LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Heart, world and being's centre

(Detailed page)

Summary

The heart receptacle

The heart resides within the being as the cave in the hollow of the mountain. Now, if the mountain is generally represented by a triangle pointing upwards (Δ), the heart and the cave are symbolized by a triangle pointing downwards (∇). Represented in this way, the heart suggests a receptacle not only able to take the form of a cave, but also of a vase or a cup.

The cave at the heart of the mountain

Located in the hollow of the mountain visible from anywhere, the cave is a hidden place inaccessible to profanes and reserved for initiated beings only.

The cave is a representation of the cosmic world (macrocosm) where the ground symbolizes Earth and the vault Heaven. The physical being that enters into the cave will go through two more births besides the physical one:

  • A birth of psychical order to become a true human being, that means centred within himself;
  • A birth of spiritual order to come to be a total being, i.e. centred in the world.

Mountain and caveIf the first birth takes place in the cave, the second corresponds to a way out of the cave, of the cosmic world, alongside a vertical axis linking the initiated being to the summit of the mountain and beyond.

The “cavity of the heart” is made in the image of the cave where the initiated being receives the influences of the world beyond. Moreover, it is not by chance that the “cavity of the heart” and the cavity of the mountain have the same Sanskrit root guha.

The heart is usually considered as the centre of life. If it is unquestionably true in the physical and physiological order, it is equally true in a superior order. In the Hindu tradition for instance, the heart is not only the residence of the living soul (jivatma), but also of the manifestation of the Principle at the source of everything, of the “Self” (Atma) in life (jiva). In other words, the supra-human remains asleep in the heart of the human being. The heart symbolizes the Union, in the sense of the word Yoga, of the human with the supra-human, the individual with the universal.

Consequently, any manifestation order potentially contains the development possibilities in the superior order. In the world of the individual (microcosm), the physic warms up the psychic, the psychic the spiritual and the spiritual the world beyond, the non-manifested world. This also holds true for the cosmic world (macrocosm).

If the World Egg constitutes the germ of the world manifestation, the cave or the “cavity of the heart” represents the matrix of the development of all possibilities of the being. Nevertheless, the heart conceals these possibilities at a potential state only and it is up to the being himself to make them alive.

The sealed vase in the Egyptian tradition

In the Egyptian tradition, the mountain could only be represented by the pyramid and the cave or the “cavity of the heart” by the inner chamber situated at the vertical of the summit of the structure.

The inner chamber preserved the place devoted to the initiation to the mysteries from the curious eyes. The accomplishment of the rites was the concern of an organization, guardian of a knowledge going back to the primeval tradition of non human origin. The realization of the “little mysteries” allowed the initiated being as well as the qualified profane to fully attain the human being states; the access to the “great mysteries” was only reserved to the initiated beings able to discover the supra-human states.

The access to the supra-human states opened the heart of the initiated being to the knowledge of the Principle at the source of everything. A knowledge dozing in the being's heart at a potential, virtual state.

The hieroglyph representing the heart was a sealed vase (Sealed vase). The vase was full or empty depending on the way it was observed:

  • For the uninitiated, the vase could only be full of (manifested) things;
  • For the initiated, the vase was empty (of any manifestation), but full (of non-manifested).

The vase was sealed to place its content out of profanes' eyes and make it accessible to initiated beings only. The discovery of the initiatic “secret” stands beyond appearances and its major feature consists in its inalienability.

Judgment of the deadThe heart played an essential role in the Egyptian tradition: it was the centre of life, will and understanding within each being. Mummified, the body kept the heart as single organ. At the time of the judgment of the dead, the god Anubis checked, while the god of the dead Osiris looked on, if the heart of the defunct was lighter than the feather of the Maat, i.e. the Rule governing the cosmic world. It was a matter to make sure that the heart was freed from the earthly gravities to reach the atmosphere lightness and, especially, the imponderable celestial clarity.

Thanks to the initiation rites, the beings were able to apply to the individual (microcosm) level the rules ensuring the smooth running of the cosmic world (macrocosm). Thus, the initiated being became answerable for the harmony between the world beyond and the world below. The most important was not to fight the evil forces here below, but to initiate the beings to the mysteries of the world beyond. The ancient Egyptians had understood that in order to improve the society, it was firstly necessary to improve oneself.

