LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

(Irish) Celtic orientation and tradition

(Summary)

The four Celtic “festivals”

The four “festivals”

The oral Celtic tradition has lost its place in a world where temporal took over spiritual, where historical facts supplanted myths. One of the most reliable sources today comes from the Irish Middle Ages. According to this source, the annual cycle was regulated by four “festivals” (for lack of a more appropriate word), ordered in agreement with the Eastern orientation, which held a central role in the (Irish) Celtic tradition.

Facing East, the being has South on his right and North on his left. As the living world associated with South is above the dead world related to North, South is “above” whereas North is “below”. The North-South vertical axis consequently separates the year into two cold and warm seasons connected to the sunrise and sunset movements alongside the horizon.

The four known “festivals” were held close to the dates of sunrise and sunset at solstices and equinoxes:

  • Samain (“Assembly”) on 1st November sets out the beginning and the end of the year;
  • Imbolc (“lustration”) on 1st February is the handcraft “festival”;
  • Beltaine (“Fire of Bel”, luminous aspect of Lug) on 1st May is the sacerdotal festival;
  • Lugnasad (“Lug's assembly”) on 1st August is the royal “festival”.

These “festivals” undeniably reflect the strong hierarchical structure of the Celtic society.

All mythological and epic stories have their main episodes running around the first “festival”, Samain. It was the object of meetings, banquets or feasts which lasted at least 3 days before and 3 days after the “festival” day itself if not during one or two weeks. The “festival” is an “enclosed period”, beyond time, where men may communicate with the Other World, the “síd”. The in-between world “festival” symbolizes death of the being to his ordinary state and his re-birth into the fully human state, the primeval being's state.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Orientation et tradition celtique (irlandaise)

(Résumé)

Les quatre “fêtes” celtiques

Les quatre “fêtes”

La tradition celtique orale ne trouvait plus sa place dans un monde où le temporel dominait le spirituel, où les faits historiques supplantaient les mythes. L'une des sources les plus dignes de confiance aujourd'hui provient du Moyen Âge irlandais. Selon cette source, le cycle annuel était régulé par quatre “fêtes” (à défaut d'un terme plus approprié) ordonnées en conformité avec l'orientation vers le levant qui tenait un rôle central dans la tradition celtique (irlandaise).

Faisant face à l'Est, l'être a le Sud à sa droite et le Nord à sa gauche. Comme le monde des vivants associé au Sud est situé au-dessus du monde des morts relié au Nord, le Sud est en “haut” tandis que le Nord est en “bas”. L'axe vertical Nord-Sud sépare en conséquence l'année en deux saisons froide et chaude en relation avec les mouvements du soleil levant et couchant le long de l'horizon.

Les quatre “fêtes” connues avoisinaient les dates du lever et du coucher du soleil aux solstices et équinoxes:

  • Samain (“Assemblée”), le 1er novembre, marque le début et la fin de l'année;
  • Imbolc (“lustration”), le 1er février, est la “fête” des artisans;
  • Beltaine (“Feu de Bel”, aspect lumineux de Lug), le 1er mai, est la “fête” sacerdotale;
  • Lugnasad (“Assemblée de Lug”), le 1er août, est la “fête” royale.

Ces “fêtes” reflètent indéniablement la structure fortement hiérarchisée de la société celtique.

Tous les récits mythologiques et épiques voient leurs principaux épisodes se dérouler autour de la première des “fêtes”, Samain. Elle était l'objet de réunions, banquets ou festins qui se prolongeaient au minimum 3 jours avant et 3 jours après le jour de la “fête” proprement dite si ce n'est pendant une ou deux semaines. La “fête” est une “période close”, en dehors du temps, où les hommes peuvent communiquer avec l'Autre Monde, le “síd”. La “fête” de l'entre mondes symbolise la mort de l'homme à son état ordinaire et sa re-naissance à l'état pleinement humain, à l'état premier de l'être.

Page détaillée

Haut