LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Trelleborg, the Viking fortress

(Summary)

The circular fortress

Map of DenmarkThe Viking fortresses were defensive places where Norse men could prepare their explorations, raids and commercial expeditions and withdraw to afterwards.

Situated near the west coast of the Danish island of Sealand (Sjælland), the Trelleborg fortress is a ring fortress among others in the country. Let us mention, for instance, Aggersborg by the Limfjord in the north of Jutland (Jylland), Fyrkat in Jutland as well and Nonnebakken in Funen (Fyn). All of them are located in river valleys and close to the coast. This proximity is obviously linked to a society focused on shipping.

Lat:
55.394167
Lon:
11.265278

Architecture of Viking's fortresses

The architecture of all fortresses followed a very similar symmetrical plan. They consisted of a circular rampart which was divided into four quarters by two perpendicular streets crossing at the centre and leading to four gates. In each quarter stood one or several blocks of four houses arranged in a square. Each house could easily accommodate 75 people, that is to say 1200 at least.

The four gates faced the four compass points. As Vikings used to navigate according to the run of the sun or stars, particularly the North Star, it was easy for them to find the geographical compass point directions. They had only to project the direction of either the midday sun or the North Star on the horizon.

The strong similarity between all the fortress plans lets us suspect the existence of common points beyond their defensive purpose alone. That can only be due to the strict layout and orientation of the fortresses.

The construction of Trelleborg dates back to the period 980-1000 of our era. The fortress is situated on a peninsula that juts into a wetland area between two streams. The streams unite into a river which empties into the Great Belt strait (Store Bælt). The fortress was also connected to the Great Belt by a lake that has since disappeared.

Aerial view of Trelleborg

Trelleborg is unique with its outer extension which contained fifteen houses protected by another rampart shaped as an arc. They could have housed 1000 people.

As the largest fortress known in Denmark, Trelleborg brings some of the most significant aspects of the Norse tradition together.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Trelleborg, la forteresse viking

(Résumé)

La forteresse circulaire

Carte du DanemarkLes forteresses vikings étaient des places défensives où les hommes du Nord pouvaient préparer leurs explorations, raids et expéditions commerciales et se retirer par après.

Située près de la côte ouest de l'île danoise de Seeland (Sjælland), la forteresse de Trelleborg est une forteresse circulaire parmi d'autres dans le pays. Mentionnons, par exemple, Aggersborg près du Limefjord dans le nord du Jutland (Jylland), Fyrkat dans le Jutland aussi et Nonnebakken en Fionie (Fyn). Elles sont toutes situées dans des vallées fluviales et près de la côte. Cette proximité est évidemment liée à une société tournée vers la navigation maritime.

Lat:
55.394167
Lon:
11.265278

Architecture des forteresses vikings

L'architecture de toutes les forteresses suit de très près un plan symétrique. Elles consistaient en un rempart circulaire divisé en quatre quartiers par deux rues perpendiculaires se croisant au centre et menant à quatre portes. Dans chaque quartier s'élevait un ou plusieurs blocs de quatre maisons disposées en carré. Chaque maison pouvait aisément accueillir 75 personnes, soit 1200 au minimum.

Les quatre portes font face aux quatre points cardinaux. Comme les Vikings avaient coutume de naviguer en fonction de la course du soleil ou des étoiles, en particulier l'étoile polaire, il leur était facile de trouver les directions des points cardinaux géographiques. Ils n'avaient qu'à projeter la direction du soleil de midi ou de l'étoile polaire sur l'horizon.

Les fortes similarités entre tous les plans des forteresses nous laissent soupçonner l'existence de points communs au-delà de leur seul objet défensif. Cela ne peut tenir qu'à la stricte disposition et orientation des forteresses.

La construction de Trelleborg date des années 980-1000 de notre ère. La forteresse est située sur une péninsule qui se jette dans une zone humide entre deux rivières. Les rivières s'unissent dans un fleuve qui s'écoule dans le détroit du Grand Belt (Store Bælt). La forteresse était également reliée au Grand Belt par un lac qui a disparu depuis.

Vue aérienne de Trelleborg

Trelleborg est unique avec son extension extérieure qui contenait quinze maisons protégées par un autre rempart en forme d'arc. Ces maisons auraient pu loger 1000 personnes.

En tant que plus grande forteresse connue au Danemark, Trelleborg rassemble certains des traits les plus marquants de la tradition nordique.

Page détaillée

Haut