LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

(Irish) Celtic orientation and tradition

(Detailed page)

Summary

Celtic orientation

In Gaelic language, “ichtar” means at the same time “down” and “North” whereas “twas” signifies simultaneously “up” and “South”. Similarly, “t-air”, East denotes the region which is in front whereas “t-iar”, West, is on the contrary, the region lying behind. As a result, the observer facing East gets South or the luminous world, devoted to living beings, on his right and North or the dark world, held for the dead and called “síd”, on his left (see the diagram below).

As the living kingdom is above the dead kingdom, South is above North. Therefore, Irish Celt gave the preference to the right in the living kingdom and to the left in the dead kingdom as attested by the internal surface representation of Gundestrup (located in Denmark) silver cauldron. According to a general analogy, the living kingdom is a reversed image of the dead one.

Death of the ordinary warrior and his re-birth as knight

Giving the preference to the right or South in the living world consists in conferring the pre-eminence to the luminous side in comparison to the dark side. Linking living and dead worlds, within an orientation facing East, results in considering rising (or setting) sun at solstices. The four points related to sunrise and sunset at solstices design a rectangle called the “solstitial rectangle”, the side ratio of which depends on the latitude of the observation place. This rectangle becomes a square when the latitude approaches the Northern tip of Ireland, a region recalling the Northern islands of the World, where the Celtic tradition has its symbolic source. At this latitude, sun precisely rises Southeast at Winter solstice and Northeast at Summer solstice. For more details regarding the determination of the angle between the diagonals of the “solstitial rectangle”, consult the position on celestial sphere.

Celtic festivals

According to the usual correspondence between space (or compass points) and human time (or seasons), the sun rises precisely at East and sets exactly at West at Spring and Autumn equinoxes (around 21st March and 21st September). So, Summer and Winter solstices (around 21st June and 21st December) correspond to South and North respectively. In line with this analogy, the “solstitial square” may be compared to the Irish Celtic “festival” calendar (see the following diagram). A gap follows between the Summer solstice sunset position and the beginning (or the end) of the annual cycle fixed on the 1st November. This gap could have only practical origins linked to the precision of astronomical observations at the time. Having more probably symbolic origins, it would stand for the “enclosed period”, on the occasion of the “festival” occurring with the beginning or the end of the annual cycle during which the “below” world, the world of renewing, fertilized the “above” world.

Celtic orientation and festivals
Solstitial square at the latitude of Northern tip of IrelandCeltic “festivals” calendar

According to the solar mode of the Chinese tradition (see orientation and tradition), the preference for the left or ascending path from Earth to Heaven lead to name yin before yang as in the famous yin-yang symbol. In the same line, within the Celtic tradition, darkness comes before clearness, night before day and the dark and cold year period is announcing the clear and warm one. In other words, the world of the dead and Gods has the precedence over the world of living.

The junction between both periods operates with two main yearly “festivals”: Samain on 1st November and Beltaine on 1st May. These two main yearly “festivals” are cut across by two other “festivals” falling midway within the dark and clear periods: Imbolc on 1st February and Lugnasad on 1st August.

  • Samain (“meeting”, “assembly”)
  • A complete “festival”, which gathers the human beings and people from the “síd”. Consequently, it requests the presence of representatives of the three functions of the Celtic tradition:
    - “sacerdotal” (priests or druids);
    - “warrior” (military nobility or flaith);
    - “productive” (craftsmen).
  • Imbolc (“lustration”, “shower”)
  • Apparently, the “festival” of the third function (“productive”). It may be linked with the celestial influence symbolized by rain or the descending phase of sun between Summer and Winter solstices, between North symbolizing the Otherworld and South representing the living world.
  • Beltaine (“light”, “fire”)
  • “Festival” of the first function (“sacerdotal”) where fire and light play a key role as solar symbols. It is the “festival” of rituals of passage between the cold and warm seasons, between obscurity and light, between symbolic psychic death and spiritual re-birth.
  • Lugnasad (“Lug's assembly”)
  • As such, Lug is all the gods and assumes all their functions. Here, the “festival” refers to his royal aspect. It honours the King, the intermediary between both other functions, as the distributor of outer and inner richness as well as good government of society and oneself.

