LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The United kingdom flag

(Detailed page)

Summary

United Kingdom flag  English flag  Scottish flag  Irish flag

The two crosses and the Centre

St. George and St. Andrew crosses are symbols connected to the quaternary or number four. More precisely, the cross may be related to number five composing the four directions and their crossing point. This central point contains potentially the four (and even many more) directions, which may be manifested in any cross. From this point of view, it can be considered as a pole, from which all beams are radiating or around which all spokes are turning (compare with the swastika, a symbol spread all over Asia, America and Europe: for instance, within the Celtic tradition).

When superposing both St. George and St. Andrew crosses, we obtain a symbol recalling the eight spokes of the Celtic rowel. This picture may also be found in Eastern countries,Celtic rowel particularly, in the Middle East, in India (where the wheel is called “chakra”) as well as in Tibet.

The difference between the Celtic rowel and United Kingdom's flag consists in a circular instead of rectangular edge, a distinction which will be explained later.

The Celtic rowel is mainly a symbol of the World in movement around the motionless Centre. The World considered here has nothing to do with a place in concrete terms. It covers the totality of the manifested states of being, visible and invisible. This can be easily understood:

  • Firstly, are we not using expressions such as “wheel of fortune”, “wheel of history”, “what turns the wheel ?” And all these expressions refer to other situations, to other states of being.
  • Secondly, these states are a manifestation of a non-manifested source.

The etymology of rowel (“rota”) evokes immediately the idea of rotation depicting the continuous change of all manifested things around a Centre, which does not participate in the movement. It symbolizes the immutable Principle conducting from the inner all things of the outer, peripheral or manifested world. Moreover, the Centre is influencing the outer world in a balanced way. Being the Middle between two opposite points of the circumference, it is the place where the opposites are unified and antagonisms reabsorbed.

Manifestation and development

From a spatial or time point of view, St. George cross, inside the rowel, may represent the four compass points, the four periods of the day, the four lunar phases, the four seasons, the four ages of humanity etc. So, four is a basic number related to the manifestation of cycles associated with states of being.

Adding the St. Andrew cross consists in introducing intermediate points characterizing the middle of the four periods or phases. The associated number eight corresponds, therefore, to the development of the manifestation of cycles or states of being.

Transformation of the Celtic rowel into a squareWhen the possibilities of states of being have achieved their full development and reached their final equilibrium, the circle of the Celtic rowel (representing the expansion of the Centre) is transformed into a more stable form, a square (or a rectangle). This square symbolizes the material realization, limit of the manifestation of the Centre. This is nothing but the famous “squaring of the circle” of the Hermetic tradition. The circle stands for the beginning of a tradition and the square for its achievement in relation to a derived traditional form. In specific Christian terms, both drawings may be respectively associated with the Earthly Jerusalem or Old Testament and the Heavenly Jerusalem or New Testament.

The Centre, a starting and ending point

If the Centre is a starting point, it is also an ending point. Everything comes from it and has to return to it as all things exist only through the Principle. The links between the whole manifestation and the Principle are represented by the radius joining the Centre to different points of the circumference, which may be run along in both directions (from the Centre to the circumference and conversely). So, two complementary phases are operating, which is comparable to the pulsating heart. Blood is pumped through the organism to invigorate the tissues and comes back to the heart, purified through the lungs. The central point is not only the “Centre of the World”, but also the “Heart of the World”.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau du Royaume-Uni

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Drapeau du Royaume-Uni  Drapeau anglais  Drapeau écossais  Drapeau irlandais

Les deux croix et le Centre

Les croix de St George et St André sont des symboles en connexion avec le quaternaire ou le nombre quatre. Plus précisément, la croix peut être mise en relation avec le nombre cinq recouvrant les quatre directions et leur point d'intersection. Ce point central contient potentiellement les quatre (et bien d'autres) directions qui peuvent se manifester dans toutes sortes de croix. De ce point de vue, il peut être considéré comme un pôle à partir duquel tous les rayons irradient ou autour duquel tous les rayons tournent (comparer avec le swastika, un symbole répandu dans toute l'Asie, en Amérique et en Europe: par exemple, dans la tradition celtique).

