LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Double spiral and yin-yang symbol

(Summary)

Serpent surrounding the egg

One single force and two streams

Regarded as holding the seed from which manifestation of all things will spring, the World Egg is a general self-explanatory symbol. The image that Earth hatched from an egg is common to many traditions: Egyptian, Phoenician, Celtic, Greek, Tibetan, Hindu, Vietnamese, Chinese, Indonesian, Siberian etc. Nevertheless, the way the manifestation is occurring takes different appearances. Particularly, in the Egyptian and Celtic traditions, a serpent surrounding the egg provides a representation of the streams circulating between both Egg's poles, in one direction and the other.

Double spiral and polarity

The double spiral symbolizes the polarity and balance of the two reverse streams of a unique cosmic force:

  • A way out from the Egg Centre or Principle into the manifested world, which corresponds to a metaphysical point of view. Associated to the terrestrial or yin influence, it means basically the death of the Spirit and the birth of the body.
  • A way back from the manifested world into the Egg Centre or Principle associated with a cosmological point of view. Subject to the celestial or yang influence, it expresses the death of the body in a symbolic sense and the re-birth of the Spirit through initiation, which gives access to the supra-sensitive world.

The double spiral can hardly be better represented than the outline limiting black and white parts of the yin-yang symbol, expressing the alternating rhythm of yin and yang. It is nothing but the two streams of the unique cosmic force taking various forms in different traditions:

  • According to the separation of both cosmic force streams or not, we get the image of two opposite heads of a unique serpent (amphisbaena) or the reverse wrapping of two serpents round the Caduceus.
  • A similar symbol is expressed in Hindu tradition by the double helix of the Brahman's staff or the “destructive” and “regenerative” power of the vajra.
  • The same is true regarding the double operation of “coagulation” and “dissolvation” of the Hermetic tradition or the alternate rhythm of “condensation” and “dissipation” of Taoism.
  • The double “key power” to “bind” and “unbind” of Janus, the Roman god of initiation, or the related Christian tradition symbol have the same meaning.

Life and death

A long list of equivalent symbols could be provided as they can be found in any tradition or culture. They would all reflect the same meaning in different ways. Finally, they all bear a common purport, the power of controlling south and north, east and west, light and darkness, life and death. At all levels of existence, death and life co-exist. If death points to what must vanish in the inevitable evolution of the terrestrial or manifested world, it also ushers to what is immutable in the non-manifested or celestial world. Death shows an apparent ambivalence as the harbinger of revelation. All rites of initiation include a death-phase preceding a new life. The death of a cycle is the prior condition for the birth of a new one. Living this tension between countervailing aspects of a unique cosmic force is the only way to die in our current state and to be re-born in a superior state.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Double spirale et symbole yin-yang

(Résumé)

Serpent enroulé autour de l'œuf

Une seule force et deux courants

Considéré comme renfermant le germe d'où sortira la manifestation de toute chose, “l'Oeuf du Monde” est un symbole qui s'explique de lui-même. L'image de la Terre sortant de l'œuf est commune à beaucoup de traditions: égyptienne, phénicienne, celtique, grecque, tibétaine, hindoue, vietnamienne, chinoise, indonésienne, sibérienne etc. Néanmoins, la façon dont la manifestation s'extériorise peut revêtir des apparences diverses. En particulier, dans les traditions égyptienne et celtique, un serpent enroulé autour de l'œuf fournit une représentation des courants circulant entre les deux pôles de l'Oeuf, dans un sens ou dans l'autre.

Double spirale et polarité

La double spirale symbolise la polarité et l'équilibre de deux courants inverses d'une même force cosmique:

  • Un mouvement de sortie du Centre de l'Oeuf ou du Principe vers le monde manifesté correspondant à un point de vue métaphysique. Associé à l'influence terrestre ou yin, il signifie fondamentalement la mort de l'Esprit et la naissance du corps.
  • Un mouvement de retour du monde manifesté vers le Centre de l'Oeuf ou le Principe conforme à un point de vue cosmologique. Sujet à l'influence céleste ou yang, il exprime la mort du corps dans un sens symbolique et la re-naissance de l'Esprit par l'intermédiaire de l'initiation donnant accès au monde supra-sensible.

La double spirale peut difficilement être mieux figurée que par la ligne de séparation entre les parties noire et blanche du symbole yin-yang exprimant le rythme alterné du yin et du yang. Il ne s'agit pas d'autre chose que de deux courants d'une force cosmique unique prenant diverses formes dans différentes traditions

  • Selon que les deux courants de la force cosmique sont ou non séparés, nous obtenons l'image de deux têtes opposées d'un même serpent (amphisbène) ou de deux serpents enroulés en sens inverse autour du caducée.
  • Un symbole similaire prend dans la tradition hindoue la forme des deux hélices du bâton brahmanique ou du double pouvoir de “destruction” et de “régénération” du vajra.
  • La même chose vaut pour la double opération de “coagulation” et de “dissolution” de la tradition hermétique ou le rythme alterné de “condensation” et de “dissipation” du Taoïsme.
  • Le double pouvoir des clés de “lier” et de “délier” de Janus, dieu romain de l'initiation, et le symbole connexe de la tradition chrétienne ont une signification identique.

Vie et mort

Une longue liste de symboles équivalents pourrait être fournie car ils se retrouvent dans toute tradition ou culture. Ils refléteraient tous le même sens de différentes manières. Finalement, ils sont tous porteurs d'une même teneur, le pouvoir de commander au sud et au nord, à l'est et à l'ouest, à la lumière et à l'obscurité, à la vie et à la mort. À tous les niveaux de l'existence, mort et vie co-existent. Si la mort pointe vers ce qui doit disparaître au sein de l'évolution inévitable du monde terrestre ou manifesté, elle conduit aussi à l'immuable propre au monde céleste ou non manifesté. La mort fait montre d'une ambivalence apparente en tant que présage à la révélation. Tous les rites initiatiques comportent une phase de mort préalable à celle d'une vie nouvelle. La mort d'un cycle est la condition indispensable à la naissance d'un nouveau. Vivre cette tension entre des aspects compensatoires d'une même force cosmique est le seul moyen de mourir à notre état actuel et de re-naître dans un état supérieur.

Page détaillée

Haut