LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The compasses and (Mason's) square

(Detailed page)

Summary

The compasses and the circle

The compasses trace a circle around a fixed point. The motionless point of the compasses is an image in the sensitive world of the immutable Principle, the universal Unity, source of the manifestation of all beings and things symbolized by the succession of points drawn by the movable branch. In other words, the compasses combine centre and periphery, eternal and contingency. For stone cutters and sacred structure builders, the trace left by the pointed branch was the sensitive mark of the One.

The radiuses of the circle symbolize a double movement of expansion and contraction between the Principle and its manifestation. The individual being is coming from the Principle and can only be called to return to It. This return corresponds to the realization of the being and constitutes the essential goal of initiation.

The Imperial vault of Heaven of the Ming dynasty in Peking offers an image of the relationship between the centre and the periphery:

Imperial vault of Heaven, Peking Temple outline

When a being symbolically enters the temple of the Imperial vault of Heaven, he stands on the outer circle representing the manifestation of the world at the terrestrial level. His first step on the way towards realization consists in leaving the circle of the terrestrial manifestation to rejoin the centre of the circle. It is a point of balance between antagonisms represented by the diametrically opposite points of the circle. It corresponds to a unified state depicted by the base of the vertical of the place, the World Axis or the “Middle Path” according to the Chinese tradition. This point is the reflection in the terrestrial world of the Principle, the Great Unity of the Chinese tradition at the origin of the manifestation. Rejoining the state of the totally unified being implies rising up the vertical axis to attain, first of all, the regenerated being's state, which means centred within himself. This is the state of the Master Mason and the Lodge of the Masters is equally known as the “Middle Chamber”.

Afterwards, the being can continue his ascent to attain the celestial states symbolized by the vault of the temple. The exit through the top of the celestial vault corresponds to the way out of the Cosmos. The being does not only identify himself with his proper centre, but with the Centre of the Cosmos. He has rejoined the Principle, at the source of the manifested world, symbolized by the sphere overhanging the roof

Beyond the Cosmos, the being attains the supreme Principle at the source of the manifested and non-manifested. The supreme Principle cannot be described, localized or even named for it is beyond the sensitive world, the only one we know. The symbol does not express, it suggests what is beyond our understanding with the help of an analogical correspondence. The ascending phase liberating the being from the constraints of the manifested world is followed by a plunging phase into the depths of the World beyond the non-manifested, the “Heart of the World”, i.e. the World in its totality or the absolute Totality.

For a western example of the symbol of the Imperial vault of Heaven, see the pavilion of the tapestry series of the Lady with the unicorn.

The Mason's square and the square

It is not by chance that the dwellings of the nomadic populations are circular and the buildings and temples of the sedentary ones are rectangular. In fact, the circular form characterizes movement and change whereas the rectangular one suggests stability.

The Mason's square with equal branches allows the tracing of a square which represents the base of a structure. The vertices of four squares are in fact sufficient to indicate the position of the four angle stones of a rectangular structure. Nevertheless, the four squares can be arranged in two distinct ways and generate two figures called gammadia because of their similarity with the Greek letter gamma (Γ) 1:

Gammadion shaped as a cross      Gammadion shaped as a square

  • In the first figure, the four squares form a cross oriented according to the compasses points. It also represents the first form of the ideogram “hing” of the number of elements or better agents of the Chinese tradition (see the five elements). This tradition counts four peripheral elements (Fire at south, Water at north, Wood at east and Metal at west) and a fifth central one (Earth);
  • In the second figure, the four squares draw the square base of a construction and, more particularly, the four angle stones that must be square sharpened. The central cross corresponds to the vertical projection of the fifth stone, the “capstone”, a keystone located at the top of the structure.

The flag of Georgia and number of structures of the sacred architecture illustrate both preceding figures:

Flag of Georgia  Pyramid seen from above

  • In 2004, Georgia re-established the official use of the medieval flag dating back to the 13th century and called the “five crosses flag”. The four crosses divided up into the four cantons of the flag correspond to the four Gospels, the union of which is essential to the expression of the Word in its totality. The Word is symbolized by the crossing of both branches of the central cross sometimes called “Word cross”;
  • The construction of many sacred structures relies on the method “of the five points” according to the words of Freemasonry. Let us quote among others: the Egyptian pyramid, the Ming Tang, the Hindu temple of the site of Mahabalipuram, the Japanese pagoda, the small mosque of Cristo de la Luz in Toledo etc.

The circle and the square, the sphere and the cube

The parallel between the compasses and the Mason's square naturally leads to the comparison of the circle and the square. If the expansion of the primeval Point in all directions from the centre makes the circle a figure of the beginning, the stable side of the square makes it a figure of achievement. Thus, in the biblical tradition, the “Garden of Eden”, shaped as a circle, opens the cycle of the narrative and the “celestial Jerusalem”, shaped as a square, closes this cycle. The movement linked to the transformation of the circle into a square during a cycle is nothing but the realization of the “squaring of the circle” according to the Alchemists.

