LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The wheel, from the Centre to the circle

(Detailed page)

Summary

The Cosmic wheel

Sphere, axis and polesThe Cosmic wheel, symbol of the manifested world, is generally depicted by a circle moving around its centre. However, this representation changes when we pass from 2 to 3 dimensions. The circle turning around its centre is transformed into a sphere revolving around its axis. When the sphere carries out its revolution, two of its points remain fixed. They are the two intersection points of the sphere with the axis, the two poles. The development of the manifestation can then be depicted by a spiral spreading on the surface of the sphere between the two poles. Or more precisely, a double spiral composed of a spiral unrolling from one pole and a spiral rolling around the other pole. This double spiral corresponds to a movement of expansion from one of the poles and contraction towards the other pole.

The whorls of the double spiral represent the succession of the manifestation cycles. The opposite points of a cycle find their balance in the middle of the diameter joining them, i.e. on the pole axis. In other words, the pole axis connects all cycle centres. These cycles are totally identified to their centres at the poles. As the latter are located on a vertical axis, they are subjected to a hierarchical relationship leading to describe them as celestial and terrestrial poles. These poles are respectively related to the spiritual and human development of the being, here below. Then, the sphere breaks up into two celestial and terrestrial hemispheres and the terrestrial pole looks like the reflection of the celestial pole compared to the centre of the sphere. This point is only an image of the single Pole, the primeval Unit, the non manifested Principle at the source of the manifestation of the World.

Cosmic wheel symbolIt follows that the best image of the celestial and terrestrial hemispheres and pole axis is made of both wheels and axle of the “Cosmic chariot” accompanying gods and prophets during their voyage. Then, the movements of both wheels correspond to the unrolling and rolling-up of the double spiral around the poles. Let us notice by passing that the projection of the image of both wheels connected by an axle on a plane perpendicular to its axis brings us back to the representation of the Cosmic wheel in 2 dimensions.

The medicine wheel

Wheel medicineThe Indians of the North American plains regard the acquisition of wisdom as the essential goal of life and the power of “medicine” and rites as the best way to reach it. They carry out for this purpose a set of concentric circular forms made of stones, measuring approximately 30 meters in diameter and equipped with 4 (or 28 1) spokes.

The wheel generally comprises three circles reflecting the three orders of manifestation, at macrocosm (Cosmic world) as well as microcosm (individual world) level:

  • A small central circle representing Heaven or spirit;
  • A circle associated with the intermediate world, Atmosphere or soul/psyche;
  • A large circle symbolizing Earth or body.

Heaven is the domain of Wakan-Tanka (the Great Sacred or the Great Spirit) who is at the Centre of everything. He operates through the shaman who serves as intercessor between Him and men. Men's Earth is characterized by the four compass directions.

The four compass directions delimit the four seasons. The compass points symbolize space and the seasons symbolize time. Two other vertical directions (above and below the wheel) connect Heaven and the inmost depths of the Earth. Each zone of the wheel is associated with a specific colour, a totemic animal, a quality etc. The wheel represents at the same time the Cosmic World and the stages of the journey that each individual must undertake to reach the full realization of the being.

The medicine wheel helps the individual to draw within himself and in his surroundings the necessary strength to restore the balance between the bodily, psychic and spiritual components of the being (delimited by the three circles) and re-establish the harmony between the being and the Cosmos.

The Celtic rowel

The Celtic rowel generally comprises 6 or 8 spokes and has practically crossed the Western Middle Ages. These two forms, especially the second, can also be found in the East and, particularly, in Assyria, India and Tibet.

  • The 6-spoked rowel corresponds to the horizontal projection of the three-dimensional cross with 3 branches. This wheel gave the chrisme, a monogram of Christ, by transforming its spokes into I and X or P. It symbolizes also the lily flower bearing 6 petals;
  • The 8-spoked rowel represents the directions of the compass and intermediate points. It depicts the lotus, the Eastern symbolic flower 2, and the Anterior to Heaven arrangement of the Chinese trigrams.

