Double spiral and yin-yang symbol

Abstract

The serpent surrounding the egg

The Principle and its manifestation

The World Egg, symbol of the Principle source of the manifestation, is common to many traditions. Particularly, in the Egyptian and Celtic traditions, a serpent surrounding the egg provides, as we will see, a representation of the double spiral.

The serpent rings symbolize the overall cycles of the universal manifestation. Each cycle reflect a state of manifestation or one of its modes. The end of any cycle coincides with the beginning of the following. It means that the death of a cycle always coincides with the birth of a new one. Therefore, the changes in manifestation states may be measured alongside a vertical axis, which crosses each ring or cycle in its centre where all aspects belonging to the associated state are in perfect equilibrium, in perfect harmony. This axis, called World Axis, symbolizes the direction of the manifestation of the Being or Primordial Unity.

All manifestation states or cycles come from the undifferentiated Principle and return to it after their full development. Consequently, they look as on the left diagram, where each cycle is generated and absorbed within the principle point standing at the centre of aThe two currents related to the cosmic force (dashed) sphere. Indeed, the Primordial Unity contains, in principle, everything and cannot become something different from itself because it would imply a duality of the Whole.

According to this picture, two reverse movements occur. The cycles may either expand from the “inner” principle point to the “outer” surface of the sphere or contract from the “outer” surface to the “inner” centre, back to the principle point. In fact, both movements reflect two aspects of a unique force related to the Being:

  • The metaphysical point of view or the way out from non-manifested to manifested world, which corresponds to an embodiment of the Spirit.
  • The cosmological vision or the way back from manifested to non-manifested world, which expresses the spiritualization of the body.

This alternate movement of death of a world and re-birth of another one, expressed in general terms, corresponds to the “condensation-dissipation” process of the Taoist tradition or the “coagulation-dissolvation” operations proper to the Hermetic tradition.

At the individual level, such a force can be compared to both phases of either breathing (expiration-inspiration) or heartbeat (diastole-systole). Within the cosmic world, development-envelopment and evolution-involution are pairs having the same meaning. Indeed, the macrocosm and the microcosm are reflecting each other and all what is in the universe can be found in the human being according to a suitable analogy. However, the unique force refers essentially to the World Egg symbolism, which concerns the macrocosm or cosmic world, and will be named cosmic force in the remaining text.

Polarization of the cosmic force

Amphisbaena, the double head serpentNow, in different traditional forms, the way out into the manifestation world usually operates through the terrestrial influence or attraction and the way back to the undifferentiated Principle under the celestial influence or attraction. So, the World Egg is often split into two halves representing what the Chinese tradition names Heaven and Earth. Therefore, both reverse cosmic force streams may be symbolized by a unique serpent surrounding the egg, called amphisbaena, with a head at both ends, which are twisted in opposite directions. The two heads correspond to the celestial and terrestrial poles of the cosmic force.

The two egg's halvesAs Heaven is usually associated with light (yang) and Earth to darkness (yin), the two hemispheres of the egg can be distinguished through their white and black colours. Cut alongside their border line, both halves may be laid down on their flat surface, next to each other, only linked by their cyclic winding. Then, the two hemispheres provide the image of a double spiral, which reflects the alternate rhythm of manifestation composed of two phases. A descending movement from Heaven to Earth or from a death of the Spirit to a bodily birth; an ascending movement from Earth to Heaven or from a symbolic body death to a spiritual rebirth. The two points around which the double spiral rolls up are evidently the two poles. See the diagram below.

The double spiral provides the image of a unique cosmic force acting in opposite directions in both hemispheres. That is in close relationship with both rotation directions of the swastika, showing the same revolution seen from the celestial or terrestrial pole. As the combined celestial and terrestrial influences work in opposite directions, every “dissipative” or “dissolvation” operation at one pole is coupled with a “condensation” or “coagulation” operation at the other pole in order to maintain an overall balance. 1

The double influence of Heaven and Earth is nothing but the complement between yin and yang, respectively associated with the descending and ascending phases. It is easy to see that, within the yin-yang symbol, the double spiral corresponds to the outline of the border between clear and dark regions. Moreover, the black point in the white part and the white point in the dark area represent the two poles.

Double spiral and yin-yang symbol

Descending phaseRotation direction during the descending phase (yin)

Ascending phaseRotation direction during the ascending phase (yang)

Double
spiral
Double spiral, link between Heaven (yang) and Earth (yin)

Yin-yang
symbol
Double spiral, inner line of the yin-yang symbol

The alternating rhythm of yin and yang, descending and ascending phases, way out and way in can hardly be better expressed than in the yin-yang symbol. The order of both phases depends on the state taken into account as a starting point.

