LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The wheel, from the Centre to the circle

(Summary)

Buddhist wheel of the Law

A universal symbol

Shaped as a circle, the wheel turns around a fixed axis passing through its hub. The representation of the wheel can be found in almost all populations, even in the pre-Columbian civilisations. They knew its principle but did not make use of it. It seems that the symbolic aspect preceded and even prevailed over the practical use in these societies.

The wheel rotates

Centre, and circleThe wheel (from the Latin rota) evokes rotation, movement. The mobile external circle symbolizes the World in continual change and the motionless interior Axis, the image of the primeval Unit, of the non manifested Principle at the origin of the World manifestation in the broadest sense of the word. The Centre is the Whole and contains the circle in a potential state; on the other hand, the circle is nothing without the Centre. The immutable Centre produces everything through its irradiation along the spokes of the wheel and all things find their source within the Unity while moving back to the Centre 1.

The ends of a diameter of the circle symbolizes opposites which are changed into complementary as they approach the centre of the circle where they are unified. The centre of the circle represents the reflection of the Principle in the domain of manifestation; it constitutes the point of balance between antagonisms, the happy medium where all things are in harmony.

Representation of the wheel

Traditionally, the wheel is represented by a circle divided into four sectors by two perpendicular diameters. Such an image naturally refers to the movement alongside the circle and the four season cycle, the four lunar phases, the four periods of the day, the four ages of mankind or humanity etc.

The image of the point at the centre of the circle was also described as a solar symbol a long time ago. However, if the sun, as the regulator of the cosmic cycles, can be regarded as an image of the Centre of the World, it could not be identified to the Principle as such, the only true Centre of the World. It follows that the point at the centre of the circle remains before all a symbol of the World in its potential and manifested form.

The point surrounded by a circle has also been considered as a solar symbol or, more precisely, of the apparent movement of the sun. Nevertheless, the “solar wheel” can not supplant the “World wheel”.

Just like the points of the circle, the spokes of the wheel can be in indefinite multiplicity. However, the number of spokes of the wheel is generally even for obvious axial symmetry reasons and mostly amounts to:

4 + 2 → 6 + 2 → 8 + 4 → 12 + 4 → 16 + 8 → 24 + 4 → 28

The symbolism of the number of spokes gives all its meaning to the wheel.

1 back The centre is sometimes surrounded by several concentric circles as in the image of a wave moving on the water surface. In this case, these circles represent various states whose degree of manifestation is related to their distance from the centre. Then, the progression alongside each circle corresponds to the various modes of the associated state.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

La roue, du Centre au cercle

(Résumé)

Roue de la Loi bouddhiste

Un symbole universel

De forme circulaire, la roue tourne autour d'un axe fixe passant par son moyeu. La représentation de la roue se rencontre dans presque toutes les populations, même dans les civilisations précolombiennes. Elles en connaissaient le principe mais n'en faisaient pas usage. Il semble que l'aspect symbolique ait précédé et même prévalu sur l'utilité pratique dans ces sociétés.

La roue tourne

Centre, rayons et cercleLa roue (du latin rota) évoque la rotation, le mouvement. Le cercle extérieur mobile symbolise le Monde en continuel changement et l'Axe intérieur immobile l'image de l'Unité première, du Principe non manifesté à l'origine de la manifestation du Monde au sens le plus large du terme. Le Centre est (le) Tout et contient le cercle à l'état potentiel; le cercle, par contre, n'est rien sans le Centre. Le Centre immuable produit toute chose par son irradiation le long des rayons de la roue et toutes les choses retrouvent leur source au sein de l'Unité en empruntant le chemin inverse 1.

Les extrémités d'un diamètre du cercle symbolisent des opposés qui se muent en complémentaires à mesure qu'ils se rapprochent du centre du cercle où ils sont unifiés. Le centre du cercle représente le reflet du Principe dans le domaine de la manifestation; il constitue le point d'équilibre entre les antagonismes, le juste milieu où toutes les choses sont en harmonie.

Représentation de la roue

Traditionnellement, la roue est représentée par un cercle divisé en quatre secteurs par deux diamètres perpendiculaires. Une telle image renvoie naturellement au mouvement le long du cercle et aux cycles des quatre saisons, des quatre phases lunaires, des quatre périodes de la journée, des quatre âges de l'homme ou de l'humanité etc.

L'image du point au centre du cercle a été également qualifiée de symbole solaire il y a fort longtemps. Toutefois, si le soleil, en tant qu'ordonnateur des cycles cosmiques, peut être considéré comme une image du Centre du Monde, il ne saurait être identifié au Principe lui-même, le seul véritable Centre du Monde. Il s'ensuit que le point au centre du cercle reste avant tout un symbole du Monde sous sa forme potentielle et manifestée.

Le point entouré du cercle a aussi été considéré comme un symbole solaire ou, plus exactement, du mouvement apparent du soleil. Néanmoins, la “roue solaire” ne saurait supplanter la “roue du Monde”.

Tout comme les points du cercle, les rayons de la roue peuvent être en multiplicité indéfinie. Cependant, le nombre de rayons de la roue est généralement pair pour des raisons de symétrie axiale évidentes et s'élève le plus souvent à:

4 + 2 → 6 + 2 → 8 + 4 → 12 + 4 → 16 + 8 → 24 + 4 → 28

Le symbolisme du nombre de rayons donne à la roue tout son sens.

1 retour Le centre est parfois entouré de plusieurs cercles concentriques à l'image d'une onde se propageant à la surface de l'eau. Ces cercles représentent dans ce cas les divers états dont le degré de manifestation est fonction de leur distance par rapport au centre. Le cheminement le long de chacun des cercles correspond alors aux diverses modalités de l'état associé.

Page détaillée

Haut