LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Goseck and Nebra, two cosmic representations

(Detailed page)

Summary

The disc of Nebra

The superposition of gold leaf inlays and the origin of the gold used to decorate the disk let us think that its creation required four stages:

First stage

At the origin, the disc contained 32 small golden discs set in a star pattern, a waxing moon crescent and a wide disc in gold representing the full moon or the sun. The fact that 32 solar years (of 365 days) correspond to 33 lunar years (of 29.5×12 = 354 days) leads us to deduce that the central disc represents both lunar and solar forms.

First stage of elaboration

A single cluster of stars can be distinguished among the small golden discs. Composed of 7 discs located between the crescent and the full moon, it evokes the 7 stars of the Pleiades visible to the naked eye. In contrast to the current era, the Pleiades constituted, at the Bronze Age, a distinct constellation from the Taurus.

In accordance with the Gregorian calendar and commentaries of the archaeologist Harald Meller and astronomer Wolfhard Schlosser, the moon and the Pleiades appeared together in the sky of the northern hemisphere twice a year. The Pleiades set on March 10th, shortly after the new moon preceding the full moon of spring and rose on October 17th at full moon of fall (consult the site Himmelsscheibe von Nebra in German). They probably marked the cycle of sowing and harvesting in many societies of that era. Consequently, the Pleiades were visible from October 17th to March 10th, which corresponded to a length of 145 days out of the 365 days of the year (=0.4).

Second stage

Next, two lateral golden arcs were added. To do this, a small golden disc on the left side was moved towards the right and two small golden discs on the right side were covered. The small golden discs were reduced to the number of 30 henceforth.

Second stage of elaboration

Winter and summer solsticesThe lines joining the opposing ends of both arcs make an angle of 82°. This value corresponds to the angle formed by the diagonals of the “solstitial rectangle” determined by the position of the sunrise and sunset at solstices. This angle depends on the astronomical data of the era and the latitude of the place of the discovery of the disc (φ = 51.3°) 1.

Let us note that the diagonals of the rectangle intersect inside the wide golden disc that, in this case, no longer acts as the moon, but the sun.

Third stage

The following modification consisted in adding a golden arc turned towards the Pleiades in the lower part of the disc. Now, this arc is inscribed in a circle, internally tangent to the disc and going through its centre. Moreover, it is seen from the centre of this circle at an angle about 145° out of 360° of the circumference of the circle it is inscribed in.

Third stage of elaboration

If we compare the length of the golden arc inscribed in the circle with the length of the visibility of the Pleiades during the year, we note that they represent a proportion close to 0.4. It follows that the relative length of the golden arc corresponds to the relative length of the visibility of the Pleiades in the sky of the northern hemisphere.

In other words, the meaning of the golden arc is firstly astronomical and not symbolic. Attaching the image of the “solar Boat” crossing the world of darkness to it does nothing but complete the astronomical meaning. In fact, symbols often rely on a representation of cosmic order to suggest a reality of supra-cosmic order.

Fourth stage

The last stage of the realization of the disc consists in piercing its circumference with 39 or 40 equidistant holes. In fact, the damaged part of the edge of the disc could have contained one or two holes according to various authors. As the spacing between holes is not completely regular, they are probably more the outcome of an empirical process than an exact calculation. Nevertheless, such a calculation gives an average value of 2.58 cm (hypothesis 39 holes) or 2.51 cm (hypothesis 40 holes). Knowing that the current inch measures 2.54 cm, these values suggest the use of a unit of measure corresponding to the inch of the region at the Bronze Age 2.

Fourth stage of elaboration

While putting his thumb on the edge of the disc after a hole to mark the following one, the person, empowered to work on the disc, introduced a new approach to the astronomical location. The man crowned the geometrical representation with a digital one based on the choice of a unit of measure 3.

We can deduct from all this that each of these stages added something important to this authentic astronomical instrument. Its symbolism will appear more clearly with the study of the site of Goseck.