Starting from a non-manifested state and moving towards manifestation means that yin will come first; yang will follow as a return in direction of non-manifestation. That explains why the pole within the dark area of the symbol is represented by a white spot.

Conversely, when moving from a manifested state towards non-manifestation, yang should prevail and yin will be associated with a further move towards another manifested state as shown by the dark pole within the white area.

Consequently, in the descending phase, which is yin, yang is present and in the ascending phase, which is yang, yin cannot be omitted. Even when distinguished, both descending and ascending phases are operating together. There is no yin without yang and no yang without yin. Therefore, the ten thousand beings, symbolizing the universal manifestation, are modified through yin and yang, from their appearance in the manifested world to their return to the non-manifested world.

Separation of cosmic force streams

When both reverse streams of the cosmic force are not only distinguished as in the amphisbaena, but also separated, they may be portrayed as two serpents twining in opposite directions around a common axis as in the representation of the Caduceus.

Caduceus, separation of the cosmic force currentsThe legend says that Hermes (Mercury in Latin) saw two serpents fighting each other (image of the original chaos) and separated them (splitting of opposites) with a stick (axis alongside which the chaos will be ordered and become the cosmos). Then, both serpents wound themselves around the stick in opposite directions (balance of two opposite forces working symmetrically in relation to the World Axis). The Caduceus is an attribute characterizing the two functions of Hermes: a messenger of God associated with the descending phase and also a psychopompos, transporting humans from a state of being to another, through an ascending phase.

As medicine emblem, the Caduceus refers to both cosmic force aspects represented by the two serpents, which are connected to descending and ascending phases. For instance, the Hermetic medicine is based on “coagulation” and “dissolvation” operations. In Chinese medicine, “condensation” and “dissipation” are related to yin and yang forces and play similar roles.

Esculape's stick, the ascent waySymbol of the double power of the keysWhen represented by a single serpent wrapped around Esculape's stick as shown on the besides picture, the emblem refers essentially to the ascending phase, which brings human beings to higher states. That points out why, in ancient times, medicine was a concern of sacerdotal art and not of temporal order.

The double operation of “coagulation-dissolvation” corresponds exactly to the so-called key power of the Christian tradition. A double power as it contains the capacity to “bind” and “unbind”, equivalent to “coagulate” and “dissolve”. This power belongs to two keys referring to different orders. A golden key belonging to the spiritual authority and a silver key related to the temporal order. Both keys have, each in their respective domain, the double power to “bind” and “unbind, “but in different proportions. Indeed, the “binding” power prevails in the temporal domain and the “unbinding” in the spiritual sphere, so that the two keys are yin and yang towards each other. Therefore, in the most common representation, both double spirals, associated with the two keys, are crossed instead of being parallel and recall the swastika.

Janus, the double face GodThis is in close relationship with the symbolism of Janus (from “janua”, which means gate), the double face Roman god of initiation. Here, the silver key (or sceptre) and the golden key have each the double power to open and close the gates giving access respectively to “little mysteries” and “great mysteries”:

  • The “little mysteries” consist in a psychic re-generation producing a centred individual. As he is still belonging to the temporal order, this initiation may only be associated with the horizontal double spiral.
  • The “great mysteries” give access to the spiritual world or domain of supra-individual possibilities. As no return to the human state occurs, this initiation may only be linked to the vertical double spiral.

“Opening” or “binding” corresponds to a yin movement, “closing” or “unbinding” to a yang move. Indeed, after having opened the gate giving access to a cycle and accomplished it, the human being is re-born into a new cycle without any way back to the former one. So, the gate has to be closed be him.

In Hindu tradition, both streams of the cosmic force are represented by the “Brahma-danda” or Brahman's staff, composed of two helixes wrinkled in opposite directions alongside a vertical axis symbolizing, as usual, the World Axis. Both helixes meet on the axis at seven lotus or nods, which have to be untied to reach the full Knowledge.

The key power corresponds, in the u tradition, to the double power of the vajra. As a Vajra, double power of generation and destruction symbol of lightning, it possesses two opposite, or better complementing, power aspects: “generation” and “destruction”: generation of a new cycle or life; destruction of a former one or death. In its most common representation, both heads end up in three flames: the one in the middle corresponding to the axis extremity and both side ones to both cosmic streams. When handed vertically as a sacerdotal attribute, it represents the World Axis connecting Heaven and Earth or the “Middle Path”. When tilted on one side or the other, it depicts the right and left tantric ways, the devotion to the Goddess and the union of beings, and forms a swastika.

