LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The Mayan ball game

(Summary)

Story of the twin brothers

Mesoamerica mapMesoamerica gathers regions sharing the same cultural characters. Marked by the Mayan civilization, it stretched over a territory as big as France divided onto five modern states (Southern Mexico, Guatemala, Belize and Western parts of El Salvador and Honduras).

Mayan land is inhabited by gods as attested by the constructions of its occupants. Their divine character is reflected in the temples rising to the sky as well as the game courts stretching on earth. Paintings on containers and ceramics, carvings on stone monuments and retranscribed testimonies have helped to lift the veil on the progress of the ball game among Mayas.

The majority of ball game courts were built between the third and the ninth century our era. Shortly after the arrival of the Spaniards in Maya's land, most of the game courts were located on the highlands of Guatemala, among the Quiche. The key to understanding the role of the ball game is located in the texts assembled in the “Popol Vuh” (The Book of Councel). This book, written in a symbolic language, recounts the myth and the history of the genesis of the Quiche people, the most important group of Guatemala. Although this document dates back to the Spanish colonization, it remains faithful to the spirit of the Mayan people.

The two twin brothers

The first part of the “Popol Vuh” is about two twin brothers, Hun Hunahpu (Supreme Master Magician) and Vukub Hunahpu (Principal Master Magician) who were playing ball at the entrance of the underground world. Disturbed by the noise, the Lords of the place invited them to play together. Abused, both brothers lost their lives after having suffered a number of tests, including the ball game. Hun Hunahpu (Supreme Master Magician) was beheaded and his head suspended in a tree which should not be approached. One day, the daughter of one of the Lords of the underground world was passing by the tree. Attracted by its fruit, she came closer to pick some. The head took advantage of the situation by spitting in her hand and making her pregnant with his saliva.

Fearing the wrath of her father, the young girl fled the underground world and joined the mother of the twins who had been left for dead. She gave birth to twins, Hunahpu (Master Magician) and Xbalanque (Little Sorcerer). The latter found the equipment of the ball game of their father and uncle and began to play, just as loudly, before the entrance of the underground world. They were, in their turn, invited to come and show their art of playing to the Lords of darkness. Alerted, they managed to foil the traps set by the Lords of the underground world, even the one where Hunahpu (Master Magician) was beheaded by the Bat of Death 1. His head was placed on the ball game court.

The Lords of the underground world decided to use the head as a ball to confront Xbalanque (Little Sorcerer). The latter turned to a subterfuge consisting in taking as a ball a jumping rabbit. While the Lords were running after the rabbit, Xbalanque (Little Sorcerer) made a copy of his brother's head with the help of the Heaven Powers. His opponents came back and found the ball. They started playing again and became equal. When Xbalanque (Little Sorcerer) struck the copy at the right time, it smashed into pieces like a pottery and the Lords had to withdraw.

The twin brothers did not succumb during all the trials, Hun Hunahpu (Supreme Master Magician) having revived meanwhile. Nevertheless, they sacrificed themselves on the altar of the world of darkness 2 and their remains were thrown into the river. The remains were gathered together in the river bed and the twins came back to life. They decided to avenge their father and uncle for all evils they had to suffer. They dressed up as beggars and used all kinds of spells, the fame of which came to the ears of the Lords of the underground world. After having played hard to get, they went to their home. They impressed the Lords by sacrificing an animal, then a person and raising them from the dead. The Lords asked a beggar to kill his acolyte and to bring him back to life. The other beggar did the same. The prodigy accomplished, the Lords asked to be killed and brought back to life. The Lords were killed and their bodies abandoned to the underground world. The twins revived their father and uncle and went to Heaven where one became the Sun and the other the Moon 3.

1 back The beheading means the separation of the head, the manifestation of the spirit, from the rest of the body, the manifestation of the material. It is not a matter of physical death, but of Death to a being's state to be re-born in a higher one. This symbolic step is essential to get out of the underground world and reach the celestial world. Hunahpu (Master Magician) is dead in the eyes of the Lords of the underground world only, for they know no other world than the terrestrial world.

2 back Here, it is a question of sacrifice of the beings who accept to descend into the underground world, the world of the dead to be re-born in the celestial world.

3 back As in many traditions, it is a matter here of a cosmological sacrifice or a disintegration of the being followed by a reintegration into something huger, the cosmic order. While sacrificing himself, the Primeval being gives his life and makes sacred (from the Latin sacrum facere) the astral bodies and entire Cosmos.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Jeu de balle ou pelote maya

(Résumé)

Histoire des frères jumeaux

Carte de la mésoamériqueLa Mésoamérique rassemble des régions partageant les mêmes caractères culturels. Marquée par la civilisation maya, elle s'étendait sur un territoire grand comme la France réparti sur cinq états modernes (Sud du Mexique, Guatemala, Belize et les parties occidentales du Salvador et de l'Honduras).

La terre maya est habitée par les dieux comme l'attestent les réalisations de ses occupants. Leur caractère divin concerne aussi bien les temples s'élevant vers le ciel que les terrains de jeu s'étendant sur la terre. Les peintures sur les récipients et les céramiques, les sculptures sur les monuments de pierre et les témoignages retranscrits ont permis de soulever le voile sur le déroulement du jeu de balle chez les Mayas.

