LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Simplicity and complexity

(Detailed page)

Summary

Simplicity and Unity

The World Egg symbolizes a latency state in the development of the Cosmos. It is often represented by a sphere for it spreads equally out in all directions from an original point symbolizing the Centre or Unity.

When the Cosmic Egg has completely hatched, the being feels lost in the middle of the manifested world, the Centre of which he cannot rediscover. He can only attain the Unity while finding a way going off beaten tracks. Indeed, Unity cannot be attained by reason alone, which consists in breaking down all its constituent elements in order to be able to study them separately. The Unity in its simplicity never lets itself be broken down. The separation of the constituent elements of a whole is an improper simplification. The whole is above all characterized by complex interactions between its so called constituent elements. The deep interdependencies among the constituent elements and the surrounding environment are what maintains the cohesion of the Cosmos and explains why its etymology is synonymous with order.

Unity can only be reached by following intellectual Intuition, beyond the sensitive intuition. It can only be reached through the direct and immediate Knowledge of the immutable principles, beyond the indirect and discursive knowledge of changeable elements that the reason vainly strives to master. To see everything in the indistinct state of the principial Unity is true Intelligence.

The human reflection is only a pale reflection of the supra-human Intellect. It is made in the image of the lunar light that does nothing but reflect the solar Light. The lunar light is an indirect and cold light without any possible comparison with the direct and warm sun Light.

The access to the Centre, Unity and Knowledge arises at the time of an illumination caused by a spark of the intelligible Light. In reality, the being does not attain the Centre, Unity and Knowledge; he becomes the Centre, Unity and Knowledge. The simple man no longer knows tensions or oppositions proper to the world of duality. He stands in the Centre where everything is unified, where he sees everything through the principial Unity. Simplicity means Unity.

Unity and complements

During the manifestation process, Unity hides behind multiplicity. A multiplicity made of complementary poles strongly inter linked and often perceived as opposites. Nevertheless, the poles cannot be implacably opposed for they could not be merged into the essential indistinct state, characteristic of Unity and Unity would be no more. Duality is incompatible with Unity.

The relation between complements and apparent dualistic poles finds notably an illustration in the various modes of orientation in the terrestrial world.

The being finds his bearings according to four cardinal points forming two couples of apparently opposite poles. In reality, they constitute two complementary axes:Complementary axes

  1. A first north-south axis drawn vertically;
  2. A second east-west axis drawn horizontally.

The vertical axis represents the communication channel between different levels; it is the passage between superior and inferior states and vice versa. The horizontal axis links states which are level; it is only a crossing point between these states.

These two axes meet in at a point of balance and reconciliation of apparently opposed poles. It represents the centre that contains the four compass points (or both axes) in an undifferentiated state and constitutes a reflection of the Unity into the terrestrial world.

Let us note that each axis links the complements light (south, east) and darkness (north, west).

1. Due to its verticality, the north-south axis establishes a hierarchy between the two complementary poles:

  1. North corresponds to night or polar orientation taking the polar star as reference point;
  2. South is associated with the daytime or solar orientation taking the sun at its zenith as reference point.

The polar orientation refers to the Cosmos (macrocosm) while the solar orientation takes the vertical of the observer's place as support (microcosm). As the being is an integral part of the Cosmos, it is obvious that the orientation related to the cosmic world is of superior order than the orientation related to the individual world. Just as the man and Cosmos, these two modes are complements and constitute one of the many facets of the harmony between macrocosm and microcosm as advocated by a number of traditions.

2. On the contrary, the east-west axis links level complements. In fact, east and west correspond to sunrise and sunset which are associated with a same orientation mode along the horizon.

The being concerned with the rediscovering of the lost Unity has firstly to be release from a dualistic perception of the world (four compass points). Then, his gaze will turn towards the complementarity of all things (two axes). At last, he will reach a unified vision of the world (centre of both axes). Afterwards, he will be able to attain the centres of higher order states and, finally, the Centre of all centres.

The Wise man who stands in the Centre, the balance point, the unified state no longer makes any distinction between the various orientation modes. He no longer needs to find his bearings for he knows everything through a global view. He is no longer a prey of tensions; his mind is in peace. The being re-established in the simplicity state has no reason to look elsewhere for what is here and forever.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “The Great Triad”. Sophia Perennis Publisher, 2001;
  • Particularly, chapter 4 entitled “Yin and Yang”.
  • “The Symbolism of the Cross”. Sophia Perennis Publisher, 2002;
  • Especially, chapters VI and VII on “The union of complements” and “The resolution of opposites”.
Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Simplicité et complexité

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Simplicité et Unité

L'Oeuf du Monde symbolise un stade de latence dans le développement du Cosmos. Il est souvent représenté par une sphère car il s'épanouit également dans toutes les directions à partir d'un point originel symbolisant le Centre ou l'Unité.

Lorsque l'Oeuf Cosmique a complètement éclos, l'être se sent perdu au milieu du monde manifesté dont il ne peut retrouver le Centre. Il ne peut accéder à l'Unité qu'en empruntant une voie sortant des sentiers battus. En effet, l'Unité ne peut être appréhendée par la seule raison qui consiste à décomposer un tout en ses éléments constituants afin de pouvoir les étudier séparément. L'Unité dans sa simplicité ne se laisse jamais décomposer. La dissociation des éléments constituants d'un tout est une simplification abusive. Le tout est avant tout caractérisé par les interactions complexes entre ses éléments dits constituants. Les interdépendances profondes des éléments constituants entre eux et avec le milieu environnant maintiennent la cohésion du Cosmos et expliquent pourquoi son étymologie est synonyme d'ordre.

