Lotus, flower of symbolism

Abstract

Lotus in full blossoming

The lotus, symbol of the being's realization

The realization of the being possibilities is often symbolized by the blooming of a flower at the “Waters” surface. It is a matter of “Upper Waters” that contain, in their first and original unity, all the possibilities of realization. This flower is usually a lotus in the East, a rose or a lily in the West.

The flower in general and the lotus in particular are symbols of the spiritual accomplishment of the being, from the obscure depths associated with the “Lower Waters” to the complete blossoming in the full light of the “Upper Waters”. This accomplishment emanates from a seed (first germ or World Egg), comes out as a bud form (egg hatching) and opens up with the full flowering.

The flower embodies the feminine or passive principle of the manifestation, which assimilates it to a receptacle, a bowl, a vase receiving the influence of the masculine or active principle. This distinction between passive and active principles can be found in different traditional forms: Prakriti/Purusha in India, yin/yang in China, feminine/masculine in the West. The manifestation of the being and all his realization possibilities are born from the union of these two principles in any traditional form.

The sacred flower of Egypt

The papyrus and the lotus, both water plants, represented respectively the Upper and Lower kingdoms of Egypt. According to the Egyptian myth of world creation, the lotus came from of original silt and from its chalice the divine Creator. The lotus flower, opening up at sunrise and closing at sunset, symbolizes the Sun God and the light expansion outside the original silt.

Birthplace and wedding bed of Isis and Osiris, it also symbolizes the birth and the re-birth after death. It is hardly surprising that it decorates the monument columns of the Egyptian architecture and its mural representations. The column symbolizes the Universe Axis from which spread as many lotus beams representing the full blooming of the world manifestation.

The blue lotus was preferred to the white one due to the exquisite smell, similar to the divine life fragrance, that it gave off. Attribute of Nefertem, the God of Memphis and “Perfume Lord”, it was called “nen-nufer”, origin of French water lily name “nénuphar”.

The lotus in the Hindu tradition

In the Hindu tradition, Vishnu sleeps at the surface of the “Primeval Waters”. A pink lotus emerges from his navel. In the middle of the flower stands Brahmâ.

The pink lotus (“padma”) associated with Vishnu is a daytime and solar symbol in contrast to the blue lotus (“utpala”) particular to the night, the moon and in relation to Shiva.

These three Gods represent the triple manifestation (“Trimurti”): Brahmâ the Creator, Vishnu the Preserver and Shiva the Destructor or more accurately the Transformer. The preservation is done during the day while the transformation operates by night.

These Gods represent principles of production of the manifested world and as many facets of the Supreme God, Brahma. As the “Supreme Principle”, Brahma is beyond all distinctions between creation, preservation and transformation. It is neuter while Brahmâ, Vishnu and Shiva are masculine and endowed with proper feminine energies (“shakti”) respectively depicted by three Goddesses: Sarasvati, Lakshmi and Parvati.

Lakshmi, “shakti” of Vishnu and lotus' Goddess, appears standing or sitting on a lotus, holding up lotuses in her hands and surrounded by flowers in buds or corollas. Rain drops are falling from her hands. They symbolize the descent of the “Upper Waters” towards the “Lower Waters” as source of creation. This aspect is even more underlined on some representations where elephants appear on each side, pouring water out of their trunks.

The Lotus Sutra

In many representations, the Buddha stands in the middle of an eight petal lotus.

He is sitting on the motionless hub of a wheel with eight spikes symbolizing the eight cardinal and intermediary points and representing the manifestation in all its fullness. A wheel that evokes stylized representations of both the lotus and the “Celtic rowel”, symbols of the world manifestation (circumference) unified into its motionless Principle (centre). For more details on this subject, see the United Kingdom flag.

The Master who introduced the Buddha's doctrine into Tibet during the 8th century in our era is called “Padmasambhava” (the one who was born from a lotus).

The “Lotus Sutra” (Lotus of the True Law) constitutes a Sanskrit anthology recognized by the Mahayana as containing the essential teachings of the Buddha. At the same time teaching of the living Buddha and living teaching of the Buddha, it explains the many ways to enlightenment and more particularly: the role of the Buddha; the benefits of appealing to Bodhisattvas; the meaning of the Buddha nature and the importance of faith.

