LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The Tree of Life of the Biblical World (Detailed page)

Summary

The Tree of Life and the tree of knowledge

By its vertical trunk from which horizontal branches are spreading, by its double nature at once unified and dual, the tree raises an ambiguity that we rediscover in the Garden of Eden. In fact, two trees grow in the Garden: the Tree of Life and the tree of knowledge of good and evil. However, the relationship between these two trees remains unclear:

  • Is it about two distinct trees or a unique tree ? In the latter case, would the Tree of Life be depicted by a central trunk and the duality of the tree of knowledge by two lateral ones ? For more of details on the representation of the tree, see the World Tree.
  • Could the tree of knowledge of good and evil stand, as the Tree of Life, in the Centre of the Garden ? Does the Centre not symbolize the place or better the state, where opposites balance each other, transform themselves into complements and merge into Unity ?

Nevertheless, it is certain that the Tree of Life gathers all opposed aspects in a unified state. It follows that the tree of knowledge is, in a way, the terrestrial manifestation of the celestial Tree of Life. Therefore, the denomination of terrestrial Paradise.

The source of four rivers is located at the foot of the Tree of Life. These four rivers are oriented according to the compass points and water the terrestrial world. They are associated with the four elements or states of the terrestrial world: water (north), fire (south), air (east) and earth (west). The elements are coming from a unique source, the primeval ether, equally situated at the foot of the Tree. The ether symbolizes the other elements in a unified state and stands at the base of the World Axis linking Earth and Heaven.

The source also symbolizes the "teaching fountain" of the primeval Tradition related to the Centre and the four rivers, its transmission to the guardians of the Tradition. We rediscover here the link mentioned in the quest for the Holy Grail between the cup and the Tradition.

The branches of the Tree of Life carry the fruit of eternal Life, symbolizing the unified state beyond antagonisms and associated with the World Centre. It is about the state where the being's will and divine Will coincide, where the being sees unity beyond all things and all things in the perfect simultaneity of the Eternal present.

These fruit, products of the elevation of the sap from Earth to Heaven, are twelve (sometimes ten) in number. This number corresponds to the twelve Stations of the Sun during its yearly zodiacal run. This is why they are often called “golden fruit”.

The Tree of Life, carrier of fruit of eternal Life, is guarded by a serpent. Made in the image of the Tree, the serpent gathers antagonisms in a unified state. Its beneficial and malefic aspects are of course related to the tree of knowledge of good and evil.

The access to the Tree of Life or to the tree of knowledge depends on the degree of spirituality reached by the postulants:

  • The beings that have succeeded in rejoining the Centre and the unified state will be able to taste the fruit of the Tree of Life giving access to eternal Life, to immortality proper to the spiritual world;
  • The beings that have moved away from the Centre and are living in the dualistic world will only be able to taste fruit of the Tree of knowledge. It will help them to become aware of their condition of ordinary being and of the lost unity.

We know which fruit Adam and Eve tasted, but was it their real intention ?

Adam and Eve

Stained-glass window representing Adam and EveGod placed the first being close to the Tree of Life. The original Adam consequently symbolized the primeval Androgyne, integrating both masculine and feminine sides. He became male when Eve was born from one of his sides (and not ribs). The unified Primeval Androgyne transformed himself into a masculine/feminine couple. Their common will to conceal their differences under fig tree leaves could not delude anyone. Despite the fact that they came from a same flesh, they nevertheless were man and woman. They had moved away from the Centre. Nowadays, when a man introduces his wife or companion in life while talking about his “better half”, he is surely not aware of evoking the half of the lost unity that he has frantically tried to rediscover through the quest of the soul mate.

To rediscover the lost unity, Adam and Eve wanted to taste the fruit of the Tree of Life in all innocence. However, only the forbidden fruit of the Tree of knowledge were henceforth accessible 1. So, Adam became conscious of the double nature of the tree of knowledge and acquired “knowledge of good and evil”. He discovered that he would rediscover the Centre, the unified state, the primeval state only after the fall into the world of duality and the passage through a number of tests destined to restore the original state. In reality, Adam and Eve had no choice. They had to die in the innocence state to be reborn into the consciousness one.

Adam sins by lack of discernment, the only fault that God cannot forgive. No remission for the being unable to discern truth from error. It is not sufficient to taste fruit of the Tree of Life to ipso facto rediscover the original state. It is necessary to first reintegrate the Centre after having unified all facets of the being and overcome a number of tests thus letting us understand how much things are interrelated. Then, Adam and Eve could rediscover innocence, but in full consciousness.