The cup in the quest of the Holy Grail

The quest of the Holy Grail is sufficiently known not to be mentioned here in its totality. The legend, going back to the 12th century, is a Christian written adaptation, the traces of which date back to the Celtic oral tradition.

Holy GrailThe Holy Grail is the cup that would have been firstly used for the celebration of the Holy Last Supper and then to collect Christ's blood at his crucifixion. Joseph of Arimathea presented the cup of the last supper to the flank of Jesus on the cross. The cup symbolizes the Heart of Christ from which gushed the “immortality fountain”. In some representations, the cup itself rests on a stem crossed by three rings symbolizing the manifestation of the three worlds (terrestrial, intermediary and celestial) and the three orders (physical, psychic and spiritual) associated with the being. It is an image of the Principle, of the One or God at the origin of the cosmic world.

According to the legend, the cup was cut by the angels in the emerald which fell from Lucifer's forehead at the time of his fall into hell.

This stone echoes the third eye of Shiva.Third eye This central eye that sees everything in the eternal present is associated with the Principle, the Unity at the origin of the dualistic manifestation of the world symbolized by the binocular vision.

Then, the Grail was confided to Adam in the Garden of Eden. It was his turn to lose it after having been turned out of the Garden of Eden. During his fall, Adam abandoned his heavenly nature, his centred, unified state, to discover his ordinary condition of a divided being that only saw the world through the angle of duality.

It follows that the possessor of the Grail was also the guardian of the primeval tradition. Its loss inevitably led to the fall, the remoteness from the Centre symbolized by the Garden of Eden or the summit of the mountain. Its transmission, on the other hand, was associated with the tradition and the reintegration into the original state.

Afterwards, the cup was successively transmitted before ending up in the hands of Christ. At Jesus's death, it was carried by Joseph of Arimathea and Nicodemus to the Breton's country where the famous epic of King Arthur and Knights of the Round Table began. After many events, the Grail was raised to Heaven where it rediscovered its original place. That also meant that the primeval tradition under its manifested form was lost or concealed for beings. Nevertheless, it is still present in the Heart of Christ and, at a potential state, in the heart of beings who are thirsty for the knowledge collected at the source.

The blazing heart

The heart is an image of the World Centre from which everything radiates. It represents the World in its unified state where things and beings are not dissociated. It symbolizes the universal Intelligence (from the Latin Intellegere meaning taking together) that governs the World. During the passage from the universal to the individual, from the World to the being, Intelligence produces consciousness. Although originating in the Principle, consciousness is restricted to the individual sphere and can not be extended to the universal one. It follows that beings will only be able to seize the meaning of Intelligence by going back to the original source. They will then reestablish the communication with the “World Heart” proper to the edenic state.

The faculties of universal and individual knowledge are respectively Intelligence and reason. The first one results from the heart, the second from the brain. And the heart is at the Sun what the brain is at the Moon:

  • As the Sun, the celestial fire, the heart irradiates light and warmth. Intelligence is beyond reason, a light source without warmth. Do we not speak of the cold reason ? It is also beyond feelings, source of warmth without light. Do we not say that love is blind ? Indeed, true Love is as far away from feelings as Intelligence is from reason. Feelings vary with mood, time, positions etc. Love, for its part, remains intangible. It is not only a matter of loving the other, even were he God, as oneself, but to be oneself Love.
  • In the same way that the Moon that does nothing but reflect the Sun light, the reason is only a pale individual reflection of the universal Intelligence. Does the cerebral activity not consist in reflection ? Intelligence sends the being beyond himself, reflection does nothing but send him back to himself. The current triumph of the individual and reason alone leads to the negation of any supra-individual order and cuts the being from the access to the true Intelligence, the only one that actually governs the World.

Reason alone considerably reduces the field of vision of the being. Analyses, classifications and too seldom syntheses alone obscure more than illuminate the global view and too often lead to a narrow-mindedness rarely reached in History. Indeed, everything is opposing intelligible and rational knowledge, even if they complement each other from a broader perspective:

  • The knowledge of the heart corresponds to the intuitive and direct perception of the intelligible Light proper to the spiritual domain;
  • The knowledge of the mind is limited to the thought in a discursive and reflected mode, only perceiving the ordinary light, which is characteristic of the material domain.