In fact, as a multi-function God, Lug ruled also over Samain and Beltaine “festivals” respectively through his dark and luminous aspects.

Imbolc was completely eclipsed by saint Bridget Christian festival, heiress of Birgit, feminine Goddess who was also the initiator of “arts” (intellectual and manual works). As the least influential of all the “festivals”, it ends their succession according to their importance ranking, which is related in the following diagram:

Celtic “festivals” hierarchy

Samain, “festival” of integration of the dead and the living cycles proper to the dark world (Northwest);
Beltaine, sacerdotal “festival” proper to the luminous world (Southeast);
Lugnasad, royal “festival” as counterpart of the sacerdotal “festival” (Southwest);
Imbolc, craft function “festival” (Northeast).

This sequence, right-hand oriented, is composed of two axes reflecting the strong hierarchical structure of the Celtic society where the spiritual dominated the temporal:

The strong hierarchical structure of Celtic society and “festivals” tend towards the existence of a single gate, Samain, linking the world of the dead and the world of the living

The Samain-Beltaine axis symbolizes the spiritual or supra-human path. It refers to the knowledge of immutable principles outside any manifestation and directly transmitted to the druids from the Otherworld, the world of dead and gods.

The Lugnasad-Imbolc axis represents the temporal or human path. This axis is thereby related to the responsibility of implementing principles and action laws in the manifested world that the King received only from the druids.

According to the pre-eminence of the spiritual over the temporal, the Samain-Beltaine axis is relatively vertical in comparison with the Lugnasad-Imbolc axis.

Take down a particularity of the (Irish) Celtic tradition regarding both gates. Beltaine, as a peculiar sacerdotal “festival”, reflects more the achievement than the beginning of God path; Imbolc, as the “festival” of the productive function only, could not allow access to the human path on its own. So, the strong hierarchical structure of Celtic “festivals” and society tend towards the existence of a single gate linking the world of the dead and the world of the living, namely Samain, as attested by the internal surface representation of the Gundestrup cauldron. It symbolizes the death of the warrior in the ordinary state and his re-generation in the primordial state, represented by the “knight”, after his submersion into the immortal life elixir.

The recent archaeological works, that supposedly uncovered a representation of human sacrifices in the cauldron of Gunderstrup, are forgetting two things:

  • The initiation rites of the warrior are a sacrifice already where the death of the old man precedes the rebirth of the new man;
  • Any rite, sacrificial or not, obeys rules that poorly fit with the discovery of human and domestic remains at the bottom of the pits brought to light.

Of course, there is no question of denying the existence of human sacrificial rites among the Celts, but it is important to underline how rare they were. First of all, the Irish medieval literature states two or three cases only. Next, the discovery of human remains could better be related to non ritual massacres of injured or prisoners at the end of a fight between enemy camps.

Bibliography

  • Françoise Le Roux et Christian-J Guyonvarc'h:
  • “The Celtic civilization”, Ouest-France Publisher, 1990;
  • “The Celtic feasts”, Ouest-France Publisher, 1995.
Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Orientation et tradition celtique (irlandaise)

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Orientation celtique

En gaélique, “ichtar” désigne à la fois le “bas” et le “Nord” tandis que “tuas” signifie simultanément “haut” et “Sud”. De même, “t-air”, l'Est, est la région qui est “devant” tandis que “t-iar”, l'Ouest, est au contraire la région située à l'arrière. En conséquence, l'observateur faisant face à l'Est a le Sud ou le monde lumineux, réservé aux vivants, à sa droite et le Nord ou le monde obscur, dévolu aux morts et dénommé “síd”, à sa gauche (voir le diagramme plus bas).

De même que le royaume des vivants est au-dessus du royaume des morts, le Sud est “au-dessus” du Nord. Aussi, les Celtes irlandais donnaient-ils la préférence à la droite dans le royaume des vivants et à la gauche dans la royaume des morts comme en témoigne la représentation de la face intérieure du chaudron d'argent de Gundestrup (situé au Danemark). En conformité avec une analogie générale, le royaume des vivants est une image inversée du royaume des morts.