The original Adam, the primeval Androgyne, the unified being is associated with the Tree of Life; the couple Adam/Eve, the world of duality is linked to the tree of knowledge. The two trees evoke the Principle and its manifestation, God and manifested beings. In other words, both trees symbolize creation.

According to a legend of the Middle Ages, Christ's cross was cut in the wood of the tree of knowledge. It means that after having been the instrument of the fall, the tree became the instrument of redemption. Consequently, duality can always reintegrate unity and the Tree of knowledge can rediscover its place in the Tree of Life.

Bibliography

  • Book of Genesis:
  • Text.
  • René Guénon:
  • “Symbols of Sacred Science”, Sophia Perennis Publisher 2004;
  • Notably, chapter 53 on “The tree of life and the Draught of Immortality”.
  • “The Symbolism of the Cross”, Sophia Perennis Publisher, 2002;
  • Particularly, chapter 9 on “The Tree in the midst”.

1 back Tasting the forbidden fruit can not simply mean transgression of the divine Word. The notion of transgression is properly western for reasons easy to understand; it is not current in the East and can not be applied to the entire mankind and, even less, to the first man on Earth.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

L'Arbre de Vie du Monde biblique (Page détaillée)

Résumé

L'Arbre de Vie et l'Arbre de la Science

Par son tronc vertical d'où partent des branches horizontales, par sa double nature à la fois unifiée et duelle, l'arbre soulève une ambigüité que nous retrouvons dans le Jardin d'Eden. Deux arbres s'élèvent, en effet, dans le Jardin: l'Arbre de Vie et l'Arbre de la Science du bien et du mal. La relation entre ces deux arbres reste cependant obscure:

  • S'agit-il de deux arbres distincts ou d'un arbre unique ? Dans ce dernier cas, l'Arbre de Vie serait-il figuré par un tronc central et la dualité de l'Arbre de la Science par deux troncs latéraux ? Pour plus de détails sur la représentation de l'arbre, voir l'Arbre du Monde.
  • L'Arbre de la Science du bien et du mal pourrait-il se trouver, comme l'Arbre de Vie, au Centre du Jardin ? Le Centre ne symbolise t-il pas le lieu ou plutôt l'état où les oppositions s'équilibrent, se muent en complémentaires et se fondent dans l'Unité ?

Une chose est néanmoins certaine, l'Arbre de Vie réunit tous les aspects opposés à l'état unifié. Il s'ensuit que l'Arbre de la Science est en quelque sorte la manifestation terrestre de l'Arbre de Vie céleste. D'où, la dénomination de Paradis terrestre.

La source de quatre fleuves se trouve au pied de l'Arbre de Vie. Ces quatre fleuves sont orientés selon les points cardinaux et arrosent le monde terrestre. Ils sont associés aux quatre éléments ou états du monde terrestre: eau (nord), feu (sud), air (est) et terre (ouest). Les éléments sont issus d'une source unique, l'éther primordial, également situé au pied de l'Arbre. L'éther symbolise les autres éléments à l'état unifié et se trouve à la base de l'Axe du Monde reliant la Terre et le Ciel.

La source symbolise aussi la “fontaine d'enseignement” de la Tradition primordiale reliée au Centre et les quatre fleuves, sa transmission aux dépositaires de la Tradition. Nous retrouvons ici le lien mentionné à propos de la quête du Saint Graal entre la coupe et la Tradition.

Les branches de l'Arbre de Vie sont porteuses des fruits de la Vie éternelle symbolisant l'état unifié au-delà des antagonismes et associé au Centre du Monde. Il s'agit de l'état où la volonté de l'être et la Volonté divine coïncident, où l'être voit l'unité au-delà de toutes choses et toutes choses dans la parfaite simultanéité de l'Éternel présent.

Ces fruits, produit de l'élévation de la sève de la Terre vers le Ciel, sont au nombre de douze (parfois dix). Ce nombre correspond aux douze stations du Soleil au cours de sa course zodiacale annuelle. C'est pourquoi, ils sont souvent qualifiés de “fruits d'or”.

L'Arbre de Vie, porteur des fruits de la Vie éternelle, est gardé par un serpent. À l'image de l'Arbre, le serpent réunit les antagonismes à l'état unifié. Ses aspects bénéfiques et maléfiques sont bien évidemment à mettre en relation avec l'Arbre de la Science du bien et du mal.

