LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Sustainable development, an ambiguous concept

(Summary)

Did you say sustainable ?

The concept of sustainable development was introduced by the United Nations World-wide Commission on Environment and Development (UNCED) chaired by the Norwegian former prime minister, madam Gro Harlem Brundtland. The Commission report, entitled “Our common future”, dates back to 1987. More than 25 years have passed, the necessary time to take a new generation on board within the related definition:

The so-called sustainable development intends to meet the “needs” of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own “needs”.

The success of the sustainable development notion rests on the ambiguity of the concept and the lack of prescriptions to implementation it. It is:

  • Enigmatic on the goal pursued, principally centred on the satisfaction of the “needs” of successive generations;
  • Silent on the necessary tools to implement it.

Admittedly, the different plans proposed at different scales try, more or less, to specify the objectives to be achieved and the means with which they could be implemented, but always in an evasive reference framework. There are as many sustainable development projects as there are countries, societies or economic systems. This results in a dispersion of means and a proliferation of definitions in relation to the multitude of existing situations.

Their only common point consists in the focus on the inter generational relationships and, consequently, the long term. Everything would be perfect if the environmental questions concerned the long term only. Obviously, this is not the case. We only have to think of the Bangladesh coastal or riverside populations or to the people suffering from asthma in our cities to realize it. On the other hand, the plans set up to right the helm will really have effects on the long term only. Therefore, the temptation to put off the effective application of decisions till later, i.e. on the back of the future generations that will be left with this heavy load.

Now, just as in our own life, every wasted hour is lost forever. The 1973 oil crisis was a warning of the exhaustion of non renewed resources of the planet and not an energy crisis. More than 40 years have passed and the situation has not improved. Therefore, at the approach of the 30th Anniversary of a development that always lasts, at least on paper, is it not time to wake up and become really conscious of the life conditions we will bequeath to the future generations ?

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Développement durable, un concept ambigu

(Résumé)

Vous avez dit durable ?

Le concept de développement durable fut introduit par la Commission Mondiale sur l'Environnement et le Développement (CMED) des Nations Unies présidée par l'ancien premier ministre de Norvège, madame Gro Harlem Brundtland. Le rapport de la Commission, intitulé “Notre avenir à tous”, date de 1987. Plus de 25 ans ont passé, soit le temps nécessaire de prendre une nouvelle génération à bord de la définition:

Le développement dit durable entend répondre aux “besoins” du présent sans compromettre la capacité des générations futures à répondre à leurs propres “besoins”.

Le succès rencontré par la notion de développement durable réside dans l'ambigüité du concept et l'absence de prescriptions pour son application. Il est:

  • Énigmatique sur le but poursuivi, principalement axé sur la satisfaction des “besoins” de générations successives;
  • Muet sur les outils nécessaires à sa mise en œuvre.

Certes, les différents plans proposés à différentes échelles s'attachent peu ou prou à préciser les objectifs à atteindre et les moyens à mettre en œuvre, mais toujours dans un cadre de référence évasif. Il y a autant de projets de développement durable que de niveaux géographiques, de sociétés ou de systèmes économiques différents. D'où, une dispersion des moyens et une prolifération de définitions en relation avec la multitude des situations existantes.

Leur seul point commun réside dans l'accent mis sur les relations inter générationnelles et, par conséquent, le long terme. Tout serait parfait si les questions environnementales ne concernaient que le long terme. Évidemment, ce n'est pas le cas. Il suffit de penser à la population côtière ou riveraine du Bengladesh ou encore aux personnes souffrant d'asthme dans nos villes pour s'en rendre compte. Par contre, les plans mis en place pour redresser la barre n'auront réellement d'effets que sur le long terme. D'où, la tentation de reporter l'application effective de décisions à plus tard, c'est-à-dire sur le dos des générations futures qui recevront ce lourd fardeau en partage.

Or, tout comme dans notre propre vie, chaque heure perdue l'est à jamais. La crise pétrolière de 1973 fut un avertissement sur l'épuisement des ressources non renouvelées de la planète et non une crise de l'énergie. Plus de 40 ans ont passé et la situation ne s'est guère améliorée. Alors, à l'approche de ce 30e anniversaire d'un développement qui dure toujours, du moins sur le papier, n'est-il pas temps de s'éveiller et de prendre véritablement conscience des conditions de vie que nous léguerons aux générations futures ?

Page détaillée

Haut