Lorsque les croix de St George et St André sont superposées, nous obtenons un symbole qui rappelle les huit rayons de la rouelle celtique. Cette représentation se retrouve également Roue celtique dans les contrées orientales, particulièrement au Moyen-Orient, en Inde (où la roue est dénommée “chakra”) ainsi qu'au Tibet.

La différence entre la rouelle celtique et le drapeau du Royaume-Uni réside dans la couronne circulaire plutôt que rectangulaire, une distinction qui trouvera son explication plus loin.

La rouelle celtique est essentiellement un symbole du Monde en mouvement autour d'un Centre immobile. Le Monde pris en considération ici n'a que peu de rapport avec un lieu au sens concret du terme. Il couvre la totalité de la manifestation des états d'être, visibles et invisibles, comme cela peut se comprendre aisément:

  • Tout d'abord, n'employons nous pas des expressions telles que “la roue de la fortune”, “la roue tourne”, “qu'est-ce qui fait tourner le monde?” Or, toutes ces expressions font référence à d'autres situations, à d'autres états d'être.
  • Ensuite, ces états sont la manifestation d'une source non manifestée.

L'étymologie de rouelle (“rota”) évoque immédiatement l'idée de rotation décrivant le changement continu de toutes les choses manifestées autour d'un Centre qui ne participe pas au mouvement. Ce dernier symbolise le Principe immuable dirigeant de l'intérieur toutes les choses extérieures, périphériques ou manifestées. De plus, le Centre influence le monde extérieur de façon équilibrée. Situé à mi-chemin des points opposés de la circonférence, il est le lieu où les contraires sont unifiés et les antagonismes résorbés.

Manifestation et développement

D'un point de vue spatial ou temporel, la croix de St George à l'intérieur de la rouelle peut représenter les quatre points cardinaux, les quatre périodes du jour, les quatre phases de la lune, les quatre saisons, les quatre âges de l'humanité etc. Aussi, quatre est le nombre de base en relation avec la manifestation des cycles associés aux états d'être.

Ajouter la croix de St André revient à introduire des points intermédiaires caractéristiques du milieu des quatre périodes ou phases. Le nombre huit associé correspond dès lors au complet développement de la manifestation des cycles ou états d'être.

Transformation de la roue celtique en carréLorsque les possibilités des états d'être sont parvenues à leur plein développement et ont atteint leur équilibre final, le cercle de la rouelle celtique (représentant l'expansion à partir du Centre) se transforme en une forme plus stable, un carré (ou un rectangle). Ce carré symbolise la réalisation matérielle, limite ultime de la manifestation du Centre. Ce n'est rien d'autre que la fameuse “quadrature du cercle” de la tradition hermétique. Le cercle figure le commencement d'une tradition et le carré son achèvement en relation avec une forme traditionnelle dérivée. En termes spécifiquement chrétiens, les deux dessins peuvent être reliés respectivement à la Jérusalem terrestre ou à l'Ancien Testament et à la Jérusalem céleste ou au Nouveau Testament.

Le Centre, point de départ et d'aboutissement

Si le Centre est un point de départ, il est aussi un point d'aboutissement. Tout vient de lui et tout retourne à lui car les choses n'existent qu'au travers le Principe. Les liens entre le monde de la manifestation et le Principe sont représentés par les rayons joignant le Centre au différents points de la circonférence et qui peuvent être parcourus dans les deux sens (du Centre vers la circonférence et inversement). Ainsi, deux phases complémentaires, comparables à celles de la pulsation cardiaque, opèrent. Le sang est pompé dans l'organisme pour vivifier les tissus et revient dans le cœur, purifié par les poumons. Le point central n'est pas seulement le “Centre du Monde”, il est aussi le “Cœur du Monde”.

Haut