre sacré est remarquablement illustrée par le motif du pot découvert à Arcobriga (Castille, Espagne).

Pot, Museo Arqueológico Nacional, MadridTout d'abord, la décoration représente deux arbres distincts réunis par une seule branche. La branche commune symbolise l'union des opposés, les deux arbres leur division. Cette même branche est surmontée d'un triangle avec un point à l'intérieur. Les deux cotés du triangle se rejoignant au sommet et le point intérieur sont une allusion claire à l'union au sein de l'unité. L'alliance de la dualité et de l'unité caractérise les arbres sacrés en général et notamment l'Arbre de Vie.

Ensuite, ces deux arbres encadrent un arbre central sortant verticalement de la tête d'une figure humaine. Cet arbre relie la branche commune en forme de voûte céleste et le personnage terrestre d'apparence humaine; il symbolise l'axe reliant le Ciel et la Terre, l'Axe du Monde qui prolonge l'axe de l'être lui-même.

L'axe de la figure humaine symbolise les états unifiés de l'être, l'union des aspects opposés figurés par sa latéralité; l'Axe du Monde dépeint les états unifiés du monde, l'union des aspects opposés représentés par les branches latérales de l'arbre. Autrement dit, le motif souligne que l'individu devra d'abord réaliser l'unification de ses propres états d'être avant de pouvoir accéder aux états unifiés du monde. Comme l'axe de l'être est associé à la fonction de roi et l'Axe du Monde à celle de druide, le druide pourra toujours, si nécessaire, exercer la fonction de roi, mais le roi ne pourra jamais agir en tant que druide.

La grande colonne ou l'Axe du Monde

Ccolonne de Cussy en Côte-d'Or (France)La colonne est née de l'arbre. Elle a remplacé le poteau quand la pierre a relayé le bois en architecture. Le piédestal enterré de la colonne correspond aux racines de l'arbre, son fût au tronc et son chapiteau à l'ébauche de la frondaison. Comme les poteaux sculptés de l'époque celtique ont disparu depuis longtemps, force est de se rabattre sur les colonnes celto-romaines.

La grande colonne de Cussy (Côte-d'Or, France) s'élève à plus de 11 mètres et constitue l'un des rares vestiges gallo-romains datant du IIIe siècle de notre ère. De forme quadrangulaire, son piédestal est surmonté d'un socle hexagonal dont sept faces représentent les planètes et la huitième comporte une dédicace; il supporte une colonne cylindrique décorée d'imbrications végétales imitant une écorce et terminée par un chapiteau sur lequel devait reposer une statue à l'origine.

Comme l'arbre, la colonne est une image de la verticalité, de l'axe traversant les trois mondes représentatifs des mondes cosmique et individuel. En effet, l'être est en relation avec le Ciel par l'esprit, la Terre par le corps et le monde intermédiaire par la psyché (pour davantage de détails, voir le Temple). Or, le piédestal quadrangulaire de la colonne symbolise la Terre, le fût et surtout son sommet circulaire le Ciel et le socle octogonal la figure de transition entre le carré et le cercle, i.e. le monde intermédiaire entre la Terre et le Ciel.

La colonne symbolise, à la fois, l'Axe du Monde et l'axe de l'être. L'Axe du Monde est représenté par l'Axe des pôles célestes situé à la verticale de l'équateur céleste; l'axe de l'être relie le nadir au zénith à la verticale de l'horizon terrestre. Le premier pointe vers l'étoile polaire, la nuit éternelle, le monde invisible céleste; le second vers le soleil à son zénith, la pleine clarté du jour, le monde visible terrestre. L'Axe du Monde caractérise, en conséquence, le druide détenteur de la connaissance spirituelle et des lois qui gouvernent le monde céleste; l'axe de l'être personnifie le roi en charge de l'application de ces lois dans le monde terrestre.

