LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The hidden centre of the labyrinth

(Detailed page)

Summary

Theseus and Icarus myth

Daedalus, an inventive architect, built a vast palace for Minos, the king of Crete, which was open to the sky. It was destined to imprison the Minotaur, a chimera with a human body and a bull's head. Indeed, the king had decided to hide from sight a monster born from a love affair of his spouse, Pasiphae, with Poseidon, God of the underwater world, who appeared to the queen as a magnificent white bull.

The Athenians had to send regularly tribute to the Cretan of seven youths and maidens to be eaten by the Minotaur. The hero, Theseus, took the place of one of them with the intent killingTheseus fighting the Minotaur inside the labyrinth the monster. He was helped in his task by Adriane, daughter of Minos and Pasiphae. Advised by Daedalus, she provided him a thread to find his way back after having defeated the monster. The furious king decided to punish Daedalus and his son, Icarus, and locked them up into the palace. However, the father and son imagined a way of escaping. They fixed wings on their back with wax so they could fly. Before passing through the air, Daedalus warned his son about not flying too high or too low. Nevertheless, having discovered the ecstasy of flying higher and higher, Icarus flew closer to the sun than sensible. The wax melted and Icarus took a nose dive into the waters surrounding Crete's island 1.

One of the most beautiful pictorial representations of this myth is the work of the biggest Flemish artist of the 16th century, Peter Bruegel the elder.

Peter Bruegel's painting (1558)

Called “landscape with Icarus's fall”, the painting is found in the Fine Arts museum in Brussels.

Facing the painting, our eyes immediately focus on the ploughman engrossed in his work. A little lower, a shepherd seems to stand gaping. Even lower, a man is fishing within the estuary. The estuary opens into the sea stretching as far as the horizon and this gives some depth to the painting. Despite the wind filling out the sails of a boat, a great calm emanates from the canvas. A serenity affected by nothing but a detail in the lower right corner. Two legs stirring over the water surface. They belong to a man on the point of drowning. A trivial event apparently, which does not disturb the course of the days.

Nevertheless...If we observe more carefully the painting construction, we see two directions underlining two boundary lines. Firstly, one of the painting's diagonal separates earth from water. Then, the skyline brings out the sun's brightness within the sky from the darker sea. Now, what are our three characters doing ? The ploughman is staring at the ploughed field whereas the fisherman is peering into the deep waters. The third person, the shepherd, he is looking at the sky. Three attitudes which reflect the three landscape elements.

The ploughman observing the soil represents the human or horizontal world, symbolized by the parallel furrows. He used to live in the intermediary world, in between the world of the fisherman bent over the unconsciousness abyssal waters and the world of Consciousness of the herdsman gazing at the sky. Three hierarchic degrees of the existence pictured by the verticality of the tree or boat mast. What does the painting mean really ? Willing to fly too close to the sun (upper world) without being prepared to ends up in the waters (lower world). Or else, that the fall is a necessary step, prior to the rise from the lower waters (infernal world) to the upper waters (upper world). See the Vatican flag article, for more on this subject.

Climbing the different degrees of existence and their multiple states of being goes through a long and difficult initiation process, which is precisely symbolized by the labyrinth.

The labyrinth meaning

The tortuous layout of the labyrinth has a double goal:

  • Allowing the access to the hidden centre after an initiation voyage consisting in going through the windings of the indefinite multiplicity of the states of being or their modes.
  • Forbidding the access to those who are not qualified.

The passage from the periphery to the centre2 is reserved for the being who has overcome the initiation tests and be been granted the revelation of the mysteries:

  • Firstly, discovery of the “little mysteries” or of the being centred within himself. He has got over the duality symbolized by the double nature (half human, half instinctive) of the Minotaur in order to become a true human being.
  • Centred in his own world, the human being may then achieve the higher states of being and access to the “great mysteries” or the world Centre. It is related to the solar symbol of the white bull, the memory of which has been lost within the maze of the unconscious darkness. The human being becomes at once the total being, who has rejoined the supra-human or spiritual state.

