LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Unity beneath diversity and diversity within unity

(Summary)

Tower of Babel linking celestial Unity and terrestrial diversity

The five elements

Contrasts of opposites and the union of contrasts constitute the manifested core feature revealed by nature. Once the whole pattern of life has been glimpsed, then all the parts are appearing inevitably strongly interdependent. Conversely, the perception of the part relationships can only unfold an underlying unity containing all of them. Similarly, the human being is inconceivable without the print of unity. What nature or human being unity consist of, remains the unavoidable way to understand their manifested diversity which, in various traditions, is derived from the element systems.

The various element systems represent the basic principles of the lowest manifestation order, the physical or substantial order. In most traditions, they are composed of four elements plus one, their unity or undifferentiated state. The elements do not exist outside the unity and the unity ensures that all transformations operating among each other are properly balanced. This vision may be found within different traditions, which are making a distinction between Nature or the unity of the undifferentiated state and nature or the diversity of the manifested states.

The diversity is the result of generation-destruction processes operating within ecosystems. However, being left to itself, this diversity would soon be transformed into chaos. Ensuring the balance between the generation-destruction processes is achieved by two ways:

  • The process integration within the system unity;
  • The matter, energy and information exchanges with the outside.

Taking these exchanges into consideration independently of their system unity can only produce balance ruptures within the environment. Discovering how these processes fit harmoniously within the unity, understanding how things and beings are working together is the only way to ensure the balance within nature in general and ourselves in particular.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Unité sous la diversité et diversité dans l'unité

(Résumé)

Tour de Babel reliant l'Unité céleste et la diversité terrestre

Les cinq éléments

Les contrastes d'opposés et l'union des contrastes constituent le trait le plus manifeste révélé par la nature. Le schéma général et unitaire de la vie à peine entrevu, toutes les parties apparaissent inéluctablement fortement inter dépendantes. Inversement, la perception des relations entre les parties ne peuvent que dévoiler une unité sous-jacente les contenant toutes. De manière analogue, l'être humain est inconcevable sans l'empreinte de l'unité. En quoi consiste l'unité de la nature ou de l'être humain reste la voie incontournable pour comprendre la diversité de leur manifestation qui, dans nombre de traditions, dérive des systèmes d'éléments.

Les divers systèmes d'éléments représentent les principes de base de l'ordre le plus bas de la manifestation, l'ordre physique ou substantiel. Dans la plupart des traditions, ils se composent de quatre éléments plus un, leur unité ou état indifférencié. Les éléments n'existent pas en dehors de l'unité et l'unité garantit que toutes les transformations s'effectuant entre eux sont proprement équilibrées. Cette vision se retrouve dans les différentes traditions qui établissent une distinction entre la Nature ou l'unité de l'état indifférencié et la nature ou la diversité des états manifestés.

La diversité de la nature résulte de processus de génération-destruction au sein des écosystèmes. Toutefois, livrée à elle-même, cette diversité pourrait rapidement se transformer en chaos. Assurer l'équilibre entre les processus de génération-destruction s'effectue selon deux voies:

  • L'intégration de ces processus dans l'unité du système;
  • les échanges de matière, d'énergie et d'informations avec l'extérieur.

Prendre ces échanges en considération indépendamment de l'unité du système ne peut que produire des ruptures d'équilibre dans l'environnement. Découvrir comment ces processus s'insèrent harmonieusement au sein de l'unité, comprendre comment choses et êtres travaillent de concert est la seule voie qui garantisse l'équilibre au sein de la nature en général et de nous-mêmes en particulier.

Page détaillée

Haut