LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Lotus, flower of symbolism

(Summary)

Stylized form of the eight petal lotus

The eight petal lotus

The flower is an emblematic element of symbolism. It represents the female, passive principle of the manifestation, matching the male, active principle. The flower is comparable to the terrestrial substance fertilized by the celestial essence. An assimilation endowing the flower with a role of receptacle of the celestial influence. The blooming of the flower is an image of the appearance and development of beings and things. From the birth of the being into the terrestrial world, the symbol is extended to his rebirth into the celestial light.

The symbol of spiritual blooming

The use of flowers in general and lotus in particular is common in many traditions. From the Mediterranean to India and to China, the symbolic importance of the lotus is manifested in many ways, which are all covering the same meaning.

The lotus blossom depicts the being who has left the obscure water depths for the clarity of the full daylight, the totally accomplished being. The Buddha is often represented sitting at the centre of an eight petal lotus.

The flower calyx represents the receptacle containing everything in an undifferentiated state and where the immutable Principle flows into; the petals of the flower express the blooming of the manifestation of any thing and being described by the eight compass and intermediary points symbolised by the (eight) spokes of the cosmic wheel or the (eight) directions of the wind rose. This representation also evokes the rose and lily ones, two symbols related to the lotus in the West.

Moving from the motionless centre towards the wheel periphery in movement means to manifest oneself to the world. Conversely, going back from the restless periphery to the fixed and non manifested centre indicates the return towards the first state of being, the primeval state, the world unity.

The various traditions do nothing but illustrate this symbolic meaning in different forms.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Lotus, fleur du symbolisme

(Résumé)

Forme stylisée du lotus à huit pétales

Le lotus à huit pétales

La fleur est un élément emblématique du symbolisme. Elle représente le principe féminin, passif de la manifestation, pendant du principe masculin, actif. La fleur est assimilée à la substance terrestre fécondée par l'essence céleste. Une assimilation conférant à la fleur un rôle de réceptacle de l'influence céleste. L'épanouissement de la fleur est une image de la naissance et du développement des êtres et des choses. Après la naissance de l'être au monde terrrestre, le symbole s'étend à sa renaissance à la lumière céleste.

Le symbole de l'épanouissement spirituel

L'usage des fleurs en général et du lotus en particulier est courante dans de nombreuses traditions. De la Méditerranée à l'Inde et à la Chine, l'importance symbolique du lotus se manifeste de bien des manières qui toutes recouvrent un même sens.

La floraison du lotus dépeint l'être qui a quitté les profondeurs des eaux obscures pour la pleine clarté de la lumière du jour, l'être totalement accompli. Le Bouddha est souvent représenté assis au centre d'un lotus à huit pétales.

Le calice de la fleur représente le réceptacle contenant tout à l'état indifférencié et où se déverse le Principe immuable. Les pétales de la fleur expriment l'épanouissement de la manifestation de toute chose et de tout être selon les huit directions cardinales et intermédiaires symbolisées par les (huit) rayons de la roue cosmique ou les (huit) directions de la rose des vents. Cette représentation évoque aussi celles de la rose et du lys, deux symboles apparentés au lotus en Occident.

Se mouvoir du centre immobile vers la périphérie de la roue en mouvement signifie se manifester au monde. Inversement, revenir de la périphérie agitée au centre fixe et non manifesté témoigne du retour vers l'état premier de l'être, l'état primordial, l'unité du monde.

Les diverses traditions ne font qu'illustrer ce sens symbolique sous des formes variées.

Page détaillée

Haut