LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Simplicity et complexity

(Summary)

The Whole is One

Simplicity characterizes what is one, what is not composed of elements which can be separately studied. This is the major attribute of the indivisible Unity, intimately linked to the Principle at the source of the universal manifestation.

The principial Unity contains all possibilities of non manifestation and manifestation of beings and things. Consequently, it encompasses a multitude of potentialities which confer a great complexity to it. Far to be opposed, simplicity and complexity are correlative 1.

Yin-yang symbolVarious traditions consider that the development of the Cosmos comes from the World Egg, the germ containing all the World manifestation in an indistinct state. The yin-yang symbol of the Chinese tradition offers, for example, an apparently simple image of the World Egg. Nevertheless, the two black (yin) and white (yang) halves are closely interwoven in order to underline their non-duality. Moreover, the white (yang) half contains a black (yin) point and the black (yin) half a white (yang) point. In other words, there is no yin without yang or yang without yin. Yin and yang are strongly interrelated and can not be studied separately. Considering yin and yang as distinct principles would come down denying the symbol its ability to represent the Great Unity (Taiji). This simple overview should be sufficient to convince us that the Chinese, and more generally Far-Eastern, doctrine is essentially non-dual and deeply unified 2.

Yang and yin are manifested under various appearances (active and passive, positive and negative, masculine and feminine, light and shadow, day and night, clarity and obscurity, hot and cold etc.) far away from our dual perception of good and evil. These different couples are complementary aspects generated by the fundamental complementarity of yang and yin.

If we consider more particularly yang and yin under their masculine and feminine aspects, then the yin-yang symbol represents the perfect balance of these two aspects gathered within the primeval Androgyne. During its individual manifestation, the Androgyne differentiates itself according to the masculine (yang) or feminine (yin) character that predominates within every being. However, the dual manifestation of beings according to their sex does not obliterate the complementarity of masculine (yang) and feminine (yin) aspects within each individual. Of course, the manifestation process leads to imbalances between yang and yin which is the origin of the variety of beings and the dynamic evolution of the world. Nevertheless, nothing prevents the being from rediscovering the lost balance while returning to the source.

1 back The current tendency is to combine simplicity and complexity within a unique concept known as simplexity. Let us note that such a concept should not oppose simplicity to complexity nor break down complexity into simple elements for fear of distorting the underlying unity.

2 back It is common in the West to establish a correspondence between the couple (yang, yin) and the couple (1,0) of the binary system, notably concerning the trigrams. Now, the logic that animates the Chinese thought is not about all or nothing, but plain all. The preceding assimilation simply testifies a complete misunderstanding of the Chinese thought.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Simplicité et complexité

(Résumé)

Le Tout est Un

La simplicité caractérise ce qui est un, ce qui n'est pas composé d'éléments pouvant être étudiés séparément. C'est l'attribut majeur de l'Unité indivisible, intimement liée au Principe à la source de la manifestation universelle.

L'Unité principielle contient l'ensemble des possibilités de non manifestation et de manifestation des êtres et des choses. Elle renferme en conséquence une multitude de potentialités lui conférant une grande complexité. Loin d'être opposées, simplicité et complexité sont corrélatives 1.

Symbole yin-yangDiverses traditions considèrent que le développement du Cosmos s'effectue à partir de l'Oeuf du Monde, du germe contenant toute la manifestation du Monde à l'état indifférencié. Le symbole yin-yang de la tradition chinoise offre, par exemple, une image apparemment simple de l'Oeuf du Monde. Toutefois, les deux moitiés noire (yin) et blanche (yang) sont étroitement imbriquées afin de souligner leur non-dualité. De plus, la moitié blanche (yang) contient un point noir (yin) et la moitié noire (yin) un point blanc (yang). Autrement dit, il n'y a pas de yin sans yang ni de yang sans yin. Le yin et le yang sont fortement inter liés et ne peuvent être étudiés séparément. Considérer le yin et le yang comme des principes distincts reviendrait à dénier au symbole le rôle de représenter la Grande l'Unité (Taiji). Ce simple aperçu devrait suffire à nous convaincre que la doctrine chinoise, et plus généralement extrême- orientale, est essentiellement non-duelle et profondément unifiée 2.

Le yang et le yin se manifestent sous des apparences diverses (actif et passif, positif et négatif, masculin et féminin, lumière et ombre, jour et nuit, clarté et obscurité, chaud et froid etc.) bien éloignées de notre perception duelle du bien et du mal. Ces différents couples sont des aspects complémentaires générés par la complémentarité fondamentale du yang et du yin.

Si nous considérons plus particulièrement le yang et le yin sous leurs aspects masculin et féminin, le symbole yin-yang représente alors le parfait équilibre de ces deux aspects réunis au sein de l'Androgyne primordial. Au cours de sa manifestation individuelle, l'Androgyne se différencie en fonction du caractère masculin (yang) ou féminin (yin) qui prédomine au sein de chaque être. Cette manifestation duelle des êtres selon le sexe n'efface cependant pas la complémentarité des aspects masculin (yang) et féminin (yin) au sein de chaque individu. Certes, le processus de manifestation conduit à des déséquilibres entre yang et yin à l'origine de la diversité des êtres et de l'évolution dynamique du monde. Rien n'empêche cependant l'être de retrouver l'équilibre perdu en retournant à la source.

1 retour La tendance actuelle consiste à réunir simplicité et complexité au sein d'un unique concept dénommé simplexité. Notons qu'un tel concept ne saurait ni opposer simple et complexe ni décomposer le complexe en éléments simples sous peine d'altérer l'unité sous-jacente.

2 retour Il est courant en Occident d'établir une correspondance entre le couple (yang, yin) et le couple (1,0) du système binaire, notamment à propos des trigrammes. Or, la logique qui anime la pensée chinoise n'est pas celle du tout ou rien, mais du tout tout court. L'assimilation précédente témoigne simplement d'une incompréhension totale de la pensée chinoise.

Page détaillée

Haut