LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Stonehenge, a cosmic temple

(Detailed page)

Summary

Summer solstice sunrise

The two kinds of stone

The sarsen gateway and the blue stoneAs the rough stone is transformed into a cut one, the being is transfigured through an initiation process. The initiation consists essentially in purification rites destined to strip the being from his present state to allow him to reach a superior one.

No doubt that stone cutters were initiated and had a special stature in the Neolithic society. Stone cutting helped them to reach higher states of being and higher states let them improve their technique.

From a general point of view, the upright stone symbolizes all the possible being's states from the terrestrial or physical states to the celestial or spiritual ones.

  • The sarsen gateway is composed of two upright stones topped by a lintel that characterizes the passage, the process of transformation of the being from a state of being to another;
  • The upright blue stone describes the realization of the being after transformation. Besides, it is not by chance that blue stones are located inside the sarsen circle and the arc of trilithons. They symbolize the beings that have already crossed the gateway and attained higher states.

We therefore understand why the master-builders of Stonehenge have used two kinds of stones to make all the difference between transformation and realization, between called and chosen beings.

Moreover, it is no more by chance that sarsen stones are probably originating from a forest, the place of initiation of “carpenters”. Besides, the Stonehenge builders used the carpenter's technique to make the structure stable. As for the blue stones, is it by chance that they most probably come from a mountainous region, an elevation symbol towards Heaven and superior states ? All these stones were undeniably impregnated by the spirit of the places of their origin and destined to fulfil a related function.

Of course, it would have been simpler to say that the blue stones were coming from a previous construction stage and the huge sarsen blocks from the only place they could have been extracted from. However, this does not explain why the builders needed to use such huge blocks of stone.

We are confronted here by a significant feature, which we will highlight throughout our discovery of Stonehenge. The essential is not in the most impressive (sarsen blocks), but in the less imposing (blue stones). In fact, the master-builders of Stonehenge did not want to divulge the meaning of the construction to the outer world, but reserve it for initiates only.

In addition, we observe that symbolic and factual explanations are complementing rather than opposing each other.

The two privileged accessing paths

Summer and winter solsticesThe construction structure incites us to take the symmetrical axis, oriented northeast-southwest, to approach the building centre. This axis represents one of the diagonal of the “solstitial rectangle” determined by the sunrise and sunset position at the solstices and function of Stonehenge latitude (φ = 51.2°) 1.

The directions linking the centre of the structure to the solstice and compass points draw four axes around which Stonehenge was constructed. The solstitial axes are to the temporal order what the compass points axes are to the spatial order. The sunrise and sunset cycle is associated with south at summer solstice and with north at winter solstice.

In this passage from an order to another, the sunrise and sunset cycle is transformed into a point and time into an immutable instant or eternity. As we will see later, the passage from the northeast-southwest to the south-north axis means to surpass the human states to attain the supra-human ones. In other words, the northeast-southwest axis is subordinated to the south-north one.

The being taking the northeast-southwest axis at summer solstice will have his back to the structure to watch the sunrise. On the contrary, the being taking the same axis at winter solstice will be able to watch the sunset straight ahead. It follows that the individual who wants to watch the summer solstice sunrise is invited to rejoin the outer world. Do the crowds pressing around Stonehenge today to celebrate the summer solstice not rejoin their home next ? On the other hand, the being facing the structure to watch the winter solstice sunset is called to dive into the night depths. In the first case, the being rediscovers his ordinary state; in the second, he opens himself to the night mysteries to rise towards superior states. This movement is in accordance with the annual cycle of the sun. Indeed, summer solstice corresponds to the start of the descending phase of the sun towards the south celestial pole whereas winter solstice is associated with the beginning of the ascending phase of the sun towards the north celestial pole (for more details on this point, see the description of the celestial sphere). A similar correspondence exists with the monthly cycle of the waxing and waning moon.