The lotus, which grows in mud and silt to provide a flower of an exquisite beauty, depicts the nature of the Buddha from its emanation until its sublime fragrance.

The ways of Tantra and Kundalini-Yoga

According to the Tantra, there is, within the human being, a subtle body crossed by three channels (“nadis”) joined through their bases. The lateral channels, where opposed energies, solar (“Pingala”) and lunar (“Ida”), are winding around the third neuter channel (“Sushumna”) and five basic points.

To the total number of seven, these basic points are called chakras, a Sanskrit word literally translated by wheels. Coming with spikes, the wheel represents the lotus stylized form. Now, these centres are precisely represented, in the Hindu tradition, by lotuses distinguished by their petal number.

During its ascension, the “kundalini”, static form of the subtle energy, crosses successively the different chakras associated with the physical, psychical and spiritual needs to lead the being towards the true Knowledge and the full Realization symbolized by the thousand petal lotus.

In the Taoist Tantra, the blooming is the result of an internal alchemy, marriage of the essence (hsin) with the breath (ki), of Fire (Li) and Water (Kan) that symbolizes the return to the centre, the unity of the essential state represented by the lotus.

Lotus, fleur du symbolisme

Résumé

Lotus en pleine floraison

Le lotus, symbole de la réalisation de l'être

La réalisation des possibilités de l'être est souvent symbolisée par l'épanouissement d'une fleur à la surface des “Eaux”. Il s'agit des “Eaux primordiales” qui renferment, dans leur unité première et originelle, toutes les possibilités de réalisation. Cette fleur est habituellement un lotus en Orient, une rose ou un lis en Occident.

La fleur en général et le lotus en particulier sont des symboles de l'accomplissement spirituel de l'être, depuis les profondeurs obscures associées aux “Eaux inférieures” jusqu'à la floraison complète dans la pleine lumière des “Eaux supérieures”. Cet accomplissement émane de la semence (germe premier ou Oeuf du Monde), s'ouvre sous la forme de bouton (éclosion de l'Oeuf) et s'épanouit à la pleine floraison.

La fleur incarne le principe féminin ou passif de la manifestation qui l'assimile à un réceptacle, une coupe, un vase recevant l'influence du principe masculin ou actif. Cette distinction entre principes passif et actif se retrouve dans les différentes formes traditionnelles: Prakriti/Purusha en Inde, yin/yang en Chine, féminin/masculin en Occident. De l'union de ces deux principes naissent la manifestation de l'être et de toutes ses possibilités de réalisation dans toute forme traditionnelle.

La fleur sacrée de l'Égypte

Le papyrus et le lotus, deux plantes aquatiques, représentaient respectivement les royaumes de la Haute et de la Basse Égypte. Selon le mythe égyptien de la création du monde, le lotus est sorti du limon originel et de son calice le divin Créateur. La fleur de lotus s'ouvrant au lever du soleil et se refermant à son coucher, symbolise le dieu du Soleil et l'expansion de la lumière hors du limon originel.

Lieu de naissance et couche nuptiale d'Isis et d'Osiris, il symbolise également la naissance et la re-naissance après la mort. Rien d'étonnant dès lors qu'il orne les colonnes des monuments de l'architecture égyptienne et de ses représentations murales. La colonne symbolise l'Axe de l'Univers d'où partent autant de faisceaux de lotus représentant le plein épanouissement de la manifestation du monde.

Le lotus bleu était davantage estimé que le lotus blanc en raison de l'odeur suave, semblable à celle de la vie divine, qu'il exhalait. Attribut de Néfertem, le dieu de Memphis et le “Seigneur des Parfums”, il était appelé “nen-nufer”, origine de la dénomination française “nénuphar”.

Le lotus dans la tradition hindoue

Dans la tradition hindoue, Vishnu dort à la surface des “Eaux primordiales”. Un lotus rose émerge de son nombril. Au milieu de la fleur se tient Brahmâ.