The site of Goseck

Beyond the winter solstice

The site of Goseck was composed of a series of concentric circles: two outer circles edging a ditch and two inner ones made of wooden palisades. Three sets of openings or gates formed part of the circles.

Plan of Goseck

The examination of the site by the astronomer Wolfhard Schlosser, from the astronomical institute of the Rhineland University of Bochum, indicates that the two sets of gates oriented south-east and south-west corresponded to the sunrise and sunset at the winter solstice. The third set was oriented according to the meridian of the place, that means towards north (see the site Kreisgrabenanlage von Goseck in German). The site was certainly used as astronomical observatory, but it was not its only function.

Unlike the disc of Nebra, the site does not explicitly refer to both winter and summer solstices; it only stresses the winter solstice and the northern direction. To understand why, it is sufficient to consider both phases of the annual cycle of the sun in the northern hemisphere. The winter solstice corresponds to the start of the ascending phase of the sun towards the celestial north pole whereas the summer solstice is associated with the beginning of the descending phase of the sun towards the celestial south pole 4 (For more details, see the description of the celestial sphere). To privilege the winter solstice means referring to the "highest in the skies".

The celestial north pole, situated at the intersection of the pole Axis with the celestial sphere, symbolizes the highest fixed point of the pole Axis around which the astral bodies of the cosmic world are apparently turning. It depicts an image of the supra-cosmic Principle from which the astral bodies are radiating. The Principle contains in a potential state all possibilities of manifestation (and non-manifestation).

The knowledge of the Principle and its manifestation was nevertheless not accessible to everyone. In fact, the observer standing at the centre of the site, at winter solstice, could turn either:

  • Towards south and see the sunrise and sunset in the row of the southeast and southwest gates. Moreover, when the sun attained its zenith and was located in the meridian of the place, the celestial pole Axis was projected alongside the south north terrestrial axis;
  • Or towards north in line with the third set of gates. He could, while looking up at the night sky, see the celestial north pole or the closest star. Then, he would be looking at the image of the motionless Principle at the origin of the cosmic world. The projection of the celestial north pole alongside the Axis coincided with the structure centre.

These two types of events had to be associated with distinct rites:

  • When the observer turned towards south at winter solstice, during the shortest day of the year, he performed solar rites related to the manifested world;
  • When the observer turned towards north, during the longest night of the year, he performed polar rites linked to the Principle at the source of the manifested world.

The solar rites, related to the world in movement, could only take place at winter solstice. The polar rites, linked to the motionless Principle, could on the contrary be carried out, beyond the winter solstice, all year around. The manifestation is changing and fleeting, its Principle is immutable.

The three circles of people

The solar rites focused on the cosmic, manifested, visible world and took place at day light. A large number of people must have been present.

The polar rites were, on the contrary, concerned with the supra-cosmic, non manifested, invisible world, domain of night. They had to be intended for a small group of people, guardians of the knowledge of the Principle synonym of the Whole.

Nevertheless, some of the solar rites concerned the sunset at winter solstice. They took place at twilight and could precede the polar rites. They must have been reserved for people called to fulfil intermediary functions between those of the population and those of the guardians of the knowledge.

The rites were probably associated with three circles of people:

  • The ordinary beings stationed in the outer space edged by the ditch, which marked its limit;
  • The intermediary beings standing in the space delimited by both wooden palisades and in charge of the application of the principles defined by the most restricted group;
  • This group was only composed of beings nourished by the knowledge of the supra-cosmic Principle at the source of all beings and things. The group gathered in the inner-most space and, more precisely, in its centre.

As everything in the universe is a part of the Principle, the latter could only be universal and reflected within any manifested being or thing. The essential goal of the solar and polar rites was certainly to awake and maintain the harmony between the beings and the universe.

It follows that the three spaces associated with the three circles of people also reflected the three terrestrial, intermediary or atmospheric and celestial worlds. The site of Goseck constituted a true representation of the cosmos.