After having been embraced by the night mysteries, the postulant could follow his initiatory voyage using another access. In fact, the sarsen circle includes in its southern part an upright stone lower than all the others, apparently intact and, consequently, unable to support lintels. It must have corresponded to another access alongside a south-north axis. Here again, the individual facing south, i.e. looking in the direction of the noon sun, had his back to the structure and was sent back to the outer world. On the other hand, the being who looked towards north (during a moonless night maybe), towards the “midnight sun” could either follow his route towards the centre of the structure or leave the horizontal plan proper to the sunset and raise his eyes at the vertical towards the starry sky. His look must have then stared at the polar star or north celestial pole, i.e. the motionless point around which stars and “wanderings” are turning, the centre of the cosmic wheel, the centre of the celestial wheel that finds its reflection into the centre of the terrestrial circular structure.

Note that beings following both northeast-southwest and south-north axes met only one gateway on the way towards the centre of the structure. The northeast-southwest axis crosses a gateway of the sarsen circle leading to the intermediary zone of the human states. The south-north axis goes through a trilithon giving access to the central zone of the supra-human states. The narrow passage left between both pillars of the trilithon does nothing but underline the great difficulty of attaining the spiritual states, ultimate step of initiation probably reserved for a very restricted number of postulants. A difficulty that found an echo in the narrow gate, the hole of the needle according to the Gospel: “I say it to you again, it is easier for a camel to pass through the hole of a needle than for a rich man to enter into the kingdom of God” (Saint Matthew XIX.24).

The solstice celebration

In Briton's societies at the end of the Neolithic era, the access to knowledge was reserved for the authority possessors. In order to limit its access, the master-builders of Stonehenge deliberately diverted looks from the essential towards the apparent:

  • The sunrise was masking the sunset;
  • Sun and daylight were masking night and polar star;
  • The northeast-southwest axis was masking the south-north axis;
  • The horizontal plan was masking the vertical axis;
  • And so on.

The north celestial pole depicts the undifferentiated Principle beyond any duality, any distinction between sunrise and sunset, day and night, clarity and obscurity etc. It symbolizes the Unity that governs the world, the immutable Principle at the source of the manifestation of all beings and things. Returning towards the Principle, which has given birth to us from the deep night, always constituted the ultimate goal of genuine spiritual traditions. The path to reach it went through the initiation to the mysteries of the world beyond.

The return paths to the origins have been perpetuated through the times and found an echo with the Roman god of initiation, Janus. He was the custodian of the gates of summer and winter solstices, giving respectively access to the little mysteries (realization of the fullness of human states) and the great mysteries (realization of the fullness of supra-human or spiritual states). Janus was usually represented by a being with a double face, one turning towards sunrise, the other towards sunset. Nevertheless, beyond the duality which is appearance only, he was equally endowed with a third invisible face including the two visible ones. This third face symbolized the Unity that surpasses oppositions and seizes the world in its totality.

The two northeast-southwest and south-north axes, related to the initiation to mysteries, privileged west and north in comparison with east and south. In other words, the night world took over the daylight one. The being could only discover the true knowledge, the light within the darkness depths. He firstly had to die in his present state of being before his re-birth into a superior state, i.e. he had to exhaust all the possibilities linked to his preceding state to be able to develop the possibilities of the following one.

The initiatory re-birth of the being most probably took place during the winter solstice period, i.e. the beginning of the sun ascension towards the north celestial pole. Its celebration was very likely set up according to a calendar based on the combination of sun and moon cycles and maybe inscribed within the building structure. The celebration period must have just as well opened the way to the realization of human as supra-human states. This let us think about the existence of a highly hierarchic society, where the different structure circles gathered the beings together according to their degree of knowledge. The two preceding axes constituted channels of communication between the supreme degree and the other degrees; he was trustee of the traditional doctrine and standing at the centre of the structure.

As for the ordinary beings, they must have stood outside the structure, of the sarsen circle at least, to admire the sunrise at summer solstice. As beings of the dawn and daylight, they opened their mind to the outer rather than the inner light, to the visible rather than the invisible world, to the world diversity rather than its Unity. Trapped by the wheel of time, they could not reach the motionless centre, symbol of eternity.