All these representations establish a link between the motionless Centre and the periphery in full development. They make the rowel a symbol of the World. The Centre symbolizes the immutable Principle activating from the inside all external, peripheral or manifested things. Moreover, as the centre is located halfway between opposite points of the circle, it influences the external world in a balanced way. It symbolizes the place where antagonisms find a unified state after their return to the Centre.

The zodiacal wheel

The wheel of the Zodiac or the signs comprises 12 spokes of course; it is made in the image of the “wheel of time” stressing the months of the year, the hours of day or night. First of all, it constitutes the envelope of the Cosmos and appears as the organiser of the laws ruling it. Moreover, it is crossed by two gates located at the solstices and clearly visible on the portal of Romanesque churches or Gothic cathedrals. Thus, the left opening of the royal portal of the cathedral of Chartres contains ten signs of the Zodiac, represented in alternation with seasonal activities, among which the Capricorn sign associated with the winter solstice and Cancer in relation to the summer solstice. The other two signs (Pisces and Gemini linked to the equinoxes) appear in the right opening.

The Zodiac found its complete development in the representations of the signs and seasonal activities depicted in the stained glass windows of the cathedral of Chartres.

The gates correspond to the entry and exit of the cosmic cave. The poor mortal has to become fully human at the entry and fully spiritual at the exit. The first, associated with the summer solstice and Cancer sign, marks the beginning of the descending phase of the sun towards darkness; the second, in connection with the winter solstice and Capricorn sign, opens up the ascending phase from darkness towards full light, the spiritual Light.

The ascending and descending phases of the zodiacal wheel naturally brings it closer to the wheel of Fortune.

The wheel of Fortune

The wheel concept spontaneously evokes the continual changes that all manifested beings and things are subjected to. Therefore, the idea of the “wheel of life” or “wheel of Fortune”. The latter was, in ancient times, an attribute of the Roman goddess Fortuna (Greek Tyche) and often appeared as a motif in Western art.

In Burne-Jones's painting, for instance, the goddess, blind to the fate of the chained afflicted, sempiternally activates a wheel. Following the example of the “zodiacal wheel”, the wheel of Fortune has 12 spokes to emphasize the impact of time. Conversely to the “zodiacal wheel” however, it is represented on a vertical plane in order to underline even more the ups and downs in life. No one can escape its movement, not even the beings bearing the royal attributes.

The ups and downs symbolize the antagonisms met by the beings during their life; they are commonly represented by two opposite points of the circle. The only way to overcome the tensions generated by the opposites is to progress along the spokes towards the centre of the circle, the only motionless point where antagonisms find their balance before being absorbed into the primeval Unity, the primordial Principle.

The wheel of the Law

The link between the Principle and its manifestation is highlighted by the radii connecting the centre to the circle. In the Indian tradition, the whole takes the appearance of a wheel (“chakra” in Sanskrit) called wheel of the Law (“dharmachakra” in Sanskrit). It is the Law (“dharma” in Sanskrit), in the widest sense of the word, which governs all things of the manifested and non manifested World. In a broad sense, it is the expression of the Principle which rules the World Order.

The wheel of the Law is generally represented as an 8, 16 or 24 spoked wheel.

  • The Wheel of the Law on the Indian flagThe 8 or 16 directions radiating from the centre represent the compass and intermediate points; they depict the development of the manifestation.
  • The 24 directions of the central motif of the Indian flag describe the relations between the hours of night and day, darkness and light, the non manifested and manifested. They give to the wheel of the Law its full meaning.

As the spokes can be travelled in both directions, the same Law applies when the manifestation is returning to the Principle. To leave the agitation of the manifested world (“samsâra”) to rejoin the quietness of the Centre (“nirvâna”) constitutes the ultimate stage of the realization of the being.