The disc of Nebra and the site of Goseck were without any doubt destined to take down astronomical measures for agricultural purposes. Moreover, stressing the winter solstice marked the end of the period of the harvests and storage in order to face the harshness of the cold season. This moment also represented the beginning of the ascent of the sun towards the celestial heights. It was therefore suitable to gather people around various rites in order to keep alive the deep links which united the beings to the cosmos and beyond.

1 back At the solstitial sunrise and sunset, the angle formed by one of the diagonals of the solstitial rectangle with the south north direction can be determined by the following formula (see the position on the celestial sphere):

cos a = - sin (δ)/cos(φ)

Where δ represents the value of the ecliptic or the angle formed by the orbit of the annual movement of earth around the sun with the terrestrial equator. Nowadays, δ = ±23.5° at the solstices and

a = cos-1 [sin(23.5°)/cos(51.3°)] = 50.4°

It follows that both diagonals of the solstitial rectangle make an angle of 2×(90°-50.4°) = 79.2°.

The gap between the Bronze Age and current data can partly be explained by the variations of the angle δ through the Ages.

2 back Knowing that the radius r of the disc is approximately 16 cm, the average length p of the arc separating two holes is given by:

P = 2πr/39 = 2π×16/39 = 2.58 (hypothesis 39 holes).

p = 2πr/40 = 2π×16/40 = 2.51 (hypothesis 40 holes);

These values are very close of the unit of measure of the current inch (2.54 cm).

3 back Let us see, indeed, how the other dimensions of the disc are expressed in that unit of measure.

Let us start with the length C of the lateral golden arc seen under an angle α of 82°:

C = rα = 2πr×82/360;

And

C/p = 39×82/360 = 8.9 (hypothesis 39 holes).

C/p = 40×82/360 = 9.1 (hypothesis 40 holes);

In other words, the lateral golden arc measures approximately 9 inches.

Let us follow with the golden arc turned towards the Pleiades and of radius r/2:

U = πr×145/360

And

U/p = (145/360)×(39/2) = 7.9 (hypothesis 39 holes).

U/p = (145/360)×(40/2) = 8.1 (hypothesis 40 holes);

It means that the length of the golden arc turned towards the Pleiades is close to 8 inches.

4 back An analogous correspondence exists with the monthly cycle of the waxing and waning moon.

The secrets of the star disc

Part one

Part two

Part three

Documentary by BBC Horizon, 2004; narrator: Professor Miranda Aldhouse-Green, University of Wales.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symbols of Sacred Science”, Sophia Perennis Publisher 2004;
  • Especially, chapter 35 concerning the celestial gates.
Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Goseck et Nebra, deux représentations cosmiques

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Le disque de Nebra

La superposition des incrustations à la feuille d'or et l'origine de l'or utilisé pour la décoration du disque conduit à penser que sa réalisation a requis quatre étapes:

Première étape

À l'origine, le disque contenait 32 petits disques d'or assimilés à des étoiles, un croissant de lune montante et un large disque en or représentant la pleine lune ou le soleil. Le fait que 32 années solaires (de 365 jours) correspondent à 33 années lunaires (de 29,5×12 = 354 jours) laisse subodorer que le disque central revêt les deux formes lunaire et solaire.

Première étape d'élaboration

Un seul amas d'étoiles se distingue parmi les petits disques d'or. Composé de 7 disques situés entre le croissant et la pleine lune, il évoque les 7 étoiles visibles à l'œil nu des Pléiades. Contrairement à l'époque actuelle, les Pléiades constituaient, à l'Âge du Bronze, une constellation distincte de celle du Taureau.

Conformément au calendrier grégorien et aux commentaires de l'archéologue Harald Meller et de l'astronome Wolfhard Schlosser, la lune et les Pléiades avaient rendez-vous deux fois par an dans le ciel de l'hémisphère nord. Les Pléiades se couchaient le 10 mars peu après la nouvelle lune précédant la pleine lune de printemps et se levaient le 17 octobre à la pleine lune de l'automne (consulter le site Himmelsscheibe von Nebra en allemand). Elles marquaient vraisemblablement le cycle des semailles et des récoltes dans de nombreuses sociétés à l'époque. En conséquence, les Pléiades étaient visibles du 17 octobre au 10 mars, ce qui correspondait à une durée de 145 jours sur les 365 jours de l'année (=0,4).