Only beings of twilight and night were able to communicate with the invisible world. During the winter solstice celebration, fire certainly played an important role. Indeed, if the outer flame lights the terrestrial darkness, synonym of ignorance, it also goes up towards the celestial heights, the world of spirits, of the true knowledge. A knowledge only accessible to beings ready to let their present state die and to be re-born into higher states. The celebration of the night world, of the initiatory death and re-birth at winter solstice must also have been a period of communication with the world of dead and divinities living in it.

Having reached this stage, it would be easy to draw a parallel with what we know about the Celtic tradition at the risk of building up quite another story... It would be more appropriate to be interested in populations prior to the construction of Stonehenge.

Bibliography

  • Christopher Chippindale:
  • “Stonehenge Complete”. Thames & Hudson Publisher, new and expanded edition 2004.
  • Realization of a Mike Pitts' project:
  • “Rebuilding Stonehenge”. A film by Pati Marr, Johanna Schwartz and Bruce Hepton, United Kingdom 2005.
  • Realization of a project by Tim Darvill and Geoff Wainwright:
  • “Stonehenge - The Healing Stones”. A film by David Stewart, United Kingdom 2008.
  • Realization of a Mike Parker Pearson's project:
  • “Stonehenge decoded”. A film by Christopher Spencer, National Geographic 2008.
  • “The secret of Stonehenge”. A documentaire by Andra Heritage, 2017.
  • René Guénon:
  • “Symbols of Sacred Science”, Sophia Perennis Publisher 2004;
  • Notably, chapters 10 on “the Druidic triple enclosure” and 35 on “the solstitial gates”.

1 back In fact, at the solstitial sunrise and sunset, the angle formed by one of the diagonal of the solstitial rectangle and the south-north direction can be determined from the following formula (see the position on the celestial sphere):

cos a = - sin (δ)/cos(φ)

Where δ = ±23.5° at the solstices, that is:

a = cos-1 [sin(23.5°)/cos(51.2°)] = 50.5°

It follows that both solstitial axes make an angle of 2×(90°-50.5°) = 79°.

Furthermore, the discovery, in 2008, of natural furrows dug at the ice age and oriented according to the winter solstice sunset, could explain the choice of the place for the construction of the site at the neolithic period.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Stonehenge, un temple cosmique

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Lever du soleil au solstice d'été

Les deux sortes de pierres

Le portail de sarsen et la pierre bleueTout comme la pierre brute est transformée en pierre taillée, l'être est transfiguré au cours d'un processus d'initiation. L'initiation consiste essentiellement en rites de purification destinés à dépouiller l'être de son état présent pour lui permettre d'accéder à un état supérieur.

Nul doute que les tailleurs de pierre étaient initiés et bénéficiaient d'un statut particulier dans la société néolithique. La taille de la pierre les aidait à atteindre des états de l'être supérieurs et les états supérieurs leur permettaient d'améliorer leur technique.

De manière générale, la pierre érigée symbolise toute la gamme des états possibles de l'être depuis les états terrestres ou corporels jusqu'aux états célestes ou spirituels.

  • Le portail de sarsen est composé de deux pierres dressées surmontées d'un linteau qui caractérise le passage, le processus de transformation de l'être d'un état d'être à un autre;
  • La pierre bleue dressée décrit la réalisation de l'être après transformation. D'ailleurs, ce n'est pas un hasard si les pierres bleues se trouvent à l'intérieur du cercle de sarsen et de l'arc de trilithes. Elles représentent les êtres qui ont déjà franchi le portail et accédé à des états plus élevés.

Nous comprenons dès lors pourquoi les bâtisseurs de Stonehenge ont recouru à deux sortes de pierres pour bien marquer une différence entre transformation et réalisation, entre appelés et élus.

De plus, ce n'est pas davantage un hasard si les pierres de sarsen proviennent vraisemblablement d'une forêt, le lieu d'initiation des “charpentiers”. D'ailleurs, les constructeurs de Stonehenge utilisèrent la technique du charpentier pour rendre l'édifice stable. Quant aux pierres bleues, est-ce un hasard si elles viennent presque certainement d'une région montagneuse, un symbole d'élévation vers le Ciel et les états supérieurs ? Toutes ces pierres étaient indéniablement imprégnées de l'esprit des lieux de leur provenance et destinées à remplir une fonction en rapport.