The path covered in this journey is made in the image of Adriane's thread, which links the existence states together to the Centre at the origin of their manifestation. The labyrinth represents the initiation path of the passage from darkness to light, from lower to upper waters. It is composed of the succession of deaths within different states of being and re-birth within lower and higher states. Their centres stand on the same vertical axis or World Axis. That is why Daedalus and his son can only fly away from the labyrinth. The flight symbolizes the final exit form the maze and the overcoming of the human state or the fall into the infra human states according the degree of consciousness achieved. The labyrinth is a place where everyone may progress towards Heaven or get lost in the abyssal lower waters.

Chartres' cathedral labyrinthThe labyrinths carved into the cathedral floors often represent, in their middle, either the image or the monogram of their work masters (Amiens) or the Temple of Jerusalem (Saint-Omer). The Temple is related to the pilgrimage to the Holy Land, another initiation form. These drawings are consequently depicting the chosen who have reached the Centre or the Centre itself. Used as a substitute to the pilgrimage to the Holy Land, cathedral labyrinths had to be covered right through upon the knees. The pilgrim moved close to and away from the centre because the progression can not be continuous as it consists in “going forward” and “going back”, “certainties” and “doubts” and “ups” and “downs”. To extend symbolically the journey, the total length of the windings could measure over 285 yards as in Chartres.

Bibliography and discography

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symbols of Sacred Science”, Sophia Perennis Publisher 2004;
  • More specifically, chapter 46 devoted to the frames and labyrinths.
  • René Huyghe:
  • “Powers of the image”, Flammarion Publisher, 1965;
  • Particularly, pages 256-257.
  • Johan Sebastian Bach:
  • “Little Harmonic Labyrinth”, organ music.

1 back Fairy tales are often inspired by myths. Thus, in the tale “Hop-o'-My-Thumb” by Charles Perrault, the woodcutter and his wife have seven boys while the ogre and his spouse have seven girls. The ogre lives in the middle of the forest just as the Minotaur in the middle of labyrinth. The children lose their way in the forest (labyrinth), the exit of which they rediscover thanks to the small stones (Adriane's thread) left on the way by Hop-o'-My-Thumb. The latter will definitively escape the forest with his brothers by putting the ogre's seven-league boots on just as Deadelus and Icarus will leave the labyrinth by fixing wings on their back. Nevertheless, in contrast to Hop-o'-My-Thumb who will make all his family happy, Icarus will not make his father unhappy for, conversely to fairy tales, myths contain no moral.

2 back We may add, from the anecdotal point of view, that the labyrinth drawing constitutes a simple planar graph. Whenever the centre is internal, a very simple rule, called Fleury's algorithm, allows its access without failing. We have only to follow, systematically, the wall on the right (or left) hand while moving forward.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le centre caché du labyrinthe

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Le mythe de Thésée et d'Icare

Dédale, architecte inventif, avait construit pour le roi de Crète, Minos, un immense palais à ciel ouvert. Il était destiné à emprisonner le Minotaure, une chimère au corps d'homme et à la tête de taureau. Le roi avait en effet décidé de soustraire aux regards un monstre né des amours de son épouse, Pasiphaé, avec Poséidon, dieu du monde sous-marin, apparu à la reine sous la forme d'un magnifique taureau blanc.

À intervalles réguliers, les athéniens devaient payer tribut aux crétois et envoyer sept jeunes gens et sept jeunes filles destinés à être offerts en pâture au Minotaure. Le héros, Thésée, prit la place de l'un des jeunes gens avec la ferme intention de tuerThésée combattant le Minotaure dans le labyrinthe le monstre. Il fut aidé dans sa tâche par Ariane, fille de Minos et de Pasiphaé. Sur les conseils de Dédale, elle lui procura un fil pour retrouver son chemin une fois le monstre vaincu. Pris de colère, le roi décida de punir Dédale et son fils Icare en les faisant enfermer dans le palais. Le père et le fils imaginèrent alors un stratagème pour sortir de la place. Ils se fixèrent des ailes sur leur dos à l'aide de cire. Avant de s'envoler, Dédale mit en garde son fils et lui conseilla de voler ni trop haut ni trop bas. Pris de l'ivresse des hauteurs, Icare s'approcha du Soleil plus que de raison. La cire fondit et Icare connut la chute dans les eaux entourant l'île de Crète 1.