The wheel is a symbol of the World manifestation in continual change in comparison to the Centre, the motionless Principle, the primeval Unity. This manifestation takes different aspects related to the symbolism attached to the number of spokes. However, all that is coming from the Centre can never be detached, for it would be separated from the Unity which produced it. The manifested must necessarily go back to the Centre. The journeys there and back are One.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symbols of Sacred Science”. Sophia Perennis Publisher, 2004;
  • In particular, chapters VIII on “The idea of the Centre in ancient traditions” and XL on “The dome and the wheel”.
  • “The Great Triad”. Sophia Perennis Publisher, 2001;
  • Notably, chapters V on “The double spiral”, XXIII on “The cosmic wheel” and XXV on “The city of willows”.
  • Black Elk:
  • “The sacred pipe - Seven Rites of the Oglala Sioux”. University of Oklahoma Press, 1988;
  • Particularly, chapter V on “the sun dance”.

1 back The number 28 corresponds to the lunar cycle composed of two phases, the waxing and waning moon, life and death.

2 back Let us note that the Western symbolic flower, the rose, is illustrated by a variable number of petals and can cover distinct significances. On the link between the rose and the wheel, see the windrose and the rose windows of cathedrals.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

La roue, du Centre au cercle

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

La Roue cosmique

Sphère, axe et pôlesLa Roue cosmique, symbole du monde manifesté, est généralement figurée par un cercle en mouvement autour de son centre. Cette représentation change cependant lorsque nous passons de 2 à 3 dimensions. Le cercle tournant autour de son centre se transforme en une sphère tournant de son axe. Quand la sphère effectue sa révolution, deux de ses points demeurent fixes. Ce sont les deux points d'intersection de la sphère avec l'axe, les deux pôles. Le développement de la manifestation peut alors être figuré par une spirale se déployant sur la surface de la sphère entre les deux pôles. Ou plus exactement une double spirale composée d'une spirale déroulante depuis l'un des pôles et d'une spirale enroulante autour de l'autre pôle. Cette double spirale correspond à un mouvement d'expansion à partir de l'un des pôles et de contraction vers l'autre pôle.

Les spires de la double spirale représentent la succession des cycles de la manifestation. Les points opposés d'un cycle trouvent leur équilibre au milieu du diamètre les joignant, c'est-à-dire sur l'axe des pôles. Autrement dit, l'axe des pôles relie l'ensemble des centres des cycles. Ces cycles s'identifient totalement à leurs centres aux deux pôles. Comme ces derniers se situent sur un axe vertical, ils sont liés par une relation hiérarchique conduisant à les décrire comme des pôles céleste et terrestre. Ces pôles sont respectivement reliés au développement spirituel et humain de l'être ici-bas. La sphère se décompose alors en deux hémisphères céleste et terrestre et le pôle terrestre apparaît comme le reflet du pôle céleste par rapport au centre de la sphère. Ce point n'est qu'une image du Pôle unique, de l'Unité première, du Principe non manifesté à la source de la manifestation du Monde.

Symbole de la roue cosmiqueIl s'ensuit que la meilleure image des hémisphères céleste et terrestre et de l'axe des pôles est constituée par les deux roues et l'essieu du “char cosmique” accompagnant dieux et prophètes au cours de leurs voyages. Les mouvements des deux roues correspondent alors au déroulement et à l'enroulement de la double spirale autour des pôles. Remarquons en passant que la projection de l'image des deux roues reliées par un essieu sur un plan perpendiculaire à son axe nous ramène à la représentation de la roue cosmique à 2 dimensions.

Autres formes de roues

La roue médecine

Roue médecineLes Indiens des plaines de l'Amérique du nord considèrent l'acquisition de la sagesse comme le but essentiel de la vie et le pouvoir de la “médecine” et des rites comme le meilleur moyen d'y parvenir. Ils réalisent à cette fin un ensemble de formes circulaires concentriques faites de pierres, mesurant environ 30 mètres de diamètre et dotés de 4 (ou 28 1) rayons.

La roue comporte généralement trois cercles reflétant les trois ordres de la manifestation, tant à l'échelle du macrocosme (monde cosmique) que du microcosme (monde individuel):

  • Un petit cercle central représentant le Ciel ou l'esprit;
  • Un cercle associé au monde intermédiaire, l'Atmosphère ou l'âme/psyché;
  • Un grand cercle symbolisant la Terre ou le corps.