Certes, il aurait été plus simple de dire que les pierres bleues provenaient d'un stade antérieur de la construction et les énormes blocs de sarsen du seul lieu d'où ils avaient pu être extraits. Toutefois, cela n'explique pas pourquoi les constructeurs ont eu besoin de recourir à d'énormes blocs de pierre.

Nous sommes confrontés ici à un trait significatif que nous allons mettre en évidence tout au long de notre découverte de Stonehenge. L'essentiel n'est pas dans le plus impressionnant (blocs de sarsen), mais dans le moins imposant (pierres bleues). En fait, les bâtisseurs de Stonehenge ne voulaient pas divulguer le sens de la construction au monde extérieur, mais le réserver aux seuls initiés.

En outre, nous observons qu'explications symbolique et factuelle se complètent plutôt que de s'opposer.

Les deux voies d'accès privilégiées

Solstices d'hiver et d'étéLa structure de la construction nous incite à emprunter l'axe de symétrie orienté nord-est/sud-ouest pour nous approcher du centre de l'édifice. Cet axe représente l'une des diagonales du “rectangle solsticial” déterminé à partir de la position du lever et du coucher du soleil aux solstices et fonction de la latitude de Stonehenge (φ = 51,2°) 1.

Les directions reliant le centre de l'édifice aux solstices et aux points cardinaux dessinent quatre axes autour desquels Stonehenge a été construit. Les axes des solstices sont à l'ordre temporel ce que les axes des points cardinaux sont à l'ordre spatial. Le cycle du soleil levant et couchant est associé au sud, au solstice d'été, et au nord, au solstice d'hiver.

Dans ce passage d'un ordre à l'autre, le cycle du soleil levant et couchant est transformé en un point et le temps en instant immuable ou éternité. Comme nous allons le voir plus loin, le passage de l'axe nord-est/sud-ouest à l'axe sud-nord signifie dépasser les états humains pour accéder aux états supra-humains. Autrement dit, l'axe nord-est/sud-ouest est subordonné à l'axe sud-nord.

L'être qui emprunte l'axe nord-est/sud-ouest au solstice d'été devra tourner le dos à l'édifice pour voir le soleil se lever. L'être qui, au contraire, emprunte ce même axe au solstice d'hiver pourra voir le soleil se coucher devant lui. Il s'ensuit que l'individu qui veut voir le soleil se lever au solstice d'été est invité à rejoindre le monde extérieur. Les foules qui se pressent aujourd'hui à Stonehenge pour célébrer le solstice d'été ne rejoignent-elles pas ensuite leurs pénates ? À l'inverse, l'être faisant face à l'édifice pour voir le soleil se coucher au solstice d'hiver est appelé à s'enfoncer dans les profondeurs de la nuit. Dans le premier cas, l'être retrouve son état d'être ordinaire; dans le second, il s'ouvre aux mystères de la nuit pour s'élever vers des états supérieurs. Ce mouvement est en accord avec le cycle annuel du soleil. En effet, le solstice d'été correspond au début de la phase descendante du soleil en direction du pôle sud céleste tandis que le solstice d'hiver est associé au commencement de la phase ascendante du soleil vers le pôle nord céleste (pour plus de détails sur ce point, voir la description de la sphère céleste). Une correspondance analogue existe avec le cycle mensuel de la lune croissante et de la lune décroissante.

Après s'être laissé pénétrer par les mystères de la nuit, le postulant pouvait poursuivre son voyage initiatique en utilisant un autre accès. Le cercle de sarsen comporte, en effet, dans sa partie sud une pierre dressée moins élevée que les autres, apparemment intacte et, par conséquent, dans l'incapacité de soutenir des linteaux. Elle a dû correspondre à une autre entrée selon un axe sud-nord. Ici encore, l'individu se tournant vers le sud, c'est-à-dire en direction du soleil du midi, devait tourner le dos à l'édifice et était renvoyé au monde extérieur. Par contre, l'être qui regardait vers le nord (par une nuit peut-être sans lune), vers le “soleil de minuit” pouvait soit poursuivre sa route vers le centre de l'édifice soit quitter le plan horizontal propre au soleil couchant et lever les yeux à la verticale vers le ciel étoilé. Son regard a dû alors se porter vers l'étoile polaire ou le pôle nord céleste, c'est-à-dire le point immobile autour duquel tournent les étoiles et les astres “errants”, le centre de la roue cosmique, le centre de la roue céleste qui trouve son reflet dans le centre de l'édifice circulaire terrestre.

