LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The wind rose directions

(Detailed page)

Summary

The wind rose

The wild roseWhat is the connection between the rose and winds ? The rose naturally refers to the wild form of the plant, the dog rose whose flower has five petals. However, in ancient Greece for example, the wind rose described four principal winds and cardinal directions only. Therefore, this fifth petal could only represent the gathering of these winds and directions under one heading. Indeed:

  • The four winds (Boreas, Notos, Eurus and Zephyrus) were perceived as violent gods imprisoned in the caves of Aeolus, the god of all winds located at the centre;
  • The four cardinal directions (Arctos, Mesembria, Anatole and Dusis) made reference to astral bodies apparently turning around the polar axis.

In other words, the four winds (or directions) were placed under the aegis of a fifth wind (or axis). The location of the fifth wind (or axis) was the terrestrial centre, the intersection point of the polar axis with the horizon plane (for more details, see the Description of the celestial sphere).

The terrestrial centre symbolizes the place where all things are brought together in an undifferentiated state. The four cardinal directions are radiating from this unified centre and the four winds are meeting at the centre. The terrestrial centre is, at once, a starting and an ending point at the source of diversity and the return to unity. All things coming from the same source must necessarily return to it.

It follows that there are not 4 main winds (or cardinal directions), but 4 + 1. As for the heart of the calyx of the flower, it represents the centre of all beings and things (manifested or not), that is to say of terrestrial as well as human and spiritual order.

The multiplication of wind and cardinal subdivisions would lead us to the same conclusions, irrespective of the considered traditional forms.

Some other forms of the wind rose

In ancient China

Anterior and posterior to Heaven trigram  arrangementsIn the Middle Empire, the wind rose was made of eight radial directions associated with eight different winds. The Liji or “Book of Rites” described them as the following: E (the roaring wind), SE (the cheerful wind), S (the great storm), SO (the cool wind), O (the lasting wind), NO (the sharp wind), N (the cold wind), NE (the burning wind).

The 8 winds are in correspondence with the 8 trigrams of the posterior to Heaven arrangement, that is to say after the fundamental polarization between Heaven and Earth. It is a reflection in the horizontal terrestrial plane, of the Unity represented by the famous yin-yang symbol located at the centre and surrounded by the eight trigrams. Let us note that in the trigram diagram, south is represented “above” north in accordance with the most common Chinese traditional form, turned towards light, south.

In traditional India

If we stick to the terrestrial plane and composition of the corporeal world (in the general sense of the word), vayu symbolizes the moving air, the wind. It represents one of the substantial elements at the basis of the constitution of all bodies, namely:Elements in the Indian tradition

  • Tejas (fire);
  • vāyu (air or wind).
  • Ap (water);
  • Prithvī (earth);

These elements are gathered within ākāśa (ether) in a unified state. In other words, the corporeal being reintegrates a first state of higher order while rejoining the centre, symbol of ether.

The air is associated with the transverse movement while fire and water (or earth) are respectively in connection with the ascending and descending movements. These movements correspond to the cardinal directions and explain why south is “above” rather than “below”. However, unlike the Chinese tradition, the orientation of the Indian tradition is not turned towards south, but east.

In Norse mythology

Wind rose of the Norse traditionIn the prosaic Edda of the Norse mythology, Norðri, Suðri, Austri and Vestri characterize four elves associated with the four compass points (N, S, E, W). They support together the celestial dome made of the skull of the giant Ymir, sacrificed and dismembered by the Aesir gods to create the universe. These four beings are probably the four winds blowing in the four compass directions and endowed with colours. They correspond to the four deer that nible the stems and leaves of the Nordic World Tree, Yggdrasil, while moving along the compass directions.

Obverse of a Greek coin from the sixth century before our eraLet us obverse that the circular shape of the rose and the radiation of its petals from the centre evoke the wheel. The representation of a 5-spoke wheel on the obverse of a Greek coin, from the sixth century before our era, throws some light on this relationship. The insertion of the wheel within a square shape emphasizes even more the development of the terrestrial manifestation and its link with the wind rose.

The wind rose and the wheel

The inner motionless centre of the wheel symbolizes the Unit which radiates in all directions towards the outer moving circle.

The 4, 6 and 8 spoke wheelNow, the number of spokes of the wheel is mostly even for reasons of symmetry. Then, their contact points with the circle are opposed two by two and represent the manifestation of antagonisms from the centre, the Unity. These opposites are actually complementary, for they are reabsorbed into the Unit during the reverse movement from the outer circle towards the inner centre. The wheel is a symbol of the manifestation of the Unity in its various forms and of the return of the manifestation to its integrated state within the same Unit. In other words, the wheel symbolizes the World in its differentiated form and unified state.

