LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The compasses and (Mason's) square

(Summary)

Masonic emblem

Heaven and Earth

The compasses and the (Mason's) square with equal branches were used in the Middle Ages for stone cutting and the construction of sacred structures. They are obviously associated with the circle and the square. These two geometric figures respectively represent Heaven characterized by the zodiac and Earth oriented according to the four compasses points.

When both tools are combined as in Masonic symbolism, the compasses are naturally located above the square just as Heaven covers Earth. Let us note that in the above image, one of the compasses branches stands over and the other one underneath the branches of the square. This corresponds to the predominance of celestial influences in one case and terrestrial influences in the other. In other words, the branch of the compasses in the foreground characterizes the descending path from Heaven towards Earth and the branch behind the ascending path from Earth towards Heaven. In case both square branches are above the compasses branches, the ascending path from Earth to Heaven alone is taken into account 1.

Between the compasses and the square we mostly find the “flaming Star”. This five-branched star symbolizes Man (for more details, see the European flag) or more precisely the Master Mason. More generally, it represents the initiate, gleaming in the celestial light in the middle of the terrestrial obscurity.

The Master Mason consequently belongs to the intermediary world between Heaven and Earth. He represents the perfectly accomplished terrestrial being on the way towards the celestial accomplishment. According to the Chinese tradition, it is a matter of the fully human or true being on the way towards the supra-human or transcending being. Or according to the words of the Egyptian tradition, it is a matter of the being initiated to the “little mysteries”, an essential step on the way towards the initiation to the “great mysteries”.

At the centre of the flaming Star, the letter G represents the divine Principle, the One that lies in the heart of the regenerated being (for more details, see the heart symbol). The central letter corresponds to the letter iod of the Hebraic alphabet transformed into G further to a phonetic equivalence with God (G stands for God).

The circle and the square

The circle and the square, associated with Heaven and Earth, can be represented in various ways and even contain each other:

Square fitting into  a circle Circle fitting into a square

These two figures correspond to two visions of the world:

  • In the first figure, Earth is inside and Heaven outside. The terrestrial being looks out of himself for access to the celestial world. It is a matter of a properly cosmological vision corresponding to the ascending path from Earth to Heaven 2;
  • In the second figure, Earth is outside and Heaven inside. The terrestrial being is searching deeply within himself for access to the celestial world. Here, it is a question of a fundamental metaphysical vision associated with the descending path from Heaven to Earth.

The Chinese tradition offers an illustration of both visions, notably the ancient coins and the cong (jade) tubes:

Old Chinese coin Cong tube

Of course, the cong tubes date back to the Liangzhu culture (3300-2600 before our era) and are previous to our knowledge of the symbolic image of the “round Heaven and square Earth” of the Chinese tradition. Nevertheless, the choice of forms already had a meaning in the Neolithic era.

Let us also note that the parallel of Western initiatory traditions and Far East traditions regarding compasses and square symbolism is not accidental (for more details, see the arrangement of the trigrams).

1 back In a more prosaic way, these three representations perfectly describe the relationships between the three Masonic degrees: Master Mason, Fellow Craft and Apprentice.

2 back Let us mention by passing that the image of a square surrounded by a circle can be found in Islam and, particularly, at Mecca. Indeed, the print left by the Kaaba on the ground and the circle drawn by the circumambulation of believers around the cubic monument make such an image reflecting the celestial aspiration of the pilgrim.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le compas et l'équerre (Résumé)

Emblème maçonnique

Le Ciel et la Terre

Le compas et l'équerre à branches égales étaient utilisés au moyen âge pour la taille des pierres et la construction des édifices sacrés. Ils sont bien évidemment associés au cercle et au carré. Ces deux figures géométriques représentent respectivement le Ciel caractérisé par le zodiaque et la Terre orientée selon les quatre points cardinaux.

