LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Chinese orientation and tradition

(Summary)

Yin-yang symbol

The Chinese tradition attaches a great importance to two complementary principles known as yin and yang and brought together in the symbol carrying the same name. Yang depicts the light or the white half of the symbol and yin the darkness or the black half. The way yin and yang interact within this common representation is derived from the double spiral drawing separating the white and black halves of the symbol and the orientation mode adopted in China at different eras.

The yin-yang symbol depicts the most perfect representation of the balance between yang and yin, white and black, warm and cold, light and darkness, day and night, Sun and Moon, Heaven and Earth… It follows that the components, mainly material, of the world can be arranged into two categories associated with two principles: yang including all what is linked to light, essence and actuality; yin covering their opposites, darkness, substance and potentiality.

However, the light illuminating the world is not completely deprived of shade and darkness of clearness. Therefore, the presence of the black and white spots in the white and black halves of the yin-yang symbol. In fact, yang and yin recover more complementary than opposite categories. It should not be forgotten that these two principles take their source in the primeval Unit which gives rise to the primeval polarization, Heaven-Earth. If Heaven is completely yang and Earth entirely yin, the other polarities, made of complements, combine yang and yin. There is no yang without yin nor yin without yang. Their natures are strongly interwoven and both contribute to the dynamics of the Chinese tradition, which is far away from the static presentations describing it.

When the yin-yang symbol is represented vertically, yang is dominating yin as Heaven is always “above” Earth. When it is represented horizontally, yang and yin are constantly exchanging their influences and none of them can prevail in the long run. In this case, the clear and dark areas of the yin-yang symbol can lay one over the other without any dominance by one of them.

Put into parallel with cardinal points, yang can only be associated with light, i.e. to South or East. Similarly, yin is necessarily related to darkness, i.e. to North or West. The Chinese tradition mostly favours the solar orientation where the being faced South and gave preference to the left or East. That is why, the ancient Chinese cartographic representations are generally, but not always, putting South at the “top” and North at the “bottom” unlike our contemporary representations.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Orientation et tradition chinoise (Résumé)

Symbole yin-yang

La tradition chinoise attache une grande importance à deux principes connus sous les termes yin et yang et rassemblés dans le symbole du même nom. Le yang représente la lumière ou la moitié blanche du symbole et le yin l'obscurité ou la moitié noire. La façon dont yin et yang se combinent dans cette représentation commune dérive du dessin de la double spirale séparant les deux moitiés blanche et noire du symbole et du mode d'orientation adopté par la Chine à différentes époques.

Le symbole yin-yang dépeint la représentation la plus parfaite de l'équilibre entre le yang et le yin, le blanc et le noir, le chaud et le froid, la lumière et les ténèbres, le jour et la nuit, le Soleil et la Lune, le Ciel et la Terre… Il s'ensuit que les éléments constitutifs du monde, principalement matériel, peuvent être rangés en deux catégories associées à deux principes: le yang englobant tout ce qui relève de la lumière, de l'essence et de l'“acte”; le yin couvrant leurs opposés, l'obscurité, la substance et la puissance.

Toutefois, la lumière éclairant le monde n'est pas dépourvue d'ombre et l'obscurité de clarté. D'où la présence des points noir et blanc dans les moitiés blanche et noire du symbole yin-yang. En fait, le yang et le yin recouvrent davantage des catégories complémentaires qu'opposées. Il ne faudrait pas oublier que ces deux principes prennent leur source dans l'Unité première qui donne naissance à la polarisation première, Ciel-Terre. Si le Ciel est totalement yang et la Terre entièrement yin, les autres polarités, faites de complémentaires, allient yang et yin. Il n'y a pas de yang sans yin ni de yin sans yang. Leurs natures sont étroitement imbriquées et participent toutes deux à la dynamique de la tradition chinoise, bien éloignée des présentations statiques la décrivant.

Lorsque le symbole yin-yang est représenté verticalement, le yang domine le yin car le Ciel est toujours “au-dessus” de la Terre. Quand il est représenté horizontalement, le yang et le yin échangent constamment leurs influences et aucun d'eux ne peut dominer durablement. Dans ce cas, les parties claire et sombre du symbole yin-yang peuvent reposer l'une sur l'autre sans qu'aucune ne prédomine.

Mis en parallèle avec les points cardinaux, le yang ne peut qu'être associé à la lumière, c'est-à-dire au Sud ou à l'Est. De même, le yin est nécessairement rattaché à l'obscurité, c'est-à-dire au Nord ou à l'Ouest. Or, la tradition chinoise a le plus souvent privilégié l'orientation solaire où l'être se tourne vers le Sud et accordé une préférence à la gauche ou l'Est. C'est pourquoi, contrairement à nos représentations contemporaines, les représentations cartographiques de la Chine ancienne placent généralement, mais pas toujours, le Sud en “haut” et le Nord en “bas”.

Page détaillée

Haut