The wheel rotates around a motionless axis which represents the World Axis, the place of the ultimate balance of its manifestation. The axis unifies all states of the World, from the terrestrial to the celestial states while going through the intermediate states. In order to highlight the different degrees of these states, the Axis is represented vertically compared to the horizontal wheel. In this case, the wheel is the wind rose in the plane of the horizon and the vertical Axis, the axis connecting zenith and nadir. The terrestrial perception of the world, specific to the wind rose, favours the zenith-nadir axis rather than the polar axis devoted to the celestial vision.

As the symbolism of the wheel goes beyond the terrestrial world, it encompasses that of the wind rose. However, the symbolism of the wind rose, especially the 12 wind-rose, must have influenced that of the wheel. Does not this rose quite naturally recall the cycle of the 12 months of the (solar or lunar) calendar ? And that is probably why the wheel has also become a solar or lunar symbol in various traditional forms without losing its original and main meaning as the symbol of the World.

Like the spokes of the wheel, the winds coming from all directions meet at the centre, the motionless place where all winds are brought together in a unified state, and represented by a higher Wind as in the Greek mythology. This central Wind paradoxically symbolizes the Still Wind, the place of calm, far from the surrounding tumult, like the eye of the cyclone.

The wind rose shows the various possible directions to the terrestrial being. He can always follow one of them, butif one does not know to which port one is sailing, no wind is favourable” (Seneca). And this port can only be the centre, the only place where the terrestrial being can achieve an integrated state. Becoming conscious of the unity of the corporeal elements, of their inter dependencies constitute the first step towards the vision of a globalized world which, in return, allows the being to understand that he is part of a Whole and that he himself is a whole. The reconciliation of the being with the world and himself is the only way to get out of a world scattered to the four winds and to enter into a harmonized world.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Les directions de la rose des vents

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

La rose des vents

La rose sauvageQuelle est la relation entre la rose et les vents ? La rose renvoie naturellement à la forme sauvage de la plante, l'églantier dont la fleur renferme cinq pétales. Or, dans la Grèce ancienne par exemple, la rose des vents ne comportait que quatre vents principaux et directions cardinales. Ce cinquième pétale ne pouvait dès lors que représenter le rassemblement de ces mêmes vents et directions sous une seule tête. En effet:

  • Les quatre vents (Boreas, Notos, Eurus et Zephyrus) étaient perçus comme des dieux violents emprisonnés dans les cavernes d'Aeolus, le dieu de tous les vents placé au centre;
  • Les quatre directions cardinales (Arctos, Mesembria, Anatole et Dusis) faisaient référence à des astres tournant apparemment autour de l'axe des pôles.

Autrement dit, les quatre vents (ou directions) étaient placés sous l'égide d'un cinquième vent (ou axe). Le lieu de ce cinquième vent (ou axe) était le centre terrestre, le point d'intersection de l'axe des pôles avec le plan de l'horizon (pour plus de détails, voir la Description de la sphère céleste).

Le centre terrestre symbolise le lieu où toutes les choses sont réunies dans un état indifférencié. Les quatre directions cardinales rayonnent depuis ce centre unifié et les quatre vents se rejoignent au centre. Le centre terrestre est, à la fois, un point de départ et d'aboutissement, source de diversité et de retour vers l'unité. Toutes les choses issues d'une même source doivent nécessairement y retourner.

En conséquence, il n'y a pas 4 vents principaux (ou directions cardinales), mais 4 + 1. Quant au cœur du calice de la fleur, il représente le Centre de tous les êtres et choses (manifestés ou non), c'est-à-dire d'ordre aussi bien terrestre qu'humain ou spirituel.

La multiplication des vents et des subdivisions cardinales nous conduiraient aux mêmes constats et cela indépendamment des formes traditionnelles considérées.

Quelques autres formes de la rose des vents

La Chine ancienne

Disposition des trigrammes postérieure au CielDans l'Empire du Milieu, la rose des vents était faite de 8 directions radiales associées à 8 vents distincts. Le Lijing ou “Classique des Rites” les a décrits ainsi: E (le vent rugissant), S-E (le vent fou), S (la grande tempête), S-O (le vent frais), O (le vent durable), N-O (le vent vif), N (le vent froid), N-E (le vent brûlant).

Les 8 vents sont en correspondance avec les 8 trigrammes de la disposition postérieure au Ciel, c'est-à-dire postérieure à la polarisation fondamentale entre le Ciel et la Terre. Elle constitue un reflet, dans le plan terrestre horizontal, de l'Unité représentée par le fameux symbole yin-yang placé au centre et entouré des 8 trigrammes. Remarquons que dans le diagramme des trigrammes, le sud est représenté “au-dessus” du nord conformément à l'orientation de la forme traditionnelle chinoise la plus répandue, tournée vers la lumière, le sud.

L'Inde traditionnelle

Si nous nous en tenons au plan terrestre et à la composition du monde corporel (au sens général du terme), vâyu symbolise l'air en mouvement, le vent. Il représenteÉléments de la tradition indienne l'un des éléments substantiels à la base de la constitution de tous les corps, à savoir:

  • Tèjas (feu);
  • Vâyu (air ou vent).
  • Ap (eau);
  • Prithvî (terre);

Ces éléments sont rassemblés au sein d'Akâsha (éther) dans un état unifié. Autrement dit, l'être corporel réintègre un premier état d'ordre plus élevé en rejoignant le centre, symbole de l'éther.