The blazing heartThe blazing heart radiates at once light and warmth, Intelligence and Love. These radiances respectively correspond to two initiatory paths of the Hindu tradition: the way of the Brahmans and the way of the Kshatriyas. Nevertheless, both ways are only one in reality. Indeed, they constitute two stages of a single axial path linking Earth and Heaven, the cosmos and the Principle, the image of which is lying inside the world and being's heart.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symbols of Sacred Science”, Sophia Perennis Publisher 2004;
  • Notably, chapters 30 on “The Heart and the Cave”, 69 on “Radiating Heart and Flaming Heart”, 70 on “Heart and brain”, 72 on “The All-Seeing Eye” and, more generally, all chapters devoted to the heart symbolism.
  • “The King of the World”, Sophia Perennis Publisher 2001;
  • In particular, chapter 5 related to “The symbolism of the Grail”.
Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Cœur, centre du monde et de l'être

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Le cœur réceptacle

Le cœur réside au sein de l'être comme la caverne au creux de la montagne. Or, si la montagne est généralement représentée par un triangle pointant vers le haut (Δ), le cœur et la caverne sont symbolisés par un triangle pointant vers le bas (∇). Sous cette apparence, le cœur suggère un réceptacle pouvant prendre la forme non seulement d'une caverne, mais aussi d'un vase ou d'une coupe.

La caverne au cœur de la montagne

Située au creux de la montagne visible de toutes parts, la caverne est un lieu caché inaccessible aux profanes et réservé aux seuls initiés.

La caverne est une représentation du monde cosmique (macrocosme) où le sol symbolise la Terre et la voûte le Ciel. L'être physique qui entre dans la caverne est appelé à connaître deux naissances autres que physique:

  • Une naissance d'ordre psychique pour devenir un être véritablement humain, c'est-à-dire centré en lui-même;
  • Une naissance d'ordre spirituel pour en faire un être total, c'est-à-dire centré dans le monde.

Montagne et caverneSi la première naissance a lieu dans la caverne, la seconde correspond à une sortie de la caverne, du monde cosmique, le long d'un axe vertical reliant l'initié au sommet de la montagne et au-delà.

La “cavité du cœur” est à l'image de la caverne où l'initié reçoit les influences de l'au-delà. D'ailleurs, ce n'est pas par hasard si la “cavité du cœur” et la cavité de la montagne ont la même racine sanscrite guhâ.

Le cœur est habituellement considéré comme le centre de la vie. S'il l'est incontestablement dans l'ordre physique et physiologique, il l'est également dans un ordre supérieur. Dans la tradition hindoue par exemple, le cœur est non seulement la résidence de l'âme vivante (jîvâtmâ), mais aussi de la manifestation du Principe à la source de tout, du “Soi” (Âtmâ) dans la vie (jîvâ). Autrement dit, le supra-humain demeure en sommeil dans le cœur de l'être humain. Le cœur symbolise l'Union, au sens du mot Yoga, de l'humain avec le supra-humain, de l'individuel avec l'universel.

En conséquence, tout ordre de manifestation contient virtuellement les possibilités de développement dans l'ordre supérieur. Dans le monde de l'individu (microcosme), le physique prélude au psychique, le psychique au spirituel et le spirituel au monde de l'au-delà, au monde non manifesté. Il en est de même pour le monde cosmique (macrocosme).

Si l'Oeuf du Monde constitue le germe de la manifestation du monde, la caverne ou la “cavité du cœur” représente la matrice du développement de toutes les possibilités de l'être. Toutefois, le cœur ne recèle ces possibilités qu'à l'état potentiel et il revient à l'être lui-même de les faire naître.

Le vase scellé dans la tradition égyptienne

Dans la tradition égyptienne, la montagne ne pouvait être représentée que par la pyramide et la caverne ou la “cavité du cœur” par la chambre intérieure située à la verticale du sommet de l'édifice.

La chambre intérieure préservait des regards extérieurs le lieu dévolu à l'initiation aux mystères. L'accomplissement des rites relevait d'une organisation dépositaire d'une connaissance remontant à la tradition primordiale d'origine non humaine. La réalisation des “petits mystères” permettait aux initiés comme aux profanes qualifiés d'accéder à la plénitude des états d'être humains; l'accès aux “grands mystères” était réservé aux seuls initiés à même de découvrir les états supra-humains.

