LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Orientation according to the sun and the stars

(Summary)

Traditionally, sailors navigated along the sun or star course

Various modes

Far from being simple whims, the orientation questions hold an important place within various traditions. Related to a whole set of notions, they play a key role in different initiation rites and mythical stories. The purpose of this article consists in looking at how various orientation modes decline in different traditions and how far they harmoniously fit together.

Although seemingly easy to understand, the orientation questions are nevertheless complex. If the luminous side seems generally to get the preference (in the human being world), it could not constitute a common rule to various traditions and times. Attention has not only to be paid to possible confusions between different modes:

  • Polar or oriented towards the celestial North Pole;
  • Solar or oriented towards the meridian Sun;
  • Eastern or oriented towards the rising Sun.

We have also to consider the adopted point of view within a single mode (Heaven or Earth, “up” or “down”) and to the pre-eminence rules. Thus, Heaven is above Earth in the Chinese tradition whereas the “down” or dead world takes over the “upper” or living world in the Celtic tradition.

Moreover, it is, for example, interesting to note that African and western languages deeply differ regarding orientation. Whereas western languages reflect an anthropocentric conception of the spatial position of persons and objects, a number of African languages treat objects as entities endowed with a proper spatial representation. In these languages, objects present front and back sides where the western languages make no distinction. It is consequently important to specify to whom or what the orientation refers. This is probably not difficult when considering a human being; however it could be quite different when considering an object. Does it relate to the observer's point of view ? Or, the view of the represented object as such, endowed with a human appearance or not ? All these questions can not be ignored if we wish to get a com-prehensive picture which brings together the various traditions from the orientation point of view.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Orientation selon le soleil et les étoiles (Résumé)

Les navigateurs s'orientaient selon le soleil ou les étoiles

Diverses modalités

Loin de constituer de simples fantaisies, les questions d'orientation tiennent une place importante dans les différentes traditions. Liées à tout un ensemble de notions, elles jouent un rôle primordial dans les divers rites initiatiques et récits mythiques. Le présent article a pour objet d'examiner comment les différentes modalités d'orientation se déclinent dans les diverses traditions et dans quelle mesure elles s'harmonisent entre elles.

Bien qu'apparemment aisées à appréhender, les questions d'orientation n'en sont pas moins complexes. Si le côté lumineux semble généralement avoir la préférence (dans le monde des êtres humains), il ne saurait constituer une règle commune aux différentes traditions et époques. Il convient tout d'abord de prêter attention aux confusions possibles entre différentes modalités:

  • Polaire ou orientée vers le Pôle Nord céleste;
  • Solaire ou orientée vers le Soleil au méridien;
  • Levant ou orientée vers le Soleil levant.

Il faut également considérer le point de vue retenu au sein d'une même modalité (Ciel ou Terre, “haut” ou “bas”) et aux règles de prééminence. Ainsi dans la tradition chinoise le Ciel est au-dessus de la Terre, mais dans la tradition celtique, le “bas” ou le royaume des morts prend le pas sur le “haut” ou le monde des vivants.

En outre, il est intéressant de noter, par exemple, que les langues africaines et occidentales diffèrent profondément du point de vue de l'orientation. Alors que les langues occidentales reflètent une conception anthropocentrique des positions des personnes et des objets dans l'espace, nombre de langues africaines traitent les objets comme des entités dotées d'une représentation spatiale propre. Dans ces langues, les objets présentent une face avant et une face arrière là où les langues occidentales ne font aucune distinction. Il importe par conséquent de préciser par rapport à qui ou quoi l'orientation est prise. Si cela ne pose guère de difficulté lorsque nous avons affaire à un être humain, il en va différemment pour un objet. S'agit-il du point de vue du spectateur ? Ou de l'objet figuré en tant que tel, qu'il prenne une apparence humaine ou non ? Autant de questions qui ne peuvent rester ignorées pour comprendre, c'est-à-dire prendre ensemble, les différentes traditions sur le plan de l'orientation.

Page détaillée

Haut