The Garden of Eden corresponds to the transversal section of the sphere representing the World Egg. The World Egg contains the seeds of all possibilities of development during a cycle. It floats on the surface of the primeval waters before being divided into two halves giving birth to the “higher waters” and “lower waters”, to Heaven and Earth or, according to the Chinese tradition, to yang and yin. In the middle of the Garden of Eden stands the Tree of Life representing at once the Centre and the Axis of the World. Rejoining the World Centre remains the ultimate objective of all beings on the way towards firstly the human and then the total realization.

The transformation of the circle into the square during a cycle leads to the transformation of the sphere into the cube. The perfect shaped cube is composed of perfect cut stones. The cut stone evokes the Mason's symbol of the “cubic stone” associated with the idea of achievement and perfection, i.e. the full realization of the possibilities embodied within the rough stone.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “The Great Triad”. Sophia Perennis Publisher, 2001;
  • Particularly, chapter XV entitled “Between the Square and the Compasses”.
  • “Symbols of Sacred Science”. Sophia Perennis Publisher, 2004;
  • Notably, chapter XLV entitled “al-arkan” on the gammadia.
  • “The Symbolism of the Cross”. Sophia Perennis Publisher, 2002;
  • Especially, chapter VI on “The Union of Complements”.
  • “The King of the World”. Sophia Perennis Publisher, 2001;
  • In particular, chapter XI entitled “Location of Spiritual Centres”.
  • Marcel Granet:
  • “The Chinese Thought”, Albin Michel Publisher, 1988.

1 back These gammadia are the true “gammadian crosses” and should not be confused, as nowadays, with the swastika, which has quite another meaning.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le compas et l'équerre

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Le compas et le cercle

Le compas trace un cercle autour d'un point fixe. La pointe immobile du compas est une image dans le monde sensible du Principe immuable, de l'Unité universelle, source de la manifestation de tous les êtres et de toutes les choses symbolisés par la succession des points dessinés par la branche mobile. Autrement dit le compas allie le centre et la périphérie, l'éternel et le contingent. Pour les tailleurs de pierre et constructeurs d'édifices sacrés, la trace laissée par la pointe fixe était la marque sensible de l'Un.

Les rayons du cercle symbolisent un double mouvement d'expansion et de contraction entre le Principe et sa manifestation. L'être individuel est issu du Principe et ne peut être appelé qu'à y retourner. Ce retour correspond à la réalisation de l'être et constitue le but essentiel de l'initiation.

La voûte céleste impériale de la dynastie Ming à Pékin offre une image de la relation entre le centre et la périphérie:

Voûte céleste impériale, Pékin Schéma du temple

Quand un être entre symboliquement dans le temple de la voûte céleste impériale, il se tient sur le cercle extérieur représentant la manifestation du monde au niveau terrestre. Son premier pas sur la voie de la réalisation consiste à quitter le cercle de la manifestation terrestre pour rejoindre le centre du cercle. Il s'agit d'un point d'équilibre entre les antagonismes représentés par les points diamétralement opposés du cercle. Il correspond à un état unifié de l'être figuré par la base de la verticale du lieu, de l'Axe du Monde ou de la “Voie du Milieu” selon la tradition chinoise. Ce point est le reflet dans le monde terrestre du Principe, de la Grande Unité de la tradition chinoise à l'origine de la manifestation. Rejoindre l'état d'être totalement unifié implique de s'élever le long de l'axe vertical pour atteindre tout d'abord l'état d'être régénéré, c'est-à-dire centré en lui-même. C'est l'état du Maître Maçon et la Loge des Maîtres est également dénommée “Chambre du Milieu”.

L'être peut ensuite poursuivre son ascension pour accéder aux états célestes symbolisés par la voûte du temple. La sortie par le sommet de la voûte céleste correspond à la sortie du Cosmos. L'être ne s'identifie plus seulement à son propre centre, mais au Centre du Cosmos. Il a rejoint le Principe, à la source du monde manifesté, symbolisé par la boule surplombant le toit

Au-delà du Cosmos, l'être atteint le Principe suprême à la source du manifesté et du non-manifesté. Le Principe suprême ne peut être décrit, localisé ou même nommé car il est au-delà du monde sensible, le seul que nous connaissons. Le symbole n'exprime pas, il suggère ce qui dépasse notre entendement à partir d'une correspondance analogique. La phase ascendante libérant l'être des contraintes du monde manifesté est suivie d'une phase de plongée dans les profondeurs du Monde par-delà le non-manifesté, le “Cœur du Monde”, c'est-à-dire le Monde dans sa totalité ou la Totalité absolue.

Pour un exemple occidental de la symbolique de la voûte céleste impériale, voir le pavillon de la série de tapisseries de la Dame à la licorne.