La majorité des terrains de jeu de balle furent construits entre le IIIe et le IXe siècle de notre ère. Peu après l'arrivée des espagnols en terre maya, la plupart des terrains de jeu étaient situés sur les hautes terres du Guatemala, chez les Quiche. La clé qui permet de comprendre le rôle du jeu de balle se trouve dans les textes rassemblés dans le “Popol Vuh” (Le Livre du Conseil). Ce livre, écrit dans un langage symbolique, raconte le mythe et l'histoire de la genèse du peuple Quiche, le groupe le plus important du Guatemala. Bien que ce document date de la colonisation espagnole, il reste fidèle à l'esprit du peuple maya.

Les deux jumeaux

Dans la première partie du “Popol Vuh”, il est question de deux frères jumeaux, Hun Hunahpu (Suprême Maître Magicien) et Vukub Hunahpu (Principal Maître Magicien) qui jouaient à la balle à l'entrée du monde souterrain. Dérangés par le bruit, les Seigneurs du lieu les convièrent à venir les retrouver pour jouer ensemble. Abusés, les deux frères perdirent la vie après avoir subi nombre d'épreuves dont celle du jeu de balle. Hun Hunahpu (Suprême Maître Magicien) fut décapité et sa tête suspendue à un arbre avec interdiction de l'approcher. Un jour, la fille de l'un des Seigneurs du monde souterrain passa devant l'arbre. Attirée pas ses fruits, elle s'approcha pour en cueillir. La tête profita de l'occasion pour lui cracher dans la main et la féconder avec sa salive.

Redoutant la fureur de son père, la jeune fille s'enfuit du monde souterrain et rejoignit la mère des deux jumeaux laissés pour morts. Elle donna naissance à deux jumeaux, Hunahpu (Maître Magicien) et Xbalanque (Petit Sorcier). Ces derniers trouvèrent les équipements du jeu de balle de leurs père et oncle et se mirent à jouer, tout aussi bruyamment, devant l'entrée du monde souterrain. Ils furent, à leur tour, invités à venir montrer leur art du jeu aux Seigneurs des ténèbres. Alertés, ils réussirent à déjouer les pièges tendus par les Seigneurs du monde souterrain, même celui où Hunahpu (Maître Magicien) fut décapité par Chauve-Souris de la Mort 1. Sa tête fut placée sur le terrain du jeu de balle.

Les Seigneurs du monde souterrain décidèrent d'utiliser la tête comme balle pour affronter Xbalanque (Petit Sorcier). Celui-ci recourut à un subterfuge consistant à prendre pour balle un lapin sautillant. Pendant que les Seigneurs couraient après le lapin, Xbalanque (Petit Sorcier) fit une copie de la tête de son avec l'aide des Puissances du Ciel. Ses adversaires revinrent et trouvèrent la balle. Ils recommencèrent à jouer et furent à égalité. Lorsque Xbalanque (Petit Sorcier) frappa la copie au moment opportun, elle vola en éclats comme de la poterie et les Seigneurs durent déclarer forfait.

Les frères jumeaux ne succombèrent pas au cours de toutes les épreuves endurées, Hun Hunahpu (Suprême Maître Magicien) ayant ressuscité entretemps. Ils se sacrifièrent néanmoins sur l'autel du monde des ténèbres 2 et leurs restes furent jetés dans la rivière. Les restes se rassemblèrent dans le lit de la rivière et les jumeaux revinrent à la vie. Ils décidèrent de venger leurs père et oncle pour tous les maux dont ils avaient souffert. Ils se déguisèrent en mendiants et accomplirent toutes sortes de sortilèges dont la renommée parvint aux oreilles des Seigneurs du monde souterrain. Après s'être faits longtemps désirés, ils se rendirent chez eux. Ils impressionnèrent les Seigneurs en sacrifiant un animal, puis une personne et en les ressuscitant. Les Seigneurs demandèrent à un mendiant de tuer son acolyte et de le ramener à la vie. L'autre mendiant fit de même. Le prodige accompli, les Seigneurs demandèrent à être tués et ranimés. Les Seigneurs furent tués et leurs dépouilles abandonnées au monde souterrain. Les jumeaux ressuscitèrent leur père et oncle et s'élevèrent vers le Ciel où l'un devint le Soleil et l'autre la Lune 3.

1 retour La décapitation signifie la séparation de la tête, manifestation de l'esprit, du reste du corps, manifestation de la matière. Il ne s'agit pas de la mort physique, mais de la Mort à un état d'être pour re-naître dans un état supérieur. Cette étape symbolique est indispensable pour sortir du monde souterrain et atteindre le monde céleste. Hunahpu (Maître Magicien) n'est mort qu'aux yeux des Seigneurs du monde souterrain qui ne connaissent comme autre monde que le monde terrestre.

2 retour Il est question ici du sacrifice des êtres qui acceptent de descendre dans le monde souterrain, le monde des morts pour re-naître dans le monde céleste.

3 retour Comme dans nombre de traditions, il s'agit ici d'un sacrifice cosmologique où la désintégration de l'être est suivie d'une réintégration dans quelque chose de plus vaste, l'ordre cosmique. En se sacrifiant, l'être Primordial fait le don de soi et sacralise (du latin sacrum facere) en même temps les astres et le Cosmos tout entier.

Page détaillée

Haut