L'Unité ne peut être saisie qu'en suivant l'Intuition intellectuelle, au-delà de l'intuition sensible. Elle ne peut être atteinte que par la Connaissance directe et immédiate des principes immuables, au-delà de la connaissance indirecte et discursive d'éléments changeants que la raison s'efforce vainement de maîtriser. Tout voir dans l'état indifférencié de l'Unité principielle est la véritable Intelligence.

La réflexion humaine n'est qu'un pâle reflet de l'Intellect supra-humain. Elle est à l'image de la lumière lunaire qui ne fait que réfléchir la Lumière solaire. La lumière lunaire est une lumière indirecte et froide sans commune mesure avec la Lumière directe et chaude du soleil.

L'accès au Centre, à l'Unité et à la Connaissance survient lors d'une illumination de l'être provoquée par l'étincelle de la Lumière intelligible. En réalité, l'être n'accède pas au Centre, à l'Unité et à la Connaissance: il devient Centre, Unité et Connaissance. L'homme simple n'est plus la proie des tensions ou des oppositions propres au monde de la dualité. Il se tient au Centre où tout est unifié, où il connaît tout par la Connaissance globale. La simplicité signifie Unité.

Unité et complémentarité

Au cours du processus de manifestation, l'Unité s'efface derrière la multiplicité. Une multiplicité faite de pôles complémentaires fortement inter liés et souvent perçus comme des opposés. Toutefois, ces pôles ne peuvent être irréductiblement opposés car ils ne pourraient s'unir dans l'état indifférencié caractéristique de l'Unité et l'Unité ne serait plus. La dualité est incompatible avec l'Unité.

La relation entre complémentarité et dualité apparente trouve notamment une illustration dans les divers modes d'orientation dans le monde terrestre.

L'être s'oriente en fonction des quatre points cardinaux formant en apparence deux couples de pôles opposés. Ils constituant en réalité deux axes complémentaires:Axes complémentaires

  1. Un premier axe nord-sud dessiné verticalement;
  2. Un second axe est-ouest dessiné horizontalement.

L'axe vertical représente le canal de communication entre des états de niveaux différents; il est le lieu de passage entre des états supérieurs et inférieurs et vice versa. L'axe horizontal relie des états de même niveau; il n'est qu'un lieu de passage entre ces états.

Ces deux axes se rencontrent en un point d'équilibre et de réconciliation de pôles apparemment opposés. Il représente le centre qui contient les quatre points cardinaux (ou les deux axes) à l'état indifférencié et constitue un reflet de l'Unité dans le monde terrestre.

Notons que chaque axe relie les complémentaires lumière (sud, est) et obscurité (nord, ouest).

1. En raison de sa verticalité, l'axe nord-sud établit une hiérarchie entre les deux pôles complémentaires:

  1. Le nord correspond à l'orientation nocturne ou polaire en prenant comme repère l'étoile polaire;
  2. Le sud est associé à l'orientation diurne ou solaire en prenant comme repère le soleil à son zénith.

L'orientation polaire fait référence au Cosmos (macrocosme) tandis que l'orientation solaire prend pour support la verticale du lieu de l'observateur (microcosme). Comme l'être fait partie intégrante du Cosmos, il va de soi que l'orientation par rapport au monde cosmique est d'ordre supérieur à l'orientation par rapport au monde individuel. Tout comme l'homme et le Cosmos, ces deux modes sont complémentaires et constituent l'une des nombreuses facettes de l'harmonie entre macrocosme et microcosme prônée par nombre de traditions.

2. L'axe est-ouest relie, au contraire, des complémentaires de même niveau. L'est et l'ouest correspondent, en effet, au lever et au coucher du soleil associés à un même mode d'orientation le long de l'horizon.

L'être soucieux de retrouver l'Unité perdue devra tout d'abord s'affranchir d'une perception dualiste du monde (quatre points cardinaux). Son regard se tournera ensuite vers la complémentarité de toutes choses (deux axes). Il accédera enfin à une vision unifiée du monde (centre des deux axes). Après cela, il pourra atteindre les centres des états d'être d'ordre plus élevé et, finalement, le Centre des tous les centres.

Le Sage qui se tient au Centre, au point d'équilibre, dans l'état unifié ne fait plus de distinction entre les divers modes d'orientation. Il n'a plus besoin de s'orienter car il voit désormais tout dans l'état unifié. Il n'est plus en proie aux tensions; son esprit est en paix. L'être rétabli dans l'état de simplicité n'a plus de raison de chercher ailleurs ce qui se trouve ici et à jamais.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “La Grande Triade”. Éditions Gallimard 1957;
  • Notamment, le chapitre IV intitulé “Yin et Yang”.
  • “Le symbolisme de la croix”. Éditions Guy Trédaniel, 1996;
  • Tout particulièrement, les chapitres VI et VII sur “L'union des complémentaires” et “La résolution des oppositions”.
Haut