Une des plus belles représentations picturales de ce mythe est l'œuvre du plus grand artiste flamand du XVIe siècle, Pierre Bruegel dit l'Ancien.

Le tableau de Pierre Bruegel (1558)

Intitulé “paysage avec la chute d'Icare”, le tableau se trouve au musée des Beaux-arts de Bruxelles.

Face à la peinture, le regard se porte immédiatement sur le laboureur absorbé dans sa tâche. Un peu plus bas, un berger semble bâiller aux corneilles. Plus bas encore, un pêcheur taquine le poisson dans l'estuaire. L'estuaire s'ouvre sur la mer qui s'étend jusqu'à l'horizon et donne de la profondeur au tableau. En dépit du vent qui gonfle les voiles d'un bateau, un grand calme se dégage de la toile. Une sérénité que rien ne trouble si ce n'est un détail dans l'angle inférieur droit. Deux jambes qui s'agitent à la surface de l'eau. Elles appartiennent à un homme sur le point d'être englouti. En apparence, il ne s'agit que d'un fait divers ne perturbant en rien le cours des jours.

Et pourtant...Si nous observons plus attentivement la construction du tableau, nous voyons que deux directions dessinent deux lignes de démarcation. Tout d'abord, une des diagonales du tableau sépare la terre des flots. Ensuite, la ligne d'horizon détache la clarté du soleil dans le ciel de la mer plus sombre. Or, que font nos personnages ? Le laboureur fixe le sillon tracé sur le sol tandis que le pêcheur scrute les eaux profondes. Quant au troisième personnage, le berger gardien du troupeau, il se tourne vers le ciel. Trois regards en relation avec les trois éléments du paysage.

Le laboureur qui regarde la terre représente le monde humain ou horizontal, symbolisé par les sillons parallèles. Il vit dans le monde intermédiaire entre le monde du pêcheur penché sur les abysses de l'inconscient et le monde de la Conscience du berger contemplant le ciel. Trois degrés dans l'existence formant une hiérarchie à l'image de la verticalité de l'arbre ou du mât du navire. Passer du monde humain au monde supérieur ou inférieur équivaut à l'ascension ou à la chute. Que signifie en réalité le tableau ? A vouloir se frotter de trop près au soleil (monde supérieur) sans y être préparé, on risque la chute dans les eaux (monde inférieur). Ou encore que la chute est une étape nécessaire et préalable à la remontée des eaux inférieures (monde infernal) vers les eaux supérieures (monde céleste). Voir à ce sujet le drapeau du Vatican.

Gravir les différents degrés de l'existence et ses multiples états d'être passe par une initiation longue et difficile que symbolise précisément le labyrinthe.

Le sens du labyrinthe

Le tracé tortueux du labyrinthe répond à un double dessein:

  • Autoriser l'accès à un centre caché après avoir parcouru les méandres de la multiplicité indéfinie des états d'être ou de leurs modalités, symboles du voyage initiatique.
  • Interdire l'accès à ceux qui ne sont pas qualifiés.

Le passage de la périphérie au centre2 est réservé à l'être qui a surmonté les épreuves initiatiques et s'est montré digne de la révélation des mystères:

  • Découverte des “petits mystères” tout d'abord ou de l'être centré en lui-même. Il a dépassé la dualité, symbolisée par la double nature (mi-humaine, mi-instinctive) du Minotaure pour devenir véritablement un être humain.
  • Centré dans son propre monde, l'être humain peut ensuite atteindre les états d'être supérieurs et accéder aux “grands mystères” ou au Centre du monde. Il est associé au symbole solaire du taureau blanc dont le souvenir s'est perdu dans le dédale des ténèbres de l'inconscient. L'être humain devient alors l'être total qui a rejoint l'état supra-humain ou spirituel.

