LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

United-States, the first official banner

(Summary)

 First official flag of the United States Other version of the first official flag of the United States

Thirteen stars and thirteen stripes

The flag of the United States is also known as the Stars and Stripes, the Old Glory and the Star-Spangled Banner. The first official flag was adopted in 1777 and represented thirteen white stars in a blue canton, as well as thirteen alternate red (top and bottom) and white stripes. The number of branches of the stars and their arrangement were not specified. At least two versions of the first flag appeared: one with thirteen five-pointed stars arranged in circle; another where the stars filled a rectangular surface. To day, the number of stars has increased to fifty whereas the number of stripes has remained thirteen. The number of stars will become fifty-one with the entry of Porto-Rico. Beyond the obvious answer that stripes and stars represent respectively the number of the first colonies 1 and present unified states, the original US banner may have been a deeper symbol.

The first official United States flag symbolizes the union of divine and human nature within the mediator between Heaven and Earth as well as the links between the spiritual authority and the temporal power. All these aspects go much beyond a simple federation of states on condition to know under which banner human beings are federated. This deep meaning has been lost since the star field of the Old Glory has been reduced to the number of united States.

1 back The first thirteen colonies were the following: Connecticut, New Hampshire, New York, New Jersey, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Rhode Island and Maryland

Let us note that the stripes are not printed but sewn together to even more underline the links unifying the founder States.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le premier drapeau officiel des États-Unis

(Résumé)

 Premier drapeau officiel des États-Unis  Autre version du premier drapeau officiel des États-Unis

Treize étoiles et treize bandes

Le drapeau des États-Unis est aussi connu sous les appellations Stars and Stripes (Étoiles et Bandes), Old Glory (Gloire Ancestrale) et Star-Spangled Banner (Bannière Étoilée). Le premier drapeau officiel, adopté en 1777, représentait treize étoiles blanches dans un canton bleu ainsi que treize bandes alternativement rouge (haut et bas) et blanche. Le nombre de branches des étoiles et leur disposition n'étaient pas précisés. Deux versions au-moins du premier drapeau virent le jour: l'une avec treize étoiles à cinq branches disposées en cercle; une autre où les étoiles remplissaient un espace rectangulaire. Aujourd'hui, le nombre d'étoiles a été porté à cinquante tandis que le nombre de bandes est resté inchangé. Le nombre d'étoiles passera à cinquante-et-une avec l'adhésion de Porto Rico. Au-delà de la réponse évidente que bandes et étoiles représentent respectivement le nombre des premières colonies 1 et des états actuellement unifiés, la bannière originelle des États-Unis a pu constituer un symbole plus profond.

Le premier drapeau officiel des États-Unis symbolise l'union des natures divine et humaine au sein du médiateur entre le Ciel et la Terre ainsi que les liens entre l'autorité spirituelle et le pouvoir temporel. Ces aspects vont bien au-delà d'une simple fédération d'états à la condition de savoir sous quelle bannière les êtres humains sont fédérés. Ce sens profond a été perdu depuis que le champ étoilé de la bannière a été réduit au nombre des états unifiés.

1 retour Les treize premières colonies étaient les suivantes: Connecticut, New Hampshire, New York, New Jersey, Massachusetts, Pennsylvanie, Delaware, Virginie, Caroline du Nord, Caroline du Sud, Géorgie, Rhode Island et Maryland.

Notons que les bandes ne sont pas imprimées mais cousues ensemble pour souligner encore davantage les liens unissant les États fondateurs.

Page détaillée

Haut