Lorsque ces deux outils sont réunis comme dans le symbolisme maçonnique, le compas est naturellement situé au-dessus de l'équerre tout comme le Ciel couvre la Terre. Notons que dans l'image ci-dessus, l'une des branches du compas passe par dessus et l'autre par dessous les branches de l'équerre. Cela correspond à la prédominance des influences célestes dans un cas et des influences terrestres dans l'autre. Autrement dit, la branche du compas à l'avant-plan caractérise la voie descendante du Ciel vers la Terre et la branche à l'arrière-plan la voie ascendante de la Terre vers le Ciel. Dans le cas où les deux branches de l'équerre recouvrent les branches du compas, seule la voie ascendante de la Terre vers le Ciel est prise en considération 1.

Entre le compas et l'équerre nous trouvons le plus souvent “l'Étoile flamboyante”. Cette étoile à cinq branches symbolise l'Homme (pour plus de détails, voir le drapeau européen) ou plus exactement le Maître Maçon. Plus généralement, elle représente l'initié resplendissant dans la lumière céleste au milieu de l'obscurité terrestre.

Le Maître Maçon appartient en conséquence au monde intermédiaire entre le Ciel et la Terre. Il représente l'être terrestre parfaitement accompli sur la voie de l'accomplissement céleste. Selon la tradition chinoise, il s'agit de l'être pleinement humain ou véritable sur la voie de l'être supra-humain ou transcendant. Ou en empruntant les termes de la tradition gréco-égyptienne, il est question de l'être initié aux “petits mystères”, préalable indispensable à l'initiation aux “grands mystères”.

Au centre de l'Étoile flamboyante, la lettre G représente le Principe divin, l'Un qui réside dans le cœur de l'être régénéré (pour plus de détails, voir le symbole du cœur). La lettre centrale correspond à l'iod de l'alphabet hébraïque transformé en G à la suite d'une équivalence phonétique avec God (G stands for God).

Le cercle et le carré

Le cercle et le carré, associés au Ciel et à la Terre, peuvent être représentés de diverses manières et même se contenir l'un l'autre:

Carré inscrit dans un cercle Cercle inscrit dans un carré

Ces deux figures correspondent à deux visions du monde:

  • Dans la première figure, la Terre est intérieure et le Ciel extérieur. L'être terrestre cherche hors de lui-même l'accès au monde céleste. Il s'agit d'une vision proprement cosmologique correspondant à la voie ascendante de la Terre vers le Ciel 2;
  • Dans la seconde, la Terre est extérieure et le Ciel intérieur. L'être terrestre recherche au fond de lui-même l'accès au monde céleste. Il est question ici d'une vision fondamentalement métaphysique associée à la voie descendante du Ciel vers la Terre.

La tradition chinoise offre une illustration de ces deux visions, notamment les anciennes monnaies et les tubes cong (jade):

Monnaie chinoise ancienne Tube cong

Certes, les tubes cong datent de la culture Liangzhu (3300-2600 avant notre ère) et sont antérieurs à notre connaissance de l'image symbolique du “Ciel rond et de la Terre carrée” de la tradition chinoise. Toutefois, le choix des formes avait déjà un sens à l'époque néolithique.

Notons aussi que le rapprochement des traditions initiatiques occidentales et des traditions extrême-orientales à propos du symbolisme du compas et de l'équerre n'est pas fortuit (pour davantage de détails, voir la disposition des trigrammes).

1 retour De façon plus prosaïque, ces trois représentations décrivent parfaitement les relations entre les trois grades de la Maçonnerie: Maître Maçon, Compagnon et Apprenti.

2 retour Mentionnons en passant que la figure du carré entouré d'un cercle peut se retrouver dans l'Islam et, tout particulièrement, à la Mecque. En effet, l'empreinte laissée par la Kaaba sur le sol et le cercle dessiné par la circumambulation des fidèles autour du monument cubique forment une telle figure traduisant l'aspiration céleste du pèlerin.

Page détaillée

Haut