A similar signification may be found in Greek mythology with Poseidon's trident as well as in the Nordic tradition regarding Thor's hammer.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “The Great Triad”, South Asia Books Publisher;
  • Particularly, chapter 5 devoted to the double spiral and chapter 7 dealing with orientation questions.

1 backA paving counter clockwise swastika in Amiens cathedral The double spiral highlights the deep interdependence between both rotating directions of the swastika. Consequently, the attribution of a malefic, damned or satanic character to the counter-clockwise angled swastika and a benefic or divine feature to the clockwise angled one proceeds from a dualistic view which does not make sense. To be convinced, we only need to mention the openwork design of the swastika inserted into a wall to realize that it is necessarily perceived as clockwise on one side of the wall and counter-clockwise on the other. Or else, let us just admire the above paving pattern of Amiens cathedral.

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Double spirale et symbole yin-yang

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Serpent enroulé autour de l'œuf

Le Principe et sa manifestation

L'Oeuf du Monde, symbole du Principe à la source de la manifestation, est commun à nombre de traditions. En particulier, dans les traditions égyptienne et celtique, un serpent enroulé autour de l'Oeuf offre, comme nous allons le voir, une représentation de la double spirale.

Les anneaux du serpent représentent l'ensemble des cycles de la manifestation universelle. Chaque cycle reflète un état de manifestation ou l'une de ses modalités. La fin d'un cycle coïncide avec le début du suivant, c'est-à-dire que la mort d'un cycle survient toujours avec la naissance d'un autre. En conséquence, les changements dans les états manifestés peuvent être mesurés le long d'un axe vertical qui traverse chaque anneau ou cycle en son centre, là où tous les aspects propres à l'état considéré sont en parfait équilibre, en parfaite harmonie. Cet axe, appelé Axe du Monde, symbolise la direction de la manifestation de l'Être ou de l'Unité Primordiale.

Tous les états de manifestation ou cycles proviennent du Principe indifférencié et y retournent après leur plein développement. En conséquence, ils se présentent commeLes deux courants de la force cosmique sur le diagramme ci-contre où chaque cycle est généré et absorbé par le point principiel situé au centre d'une sphère (en pointillés). En effet, l'Unité Primordiale contient tout en principe et ne peut devenir autre chose qu'elle-même car cela impliquerait une dualité du Tout.

Selon ce diagramme, deux mouvements inverses ont lieu. Les cycles peuvent soit se répandre à partir du point principiel intérieur vers la surface extérieure de la sphère soit se contracter de la surface extérieure au centre intérieur ou point principiel. En fait, les deux mouvements reflètent deux aspects d'une unique force liée à l'être

  • Le point de vue métaphysique ou la sortie du monde non manifesté vers le monde manifesté qui correspond à une corporification de l'Esprit.
  • Le point de vue cosmologique du retour du monde manifesté vers le monde non manifesté qui exprime une spiritualisation du corps.

Ce mouvement alternatif de la mort d'un monde et de la re-naissance d'un autre, au sens très large des termes, correspond aux processus de “condensation-dissipation” de la tradition taoïste ou aux opérations de “coagulation-dissolution” propres à la tradition hermétique.

Une telle force peut être comparée, au niveau de l'individu, aux deux phases de la respiration (expiration-inspiration) ou de la pulsation cardiaque (diastole-systole). Au plan du monde cosmique, les couples évolution-involution et développement-enveloppement ont le même sens. En effet, le macrocosme et le microcosme se reflètent l'un l'autre et tout ce qui se trouve dans l'univers se retrouve dans l'être humain en fonction d'une analogie appropriée. Cependant, la force unique se rapporte au symbolisme de l'Oeuf du Monde qui concerne principalement le macrocosme ou le monde cosmique et sera dénommée par la suite force cosmique.

Polarisation de la force cosmique

Amphisbène, le serpent à deux têtesDans les différentes formes traditionnelles, la sortie dans le monde manifesté s'opère généralement sous l'influence ou l'attraction terrestre et le retour vers le Principe indifférencié sous l'influence ou l'attraction céleste. Aussi, l'Oeuf du Monde est-il souvent scindé en deux moitiés représentant ce que la tradition chinoise dénomme le Ciel et la Terre. Et les deux courants inverses de la force cosmique peuvent être symbolisés par un unique serpent enveloppant l'œuf, appelé amphisbène, pourvu d'une tête à chacune des extrémités, elles-mêmes enroulées dans des sens opposés. Les deux têtes correspondent aux pôles céleste et terrestre de la force cosmique.