Le chemin parcouru est à l'image du fil d'Ariane qui relie entre eux tous les états de l'existence et ces derniers au Centre à l'origine de leur manifestation. Le labyrinthe représente le parcours initiatique du passage des ténèbres à la lumière, des eaux inférieures aux eaux supérieures. Il est constitué de morts successives dans différents états d'être et de re-naissances dans des états inférieurs ou supérieurs. Leurs centres se situent sur un même axe vertical ou Axe du Monde. C'est pourquoi Dédale et son fils ne peuvent que s'envoler du labyrinthe. L'envol symbolise la sortie définitive du labyrinthe et le dépassement de l'état humain ou la chute dans les états infra-humains en fonction du degré de conscience atteint. Le labyrinthe est un lieu où chacun peut progresser vers le ciel ou s'égarer et se perdre dans les abysses des eaux inférieures.

Labyrinthe de la cathédrale de ChartresLes labyrinthes tracés sur le dallage des cathédrales figurent souvent en leur milieu soit l'image ou le monogramme des maîtres d'œuvre (Amiens), soit le Temple de Jérusalem (Saint-Omer). Le Temple est associé au pèlerinage en Terre Sainte, une autre forme d'initiation. Ces dessins représentent en conséquence les élus qui ont atteint le Centre ou le Centre lui-même. Véritable substitut au pèlerinage en Terre Sainte, les labyrinthes des cathédrales étaient destinés à être parcourus de bout en bout, sans interruption, sur les genoux. Le pèlerin s'éloignait et s'approchait successivement du centre car la progression, faite “d'avancées” et de “reculs”, de “doutes” et de “certitudes”, de “hauts” et de “bas”, ne saurait être continue. Afin de prolonger symboliquement le voyage, la longueur totale des méandres pouvait mesurer plus de 260 mètres comme à Chartres.

Bibliographie et discographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symboles de la Science sacrée”. Éditions Gallimard 1962;
  • Notamment, le chapitre LXVI consacré aux encadrements et labyrinthes.
  • René Huyghe:
  • “Les puissances de l'image”. Éditions Flammarion 1965;
  • Lire particulièrement les pages 256-257.
  • Johan Sebastian Bach:
  • “Petit Labyrinthe Harmonique”, musique pour orgue.

1 retour Les contes s'inspirent souvent des grands mythes. Ainsi, dans le conte “Le Petit Poucet” de Charles Perrault, le bûcheron et sa femme ont sept garçons tandis que l'ogre et son épouse ont sept filles. L'ogre vit au milieu de la forêt tout comme le Minotaure au milieu de labyrinthe. Les enfants se perdent dans la forêt (labyrinthe) dont ils retrouvent la sortie grâce aux petits cailloux (fil d'Ariane) laissés en chemin par le Petit Poucet. Ce dernier s'échappera définitivement de la forêt avec ses frères en enfilant les bottes de sept lieues de l'ogre tout comme Dédale et Icare quitteront le labyrinthe en fixant des ailes sur leur dos. Toutefois, contrairement au Petit Poucet qui fera le bonheur de toute sa famille, Icare ne rendra pas son père malheureux car, à l'inverse des contes, les mythes ne renferment pas de morale.

2 retour Notons, à titre purement anecdotique, que le dessin d'un labyrinthe constitue un graphe simple planaire. Si le centre est intérieur, une règle particulièrement simple, dite algorithme de Fleury, permet d'y accéder sans faille. Il suffit de suivre systématiquement le mur se trouvant à main droite (ou gauche) dans le sens de la marche.

Haut