L'air est associé au mouvement transversal tandis que le feu et l'eau (ou la terre) sont respectivement en relation avec les mouvements ascendant et descendant. Ces mouvements sont en correspondance avec les directions cardinales et expliquent pourquoi le sud est plutôt en “haut” qu'en “bas”. Contrairement à la tradition chinoise cependant, l'orientation de la tradition indienne n'est pas tournée vers le sud, mais le levant.

La mythologie nordique

Rose des vents de la tradition nordiqueDans l'Edda prosaïque de la mythologie nordique, Norðri, Suðri, Austri and Vestri caractérisent quatre elfes associés aux quatre points cardinaux (N, S, E, O). Ensemble, ils soutiennent le dôme céleste fait du crâne du géant Ymir, sacrifié et démembré par les dieux Ases pour créer l'univers. Ces quatre êtres représentent probablement les quatre vents soufflant selon les quatre directions cardinales et sont dotés de couleurs. Ils correspondent aux quatre cerfs qui grignotent les tiges et les feuilles de l'Arbre du Monde nordique, l'Yggdrasil, tout en suivant les directions cardinales.

Avers d'une monnaie grecque du VIe siècle avant notre èreNotons que la forme circulaire de la rose et le rayonnement de ses pétales à partir du centre évoque la roue. La représentation d'une roue à 5 rayons figurant sur l'avers d'une monnaie grecque, datant du VIe siècle avant notre ère, nous éclaire sur ce rapprochement. L'insertion de la roue dans une forme carrée souligne encore davantage le développement de la manifestation terrestre et son lien avec la rose des vents.

La rose des vents et la roue

Le centre intérieur immobile de la roue symbolise l'Unité qui rayonne dans les toutes les directions vers le cercle extérieur en mouvement.

La roue à 4, 6 et 8 rayonsOr, le nombre de rayons de la roue est le plus souvent pair pour des raisons de symétrie. Leurs points de contact avec le cercle sont alors opposés deux à deux et représentent la manifestation des antagonismes à partir du centre, de l'Unité. Ces opposés sont en réalité complémentaires car ils se résorbent dans l'Unité au cours du mouvement inverse du cercle extérieur vers le centre intérieur. La roue est un symbole de la manifestation de l'Unité sous sa forme diversifiée et du retour de la manifestation vers son état intégré au sein de cette même Unité. En d'autres termes, la roue symbolise le Monde sous sa forme différenciée et son état unifié.

La roue tourne autour d'un axe immobile qui représente l'Axe du Monde, le lieu d'équilibre par excellence de sa manifestation. Cet axe unifie tous les états du Monde, des états terrestres aux états célestes en passant par les états intermédiaires. Afin de mettre en évidence les différents degrés de ces états, l'Axe est représenté verticalement par rapport à la roue horizontale. La roue représente dans ce cas la rose des vents dans le plan de l'horizon et l'Axe vertical, l'axe reliant zénith et nadir. La perception terrestre du Monde, propre à la rose des vents, privilégie l'axe zénith-nadir plutôt que l'axe des pôles dévolu à la vision céleste.

Comme le symbolisme de la roue dépasse le seul monde terrestre, il englobe celui de la rose des vents. Et pourtant, le symbolisme de la rose des vents, en particulier de la rose à 12 directions, a dû influencer celui de la roue. Cette rose ne nous rappelle t-elle pas tout naturellement le cycle des 12 mois du calendrier (solaire ou lunaire) ? Et c'est probablement pourquoi la roue est aussi devenue un symbole solaire ou lunaire dans diverses formes traditionnelles sans pour autant perdre son sens premier et principal de symbole du Monde.

À l'instar des rayons de la roue, les vents venant de toutes les directions se rencontrent au centre, le lieu immobile où tous les vents sont réunis dans un état unifié, représenté par un Vent supérieur comme dans la mythologie grecque. Ce Vent central symbolise paradoxalement le vent immobile, le lieu d'apaisement, loin du tumulte environnant, à l'image de l'œil du cyclone.

La rose des vents montre à l'être terrestre les diverses directions possibles. Il peut toujours suivre l'une d'entre elles, maisil n'y a pas de vent favorable pour qui ne connaît pas son port” (Sénèque). Et ce port ne peut être que le centre, le seul lieu où l'être terrestre peut atteindre un état intégré. Prendre conscience de l'unité des éléments corporels, de leurs interdépendances constitue le premier pas vers la vision d'un monde global qui permet, en retour, à l'être de comprendre qu'il fait partie d'un Tout et qu'il est lui-même un tout. La réconciliation de l'être avec le monde et lui-même est la seule voie pour sortir d'un monde dispersé aux quatre vents et entrer dans un monde harmonisé.

Haut