Deuxième étape

Ensuite, deux arcs d'or latéraux furent ajoutés. Pour ce faire, un petit disque d'or du côté gauche fut déplacé vers la droite et deux petits disques d'or du côté droit furent recouverts. Les petits disques d'or étaient désormais réduits au nombre de 30.

Deuxième étape d'élaboration

Solstices d'hiver et d'étéLes lignes joignant les extrémités opposées des deux arcs font un angle de 82°. Cette valeur correspond à l'angle formé par les diagonales du “rectangle solsticial” déterminé à partir de la position du lever et du coucher du soleil aux solstices. Cet angle est fonction des données astronomiques de l'époque et de la latitude du lieu de la découverte du disque (φ = 51,3°) 1.

Notons que les diagonales du rectangle se croisent à l'intérieur du large disque d'or qui, dans ce cas, fait office, non plus de lune, mais de soleil.

Troisième étape

La modification suivante consista à ajouter, dans la partie inférieure du disque, un arc d'or tourné vers les Pléiades. Or, cet arc s'inscrit dans un cercle, tangent intérieurement au disque et passant par son centre. De plus, il est vu depuis le centre de ce cercle sous un angle d'environ 145° sur les 360° de la circonférence du cercle dans lequel il est inscrit.

Troisièième étape d'élaboration

Si nous rapprochons la longueur de l'arc d'or inscrit dans le cercle et la durée de la visibilité des Pléiades dans l'année, nous constatons qu'elles représentent une proportion voisine de 0,4. Il s'ensuit que la longueur relative de l'arc d'or correspond à la durée relative de la visibilité des Pléiades dans le ciel de l'hémisphère nord.

Autrement dit, la signification de l'arc d'or est d'abord astronomique et non symbolique. Lui attribuer l'image de la “Barque solaire” traversant le monde des ténèbres ne fait que compléter la signification astronomique. Les symboles s'appuient, en effet, souvent sur une représentation d'ordre cosmique pour suggérer une réalité d'ordre supra-cosmique.

Quatrième étape

La dernière étape de la réalisation du disque consista à percer son pourtour de 39 ou 40 trous équidistants. En effet, la partie endommagée du bord du disque aurait pu contenir un ou deux trous selon les auteurs. Comme l'espacement entre les trous n'est pas rigoureusement régulier, ils sont davantage le produit d'un procédé empirique que d'un calcul exact. Un tel calcul donne cependant une valeur moyenne de 2,58 cm (hypothèse 39 trous) ou 2,51 cm (hypothèse 40 trous). Sachant que le pouce actuel mesure 2,54 cm, ces valeurs suggèrent le recours à une unité de mesure correspondant au pouce de la région à l'Âge de Bronze 2.

Quatrième étape d'élaboration

En apposant son pouce sur le bord du disque après un trou pour marquer le suivant, la personne habilitée à travailler sur le disque introduisit une nouvelle approche du repérage astronomique. L'homme compléta la représentation géométrique par une représentation numérique fondée sur choix d'une unité de mesure 3.

Nous pouvons déduire de tout cela que chacune de ces étapes a apporté quelque chose d'important à cet authentique instrument astronomique. Son symbolisme apparaîtra plus clairement avec l'étude du site de Goseck.

Le site de Goseck

Au-delà du solstice d'hiver

Le site de Goseck était composé d'une série de cercles concentriques: deux cercles extérieurs bordant un fossé et deux cercles intérieurs faits de palissades de bois. Ces cercles étaient percés de trois ensembles de portes.

