LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The Bodhi Tree of the Buddhist World

(Detailed page)

Summary

The World Tree or the fiery energy

Even if it contains some philosophical and religious elements, the Buddhism is neither a religion nor a philosophy. And this is even truer for the Great Vehicle or Great Way (mahayana) accessible to the largest number in contrast to the Defective Vehicle or Defective Way (hinayana) restricted to monks. The Buddhist doctrine is the fruit of the inner quest of a man that showed the Way of cessation of suffering for ALL beings.

Buddhism drew from Hinduism in the beginning. It had to distinguish itself from it and develop its own path in order to overflow Indian borders and be adapted to new regions. Nevertheless, this does not prevent symbols as the World Tree or the Tree of Life from still carrying the stamp of the pre-Buddhist period as testified by the Vedas and especially the Upanishads. Besides, the description of the tree in the Maitrayani Upanishads illuminates this point:

There are verily two forms of Brahman, with or without likeness. Now, the That which is in a likeness is contingent; the That which is imageless is essential, Brahman, light. This Light is the light of the spiritual Sun.” (Maitri Up. VI 3)

  • The ultimate goal of the human being, “Liberation”, is the authentic Brahman, the non qualified Brahma (nirguna), the infinite Totality of possibilities of manifestation and non-manifestation. Brahma is the Principle at once of the Being and Non-Being. Therefore, the denomination of Supreme Brahma (Para-Brahma);
  • The formal Braman is Brahmâ, the personalized and masculine form of the impersonal and neuter Principle. It is the qualified (saguna) and Non-Supreme (Apara-Brahma) Principle of the whole human manifestation.

The light of the authentic Brahman is the one of the spiritual Sun proper to the invisible world and beyond the visible sun. It is not only a matter of the light received at the time of Enlightment, Awakening, but also of the light associated with the act of illuminating, awakening. The awakening concerns not only the one that awakens, but equally those on which the Awakened gleams.

With its planted root above… this tree which is called the Single Fig-tree, this is Brahman… its light is the one of the spiritual Sun, but also of the syllable OM; this is the reason why one should worship It ceaselessly by the means of the syllable OM! For the syllable OM is the One Awakener that lights the human being.” (Maitri Up. VI 4)

The World Tree is the Single Fig-tree, the Bodhi or Awakening Fig-tree. The sap of the tree rises from the roots to the foliage. The roots correspond to the authentic Braman, to the Principle to the source of manifested and non-manifested, the branches and the foliage to the actual manifestation. From the manifested being standpoint nevertheless, the Principle comes under the world beyond and its manifestation within the world here below. This is the reason why, the tree is perceived inverted from the manifestation standpoint.

The Fig-tree is called the “One Awakener” and the Bodhi Fig-tree, the “Great Awakening”. The awakening corresponds to the action of getting up and this is true just as well for the being as the tree. The tree is straightened up in the eyes of the Awakened that henceforth sees the world from the Principle standpoint.

The syllable OM symbolizes the primeval sound, the Word of Brahman from which everything is arising. It represents the development of the Principle potentiality as well as the return to the original Unity. By the sound, the light, the fiery energy awakens, bursts out and propagates itself. The tree, symbol of Verb and Light, is the support for the vision of Brahman and Buddha.

It (the fiery energy) has its place in the dark home that diffuses light… it rises such a branch in the firmament and, stem after stem, spreads all over just as a contemplative vision.” (Maitri Up. VII 11)

Just as Brahman, the Buddha radiates fiery energy:

  • By day, it is the sun which shines,
  • At night, the moon shines forth.
  • A warrior shines in his armour,
  • And a Brahmin shines in meditation.
  • But at all times, by day and by night
  • The Buddha shines in his glory.
  • (Dhammapada or the Verses of the Law, 387)

“The syllable OM… Prana (Vital Breath), Agni (Fire) and Surya (Spiritual Sun) are its fiery forms.” (Maitri Up. VI 5).

  • Prana corresponds to the Vital Breath, to the energy at the basis of the manifested existence, mainly physical;
  • Agni is the god of Fire. Fire symbolizes the elevation of the physical being towards the human being, i.e. centred within himself. Gautama represents the human aspect of Agni;
  • Surya is the Sun god, the spiritual Sun associated with the total being that has not only rejoined his own centre, but equally the Centre of the World as the Buddha.

This triad symbolizes the axis of elevation of the being from the original Breath to the Supreme Light.

The Tree of Life or the elevation way

And now, o you who live in Brahman, the That which is His dark part is Rudra, the Destructive; the That which is His dynamic part is Brahmâ, the Creator; and the That which is His luminous part is Vishnu, the Protective.” (Maitri Up. V 2)

Rudra is the destructive aspect of Shiva the Transformer.

These three gods represent the triple manifestation (“Trimurti”): Brahmâ the Creator, Vishnu the Protective and Shiva the Destructive or more precisely the Transformer. The “Trimurti” symbolizes as many aspects of the whole manifestation. Moving along upwards opens the gate on the non-manifested, the Principle, Brahma.

Now, an inscription about the Tree of Life in the temple of Angkor Wat, initially Hindu, then Buddhist, stipulates that its roots are Brahmâ, its trunk Shiva and its branches Vishnu.

