LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag of Wales

(Summary)

Flag of Wales

The dragon passant

The flag of Wales consists of a red dragon passant on a white and green field. Nowadays, Wales and Bhutan are the only countries to have a dragon on their flag. The Welsh flag is said to incorporate the red dragon of Cadwaladr, King of the county of Gwynedd during the 7th century, along with the green and white colours of the Tudor dynasty, which ruled England from 1485 until 1603. The red dragon was included in the Tudor royal arms to attest their Welsh descent. The flag was notably used by king Henry VII, the first monarch of the House of Tudor, at the battle of Bosworth in 1485. It was adopted by the Welsh assembly as the official flag of Wales in 1959.

The Welsh flag is the only flag in the United Kingdom, which is not used in the Union Jack. The country has no explicit recognition in the flag because Wales was annexed to England by Edward I in 1282 and considered to be part of the Kingdom since the Laws in Wales Acts 1535–1542,.

In various tales, legends and traditions, the dragon is the guardian of the hidden treasure. It is depicted in many ways and different styles. Even among the Celt, the two leg dragon was frequent and must have been related to the human being. As we will see, this does not mean that the four leg one referred to the animal only. This will bring us to the main question: what kind of hidden treasure was the dragon suppose to guard ?

Detailed page

Top

Le drapeau du pays de Galles

(Résumé)

Drapeau du pays de Galles

Le drapeau de pays de Galles comporte un dragon passant rouge dans un champ blanc et vert. De nos jours, le pays de Galles et le Bhoutan sont les seuls pays arborant un dragon sur leur drapeau. Il est courant de dire que le drapeau Gallois allie le dragon rouge de Cadwaladr, roi du comté de Gwynedd au cours du VIIe siècle, et les couleurs verte et blanche de la dynastie des Tudor qui régna sur l'Angleterre de 1485 à 1603. Le dragon rouge fut inclus dans les armes royales des Tudor pour attester de leur ascendance galloise. Le drapeau fut notamment utilisé par le roi Henry VII, le premier monarque de la Maison des Tudor, à la bataille de Bosworth en 1485. L'assemblée du pays de Galles l'a adopté comme drapeau officiel en 1959.

Le pays de Galles est la seule partie du Royaume-Uni dont le drapeau ne figure pas dans le drapeau de l'union. Le pays de Galles n'est pas explicitement reconnu dans le drapeau car il fut annexé à l'Angleterre par Edward Ier en 1282 et fait partie intégrante du Royaume depuis les lois des Actes gallois de 1535–1542.

Dans les divers contes, légendes et traditions, le dragon est le gardien du trésor caché. Il est représenté de nombreuses façons et dans des styles différents. Même parmi les Celtes, le dragon à deux pattes était monnaie courante et a dû être mis en relation avec l'être humain. Comme nous le verrons, cela ne signifie pas que les quatre pattes du dragon ne fassent référence qu'à l'animal. Cela nous amènera à la question principale: quelle était la nature du trésor caché que le dragon était supposé garder ?

Page détaillée