Plan de Goseck

L'examen du site par l'astronome Wolfhard Schlosser, de l'institut astronomique de l'université rhénane de Bochum, indique que les deux ensembles de portes orientées au sud-est et au sud-ouest correspondaient au lever et au coucher du soleil au solstice d'hiver. Le troisième ensemble était orienté selon le méridien du lieu, c'est-à-dire vers le nord (voir le site Kreisgrabenanlage von Goseck en allemand). Le site servait certainement d'observatoire astronomique, mais ce n'était pas sa seule fonction.

Contrairement au disque de Nebra, le site ne fait pas explicitement référence aux deux solstices d'hiver et d'été; il ne met en évidence que le seul solstice d'hiver et la direction du nord. Pour en comprendre la raison, il suffit de considérer les deux phases du cycle annuel du soleil dans l'hémisphère nord. Le solstice d'hiver correspond au début de la phase ascendante du soleil en direction du pôle nord céleste tandis que le solstice d'été est associé au commencement de la phase descendante du soleil vers le pôle sud céleste 4 (pour plus de détails, voir la description de la sphère céleste). Privilégier le solstice d'hiver signifie s'en référer “au plus haut des cieux”.

Le pôle nord céleste, situé à l'intersection de l'Axe des pôles avec la sphère céleste, symbolise le point fixe le plus élevé de l'Axe des pôles autour duquel tournent apparemment les astres du monde cosmique. Il figure une image du Principe supra-cosmique à partir duquel les astres rayonnent. Le Principe contient à l'état potentiel toutes les possibilités de manifestation (et de non manifestation).

La connaissance du Principe et de sa manifestation n'était cependant pas accessible à tout le monde. L'observateur se tenant au centre du site au solstice d'hiver pouvait, en effet, se tourner:

  • Soit vers le sud et voir le soleil se lever et se coucher dans l'enfilade des portes du sud-est et du sud-ouest. De plus, lorsque le soleil atteignait son zénith et se trouvait dans le méridien du lieu, l'Axe des pôles célestes se projetait le long de l'axe terrestre sud-nord;
  • Soit vers le nord en direction du troisième ensemble des portes. Il pouvait, en levant son regard vers le ciel nocturne, voir le pôle nord céleste ou l'étoile la plus proche. Il fixait alors l'image du Principe immobile à l'origine du monde cosmique. La projection du pôle nord céleste le long de l'Axe coïncidait avec le centre de l'édifice.

Ces deux types d'événements devaient être associés à des rites distincts:

  • Lorsque l'observateur se tournait vers le sud au solstice d'hiver, durant le jour le plus court de l'année, il accomplissait des rites solaires en rapport avec le monde manifesté;
  • Quand l'observateur se tournait vers le nord, au cours de la nuit la plus longue de l'année, il accomplissait des rites polaires liés au Principe à la source du monde manifesté.

Les rites solaires, en rapport avec le monde en mouvement, ne pouvaient avoir lieu qu'au solstice d'hiver. Les rites polaires, liés au Principe immobile, pouvaient au contraire être effectués, au-delà du solstice d'hiver, tout au long de l'année. La manifestation est changeante et fugace, son Principe est immuable.

Les trois cercles de personnes

Les rites solaires relevaient du monde cosmique, manifesté, visible et avaient lieu au grand jour. Un grand nombre de personnes devaient y assister.

Les rites polaires tenaient, au contraire, du monde supra-cosmique, non manifesté, invisible, domaine de la nuit. Ils devaient être destinés à un petit groupe de personnes, dépositaires de la connaissance du Principe synonyme de Tout.

Une partie cependant des rites solaires concernaient le coucher du soleil au solstice d'hiver. Ils avaient lieu au crépuscule et pouvaient précéder les rites polaires. Ils devaient être réservés à des personnes appelées à remplir des fonctions intermédiaires entre celles de la population et celles des dépositaires de la connaissance.

