LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Chess, the union of white and black

(Summary)

Chess game

Black over white, white over black

In the old times, games were not simple entertainment as today. They took on a sacred character, of which chess still preserves some traces nowadays.

The origin of the game is lost in the mists of times. Indian, Chinese, Persian, Egyptian, Hebrew, Arabic and Greek texts refer to the game, but neither Homer nor Herodotus and nor Plato succeeded in discovering its origin.

A number of hypotheses were formulated on chess origins and none of them has been verified so far. Nevertheless, a thing is certain, the game is old and comes from the East; it was introduced in Europe by the Arabs during the Crusades.

The name of the game notably finds its origin in the works of Thomas Hyle on the eastern games, which were summarized in his book, entitled De Ludis Orientalus (1694), where he quotes the following extract drawn out of a Persian treatise:

“Satrangh is the name of the plant that looks like a man and that is given in Arabic to mandrake… It is where the name of this so well known and spread game is coming from for, indeed, you can see wooden pieces that are human figures, so that the game was called satrangh, mandragores, the Arabic pronunciation of which is shatrang-j.”

The used form shatrang-j or shatrengh became xatrang or xatreng in Old Portuguese. Al shatrang could correspond to the Portuguese escaques, which became scacco in Italian, eschas and eschec in French and xaque in Spanish.

It can be said that chess is foremost the game of men before being the game of kings. Now, man (microcosm) partakes of the world (macrocosm) at three levels:

  • He is in relation with the celestial world through the spirit;
  • He is linked to the terrestrial world through the body;
  • He is related to the intermediary world through the soul or psyche.

Man consequently represents the being able to maintain the link between Heaven and Earth, light and obscurity, white and black or, according to the Chinese tradition, yang and yin. In the old times, chess helped men, in particular the king, to become conscious of their role in the world. Incidentally, Lewis Carroll made reference to the same idea in “Alice in Wonderland”.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Les échecs, l'alliance du blanc et du noir

(Résumé)

Jeu d'échecs

Noir sur blanc, blanc sur noir

Dans les temps anciens, les jeux n'étaient pas de simples divertissements comme aujourd'hui. Ils revêtaient un caractère sacré dont les échecs conservent encore des traces de nos jours.

L'origine du jeu se perd dans la nuit des temps. Des textes indiens, chinois, persans, égyptiens, hébreux, arabes et grecs font référence au jeu, mais ni Homère ni Hérodote et pas davantage Platon ne sont parvenus à découvrir son origine.

Nombre d'hypothèses ont été formulées sur l'origine des échecs et aucune d'elles n'a été vérifiée jusqu'à présent. Une chose est certaine cependant, le jeu est ancien et vient d'Orient; il fut introduit en Europe par Arabes à l'époque des croisades.

La dénomination du jeu trouve notamment son origine dans les travaux de Thomas Hyle sur les jeux orientaux et repris dans son livre, intitulé De Ludis Orientalus (1694), où il cite l'extrait suivant tiré d'un traité persan:

“Satrangh est le nom de la plante qui ressemble à un homme et que l'on donne en arabe à la mandragore… C'est de là que provient le nom de ce jeu si connu et si répandu car, en effet, l'on y voit des pièces de bois qui sont des figures humaines, d'où il fut appelé satrangh, mandragores, dont la prononciation arabe est shatrang-j.”

La forme en usage shatrang-j ou shatrengh a donné xatrang ou xatreng en vieux portugais. Al-shatrang pourrait correspondre au portugais escaques devenu scacco en italien, eschas et eschec en français et xaque en espagnol.

Il s'ensuit que les échecs sont d'abord le jeu des hommes avant d'être celui des rois. Or, l'homme (microcosme) participe au monde (macrocosme) à trois niveaux:

  • Il est en relation avec le monde céleste par l'esprit;
  • Il est lié au monde terrestre par le corps;
  • Il est rattaché au monde intermédiaire par l'âme ou la psyché.

L'homme représente en conséquence l'être susceptible de maintenir le lien entre le Ciel et la Terre, la lumière et l'obscurité, le blanc et le noir ou, selon la tradition chinoise, le yang et le yin. Dans les temps anciens, les échecs aidaient les hommes, en particulier le roi, à prendre conscience de leur rôle dans le monde. Lewis Carroll a d'ailleurs fait référence à la même idée dans “Alice au pays des merveilles”.

Page détaillée

Haut