Mort du guerrier ordinaire et sa re-naissance en chevalier

Accorder la prééminence à la droite ou au Sud dans le monde des vivants consiste à donner la préférence au côté lumineux, par rapport au côté sombre. Associer mondes des vivants et des morts, au sein d'une orientation tournée vers l'Est, revient à considérer le soleil levant (ou couchant) aux solstices. Les quatre points en relation avec le lever et le coucher du soleil aux solstices dessinent un rectangle appelé “rectangle solsticial” dont le rapport des côtés dépend de la latitude du lieu d'observation. Ce rectangle se réduit à un carré pour une latitude voisine de la pointe Nord de l'Irlande, région évocatrice des îles septentrionales du Monde où la tradition celtique trouve sa source symbolique. À cette latitude, le soleil se lève précisément au Sud-ouest au solstice d'hiver et au Nord-est au solstice d'été. Pour davantage de détails sur la détermination de l'angle formé par les diagonales du “rectangle solsticial”, consulter la position sur la sphère céleste.

Fêtes celtiques

Conformément à la correspondance usuelle entre espace (ou points cardinaux) et temps humain (ou saisons), le soleil se lève précisément à l'Est et se couche exactement à l'Ouest aux équinoxes de printemps et d'automne (aux environs du 21 mars et du 21 septembre). De sorte que les solstices d'été et d'hiver (aux environs du 21 juin et 21 décembre) correspondent respectivement au Sud et au Nord. Selon cette analogie, le “carré solsticial” peut être rapproché du calendrier des “fêtes” celtiques irlandaises (voir le diagramme ci-dessous). Un décalage s'ensuit entre la position du soleil couchant au solstice d'été et le début (ou la fin) du cycle annuel fixé au 1er novembre. Ce décalage pourrait avoir des origines simplement pratiques liées à la précision des observations astronomiques de l'époque. Plus vraisemblablement d'origine symbolique, il tiendrait à la “période close” à l'occasion de la “fête” coïncidant avec le début ou la fin du cycle annuel au cours de laquelle le monde d'en “bas”, monde du renouveau, fécondait le monde d'en “haut”.

Orientation et fêtes celtiques
Carré solsticial à la latitude pointe nord de l'IrlandeCalendrier des “fêtes” celtiques

Selon la modalité solaire de la tradition chinoise (voir orientation et tradition), la préférence pour la gauche ou la voie ascendante de la Terre vers le Ciel conduit à nommer le yin avant le yang comme dans le fameux symbole yin-yang. De même, dans la tradition celtique, l'obscurité vient avant la clarté, la nuit avant le jour et la période sombre et froide de l'année annonce la période claire et chaude. Autrement dit, le monde des morts et des dieux prend le pas sur le monde des vivants.

La jonction des deux périodes sombre et claire s'opère aux deux “fêtes” principales de l'année: Samain le 1er novembre et Beltaine le 1er mai. Ces deux “fêtes” principales sont entrecoupées par deux autres “fêtes” marquant le milieu des deux périodes sombre et claire: Imbolc le 1er février et Lugnasad le 1er août.

  • Samain (“réunion”, “assemblée”)
  • Il s'agit d'une “fête” complète qui rassemble les êtres vivants et ceux du “síd”. Elle réclame en conséquence le concours des représentants des trois fonctions de la tradition celtique:
    - “sacerdotale” (prêtres ou druides);
    - “guerrière” (noblesse militaire ou flaith);
    - “productrice” (artisans).
  • Imbolc (“lustration”, “averse”)
  • Apparemment, la “fête” de la troisième fonction (“productrice”). Elle peut être mise en relation avec l'influence céleste symbolisée par la pluie ou la phase descendante du soleil entre les solstices d'été et d'hiver, entre le Nord symbolisant l'Autre Monde et le Sud représentant le monde des vivants.
  • Beltaine (“lumière”, “feu”)
  • “Fête” de la première fonction (“sacerdotale”) où feu et lumière, symboles solaires, jouent un rôle important. C'est la “fête” des rites de passage entre les périodes froide et chaude, entre l'obscurité et la lumière, entre la mort psychique symbolique et la re-naissance spirituelle.
  • Lugnasad (“assemblée de Lug”)
  • Lug est à lui seul tous les dieux et en assume toutes les fonctions. La “fête” fait ici référence à son aspect royal. Elle honore le souverain, intermédiaire entre les deux autres fonctions, en tant que dispensateur des richesses extérieures et intérieures ainsi que du bon gouvernement de la société et de soi-même.