Notons que les êtres suivant les deux axes nord-est/sud-ouest et sud-nord ne rencontraient qu'un seul portail en chemin vers le centre de l'édifice. L'axe nord-est/sud-ouest traverse un portail du cercle de sarsen débouchant sur la zone intermédiaire des états humains. L'axe sud-nord passe par un trilithe donnant accès à la zone centrale des états supra-humains. Le passage étroit laissé par les deux piliers du trilithe ne fait que souligner toute la difficulté d'atteindre les états spirituels, étape ultime de l'initiation probablement réservée à un nombre très restreint de postulants. Une difficulté qui trouva un écho dans la porte étroite, le trou de l'aiguille de l'Évangile: “Je vous le dis encore, il est plus facile à un chameau de passer par le trou d'une aiguille qu'à un riche d'entrer dans le royaume de Dieu” (Saint Matthieu XIX.24).

La célébration du solstice

Dans les sociétés de Bretons de la fin du néolithique, l'accès à la connaissance était réservé aux détenteurs de l'autorité. Afin d'en limiter l'abord, les bâtisseurs de Stonehenge ont délibérément détourné les regards de l'essentiel vers l'apparent:

  • Le soleil levant masquait le soleil couchant;
  • Le soleil et le jour masquaient la nuit et l'étoile polaire;
  • L'axe nord-est/sud-ouest masquait l'axe sud-nord;
  • Le plan horizontal masquait l'axe vertical;
  • Et ainsi de suite.

Le pôle nord céleste figure le Principe indifférencié au-delà de toute dualité, de toute distinction entre soleil levant et soleil couchant, jour et nuit, clarté et obscurité etc. Il symbolise l'Unité qui gouverne le monde, le Principe immuable à la source de la manifestation de tous les êtres et de toutes les choses. Retourner vers le Principe, qui du fond de la nuit nous a donné le jour, a toujours constitué le but ultime des traditions spirituelles authentiques. Et la voie pour y parvenir passait par l'initiation aux mystères du monde de l'au-delà.

Les voies du retour aux origines se sont perpétuées à travers le temps et trouvèrent un écho chez le dieu romain de l'initiation, Janus. Il était le gardien des portes du solstice d'été et du solstice d'hiver donnant respectivement accès aux petits mystères (réalisation de la plénitude des états humains) et aux grands mystères (réalisation de la plénitude des états supra-humains ou spirituels). Janus était habituellement représenté par un être à double visage, l'un tourné vers le soleil levant, l'autre vers le soleil couchant. Toutefois, au-delà de la dualité qui n'est qu'apparence, il était également doté d'un troisième visage invisible englobant les deux faces visibles. Ce troisième visage symbolisait l'Unité qui dépasse les oppositions et saisit le monde dans sa totalité.

Les deux axes nord-est/sud-ouest et sud-nord, en relation avec l'initiation aux mystères, privilégiaient l'ouest et le nord par rapport à l'est et le sud. Autrement dit, le monde de la nuit prenait le pas sur le monde du jour. L'être ne pouvait découvrir la connaissance véritable, la lumière que dans les profondeurs des ténèbres. Il lui fallait d'abord mourir à son état d'être présent avant de re-naître dans un état supérieur, c'est-à-dire qu'il devait avoir épuisé toutes les possibilités liées à son état précédent pour pouvoir développer les possibilités de l'état suivant.