L'accès aux états supra-humains ouvrait le cœur des initiés à la connaissance du Principe à la source de toutes choses. Une connaissance sommeillant dans le cœur des êtres à l'état potentiel, virtuel.

Le hiéroglyphe représentant le cœur était un vase scellé (Vase scellé). Le vase était plein ou vide selon le regard porté sur lui:

  • Pour le regard extérieur, le vase ne pouvait qu'être plein de choses (manifestées);
  • Pour le regard intérieur, le vase était vide (de toute manifestation), mais plein (de non manifesté).

Le vase était scellé pour soustraire son contenu aux regards des profanes et le rendre accessible aux seuls initiés. La découverte du “secret” initiatique se situe au-delà des apparences et son trait le plus marquant réside dans son incommunicabilité.

Jugement des mortsLe cœur a joué un rôle primordial dans la tradition égyptienne: il était le centre de la vie, de la volonté et de l'entendement au sein de chaque être. Momifié, le corps conservait le cœur pour seul organe. Lors du jugement des trépassés, le dieu Anubis vérifiait, sous le regard du dieu des morts Osiris, si le cœur du défunt était plus léger que la plume de la Maât, c'est-à-dire que la Règle gouvernant le monde cosmique. Il s'agissait de s'assurer que le cœur s'était affranchi des pesanteurs terrestres pour atteindre la légèreté propre à l'atmosphère et, surtout, l'impondérable clarté céleste.

Grâce aux rites d'initiation, les êtres étaient capables d'appliquer à l'échelle de l'individu (microcosme) les règles assurant la bonne marche du monde cosmique (macrocosme). L'initié devenait ainsi un garant de l'harmonie entre les mondes d'en haut et d'en bas. L'important n'était pas de combattre les forces du mal ici bas, mais plutôt d'initier les êtres aux mystères de l'au-delà. Les anciens égyptiens avaient compris que pour améliorer la société, il fallait d'abord s'améliorer soi-même.

La coupe dans la quête du Saint Graal

La quête du Saint Graal est suffisamment connue pour ne pas être reprise ici dans son intégralité. La légende, datant du XIIe siècle, est une adaptation écrite chrétienne dont les traces remontent à la tradition orale celtique.

Saint GraalLe Saint Graal est la coupe qui aurait servi d'abord à la célébration de la Sainte Cène, puis à recueillir le sang Christ au moment de sa crucifixion. Joseph d'Arimathie présenta la coupe du dernier repas au flanc de Jésus sur la croix. La coupe symbolise le Cœur du Christ d'où a jailli la “fontaine d'immortalité”. Dans certaines représentations, la coupe proprement dite repose sur une jambe traversée par trois anneaux symbolisant la manifestation des trois mondes (terrestre, intermédiaire et céleste) et des trois ordres associés à l'être (physique, psychique et spirituel). Elle est une image du Principe, de l'Un ou Dieu à l'origine du monde cosmique.

Selon la légende, la coupe fut taillée par les anges dans l'émeraude tombée du front de Lucifer lors de sa chute dans les enfers.

Cette pierre fait écho au troisième œil de Shiva.Troisième œil Cet œil central qui voit tout dans l'éternel présent est associé au Principe, à l'Unité à l'origine de la manifestation dualiste du monde symbolisée par la vision binoculaire.

Le Graal fut ensuite confié à Adam dans le Paradis terrestre. Il le perdit à son tour après avoir été chassé du jardin d'Eden. Au cours de sa chute, Adam a abandonné sa nature paradisiaque, son état centré, unifié pour découvrir sa condition ordinaire d'être divisé ne voyant plus le monde que sous l'angle de la dualité.

Il s'ensuit que le détenteur du Graal était aussi le dépositaire de la tradition primordiale. Sa perte conduisait inévitablement à la chute, à l'éloignement du Centre symbolisé par le Paradis terrestre ou le sommet de la montagne. Sa transmission, par contre, était associée à celle de la tradition et à la réintégration dans l'état originel.