En fait, Lug, dieu multifonctionnel, présidait également aux “fêtes” de Samain et Beltaine respectivement sous ses aspects sombre et lumineux.

Imbolc fut totalement occultée par la fête chrétienne de sainte Brigitte, héritière de Brigit, divinité féminine qui fut aussi l'initiatrice des “arts” (ou des métiers manuels et intellectuels). “Fête” la moins influente des quatre, elle termine le cortège de leur succession selon leur ordre d'importance que retrace le diagramme ci-dessous:

Hiérarchie des “fêtes” celtiques


Samain, “fête” de l'intégralité des cycles des morts et des vivants propres au monde obscur (Nord-ouest);
Beltaine, “fête” sacerdotale propre au monde lumineux (Sud-est);
Lugnasad, “fête” royale, pendant temporel de la “fête” sacerdotale (Sud-ouest);
Imbolc, “fête” de la fonction artisanale (Nord-est).

Cette séquence, orientée en suivant la droite, comporte deux axes reflétant la structure fortement hiérarchisée de la société celtique où le spirituel prévaut sur le temporel:

La structure fortement hiérarchisée de la société et des “fêtes” celtiques incline à l'existence d'une seule porte, Samain, reliant le monde des morts et celui des vivants

L'axe Samain-Beltaine symbolise la voie spirituelle ou supra-humaine. Il évoque la connaissance des principes immuables hors de toute manifestation et transmise directement aux druides depuis l'Autre Monde, le monde des morts et des dieux.

L'axe Lugnasad-Imbolc représente la voie temporelle ou humaine. Il figure la charge de l'application des principes et des lois de l'action propres au monde manifesté et que le roi recevait des seuls druides.

Conformément à la prééminence du spirituel sur le temporel, l'axe Samain-Beltaine est relativement vertical par rapport à l'axe Lugnasad-Imbolc.

Notons une particularité de la tradition celtique (irlandaise) relative aux deux portes. Beltaine, “fête” sacerdotale proprement dite, reflète plutôt l'aboutissement que le début de la voie des dieux; Imbolc, en tant que “fête” de la seule fonction productrice, ne saurait, à elle seule, autoriser l'accès à la voie des hommes. Aussi, la structure fortement hiérarchisée des “fêtes” et de la société celtiques incline à l'existence d'une seule porte reliant le monde des morts et celui des vivants, à savoir Samain, comme en témoigne d'ailleurs la plaque du chaudron de Gundestrup. Elle symbolise la mort du guerrier à l'état ordinaire et sa ré-génération à l'état primordial, représenté par le “chevalier”, à la suite de la plongée dans l'élixir de vie immortelle.

Les récents travaux archéologiques, qui voient une représentation de sacrifices humains dans le chaudron de Gunderstrup, oublient deux choses:

  • Les rites d'initiation du guerrier sont déjà un sacrifice où la mort du vieil homme précède la renaissance de l'homme nouveau;
  • Tout rite, sacrificiel ou non, obéit à des règles qui cadrent difficilement avec la découverte de restes humains et domestiques au fond des fosses mises en lumière.

Bien entendu, il ne s'agit pas de nier l'existence de rites sacrificiels humains chez les celtes, mais il est important de souligner leur extrême rareté. Tout d'abord, la littérature médiévale irlandaise ne relève que deux ou trois de ces cas. Ensuite, la découverte des restes humains s'apparenterait davantage à des massacres, à caractère non rituel, de blessés ou de prisonniers à la fin d'un combat entre camps ennemis.

Bibliographie

  • Françoise Le Roux et Christian-J Guyonvarc'h:
  • “La civilisation celtique”. Éditions Ouest-France, 1990;
  • “Les fêtes celtiques”. Éditions Ouest-France, 1995.
Haut