LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The Vatican flag

(Detailed page)

Summary

Vatican flag

The supreme pontiff

The “triregnum”, the three crown papal tiara, constitutes a representation of the distinction of the three worlds, which is common to all traditions, mainly the celestial, human and terrestrial worlds or the celestial, terrestrial and infernal worlds. These worlds do not designate places as in the usual meaning, but states or modes of being related to principles.

The celestial world represents the superior states of the being, the terrestrial or infernal world the inferior states and the intermediate world the human states.

The ascent towards the superior states is preceded by a descent in Hell as the being has to exhaust all inferior order possibilities potentially carried within himself. It is more a question of getting consciousness than going through their effective manifestation. Such a passage ends up with the realization of all human possibilities in order to reach the human state in its entirety. This state of redeployment of all human being possibilities corresponds to the “eidetic” state.

Papal cross symbolFrom that state, he will be able to rise towards superior states going through Purgatory, an intermediate step between terrestrial or human and celestial world, before reaching a supra-human and properly spiritual state. This last state corresponds to the redeployment of the total being possibilities.

The Pope, as a human representative ruling over the three worlds, symbolizes the Pontiff, which means the bridge linking them or the ascent path from inferior to superior states of being. He is a picture of the World Axis represented by the vertical branch of the papal cross. As such, he is fulfilling the mediator function between Earth and the Heavens and establishing the communication between the three worlds, represented by the three horizontal bars. Note the similarity with the Chinese ideogram “Wang” (Emperor). Concerning this subject, see dollar and euro.

The key power

Initiation opens the path to knowledge and spiritual realization with the help of both golden and silver keys, giving respectively access to total and human being states, to celestial and terrestrial Paradise, to eternal and re-generated life.

In the Latin tradition, the God of initiation, Janus (from “janua”, which means gate), is depicted with a double face, each of them associated with one of the golden and silver (sometimes represented by a sceptre) keys. Both keys open and close the gates giving access to the Great Mysteries and Little Mysteries corresponding respectively to total and human being state.

The golden key is a sacerdotal or spiritual authority attribute; the silver key or sceptre an attribute of royal or temporal power. The two keys are intertwined as the temporal power, traditionally, consists in applying the divine principles.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau du Vatican

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Drapeau du Vatican

Le Souverain Pontife

Le “triregnum”, la tiare papale à trois couronnes, constitue une représentation de la distinction des trois mondes commune à toutes les traditions, à savoir les mondes céleste, humain et terrestre ou encore céleste, terrestre et infernal. Ces mondes désignent non des lieux au sens usuel du terme, mais des états ou modalités de l'être associés à des principes.

Le monde céleste représente les états supérieurs de l'être, le monde terrestre ou infernal les états inférieurs et le monde intermédiaire les états humains.

L'ascension vers les états supérieurs est précédée d'une descente aux Enfers car l'être doit d'abord épuiser toutes les possibilités d'ordre inférieur qu'il porte en lui à l'état potentiel. Il s'agit davantage d'une prise de conscience que de leur manifestation effective. Un tel passage aboutit à la réalisation de l'intégralité des possibilités humaines afin de parvenir à la plénitude de l'état humain. Cet état de déploiement de l'intégralité des possibilités de l'être humain correspond à l'état “édénique”.

Le symbole de la croix papaleDe là, il pourra s'élever vers les états supérieurs en passant par le Purgatoire, étape intermédiaire entre les mondes terrestre ou humain et céleste, avant d'atteindre un état supra-humain et proprement spirituel. Ce dernier état correspond au déploiement des possibilités de l'être total.

Le Pape, en tant que représentant humain régnant sur ces trois mondes, symbolise le Pontife, c'est-à-dire le pont qui les relie ou la voie de l'ascension des états inférieurs vers les états supérieurs de l'être. Il est une image de l'Axe du Monde représenté par la branche verticale de la croix papale. À ce titre, il remplit la fonction de médiateur entre la Terre et les Cieux en établissant la communication entre les trois mondes, représentés par les trois barres horizontales. Notez la similitude avec l'idéogramme chinois “Wang” (Empereur). Voir à ce sujet dollar et euro.

Le pouvoir des clés

L'initiation ouvre la voie à la connaissance et à la réalisation spirituelle à l'aide des deux clés d'or et d'argent donnant respectivement accès aux états d'être total et d'être humain, au Paradis céleste et au Paradis terrestre, à la vie éternelle et à la vie ré-générée.

Dans la tradition latine, le dieu de l'initiation, Janus (de “janua” qui signifie porte), est dépeint sous une double face, chacune associée à l'une des deux clés d'or et d'argent (représentée parfois par un sceptre). Ces deux clés ouvrent et ferment les portes qui donnent accès aux Grands Mystères et aux Petits Mystères, respectivement associés aux états d'être total et d'être humain.

La clé d'or est un attribut de l'autorité sacerdotale ou spirituelle; la clé d'argent ou le sceptre un attribut du pouvoir royal ou temporel. Les deux clés sont entrecroisées car le rôle du pouvoir temporel consiste, traditionnellement, à mettre en application les principes divins.

Haut