La re-naissance initiatique de l'être avait très certainement lieu au cours de la période du solstice d'hiver, c'est-à-dire au début de l'ascension du soleil vers le pôle nord céleste. Sa célébration était vraisemblablement fixée en fonction d'un calendrier basé sur la combinaison des cycles du soleil et de la lune et peut-être inscrit dans la structure de l'édifice. La période de célébration devait aussi bien ouvrir la voie de la réalisation des états humains que des états supra-humains. Cela nous laisse penser à l'existence d'une société fortement hiérarchisée où les différents cercles de l'édifice regroupaient les êtres selon leur degré de connaissance. Les deux axes précédents constituaient des canaux de communication entre le grade suprême et les autres grades; il était dépositaire de la doctrine traditionnelle et se tenait au centre de l'édifice.

Quant aux êtres ordinaires, ils devaient se tenir à l'extérieur de l'édifice, ou du moins du cercle de sarsen, pour admirer le lever du soleil au solstice d'été. En tant qu'êtres de l'aube et du jour, ils s'ouvraient à la lumière extérieure plutôt qu'à la clarté intérieure, au monde visible plutôt qu'invisible, à la diversité du monde plutôt qu'à son Unité. Happés par la roue du temps, ils ne pouvaient accéder au centre immobile, symbole d'éternité.

Seuls les êtres du crépuscule et de la nuit étaient en mesure d'entrer en communication avec le monde de l'invisible. Au cours de la célébration du solstice d'hiver, le feu jouait certainement un rôle important. En effet, si la flamme extérieure éclaire les ténèbres terrestres, synonymes d'ignorance, elle s'élève aussi vers les hauteurs célestes, le monde des esprits de la vraie connaissance. Une connaissance seulement accessible aux êtres prêts à mourir à leur état présent et à re-naître dans des états supérieurs. La célébration du monde de la nuit, de la mort et de la re-naissance initiatique au solstice d'hiver a dû être aussi une période de communication avec le monde des morts tout court et des divinités qui l'habitaient.

Parvenus à ce stade, il serait aisé d'établir un parallèle avec ce que nous savons de la tradition celtique au risque d'échafauder une toute autre histoire... Il serait plus opportun de s'intéresser aux populations antérieures à l'édification de Stonehenge.

Stonehenge, reconstruction grandeur nature

Première partie 1/5

Deuxième partie 2/5

Troisième partie 3/5

Quatrième partie 4/5

Cinquième partie 5/5

Fouilles de Stonehenge, les mystères révélés du néolithique

Première partie 1/3

Deuxième partie 2/3

Troisième partie 3/3

Bibliographie

  • Christopher Chippindale:
  • “Stonehenge Complete”. Thames & Hudson Publisher, new and expanded edition 2004.
  • Réalisation d'un projet de Mike Pitts:
  • “Stonehenge grandeur nature”. Un film de Pati Marr, Johanna Schwartz et Bruce Hepton, Royaume-Uni 2005. Voir la vidéo du film en cinq parties.
  • Réalisation d'un projet de Tim Darvill et Geoff Wainwright:
  • “Stonehenge, les mystères révélés du néolithique”. Un film de David Stewart, Royaume-Uni 2008. Voir la vidéo en trois parties.
  • Réalisation d'un projet de Mike Parker Pearson:
  • “La cité cachée de Stonehenge”. Un film de Christopher Spencer, National Geographic 2008.
  • “Dans le secret de Stonehenge”. Un documentaire d'Andra Heritage, 2017.
  • René Guénon:
  • “Symboles de la Science sacrée”. Éditions Gallimard 1962;
  • Notamment, les chapitres X sur “la triple enceinte druidique” et XXXV sur “les portes solsticiales”.

1 retour En effet, au lever et au coucher du soleil aux solstices, l'angle formé par l'une des diagonales du rectangle solsticial avec la direction sud-nord peut être déterminé à partir de la formule suivante (voir la position sur la sphère céleste):

cos a = - sin(δ)/cos(φ)

Où δ = ±23,5° aux solstices, soit:

a = arccos [sin(23,5°)/cos(51,2°)] = 50,5°

Il s'ensuit que les deux axes solsticiaux font un angle de 2×(90°-50,5°) = 79°.

Par ailleurs, la découverte, en 2008, de sillons naturels creusés à l'âge glaciaire et orientés en direction du soleil couchant au solstice d'hiver, pourrait expliquer le choix du lieu de la construction du site à l'époque néolithique.

Haut