Le lotus rose (“padma”) associé à Vishnu est un symbole diurne et solaire contrairement au lotus bleu (“utpala”) propre à la nuit et à la lune et en relation avec Shiva.

Ces trois dieux représentent la triple manifestation (“Trimûrti”): Brahmâ le Créateur, Vishnu le Préservateur et Shiva le Destructeur ou plus exactement le Transformateur. La préservation se fait au grand jour tandis que la transformation opère nuitamment.

Ces dieux représentent des principes producteurs du monde manifesté et autant de facettes du dieu Suprême, Brahma. En tant que “Principe Suprême”, Brahma est au-delà de toute distinction entre création, préservation et transformation. Il est neutre alors que Brahmâ, Vishnu et Shiva sont masculins et dotés d'énergies féminines propres (“shakti”) dépeintes respectivement par les trois déesses: Sarasvatî, Lakshmî et Pârvatî.

Lakshmî, “shakti” de Vishnu et déesse du lotus, apparaît debout ou assise sur un lotus, élevant des lotus dans ses mains et entourée de fleurs en boutons ou en corolles. Des perles de pluie tombent de ses mains. Elles symbolisent la descente des “Eaux supérieures” vers les “Eaux inférieures” à la source de la création. Cet aspect est encore davantage souligné sur certaines représentations où des éléphants apparaissent de chaque côté, déversant de l'eau de leurs trompes.

Le Sûtra du Lotus

Dans nombre de représentations, le Bouddha se tient au milieu d'un lotus à huit pétales.

Il est assis sur le moyeu immobile d'une roue à huit rayons qui symbolisent les huit points cardinaux et intermédiaires représentatifs de la manifestation dans toute sa plénitude. Une roue qui évoque les représentations stylisées du lotus ou de la “rouelle celtique”, symboles de la manifestation du monde (circonférence) unie à son Principe immobile (centre). Pour plus de détails à ce sujet, voir le drapeau du Royaume-Uni.

Le maître qui a introduit la doctrine du Bouddha au Tibet au VIIIe siècle de notre ère porte le nom de “Padmasambhava”; (celui qui naquit du lotus).

Le “Sûtra du Lotus” (Lotus de la Loi Véritable) constitue un recueil sanskrit reconnu par le Mahayana comme renfermant les enseignements fondamentaux du Bouddha. À la fois enseignement du Bouddha vivant et enseignement vivant du Bouddha, il expose les nombreuses voies qui mènent à l'Éveil et tout particulièrement: le rôle du Bouddha; les bénéfices retirés des Bodhisattvas; le sens de la nature du Bouddha et l'importance de la foi.

Le lotus, qui pousse dans la boue et la vase pour donner une fleur d'une exquise beauté, dépeint la nature du Bouddha depuis son émanation jusqu'à sa sublime fragrance.

Les voies du Tantra et du Kundalini-Yoga

Selon le Tantra, il y a dans l'être humain un corps subtil parcouru par trois canaux (“nâdis”) joints à leur base. Les canaux latéraux, où s'écoulent des énergies opposées, solaire (“Pingala”) et lunaire (“Ida”), s'enroulent autour du troisième canal neutre (“Sushumnâ”) et de cinq points fondamentaux.

Au nombre total de sept, ces points fondamentaux sont qualifiés de chakras, terme sanskrit qui se traduit littéralement par roues. Assortie de rayons, la roue représente la forme stylisée du lotus. Or, ces centres sont précisément représentés, dans la tradition hindoue, par des lotus distingués par le nombre de leurs pétales.

Au cours de son ascension, la “kundalini”, forme statique de l'énergie subtile, traverse successivement les différents chakras associés aux besoins physiques, psychiques et spirituels pour mener l'être vers la Connaissance véritable et à la pleine Réalisation symbolisées par le lotus à mille pétales.

Dans le Tantra taoïste, la floraison est le résultat d'une alchimie intérieure, du mariage de l'essence (hsin) avec le souffle (ki), du Feu (Li) et de l'Eau (Kan) qui symbolise le retour au centre, à l'unité de l'état primordial représentée par le lotus.