La palmette ou l'Arbre de Vie

Les Celtes empruntèrent à l'iconographie gréco-étrusque le thème de l'Arbre de Vie, généralement représenté sous la forme d'une palmette, c'est-à-dire d'une image simplifiée du palmier. La palmette fut souvent employée comme attribut végétal de la divinité masculine associée à l'Arbre de Vie. C'est pourquoi, les palmiers furent peu à peu transformés en visages “divins” au cours du IVe siècle avant notre ère et au début du siècle suivant. Un des plus beaux exemples connus nous est fourni par un visage à la base de l'anse d'une cruche à vin en bronze découverte à Waldalgesheim (Rhénanie-Palatinat, Allemagne) et visible au Rheinisches Landesmuseum à Bonn.

Cruche à vin en bronze La palmette Dessin de la palmette

La tête auréolée de deux feuilles de gui caractérise l'une des plus grandes divinités masculines celtiques, probablement Lug (pour plus de détails, voir les fêtes celtiques). Elle est flanquée de deux monstres verticaux, symétriques et inversés. Dotés d'une tête de griffon et d'un corps de serpent, ils sont les gardiens des fruits de l'Arbre de Vie.

La vénération des Celtes pour le gui semble attestée par Pline l'Ancien: “Les druides… n'ont rien de plus sacré que le gui et l'arbre qui le porte, pourvu que ce soit un (chêne-) rouvre”. Cet arbuste toujours vert est un hémiparasite 1 d'arbres caducs des régions tempérées. Ses graines sont déposées par les oiseaux sur les branches des arbres, mais elles ne poussent que rarement, notamment sur le chêne-rouvre. D'où, la révérence pour l'arbre qui le porte et le dieu associé.

Les deux feuilles de gui coiffant le dieu symbolisent la dualité des opposés. Toutefois, comme elles se rejoignent au-dessus de la tête, elles suggèrent un mouvement ascendant vers un état d'être unifié symbolisé par un point l'axe de symétrie de la figure qui est aussi l'axe de l'Arbre de Vie.

La dualité est encore renforcée par les deux monstres inversés qui se rejoignent dans un mouvement descendant vers un état unifié d'ordre inférieur au précédent.

La représentation sur la palmette combine la dualité de part et d'autre de l'axe et l'unité le long de l'axe comme dans l'Arbre de Vie.

Garniture de fourreauLes simplifications successives de la palmette ont abouti à la forme que les spécialistes dénomment pelte en raison de sa ressemblance avec le bouclier antique du même nom. Il est représenté sur la garniture en bronze d'un fourreau découvert à Wisbech (Cambridgeshire, Angleterre). La vue en coupe de ce bouclier ressemble étrangement à la forme stylisée d'un palmier inversé.

Le fourreau est destiné à contenir l'épée à double tranchant, symbole de dualité. Or, dans l'histoire de “Peredur ab Efrog” de la mythologie irlandaise, Peredur rencontre le Grand Meunier qui manie une hache dont un tranchant donne la vie et l'autre la mort. Il s'agit probablement d'une grande divinité celtique qui assure le passage entre le monde des vivants et l'Autre Monde ou inversement. Ces deux aspects sont réunis au sein de l'éternité, symbolisée par l'axe de la hache ou de l'épée.

Bibliographie

  • Christian-J Guyonvarc'h:
  • “Textes mythologiques irlandais”. Ogam-Celticum, Rennes, 1980.
  • Françoise Le Roux et Christian-J Guyonvarc'h:
  • “Les Druides”. Éditions Ouest-France, 1986.
  • “La civilisation celtique”. Éditions Ouest-France, 1990;

1 retour Le gui continue de produire de la chlorophylle tandis que les plantes parasitaires au sens strict ont perdu cette capacité. Sans cette capacité, la plante n'aurait d'ailleurs jamais eu la renommée qu'elle connait encore aujourd'hui. Le gui devait être cueilli au début de la saison froide, aux environs du 1er novembre ou de la fête de Samain. La coutume d'associer de nos jours le gui au solstice d'hiver et aux festivités du nouvel an est peut-être une lointaine réminiscence de la fête d'antan.

Haut