Les deux moitiés de l'œufComme le Ciel est généralement associé à la lumière (yang) et la Terre à l'obscurité (yin), les deux hémisphères de l'œuf peuvent être distingués par leur couleur blanche et noire. Coupées le long de leur ligne de démarcation, les deux moitiés peuvent être déposées sur leur surface plane, l'une à côté de l'autre, reliées uniquement par l'enroulement extérieur ou cyclique. Les deux hémisphères fournissent alors une image de la double spirale qui reflète le rythme alternatif de la manifestation composé de deux phases. Un mouvement descendant du Ciel vers la Terre ou de la mort de l'Esprit à la vie corporelle et un mouvement ascendant de la Terre au Ciel ou d'une mort corporelle symbolique à une re-naissance spirituelle. Les deux points autour desquels la double spirale s'enroule sont bien entendu les deux pôles. Voir le diagramme ci-dessous.

La double spirale fournit une représentation de la force cosmique unique agissant dans des directions opposées sur les deux pôles. Tout cela est en étroite relation avec les deux sens de rotation du swastika qui montrent une même révolution vue du pôle céleste ou terrestre. Comme l'influence combinée du Ciel et de la Terre s'exerce dans des sens opposés, chaque opération de “dissipation” ou de “dissolution” à l'un des pôles s'allie avec une opération de “condensation” ou de “coagulation” à l'autre pôle afin de maintenir un équilibre d'ensemble 1.

La double influence du Ciel et de la Terre ne traduit rien d'autre que la complémentarité du yin et du yang, respectivement associés aux phases descendante et ascendante. Il est aisé de voir, qu'au sein du symbole yin-yang, la double spirale correspond à la ligne de démarcation entre les zones claire et sombre. De plus, le point noir dans la partie blanche ainsi que le point blanc dans la partie noire représentent les deux pôles.

Double spirale et symbole yin-yang

Phase descendanteSens de rotation lors de la phase descendante (yin)

Phase ascendanteSens de rotation lors de la phase ascendante (yang)

Double
spirale
Double spirale, lien entre Ciel (yang) et Terre (yin)

Symbole
yin-yang
Double spirale, ligne intérieure du symbole yin-yang

Le rythme alternatif du yin et du yang, des phases descendante et ascendante, de la sortie et du retour peuvent difficilement être mieux décrites que dans le symbole du yin-yang. L'ordre des deux phases dépend de l'état pris en compte comme point de départ.

Partir d'un état non manifesté et se mouvoir vers un état manifesté signifie que le yin vient en premier; le yang suivra lors du retour vers le non manifesté. Cela explique pourquoi le pôle à l'intérieur de la partie sombre du symbole est représenté par un point blanc.

Inversement, lorsque l'état manifesté constitue le point de départ en direction du non manifesté, le yang doit prévaloir et le yin être associé à un mouvement ultérieur vers un autre état manifesté comme l'indique le pôle noir au sein de la partie blanche.

Séparation des courants de la force cosmique

Lorsque les deux courants inverses de la force cosmique sont non seulement distingués comme dans l'amphisbène, mais également séparés, ils peuvent être représentés sous la forme de deux serpents enroulés dans des sens opposés autour d'un axe commun comme dans le caducée.

Caducée, séparation des courants de la force cosmiqueLa légende dit qu'Hermès (Mercure en latin) vit deux serpents se battre (image du chaos originel) et qu'il les sépara (scission des opposés) avec un bâton (axe le long duquel le chaos va s'ordonner et devenir le cosmos). Puis, les deux serpents s'enroulèrent autour du bâton dans des sens opposés (équilibre de deux forces opposées opérant symétriquement par rapport à l'Axe du Monde). Le caducée est un attribut caractérisant les deux fonctions d'Hermès: le messager des dieux associé à la phase descendante et le psychopompe transportant les humains d'un état d'être à un autre au cours de la phase ascendante.

En tant qu'emblème médical, le caducée fait référence aux deux aspects de la force cosmique représentés par les deux serpents reliés aux phases descendante et ascendante. Ainsi, la médecine hermétique se fonde sur les opérations de “coagulation” et de “dissolution”. Dans la médecine chinoise, la “condensation” et la “dissipation”, liées aux forces du yin et du yang, jouent un rôle similaire.

Bâton d'Esculape, la voie ascendanteSymbole du double pouvoir des clésReprésenté par un unique serpent enroulé autour du bâton d'Esculape comme sur la figure ci-contre, l'emblème fait essentiellement référence à la phase ascendante qui mène les êtres humains vers des états supérieurs. Cette représentation explique pourquoi, dans les temps anciens, la médecine relevait de l'art sacerdotal et non du pouvoir temporel.