Angkor Wat Temple

Each of these gods represents an aspect of the Principle of the human manifestation as a whole:

  • Brahmâ represents the creative aspect of the Principle, reflection in the manifested world of the Principle of manifestation and non-manifestation;
  • Shiva depicts the transformation aspect of the Principle: the destruction of ignorance, fruit of the illusion linked to the separation of beings and things, and the restoration of the perfect union in the state of the eternal present;
  • Vishnu characterizes the conservative and protective aspect of the Principle. He works without stopping to restore the lost unity during the manifestation; when the necessities of the time impose it, He descends under the form of one of ten incarnations (“avatars”), one of which is Buddha.

These three gods represent productive principles of the manifested world and as many facets of the Supreme god, Brahma. As “Supreme Principle”, Brahma is beyond any distinction between creation, preservation and transformation. It is neuter while Brahmâ, Vishnu and Shiva are masculine and endowed with their own feminine energies (“shakti”) depicted respectively by three goddesses Sarasvati, Lakshmi and Parvati.

The masculine and feminine aspects, represented by the lateral branches of the Tree of Life, are unified at the level of the trunk. This trunk symbolizes the World Axis linking all the being's states together from the most manifested to the non-manifested and draw the Way of elevation just as well towards Brahma as the state of Buddha.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “Introduction to the Study of the Hindu Doctrines”. Sophia Perennis Publisher, 2002;
  • In particular, chapter IV of the third part entitled “About Buddhism”.
  • Ananda K. Coomaraswamy:
  • “Elements of Buddhist Iconography”. Munshiram Manoharlal Publishers New Delhi, 1998;
  • Notably, the pages devoted to the Tree of Life.
Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

L'Arbre de la Bodhi du Monde bouddhiste

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

L'Arbre du Monde ou l'énergie ignée

Même s'il contient des éléments religieux et philosophiques, le Bouddhisme n'est ni une religion ni une philosophie. Et cela est encore plus vrai du Grand Véhicule ou de la Grande Voie (mahâyâna) accessible au plus grand nombre contrairement au Petit Véhicule ou à la Petite Voie (hinâyâna) restreint aux moines. La doctrine bouddhique est le fruit de la quête intérieure d'un homme qui montra la Voie de la cessation de la souffrance pour TOUS les êtres.

Le Bouddhisme puisa à l'origine dans l'Hindouisme. Il dût s'en détacher et développer sa propre voie pour déborder les frontières de l'Inde et s'adapter à de nouvelles contrées. Il n'empêche que des symboles tels que l'Arbre du Monde ou l'Arbre de Vie portent encore l'empreinte de la période pré-bouddhiste comme en témoignent les Vêdas et surtout les Upanishads. La description de l'arbre dans les Maitrayani Upanishads nous éclaire d'ailleurs sur ce point:

Il y a en vérité deux formes de Brahman, avec ou sans similitude. Maintenant, Cela qui est dans une similitude est contingent; Cela qui est sans image est l'essentiel, Brahman, lumière. Cette Lumière est la lumière du Soleil spirituel.” (Maitri Up. VI 3)

  • Le but ultime de l'être humain, la “Délivrance”, est l'authentique Brahman, le Brahma non qualifié (nirguna), la Totalité infinie des possibilités de manifestation et de non manifestation. Brahma est le Principe à la fois de l'Être et du Non-Être. D'où la dénomination de Suprême Brahma (Para-Brahma);
  • Le Braman formel est Brahmâ, la forme personnalisée et masculine du Principe impersonnel et neutre Brahma. Il est le Principe qualifié (saguna) et Non-Suprême (Apara-Brahma) de l'ensemble de la manifestation humaine.

La lumière de l'authentique brahman est celle du Soleil spirituel propre au monde invisible et au-delà du soleil visible. Il s'agit non seulement de la lumière reçue lors de l'Illumination, de l'Éveil, mais aussi de la lumière associée à l'acte d'illuminer, d'éveiller. L'Éveil ne concerne pas uniquement celui qui s'éveille, mais également ceux sur lesquels l'Éveillé resplendit.

Avec sa racine plantée en haut… cet arbre que l'on appelle l'Unique Figuier, c'est Brahman… sa lumière est celle du Soleil spirituel, mais aussi celle de la syllabe Om; c'est pourquoi on doit Le vénérer continuellement au moyen de la syllabe Om! Car la syllabe Om est l'Unique Éveilleur qui éclaire l'être humain.” (Maitri Up. VI 4)

L'Arbre du Monde est l'Unique Figuier, le Figuier de la Bodhi ou de l'Éveil. La sève de l'arbre monte des racines jusqu'au feuillage. Les racines correspondent à l'authentique Braman, au Principe à la source du manifesté et du non manifesté, les branches et le feuillage à la manifestation proprement dite. Du point de vue de l'être manifesté cependant, le Principe relève du monde de l'au-delà et sa manifestation du monde ici-bas. C'est pourquoi, l'arbre est perçu inversé du point de vue de la manifestation.