Par la suite, la coupe fut successivement transmise avant d'aboutir dans les mains du Christ. À la mort de Jésus, Joseph d'Arimathie et Nicodème la transportèrent jusqu'en pays breton où commença la célèbre épopée du Roi Arthur et des Chevaliers de la Table Ronde. Après moult péripéties, le Graal fut élevé jusqu'au Ciel où il retrouva sa place originelle. Cela signifiait aussi que la tradition primordiale sous sa forme manifestée était perdue ou occultée pour les hommes. Et pourtant, elle est toujours présente dans le Cœur du Christ et, à l'état virtuel, dans le cœur des êtres assoiffés de la connaissance recueillie à la source.

Le cœur flamboyant

Le cœur est une image du Centre du Monde d'où tout rayonne. Il représente le Monde dans son état unifié où les choses et les êtres ne sont pas dissociés. Il symbolise l'Intelligence universelle (du latin Intellegere signifiant com-prendre ou prendre ensemble) qui gouverne le Monde. Durant le passage de l'universel à l'individuel, du Monde à l'être, l'Intelligence produit la conscience. Bien que procédant du Principe, la conscience est restreinte à la sphère individuelle et ne saurait être étendue à la sphère universelle. Il s'ensuit que les êtres ne pourront saisir le véritable sens de l'Intelligence qu'en remontant à la source originelle. Ils rétabliront alors la communication avec le “Cœur du Monde” propre à l'état édénique.

Les facultés de la connaissance universelle et individuelle sont respectivement l'Intelligence et la raison. La première est le fait du cœur, la seconde du cerveau. Et le Cœur est au Soleil ce que le cerveau est à la Lune:

  • Comme le Soleil, le feu céleste, le cœur irradie lumière et chaleur. L'Intelligence est au-delà de la raison, source de lumière sans chaleur. Ne parlons nous pas de la froide raison ? Elle est aussi au-delà des sentiments, source de chaleur sans lumière. Ne disons nous pas que l'amour est aveugle ? En fait, l'Amour véritable est aussi éloigné des sentiments que l'Intelligence l'est de la raison. Les sentiments varient avec l'humeur, le temps, les situations etc. L'Amour quant à lui reste intangible. Il ne consiste pas seulement à aimer l'autre, fût-il Dieu, comme soi-même, mais à être soi-même Amour.
  • Comme la Lune qui ne fait que refléter la lumière du Soleil, la raison n'est qu'un pâle reflet individuel de l'Intelligence universelle. L'activité cérébrale ne consiste-t-elle pas à réfléchir ? L'Intelligence envoie l'être au-delà de lui-même, la réflexion ne fait que le renvoyer à lui-même. Le triomphe actuel du seul individu et de la seule raison conduit à la négation de tout ordre supra-individuel et coupe l'être de l'accès à l'Intelligence véritable, la seule qui gouverne réellement le Monde.

La seule raison réduit considérablement le champ de vision de l'être. Les seuls analyses, classements et trop rares synthèses obscurcissent la vue globale plus qu'ils ne l'éclairent et conduisent trop souvent à une étroitesse d'esprit rarement égalée dans l'histoire. En fait, tout oppose connaissances intelligible et rationnelle, même si elles se complètent dans une perspective plus large:

  • La connaissance du cœur correspond à la perception intuitive et directe de la Lumière intelligible propre au domaine spirituel;
  • La connaissance du mental se limite à la pensée en mode discursif et réfléchi ne percevant que la lumière ordinaire caractéristique du domaine matériel.

Le cœur flamboyantLe cœur flamboyant dispense à la fois lumière et chaleur, Intelligence et Amour. Ces rayonnements correspondent respectivement aux deux voies initiatiques de la tradition hindoue: la voie des Brahmanes et celle des Kshatriyas. Toutefois, ces deux voies n'en font qu'une en réalité. En effet, elles constituent deux étapes d'une même voie axiale reliant la Terre et le Ciel, le cosmos et le Principe dont l'image repose au cœur du monde et de l'être.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symboles de la Science sacrée”. Éditions Gallimard 1962;
  • Notamment, les chapitres XXX sur “Le Cœur et la Caverne ”, LXIX sur “Le cœur rayonnant et le cœur enflammé”, LXX sur “Cœur et cerveau”, LXXII sur “L'Oeil qui voit tout” et, plus généralement, tous les chapitres consacrés au symbolisme du cœur.
  • “Le Roi du Monde”. Éditions Gallimard 1958;
  • En particulier, le chapitre V sur “Le symbolisme du Graal”.
Haut