La double opération de “coagulation-dissolution” correspond exactement à ce que la tradition chrétienne dénomme le pouvoir des clés. Un pouvoir double car il recèle la capacité de “lier” et “délier”, équivalent à “coaguler” et “dissoudre”. Ce pouvoir appartient à deux clés relevant de deux ordres différents. Une clé d'or propre à l'autorité spirituelle et une clé d'argent en relation avec l'ordre temporel. Les deux clés, chacune dans leur domaine respectif, ont le double pouvoir de “lier” et “délier”, mais dans des proportions différentes. En effet, le pouvoir de “lier” prévaut dans le domaine temporel et celui de “délier” dans la sphère spirituelle, de sorte que les deux clés sont yin et yang l'une par rapport l'autre. Aussi, dans la représentation la plus commune, les deux double spirales, associées aux deux clés, sont plutôt croisées que parallèles et évoquent le swastika.

Janus, le dieu à double faceUne étroite connexion avec le symbole de Janus (de “janua” qui signifie porte), le dieu romain de l'initiation aux deux visages, peut être signalée à ce propos. Ici, la clé d'argent (ou le sceptre) et la clé d'or ont chacune le double pouvoir “d'ouvrir” et de “fermer” les portes d'accès respectivement aux “petits mystères” et aux “grands mystères”

  • Les “petits mystères” consistent en une ré-génération psychique produisant un individu centré. Comme il appartient toujours à l'ordre temporel, cette initiation ne peut être associée qu'à la double spirale horizontale.
  • Les “grands mystères” donnent accès au monde spirituel, domaine des possibilités supra-individuelles. N'impliquant aucun retour vers le l'état humain, cette initiation ne peut être liée qu'à la double spirale verticale.

“Ouvrir” et “lier” correspondent à un mouvement yin, “fermer” et “délier” à un mouvement yang. En effet, après avoir ouvert la porte donnant accès à un cycle et l'avoir accompli, l'être humain re-naît dans un nouveau cycle, sans possibilité de retour au précédent. Il voit, par conséquent, la porte se fermer derrière lui.

Dans la tradition hindoue, les deux courants de la force cosmique sont représentés par le “Brahma-danda” ou le bâton brahmanique composé de deux hélices enroulées dans des sens opposés autour d'un axe vertical symbolisant, comme toujours, l'Axe du Monde. Les deux hélices se rencontrent le long de l'axe en sept lotus ou nœuds qui doivent être dénoués pour atteindre la pleine Connaissance.

vajra, le double pouvoir de génération et de destructionAu pouvoir des clés correspond dans la tradition hindoue le double pouvoir du vajra. En tant que symbole de la foudre, il possède un pouvoir sous les deux aspects opposés ou plutôt complémentaires de “génération” et de “destruction”. Génération d'un nouveau cycle ou vie; destruction d'un cycle précédent ou mort. Dans sa représentation la plus répandue, les deux extrémités se terminent par trois flammes: la flamme centrale correspond à l'axe, les deux latérales aux courants de la force cosmique. Tenu verticalement en tant qu'attribut sacerdotal, il représente l'Axe du Monde reliant le Ciel et la Terre ou la “Voie du Milieu”. Tenu incliné d'un côté ou de l'autre, il dépeint les voies tantriques de droite et de gauche, de la dévotion à la Déesse et de l'union des êtres, et forme un swastika.

Une signification similaire se retrouve dans la mythologie grecque avec le trident de Poséidon ainsi que dans la tradition nordique et le marteau de Thor.

Ajouter des exemples n'apporterait rien de plus au sens profond de la double spirale. Comme ce sens fait également référence à la droite et à la gauche, les questions relatives à l'orientation mériteraient aussi d'être évoquées.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “La Grande Triade”. Éditions Gallimard 1957;
  • Particulièrement, le chapitre V sur la double spirale et le chapitre VII dévolu aux questions d'orientation.

1 retourSwastika sénestrogyre du dallage de la cathédrale d'Amiens La double spirale met en lumière la profonde interdépendance entre les deux sens de rotation du swastika. En conséquence, prêter un caractère maléfique, maudit ou satanique au swastika sénestrogyre et des traits bénéfiques ou divins au swastika dextrogyre relève d'une vue dualiste dépourvue de sens. Pour s'en convaincre, il suffit d'évoquer la représentation ajourée du swastika inséré dans un mur pour se rendre compte qu'il est nécessairement perçu comme dextrogyre d'un côté du mur et sénestrogyre de l'autre. Ou encore, contentons-nous d'admirer le motif ci-dessus du dallage de la cathédrale d'Amiens.

Haut