Le Ciel est le domaine de Wakan-Tanka (le Grand Sacré ou le Grand Esprit) qui est au Centre de tout. Il opère par l'intermédiaire du shaman qui sert d'intercesseur entre Lui et les hommes. La Terre des hommes est caractérisée par les quatre directions cardinales.

Les quatre directions cardinales délimitent les quatre saisons. Les points cardinaux symbolisent l'espace et les saisons le temps. Deux autres directions verticales (au-dessus et en-dessous de la roue) relient le Ciel et les tréfonds de la Terre. Chaque zone de la roue est associée à une couleur spécifique, un animal totémique, une qualité etc. La roue représente à la fois le Monde cosmique et les étapes du voyage que chaque individu doit entreprendre pour parvenir à la pleine réalisation de l'être.

La roue médecine aide l'individu à puiser en lui-même et autour de lui les forces nécessaires pour restaurer l'équilibre entre les composantes corporelle, psychique et spirituelle de l'être (délimitées par les trois cercles) et rétablir l'harmonie entre l'être et le Cosmos.

La roue ou rouelle celtique

La rouelle celtique comporte généralement 6 ou 8 rayons et a pratiquement traversé le moyen âge occidental. Ces deux formes, surtout la seconde, se rencontrent également en Orient et, tout particulièrement, en Assyrie, en Inde et au Tibet.

  • La rouelle à 6 rayons correspond à la projection horizontale de la croix tridimensionnelle à 3 branches. Cette roue donna le chrisme, monogramme du Christ, en transformant ses rayons en I et X ou P. Elle symbolise aussi la fleur de lys à 6 pétales;
  • La rouelle à 8 rayons représente les directions des points cardinaux et des points intermédiaires. Elle figure le lotus, la fleur symbolique de l'Orient 2, et la disposition antérieure au Ciel des trigrammes chinois.

Toutes ces représentations établissent un lien entre le Centre immobile et la périphérie en plein développement. Elles font de la rouelle un symbole du Monde. Le Centre symbolise le Principe immuable actionnant de l'intérieur toutes les choses extérieures, périphériques ou manifestées. De plus, situé à mi-chemin entre les points opposés du cercle, le Centre influence le monde extérieur de façon équilibrée. Il symbolise le lieu où les antagonismes retrouvent un état unifié après leur retour au Centre.

La roue zodiacale

La roue du Zodiaque ou des signes comporte bien entendu 12 rayons; elle est faite à l'image de la “roue du temps” mettant l'accent sur les mois de l'année, les heures du jour ou de la nuit. Tout d'abord, elle constitue l'enveloppe du Cosmos et apparaît comme l'ordonnatrice des lois qui le gouvernent. Ensuite, elle est traversée par deux portes situées aux solstices et nettement visibles sur le portail des églises romanes ou des cathédrales gothiques. Ainsi, la baie gauche du portail royal de la cathédrale de Chartres renferme dix signes du Zodiaque, représentés en alternance avec les travaux saisonniers, dont le signe du Capricorne associé au solstice d'hiver et du Cancer en relation avec le solstice d'été. Les deux autres signes (Poissons et Gémeaux associés aux équinoxes) figurent dans la baie droite.

Le Zodiaque a trouvé son complet développement dans les représentations des signes et des travaux saisonniers dépeints dans les vitraux de la cathédrale de Chartres.

Les portes correspondent à l'entrée et à la sortie de la caverne cosmique. Le pauvre mortel est appelé à devenir pleinement humain à l'entrée et pleinement spirituel à la sortie. La première, associée au solstice d'été et au signe du Cancer, marque le début de la phase descendante du soleil vers l'obscurité; la seconde, en liaison avec le solstice d'hiver et le signe du Capricorne, ouvre la voie ascendante de l'obscurité vers la pleine lumière, la Lumière spirituelle.

Les phases ascendante et descendante de la roue zodiacale la rapprochent naturellement de la roue de la Fortune.

