LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The Vatican flag

(Summary)

Vatican flag

The two keys

The Vatican flag is one of only two square country flags in the world, the other being the flag of Switzerland. It is composed of two vertical stripes, coloured yellow and white, which are giving their tonality to the main papal insignia: the three crown tiara and the two golden and silver keys. As a median colour of the visible light spectrum, yellow represents what the Chinese tradition calls “the Middle Path”, which gives access to the total knowledge, the illumination or the divine Light. As the colour containing the entire visible spectrum, white corresponds to the initiation opening successively all the gates of the spiritual knowledge.

The pontifical power is associated with two insignia, which concern the deepest Christian mysteries:

  • The three crown tiara representing the bridge, the vertical axis, between the inferior states and superior states of the being;
  • The golden and silver keys symbolizing respectively the spiritual authority of the principle knowledge and the temporal authority of their application. Besides, a red cord is connecting both keys.

In this respect, the infallibility is not attached to the individual, but to the function of any representative of a traditional form. In a certain sense, any initiate inside an ancient tradition is infallible within his function practices. As René Guénon pointed out, the most surprising is not that the Pope is infallible as a representative of the Catholic Church, but that he is the only one who is.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau du Vatican

(Résumé)

Drapeau du Vatican

Les deux clés

Le drapeau du Vatican est l'un des deux seuls drapeaux au monde de forme carrée, l'autre étant celui de la Suisse. Il est composé de deux bandes verticales, de couleurs jaune et blanche, qui donnent leur tonalité aux principaux insignes de la papauté: la tiare à trois couronnes et les deux clés d'or et d'argent. En tant que couleur médiane du spectre visible de la lumière, le jaune représente ce que la tradition chinoise dénomme la “Voie du Milieu” qui donne accès à la connaissance totale, à l'illumination, à la lumière divine. En tant que couleur contenant tout le spectre visible, le blanc correspond à la voie de l'initiation qui ouvre successivement toutes les portes de la connaissance spirituelle.

Le pouvoir pontifical est associé à deux insignes qui concernent les mystères les plus profonds du Christianisme:

  • La tiare à trois couronnes représentant le pont, l'axe vertical, entre les états inférieurs et les états supérieurs de l'être.
  • Les clés d'or et d'argent qui symbolisent respectivement l'autorité spirituelle de la connaissance des principes et l'autorité temporelle de leur application. Un cordon rouge relie d'ailleurs les deux clés.

À cet égard l'infaillibilité n'est pas attachée à l'individualité, mais à la fonction exercée par tout représentant d'une forme traditionnelle. En un certain sens, tout initié d'une tradition ancienne est infaillible dans l'exercice de ses fonctions. Comme le souligne René Guénon, le plus surprenant n'est pas que le Pape soit infaillible en tant représentant de l'Église catholique, mais qu'il soit le seul à l'être.

Page détaillée

Haut