L'équerre et le carré

Ce n'est pas par hasard si les habitations des populations nomades sont circulaires et les bâtiments et les temples des populations sédentaires sont quadrangulaires. En effet, la forme circulaire caractérise le mouvement et le changement alors que la forme quadrangulaire suggère la stabilité.

L'équerre à branches égales permet de tracer un carré qui représente la base d'un édifice. Les sommets de quatre équerres suffisent en fait pour indiquer la position des quatre pierres d'angle d'un édifice quadrangulaire. Toutefois, les quatre équerres peuvent être disposées de deux manières distinctes et générer deux figures appelées gammadia en raison de leur similitude avec la lettre grecque gamma (Γ) 1:

Gammadion en croix      Gammadion en carré

  • Dans la première figure, les quatre équerres forment une croix orientée selon les points cardinaux. Elle représente aussi la forme première de l'idéogramme “hing” du nombre d'éléments ou mieux d'agents de la tradition chinoise (voir les cinq éléments). Cette tradition compte quatre éléments périphériques (Feu au sud, Eau au nord, Bois à l'est et Métal à l'ouest) et un cinquième élément central (Terre);
  • Dans la seconde figure, les quatre équerres dessinent la base carrée d'une construction et, plus particulièrement, les quatre pierres d'angle qui doivent être taillées à l'équerre. La croix centrale correspond à la projection verticale de la cinquième pierre, la “pierre angulaire”, une clef de voûte située au sommet de l'édifice.

Le drapeau de Géorgie et nombre d'édifices de l'architecture sacrée illustrent les deux figures précédentes:

Drapeau de la Géorgie  Pyramide vue de dessus

  • En 2004, la Géorgie a rétabli l'usage officiel du drapeau médiéval datant du 13e siècle et appelé “drapeau aux cinq croix”. Les quatre croix réparties dans les quatre cantons du drapeau correspondent aux quatre Évangiles dont la réunion est indispensable à l'expression du Verbe dans sa totalité. Le Verbe est symbolisé par le croisement des deux branches de la croix centrale parfois dénommée “croix du Verbe”;
  • La construction de nombreux édifices sacrés s'appuie sur la méthode “des cinq points” selon les termes de la Franc-maçonnerie. Citons entre autres: la pyramide égyptienne, le Ming-Tang, le temple hindou du site de Mahâballipuram, la pagode japonaise, la petite mosquée San Cristo de la Luz de Tolède etc.

Le cercle et le carré, la sphère et le cube

Le rapprochement du compas et de l'équerre conduit naturellement à celui du cercle et du carré. Si l'expansion du Point primordial dans toutes les directions à partir du centre fait du cercle une figure du commencement, le coté stable du carré en fait une figure de l'achèvement. Ainsi, dans la tradition biblique, le “Paradis terrestre”, de forme circulaire, ouvre le cycle du récit et la “Jérusalem céleste”, de forme carrée, clôt ce cycle. Le mouvement lié à la transformation du cercle en carré au cours d'un cycle n'est autre que la réalisation de la “quadrature du cercle” selon les Alchimistes.

Le Paradis terrestre correspond à la coupe transversale de la sphère représentant l'Oeuf du Monde. L'Oeuf du Monde contient en germe toutes les possibilités de développement au cours d'un cycle. Il flotte à la surface des eaux primordiales avant de se diviser en deux moitiés donnant naissance aux “eaux supérieures” et aux “eaux inférieures”, au Ciel et à la Terre ou encore selon la tradition chinoise au yang et au yin. Au milieu du Paradis terrestre se tient l'Arbre de Vie représentatif à la fois du Centre et de l'Axe du Monde. Rejoindre le Centre du Monde reste l'objectif ultime de tout être sur la voie de la réalisation humaine tout d'abord, puis totale ensuite.

La transformation du cercle en carré au cours d'un cycle conduit à celle de la sphère en cube. Le cube parfaitement équarri est constitué de pierres parfaitement taillées. La pierre taillée évoque le symbole maçonnique de la “pierre cubique” associé à l'idée d'achèvement et de perfection, c'est-à-dire à la pleine réalisation des possibilités contenues dans la pierre brute.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “La Grande Triade”. Éditions Gallimard 1957;
  • Particulièrement, le chapitre XV intitulé “Entre l'équerre et le compas”.
  • “Symboles de la Science sacrée”. Éditions Gallimard, 1962;
  • Notamment, le chapitre XLV intitulé “El-Arkân” sur les gammadia.
  • “Le symbolisme de la croix”. Éditions Guy Trédaniel, 1996;
  • Tout particulièrement, le chapitre VI sur “L'union des complémentaires”.
  • “Le Roi du Monde”. Éditions Gallimard 1958;
  • En particulier, le chapitre XI intitulé “Localisation des centres spirituels”.
  • Marcel Granet:
  • “La pensée chinoise”. Éditions Albin Michel 1988.

1 retour Ces gammadia sont les véritables “croix gammées” et ne doivent pas être confondus, comme de nos jours, avec le swastika qui a une toute autre signification.

Haut