LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The wind rose directions

(Summary)

The wind rose

The cardinal directions

The wind rose origins

Initially, the wind rose diagram was indicating the direction of the prevailing winds in a specific area; it was addressing meteorological needs and also used for orientation purposes while travelling at sea or on land. This diagram could count 4, 8, 12, 16, 24 and up to 32, more or less equidistant, directions. Let us note that the direction number is always even.

If the Phoenicians probably had recourse to the wind rose for navigation, all the credit goes to the Greeks for its double use regarding:

  • Meteorology based on four main winds: Boreas, Notos, Eurus and Zephyrus.
  • Orientation taking the four cardinal directions into consideration: Arctos, Anatole, Mesembria and Dusis.

4-wind roseGreek four winds rose

4-point roseGreek four points rose

Taking supplementary winds and cardinal subdivisions into account led to representations getting closer and closer to each other, enabling them to be combined. That is probably why the Greeks produced an 8 and 12-wind rose. The Romans replaced the Greek names by their Latin equivalents. The names of the winds were used to denote geographical areas.

The wind rose in the Middle Ages and today

According to the Carolingian chronicler Einhard (775-840), Charlemagne himself,m would have renamed the twelve winds of the rose. These denominations would have been at the origin of the modern compass point names in most western European languages.

Wind names in Greek, Roman and Carolingian worlds

Wind Greek Roman Carolingian
N Aparctias Septentrio Nordroni
NNE Meses
or Boreas
Aquilo Nordostroni
NE Caicias Caecias Ostnordroni
E Apeliotes Subsolanus Ostroni
SE Eurus Vulturnus Ostsundroni
SSE Euronotus Euronotus Sundostroni
S Notos Auster Sundroni
SSW Libonotos Libonotus
or Austroafricus
Sundvuestroni
SW Lips Africus Vuestsundroni
W Zephyrus Favonius Vuestroni
NW Argestes Corus Vuestnordroni
NNW Thrascias Thrascias
or Circius
Nordvuestroni

The 12-wind rose was still in use in the Middle Ages 1. However, sailors of the Mediterranean Sea resorted to their own 8-wind rose. They used names deriving from a patois mainly composed of Ligurian mixed with Venetian, Sicilian, Proven├žal, Catalan, Greek and Arabic words from around the Mediterranean basin.

The wind rose of the Middle Age sailors

Today, the wind rose is mostly visible on navigators' compasses to stay on course, as well as on the standard magnetic compass 2, nautical charts, maps etc.

Logo from an Armenian travel agencySome companies, such as the Armenian travel agency WindRose Travel, manage to give a wider meaning to the wind rose through their logo. This simple and elegant drawing gives the impression of a wind rose rotating around its centre. Its four branches are thus sweeping all directions. Moreover, each branch is composed of a curved line coming from the centre and a straight line returning to it. The wind rose evokes here the movements of the Armenian Diaspora. Being forced to have to leave the country without always knowing where to go, it was always eager to go straight home.

This simple insight lets us feel that the wind rose is not only indicating directions to follow, but also symbols to meditate

1 back It was particularly in use as the rose-window in the Romanesque and Gothic cathedrals.

2 back Let us recall by passing, that the navigator and standard compasses are pointing out towards the magnetic and not geographic north.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Les directions de la rose des vents (Résumé)

La rose des vents

Les directions cardinales

Origines de la rose des vents

Initialement, le diagramme de la rose des vents indiquait la direction des principaux vents dans une zone déterminée; il répondait aux besoins de la météorologie et fut aussi utilisé à des fins d'orientation lors déplacements maritimes ou terrestres. Ce diagramme pouvait compter 4, 8, 12, 16, 24 et jusqu'à 32 directions plus ou moins équidistantes. Notons que le nombre de directions est toujours pair.

Si les phéniciens eurent vraisemblablement recours à la rose des vents pour la navigation, il revient aux grecs d'en avoir fait un double usage pour:

  • La météorologie en s'appuyant sur quatre vents principaux: Boreas, Notos, Eurus et Zephyrus.
  • L'orientation en prenant en considération les quatre directions cardinales: Arctos, Mesembria, Anatole et Dusis.

Rose 4 ventsrose quatre vents grecque

Rose 4 pointsrose quatre points cardinaux grecque

La prise en compte de vents et de subdivisions cardinales supplémentaires conduisaient à des représentations se rapprochant de plus en plus l'une de l'autre et pouvant être combinées. C'est vraisemblablement pourquoi les Grecs produisirent une rose des vents à 8 et 12 directions. Les Romains remplacèrent les noms grecs par leurs équivalents latins. La dénomination des vents servit à indiquer des zones géographiques.

La rose des vents au Moyen Âge et aujourd'hui

Selon le chroniqueur carolingien Einhard (775 – 840), Charlemagne aurait lui-même renommé les douze vents de la rose. Ces dénominations seraient à l'origine des noms modernes des points cardinaux dans la plupart des langues européennes occidentales.

Noms des vents dans les mondes grec, romain et carolingien

Vent Grec Romain Carolingien
N Aparctias Septentrio Nordroni
NNE Meses
ou Boreas
Aquilo Nordostroni
NE Caicias Caecias Ostnordroni
E Apeliotes Subsolanus Ostroni
SE Eurus Vulturnus Ostsundroni
SSE Euronotus Euronotus Sundostroni
S Notos Auster Sundroni
SSO Libonotos Libonotus
ou Austroafricus
Sundvuestroni
SO Lips Africus Vuestsundroni
O Zephyrus Favonius Vuestroni
NO Argestes Corus Vuestnordroni
NNO Thrascias Thrascias
ou Circius
Nordvuestroni

La rose des vents à 12 directions fut encore en usage au Moyen Âge 1. Toutefois, les marins de la mer Méditerranée eurent recours à leur propre rose à 8 vents. Ils employèrent des dénominations dérivant d'un patois composé principalement de ligurien mêlé de mots vénitiens, siciliens provençaux, catalans, grecs et arabes du pourtour du bassin Méditerranéen.

La rose des vents des marins du Moyen Âge

Aujourd'hui, la rose des vents est le plus souvent visible sur le compas des navigateurs pour maintenir le cap et la boussole 2, les cartes marines et géographiques etc.

Logo d'une agence de voyage arménienneCertaines compagnies, comme l'agence de voyage arménienne WindRose Travel, parviennent à donner un sens élargi à la rose des vents au travers de leur logo. Ce dessin, simple et élégant, donne l'impression d'une rose des vents en rotation autour de son centre. Ses quatre branches balayent ainsi toutes les directions. De plus, chacune des branches est composée d'une ligne curviligne partant du centre et d'une ligne rectiligne retournant vers ce même centre. La rose des vents évoque ici les mouvements de la diaspora arménienne. Contrainte d'avoir dû quitter le pays sans toujours savoir où aller, elle a toujours été désireuse de le retrouver sans détours.

Ce simple aperçu nous laisse subodorer que la rose des vents est non seulement porteuse de directions à suivre, mais également de symboles à méditer

1 retour Elle fut en particulier en usage sous la forme de rosace dans les cathédrales gothiques et romanes.

2 retour Rappelons en passant que le compas des navigateurs et la boussole pointent vers le nord magnétique et non géographique.

Page détaillée

Haut