Le Figuier est appelé “l'Unique Éveilleur” et le Figuier de la Bodhi le “Grand Éveil”. L'Éveil correspond à l'action de se relever et ceci vaut aussi bien pour l'être que pour l'arbre. L'arbre est redressé aux yeux de l'Éveillé qui voit désormais le monde du point de vue du Principe.

La syllabe OM symbolise le son primordial, la Parole de Brahman d'où surgissent toutes choses. Elle représente le développement de la potentialité du Principe ainsi que le retour à l'Unité originelle. Par le son, la lumière, l'énergie ignée s'éveille, fuse et se propage. L'Arbre, symbole du Verbe et de la Lumière, est le support pour la vision de Brahman et du Bouddha.

Elle (l'énergie ignée) a sa place dans le sombre foyer qui diffuse la lumière… elle s'élève telle une branche dans le firmament et, tige après tige, s'étend à tout comme une vision contemplative.” (Maitri Up. VII 11)

Tout comme Brahman, le Bouddha rayonne d'énergie ignée:

  • Le jour, brûle le soleil.
  • La nuit, resplendit la lune.
  • Équipé, le prince brûle.
  • Méditant, brûle le brâhmane.
  • Mais sans cesse, jour et nuit,
  • Le Bouddha brûle par son rayonnement.
  • (Dhammapada ou les Stances de la Loi, 387)

La syllabe Om… Prâna (Souffle vital), Agni (Feu) et Sûrya (Soleil spirituel) sont ses formes ignées.” (Maitri Up. VI 5).

  • Prâna correspond au Souffle vital, à l'énergie à la base de l'existence manifestée, principalement physique;
  • Agni est le dieu du Feu. Le Feu symbolise l'élévation de l'être physique vers l'être humain, c'est-à-dire centré en lui-même. Gautama représente l'aspect humain d'Agni;
  • Sûrya est le dieu du Soleil, du Soleil spirituel associé à l'être total qui a non seulement rejoint son propre centre, mais également le Centre du Monde comme le Bouddha.

Cette triade symbolise l'axe de l'élévation de l'être depuis le Souffle originel jusqu'à la Suprême Lumière.

L'Arbre de Vie ou la Voie de l'élévation

Et maintenant, ô vous qui vivez en Brahman, Cela qui est Sa part ténébreuse est Rudra, le Destructeur; Cela qui est Sa part dynamique est Brahmâ, le Créateur; et Cela qui est Sa part lumineuse est Vishnu, le Préservateur.” (Maitri Up. V 2)

Rudra est l'aspect destructeur de Shiva le Transformateur.

Ces trois dieux représentent la triple manifestation (“Trimûrti”): Brahmâ le Créateur, Vishnu le Préservateur et Shiva le Destructeur ou plus exactement le Transformateur. La “Trimûrti” symbolise autant d'aspects de l'ensemble de la manifestation. Son ascension à rebours ouvre la porte sur le non manifesté, le Principe, Brahma.

Or, une inscription à propos de l'Arbre de Vie dans le temple d'Angkor Wat, initialement hindou, puis bouddhiste, stipule que ses racines sont Brahmâ, son tronc Shiva et ses branches Vishnu.

Temple d'Angkor-Vat

Chacun de ces dieux représente un aspect du Principe de la manifestation humaine dans son ensemble:

  • Brahmâ représente l'aspect créateur du Principe, reflet dans le monde manifesté du Principe de la manifestation et de la non manifestation;
  • Shiva dépeint l'aspect transformateur du Principe: la destruction de l'ignorance, fruit de l'illusion liée à la séparation des êtres et des choses, et la restauration de la parfaite union dans l'état de l'éternel présent;
  • Vishnu caractérise l'aspect conservateur et protecteur du Principe. Il œuvre sans arrêt au rétablissement de l'unité perdue au cours de la manifestation; lorsque les nécessités du temps l'imposent, Il descend sous la forme de l'une des dix incarnations (“avatars”) dont celle de Bouddha.

Ces trois dieux représentent des principes producteurs du monde manifesté et autant de facettes du dieu Suprême, Brahma. En tant que “Principe Suprême”, Brahma est au-delà de toute distinction entre création, préservation et transformation. Il est neutre alors que Brahmâ, Vishnu et Shiva sont masculins et dotés de leurs propres énergies féminines (“shakti”) dépeintes respectivement par les trois déesses Sarasvatî, Lakshmî et Pârvatî.

Les aspects masculins et féminins, représentés par les branches latérales de l'Arbre de Vie, sont unifiés au niveau du tronc. Ce tronc symbolise l'Axe du Monde reliant tout les états d'être entre eux depuis les plus manifestes jusqu'aux non manifestés et dessinent la Voie de l'élévation aussi bien vers Brama que vers l'état de Bouddha.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Introduction générale à l'étude des doctrines hindoues”, Éditions Guy Trédaniel, 1997;
  • En particulier, le chapitre IV de la troisième partie intitulé “À propos du Bouddhisme”.
  • Ananda K. Coomaraswamy:
  • “Les Symboles fondamentaux de l'Art Bouddhiste”. Éditions Gallimard, 1958;
  • Notamment, les pages consacrées à l'Arbre de Vie.
Haut