LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Games, images of the world

Draughts

Showing his hand

Games are human activities fitting well defined rules and implying one or more players. Originally, they were another matter than simple recreation. Nevertheless, even under their current playful form, they preserve certain aspects of their sacred original character.

In the old times, games could be use as support to magic and divination practices. However, they more often constituted a social rite relating beings to the Cosmos and Gods; they were used to maintain the cohesion of the society and the harmony of the beings with the world of Gods. When they trusted luck, games did not necessarily try to express the impenetrable character of the divine Will; they simply could evoke the free interplay of manifested forms.

Whether they trust luck or not, games take on many symbolic aspects, which have been forgotten a long time ago. Through three contemporary examples, we will see in which respect games constitute images of the world:

1. In the example of the ordinary card game, four players are generally gathered around a square table representing Earth. They symbolically occupy the position of the four compass points and play clockwise or according to the apparent movement of the sun during its diurnal cycle. This correspondence between Earth and Heaven reflects the being's harmony with the Cosmos, the centre of which is occupied by the sun. The game partners correspond to N-S and E-W axes and they both associate light (S and E) to obscurity (N and W). Consequently, the player arrangement does not rely on an opposition, notably between light and obscurity, but on the complementarity at the root of the terrestrial world representation where there is no light without obscurity or obscurity without light.

2. We rediscover this aspect in games based on a diagram. It is mostly a matter of strategic games, warlike or not, implying two players. Chess offer the most familiar example. The colours of pieces and chessboard squares are totally reversed for both players. Consequently, the game does not consist in a confrontation between black and white, but between black on a black or white square and white on a white or black square. There again, the complementarity between both colours goes well beyond their simple opposition. As in the image of the yin-yang symbol, there is yin (black) in yang (white) and yang (white) in yin (black). The game consists in surpassing the opposition characteristic of duality to rejoin the complementarity proper to unity. In this sense, it is a matter of an initiatory progression.

The clock3. In the variant of the hopscotch game known in France as “the clock”, the child draws on the ground a circle divided into 12 time sectors that rejoin at the centre where a smaller circle represents the “Paradise”. In order to play, he launches a marker in the first sector and hops while pushing the marker from sector to sector till the Paradise. The 12 sectors evoke the belt of the Zodiac signs enveloping the Cosmos. Jumping from one sector to another symbolizes the passage from a state of consciousness to a higher state before attaining the ultimate state of full consciousness, the heavenly state of the centred or unified being. The representation of the world and its initiatory progression resembles here, the journey in the labyrinth and the marker path to Ariadne's thread.

These examples alone show how much the opposition between opponents masks the complementarity of the various facets of the world and beings. Well Playing matters more than winning. The real player becomes aware of the whole scope of the game, the winner aims at the result only:

Let every game's end find you still upon the battling line; for when the Great One Scorer comes to write against your name, he marks - not that you won or lost - but how you played the Game.

(Grantland Rice, end of the poem Alumnus Football)

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Jeux, images du monde

Jeu de dames

Dévoiler son jeu

Les jeux sont des activités humaines qui répondent à des règles bien définies et impliquent un ou plusieurs joueurs. Originellement, ils étaient tout autre chose que de simples divertissements. Cependant, même sous leur forme ludique actuelle, ils conservent certains aspects de leur caractère sacré originel.

Dans les temps anciens, les jeux pouvaient servir de support aux pratiques magiques et divinatoires. Le plus souvent cependant, ils constituaient un rite social mettant en rapport les êtres avec le cosmos et les dieux; ils servaient à maintenir la cohésion de la société et l'harmonie des êtres avec le monde des dieux. Quand ils recouraient au hasard, les jeux ne cherchaient pas nécessairement à traduire le caractère impénétrable de la Volonté divine; ils pouvaient tout simplement évoquer le libre jeu des formes manifestées.

Qu'ils recourent au hasard ou non, les jeux revêtent de nombreux aspects symboliques depuis longtemps oubliés. Au travers de trois exemples contemporains, nous allons voir en quoi les jeux constituent des images du monde:

1. Dans l'exemple du jeu de cartes ordinaire, quatre joueurs sont généralement assemblés autour d'une table carrée représentant la Terre. Ils occupent symboliquement la position des quatre points cardinaux et jouent dans le sens des aiguilles d'une montre ou du mouvement apparent du soleil au cours de son cycle diurne. Cette conformité entre Terre et Ciel reflète l'harmonie de l'être avec le Cosmos dont le soleil occupe le centre. Les partenaires du jeu correspondent aux axes N-S et E-O et associent tous deux la lumière (S et E) à l'obscurité (N et O). La disposition des joueurs ne repose pas en conséquence sur une opposition, notamment entre lumière et obscurité, mais sur la complémentarité à la base de la représentation du monde terrestre où il n'y a pas de lumière sans obscurité ni d'obscurité sans lumière.

2. Nous retrouvons cet aspect dans les jeux recourant à un diagramme. Il s'agit le plus souvent de jeux de stratégie guerrière ou non impliquant deux joueurs. Les échecs en offrent l'exemple le plus familier. Les couleurs des pièces et des cases de l'échiquier sont totalement inversées pour les deux joueurs. En conséquence, le jeu ne consiste pas en une confrontation entre noirs et blancs, mais entre noirs sur fond noir ou blanc et blancs sur fond blanc ou noir. Là encore, la complémentarité entre les deux couleurs va bien au-delà de leur simple opposition. Comme dans l'image du symbole yin-yang, il y a du yin (noir) dans le yang (blanc) et du yang (blanc) dans le yin (noir). Le jeu consiste à dépasser l'opposition caractéristique de la dualité pour rejoindre la complémentarité propre à l'unité. En ce sens, il s'agit d'un cheminement initiatique.

L'horloge3. Dans la variante de la marelle dénommée “l'horloge”, l'enfant dessine sur le sol un cercle divisé en 12 secteurs horaires qui se rejoignent au centre où un deuxième cercle représente le “Paradis”. Pour jouer, il lance un palet dans la première case et le pousse de case en case jusqu'au Paradis en sautant à cloche-pied. Les 12 secteurs évoquent la ceinture des signes du Zodiaque qui enveloppe le Cosmos. Sauter d'un secteur à l'autre symbolise le passage d'un état de conscience à un état plus élevé avant d'atteindre l'état ultime de la pleine conscience, l'état paradisiaque de l'être centré ou unifié. La représentation du monde et de son cheminement initiatique s'apparente ici au parcours dans le labyrinthe et le trajet du palet au fil d'Ariane.

Ces seuls exemples montrent combien l'opposition entre adversaires masque la complémentarité des diverses facettes du monde et des êtres. Bien jouer importe plus que gagner. Le vrai joueur s'ouvre à toute l'ampleur du jeu, le gagneur ne vise que le résultat:

Que chaque fin de partie te trouve toujours au-dessus de la mêlée;
Car lorsque l'Unique Grand Marqueur en vient à écrire sous ton nom,
Il inscrit - non que tu as gagné ou perdu - mais comment tu as joué le Jeu.

(Grantland Rice, fin du poème Alumnus Football)

Haut