L'accès à l'Arbre de Vie ou à l'Arbre de la Science dépend du degré de spiritualité atteint par les postulants:

  • Les êtres qui sont parvenus à rejoindre le Centre et l'état unifié pourront goûter aux fruits de l'Arbre de Vie donnant accès à la Vie éternelle, à l'immortalité propre au monde spirituel;
  • Les êtres qui se sont éloignés du Centre et vivent dans le monde de la dualité ne pourront goûter que les fruits de l'Arbre de la Science. Il leur fera prendre conscience de leur condition d'être ordinaire et de l'unité perdue.

Nous savons quel fruit Adam et Ève ont goûté, mais était-ce bien leur intention ?

Adam et Ève

Vitrail représentant Adam et ÈveDieu plaça le premier être près de l'Arbre de Vie. L'Adam originel symbolisait en conséquence l'Androgyne primordial intégrant les deux cotés masculin et féminin. Il est devenu mâle quand Ève est née de l'un de ses cotés (et non de l'une de ses côtes). L'Androgyne primordial unifié se transforma en un couple masculin/féminin. Leur commune volonté de dissimuler leurs différences sous des feuilles de figuier ne pouvait leurrer personne. Ils avaient beau être issus d'une même chair, ils n'en étaient pas moins homme et femme. Ils s'étaient éloignés du Centre. De nos jours, quand un homme présente son épouse ou sa compagne dans la vie en parlant de sa “moitié”, il n'a sûrement pas conscience d'évoquer la moitié de l'unité perdue qu'il a éperdument tenté de retrouver au cours de la quête de l'âme sœur.

Pour retrouver l'unité perdue, Adam et Ève voulurent goûter en toute innocence au fruit de l'Arbre de Vie. Toutefois, seul le fruit défendu de l'Arbre de la Science leur était désormais accessible 1. Adam prit alors conscience de la double nature de l'Arbre de la Science et devint “connaissant du bien et du mal”. Il découvrit qu'il ne pourrait retrouver le Centre, l'état unifié, l'état primordial qu'après la chute dans le monde de la dualité et le passage par nombre d'épreuves destinées à restaurer l'état originel. En réalité, Adam et Ève n'ont pas eu le choix. Ils ont dû mourir à l'état d'innocence pour renaître à l'état de conscience.

Adam pèche par défaut de discernement, la seule faute que Dieu ne puisse pardonner. Pas de rémission pour l'être peu à même de discerner la vérité d'avec l'erreur. Il ne suffit pas de goûter au fruit de l'Arbre de Vie pour retrouver ipso facto l'état originel. Il faut au préalable réintégrer le Centre après avoir unifié toutes les facettes de l'être et surmonté nombre d'épreuves destinées à nous faire comprendre combien tout est lié. Adam et Ève retrouveront alors l'innocence, mais dans la pleine conscience.

L'Adam originel, l'Androgyne primordial, l'être unifié est associé à l'Arbre de Vie; le couple Adam/Ève, le monde de la dualité est relié à l'Arbre de la Science. Les deux arbres évoquent le Principe et sa manifestation, Dieu et les êtres manifestés. En d'autres termes, ces deux arbres symbolisent la création.

Selon une légende du moyen âge, la croix du Christ fut taillée dans le bois de l'Arbre de la Science. Autrement dit, après avoir été l'instrument de la chute, l'Arbre devint celui de la rédemption. Cela signifie que la dualité peut toujours réintégrer l'unité et l'Arbre de la Science retrouver sa place dans l'Arbre de Vie.

Bibliographie

  • Livre de la Genèse:
  • Texte.
  • René Guénon:
  • “Symboles de la Science sacrée”. Éditions Gallimard, 1962;
  • Notamment, le chapitre LIII sur “l'Arbre de Vie et le breuvage d'immortalité”.
  • “Le Symbolisme de la Croix”. Éditions Guy Trédianel, 1996;
  • En particulier, le chapitre IX sur “L'Arbre du Milieu”.

1 retour Goûter au fruit défendu ne peut simplement signifier transgression de la Parole divine. La notion de transgression est proprement occidentale pour des raisons aisées à comprendre; elle n'a pas cours en Orient et ne peut s'appliquer à l'ensemble du genre humain et, encore moins, au premier homme sur Terre.

Haut