La roue de la Fortune

La notion de roue évoque spontanément les changements continuels auquels sont sujets tous les êtres et choses manifestés. D'où l'idée de la “roue de la vie” ou de la “roue de la Fortune”. Cette dernière fut, dans l'antiquité, un attribut la déesse romaine Fortuna (grecque Tyche) et apparut souvent comme motif dans l'art occidental.

Dans la toile de Burne-Jones par exemple, la déesse, aveugle au sort des affligés enchaînés, actionne une roue sempiternellement. À l'instar de la “roue zodiacale”, la roue de la Fortune comporte 12 rayons pour mettre en exergue l'impact du temps. Contrairement à la “roue zodiacale” cependant, elle est représentée dans un plan vertical afin de souligner encore davantage les hauts et les bas de la vie. Nul ne peut échapper à son mouvement, pas même les êtres arborant les attributs de la royauté.

Les hauts et les bas symbolisent les antagonismes rencontrés par les êtres durant leur vie; ils sont communément représentés par deux points opposés du cercle. Le seul moyen de dépasser les tensions générées par les contraires est de progresser le long des rayons vers le centre du cercle, le seul point immobile où les antagonismes trouvent leur équilibre avant de se fondre dans l'Unité première, le Principe primordial.

La roue de la Loi

Le lien entre le Principe et sa manifestation est mis en évidence par les rayons reliant le centre au cercle. Dans la tradition indienne, l'ensemble prend l'apparence d'une roue (“chakra” en sanskrit) dénommée roue de la Loi (“dharmachakra” en sanscrit). Il s'agit de la Loi (“dharma” en sanskrit), au sens le plus étendu du terme, qui gouverne toutes les choses du Monde manifesté et non manifesté. Elle est l'expression du Principe qui régit l'Ordre du Monde au sens large.

La roue de la Loi est le plus souvent représentée par une roue à 8, 16 ou 24 rayons.

  • La Roue de la Loi sur le drapeau indienLes 8 ou 16 directions issues du centre représentent les points cardinaux et les points intermédiaires; ils dépeignent le développement de la manifestation.
  • Les 24 directions du motif central du drapeau indien décrivent les relations entre les heures de la nuit et du jour, l'obscurité et la lumière, le non manifesté et le manifesté. Elles donnent à la roue de la Loi sa pleine signification.

Comme les rayons peuvent être parcourus dans les deux sens, la même Loi s'applique lors du retour de la manifestation au Principe. Quitter l'agitation du monde manifesté (“samsâra”) pour rejoindre la quiétude du Centre (“nirvâna”) constitue l'étape ultime de la réalisation de l'être.

La roue est un symbole de la manifestation du Monde en continuel changement par rapport au Centre, au Principe immuable non manifesté, à l'Unité première. Cette manifestation prend des aspects divers en fonction du symbolisme attaché au nombre de rayons. Toutefois, tout ce qui provient du Centre ne peut jamais en être détaché sous peine d'être séparé de l'Unité qui l'a produit. Le manifesté doit nécessairement retourner au Centre. Les voyages aller et retour ne font qu'Un.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symboles de la Science sacrée”. Éditions Gallimard 1962;
  • En particulier, les chapitre VIII sur “L'idée du Centre dans les traditions antiques” et XL sur “Le dôme et la roue”.
  • “La Grande Triade”. Éditions Gallimard 1957;
  • Notamment, les chapitres V sur “La double spirale”, XXIII sur “La roue cosmique” et XXV sur “La cité des saules”.
  • Élan Noir:
  • “La pipe sacrée”. Éditions Le Mail, 1992;
  • Particulièrement, le chapitre V sur la danse du soleil.

1 retour Le nombre 28 correspond au cycle lunaire fait de deux phases de croissance et de décroissance, de vie et de mort.

2 retour Notons que la fleur symbolique de l'Occident, la rose, est figurée par un nombre variable de pétales et peut recouvrir des significations distinctes. Sur le rapprochement entre la rose et la roue, voir la rose des vents et les rosaces des cathédrales.

Haut