LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The Bodhi Tree of the Buddhist World (Summary)

The awakening tree

In contrast to the Tree of Life of the Biblical or Hebraic tradition and to the Universal Tree of the Sufi one, the Bodhi Tree is a tree of the visible world. It symbolizes for the Buddhist the saving knowledge that releases the being from his illusions. It is a matter of a Ficus bengalensis located in the Indian state of Bihar and carrying small numerous, but non edible figs. It is at the foot of this tree that Siddhartha Gautama knew enlightment and became the Buddha, the Awakened and also the Awakener. In fact, He liked to sit under this tree to teach his disciples the way.

Bodhi TreeSiddhartha Gautama would have stayed seven weeks under this tree, which has since become sacred, in quest of revelation and in prey to his own demons. Before being “Awakened”, he was “waking”. At the first waking, he discovers the worlds as a whole. At the second waking, he contemplated the totality of the being's states. At the third waking, he knew the Bodhi, the Awakening and the Enlightment that lights the cosmic and human world. Then, he discovered the “Four Noble Truths” destined to heal all evils and which became the basis of his teaching. Let us simply recall that they have to do with the nature, the origin, the cessation of suffering and the way to achieve it.

Two centuries after Gautama's death, the tree was surrounded by a temple by the emperor Ashoka, fervent follower of the teaching transmitted by the Master. A rocky throne stands at the place where the Buddha used to sit surrounded by his disciples. The old tree is no longer there, but one of its descendants majestically grew in this place.

Other trees punctuated the life of Siddhartha Gautama but never attained the fame of the Tree of the Bodhi. At the time of his birth, his mother held in her hand a branch of Asoka, a tree with strongly sented flowers, in accordance with a rite giving the salutary strengths of the Tree of Life to mother and child. During his childhood already, he knew a first enlightment under a Jambu, a pink apple tree, the tree of the Mount Meru symbolizing the spiritual Centre of the Hindu tradition. It is also said that he meditated for forty days at the foot of a Taranaga called “tree of the passage” as well. It is a matter of the passage where the man dies to a state of being to be reborn into another one. At last, just before dying, Siddhartha Gautama went to lie under twined trees that start to bloom out of season. He truly passed his life in the shadow of flowering trees.

In the iconography of the beginnings of Buddhism, the Tree of the Bodhi depicted not only the place of Awakening, but the Buddha himself. The tree became the Awakener and a place of pilgrimage. Nevertheless, the effective presence of the tree has masked the aniconic representation of the World Tree, of the Tree of Life, the roots of which plunge into the pre-Buddhist world.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

L'Arbre de la Bodhi du Monde bouddhiste (Résumé)

L'arbre de l'éveil

Contrairement à l'Arbre de Vie de la tradition biblique ou hébraïque et à l'Arbre Universel de la tradition soufite, l'Arbre de la Bodhi est un arbre du monde visible. Il symbolise pour les bouddhistes la connaissance salvatrice qui délivre l'être de ses illusions. Il s'agit d'un Ficus bengalensis situé dans l'état indien de Bihar et porteur de petites figues nombreuses, mais non comestibles. C'est au pied de cet arbre que Siddhârta Gautama connût l'illumination et devint Bouddha, l'Éveillé et aussi l'Éveilleur. Il aimait, en effet, se tenir sous cet arbre pour enseigner la voie à ses disciples.

Arbre de la BodhiSiddhârta Gautama serait resté sept semaines durant sous cet arbre, devenu sacré depuis, en quête de la révélation et en proie à ses propres démons. Avant d'être “Éveillé”, il fut “veille”. À la première veille, il découvrit l'ensemble des mondes. À la deuxième veille, il contempla la totalité des états de l'être. À la troisième veille, il connût la Bodhi, l'Éveil, l'Illumination qui éclaire le monde cosmique et humain. Il découvrit alors les “Quatre Nobles Vérités” destinées à soigner tous les maux et à la base de son enseignement. Rappelons simplement qu'elles ont trait à la nature, à l'origine, à la cessation de la souffrance et à la façon d'y parvenir.

Deux siècles après la mort de Gautama, l'arbre fut entouré d'un temple par l'empereur Ashoka, fervent adepte de l'enseignement transmis par le Maître. Un trône de pierre siège à l'emplacement où le Bouddha se tenait entouré de ses disciples. Le vieil arbre n'est plus, mais l'un de ses descendants a majestueusement grandi en ce lieu.

D'autres arbres ont ponctué la vie de Siddhârta Gautama sans atteindre toutefois la renommée de l'Arbre de la Bodhi. Lors de sa naissance, sa mère tenait dans la main une branche d'Açoka, un arbre aux fleurs très parfumées, conformément à un rite donnant les pouvoirs salutaires de l'Arbre de Vie à la mère et à l'enfant. Au cours son enfance déjà, il connût une première illumination sous un Jambu, un pommier rose, l'arbre du Mont Meru symbolisant le Centre spirituel de la tradition hindoue. Il est dit aussi qu'il médita pendant quarante jours au pied d'un Tarânaga appelé aussi “arbre du passage”. Il s'agit du passage où l'homme meurt à un état d'être pour renaître (de préférence à se réincarner) dans un autre état. Enfin, peu avant de mourir, Siddhârta Gautama se coucha sous deux arbres jumelés qui se mirent fleurir hors saison. Il passa véritablement sa vie à l'ombre des arbres en fleurs.

Dans l'iconographie des débuts du Bouddhisme, l'Arbre de la Bodhi ne figura pas seulement le lieu de l'Éveil, mais le Bouddha lui-même. L'arbre devint l'Éveilleur et un lieu de pèlerinage. La présence effective de l'arbre a toutefois masqué la représentation aniconique de l'Arbre du monde, de l'Arbre de Vie dont les racines plongent dans le monde pré-bouddhiste.

Page détaillée

Haut