LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

(Sufi) Islamic orientation and tradition

(Summary)

Symbol of the gate opening onto the inner light

The Sufis

Among the different Islamic traditional forms, Sufi is one of the most representative from the orientation point of view. The Sufi denomination would come from the woollen garment (suf) that adepts used to wear. Their spirituality does not refer to any law or dogma and is simply based on the mutual love between God and the human being: “knowledge full of love is wisdom” (Jean Chevalier). The central aim of Sufi consists in knowing God directly through esoteric practices strongly related to Northern or polar orientation and teaching based on stories.

Sufi favour the light source direction, East; West, on the contrary, is assimilated to the darkness world. These choices should be understood in a more symbolic than geographic meaning. East represents the Principle, origin of the manifestation of anything; it is related to the light descent towards obscurity. West, on the contrary, characterizes the world as we perceive it, in its complete manifestation; it is linked to the light ascent towards the full day.

The Sufi ritual practices consist in a constant movement between East and West, in a cosmic dance as the dancing dervish, in a pulsation made in the heart image, the gate of which opens on a whole inner light.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Orientation et tradition islamique (soufite) (Résumé)

Symbole de la porte ouvrant sur la lumière intérieure

Les soufis

Parmi les différentes formes traditionnelles islamiques, le soufisme est l'une des plus représentatives du point de vue de l'orientation. L'appellation de soufi proviendrait de l'habit de laine (souf) que les adeptes portaient. La spiritualité soufite ne fait référence à aucun dogme ou loi, elle est simplement fondée sur l'amour mutuel entre Dieu et l'être humain: “la connaissance pénétrée de l'amour est sagesse” (Jean Chevalier). Le but essentiel des soufis consiste dans une connaissance directe de Dieu par le biais de pratiques ésotériques fortement liées à l'orientation polaire et de l'enseignement par les contes.

Les soufis privilégient la direction qui est source de lumière, l'Est; l'Ouest au contraire est assimilé au monde de l'obscurité. Ces choix doivent être entendus dans un sens davantage symbolique que géographique. L'Est représente le Principe à l'origine de la manifestation de toute chose; il est en relation avec la descente de la lumière vers l'obscurité. L'Ouest, au contraire, caractérise le monde tel que nous le percevons, dans toute sa manifestation; il est associé à la montée de la lumière vers le grand jour.

Les pratiques rituelles des soufis consistent en un mouvement constant entre l'Est et l'Ouest, en une danse cosmique à l'instar du derviche tourneur, en une pulsation à l'image du cœur dont la porte s'ouvre sur une lumière toute intérieure.

Page détaillée

Haut