Les rites étaient probablement associés à trois cercles de personnes:

  • Les êtres ordinaires cantonnés à l'espace extérieur bordé par le fossé qui en marquait la limite;
  • Les êtres intermédiaires se tenant dans l'espace délimité par les deux palissades de bois et en charge de l'application des principes définis par le groupe le plus restreint;
  • Ce groupe ne comprenait que les êtres nourris de la connaissance du Principe supra-cosmique à la source de tous les êtres et de toutes les choses. Le groupe se réunissait dans l'espace le plus intérieur et, plus précisément, en son centre.

Comme tout dans l'univers participe du Principe, ce dernier ne pouvait qu'être universel et se refléter dans tout être ou toute chose manifesté. Le but essentiel des rites solaires et polaires consistait certainement à éveiller et à maintenir l'harmonie entre les êtres et l'univers.

Il s'ensuit que les trois espaces associés aux trois cercles de personnes reflétaient également les trois mondes terrestre, intermédiaire ou atmosphérique et céleste. Le site de Goseck constituait une véritable représentation du cosmos.

Le disque de Nebra et le site de Goseck étaient sans aucun doute destinés au relevé de mesures astronomiques à des fins agricoles. De plus, l'accent mis sur le solstice d'hiver marquait la fin de la période des récoltes et de leur engrangement afin de faire face aux rigueurs de la saison froide. Ce moment représentait aussi le début de l'ascension du soleil vers les hauteurs célestes. Il était dès lors tout à fait approprié de rassembler les gens autour de divers rites afin de maintenir vivants les liens profonds qui unissaient les êtres au cosmos et à l'au-delà.

1 retour Au lever et au coucher du soleil aux solstices, l'angle formé par l'une des diagonales du rectangle solsticial avec la direction sud-nord peut être déterminé à partir de la formule suivante (voir la position sur la sphère céleste):

cos a = - sin(δ)/cos(φ)

Où δ représente la valeur de l'écliptique ou de l'angle formé par l'orbite du mouvement annuel de la terre autour du soleil avec l'équateur terrestre. À l'époque actuelle, δ = ±23,5° aux solstices et

a = arccos [sin(23,5°)/cos(51,3°)] = 50,4°

Il s'ensuit que les deux diagonales du rectangle solsticial font un angle de 2×(90°-50,4°) = 79,2°.

L'écart entre les données de l'Âge de Bronze et actuel s'explique en partie par les variations de l'angle δ à travers les Âges.

2 retour Sachant que le rayon r du disque est approximativement 16 cm, la longueur moyenne p de l'arc séparant deux trous est donnée par:

p = 2πr/39 = 2π×16/39 = 2,58 (hypothèse 39 trous).

p = 2πr/40 = 2π×16/40 = 2,51 (hypothèse 40 trous);

Ces valeurs sont très voisines de l'unité de mesure du pouce actuel (2,54 cm).

3 retour Voyons, en effet, comment les autres dimensions du disque s'expriment dans cette unité de mesure.

Commençons par la longueur C de l'arc d'or latéral vu sous un angle α de 82°:

C = rα = 2πr×82/360;

Et

C/p = 39×82/360 = 8,9 (hypothèse 39 trous).

C/p = 40×82/360 = 9,1 (hypothèse 40 trous);

Autrement dit, l'arc d'or latéral mesure environ 9 pouces.

Poursuivons avec l'arc d'or tourné vers les Pléiades et de rayon r/2:

U = πr×145/360

Et

U/p = (145/360)×(39/2) = 7,9 (hypothèse 39 trous).

U/p = (145/360)×(40/2) = 8,1 (hypothèse 40 trous);

C'est-à-dire que la longueur l'arc d'or tourné vers les Pléiades avoisine les 8 pouces.

4 retour Une correspondance analogue existe avec le cycle mensuel de la lune croissante et de la lune décroissante.

Le mystère du disque céleste de Nebra

Première partie

Deuxième partie

Troisième partie

Documentaire de BBC Horizon, 2004. Version française de Arte TV, 2006

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symboles de la Science sacrée”. Éditions Gallimard 1962;
  • Notamment le chapitre XXXV sur les Portes solstitiales.
Haut