LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The Tibetan flag (Detailed page)

Summary

Old Tibetan flag

Present Tibetan flag

>

The Tibetan flag composition

This article will mainly refer to the Buddhism's symbolism, which is eternal, rather than to his exclusively temporal history.

The flag background consists of a rectangle divided into four triangles having the centre as the vertex and the four sides as bases. Each of the superior and lateral triangles is itself divided into four sectors alternatively red and blue. Only the lower sector, completely white, evokes the snowy mountain so characteristic of Tibet. Its summit symbolizes the contact point between Earth and Heaven, the passage path from terrestrial or human states to supra-human or celestial states.

In the foreground, on the mountain slope, two snow lions face each other and hold two patterns between their forelegs.

The background

Tibetan flag backgroundThe white of the lower triangle represents the colour which contains the entire spectrum of the visible light and covers all the tonalities of the rainbow from purple or blue to red. In this way, the white depicts the Principle at the source of the manifestation of colours in particular and any thing in general. A manifestation symbolized by the alternation of the twelve red and blue sectors.

The number twelve refers naturally to the zodiac signs, wrapping the Cosmos, the etymology of which returns to the concept of order. Place of the whole manifestation, it has as primary function to maintain all the constituting elements in their place. It is entirely contained within the Unity at the source of the manifestation or the Principle symbolized by the Sun located at the Centre. A Sun which irradiates twelve rays, alternatively blue and red, representing the manifestation and a thirteenth white one emanating from its Centre and symbolizing the world Unity.

The foreground patterns

Snow lions carrying two patternsThe lion represents the physical or terrestrial shade of the spiritual or celestial Sun as his mane testifies it. As terrestrial counterpart of the celestial Sun, it belongs to the manifestation world, the world of duality par excellence, in opposition to the world of the Principle, the Unity. From where two lions facing each other and holding two patterns between their forelegs.

The swirling wheel

Yin-yang symbolThe swirling pattern recalling the yin-yang symbolThe circular swirling pattern, at the base, contains two blue and yellow spirals rolled up one on the other. Made in the image of the yin-yang symbol of the Chinese tradition, which is explicitly shown on the present flag pattern, it evokes a double movement:

  • A descendant movement (in blue) from a non-manifested celestial pole to the terrestrial manifestation or from the Spirit to the body.
  • An ascendant movement (in yellow) from a terrestrial pole, specific to the manifestation world, to the non-manifested or from the body to the Spirit.

The first movement is unquestionably of metaphysical order and corresponds to the corporification of the Spirit while the second, of cosmological nature, symbolizes the spiritualization of the body.

Product of the first movement, the ordinary human being remains grabbed by the aspirations of this world, prisoner of the movement of the “cosmic wheel” symbolized by the circle surrounding the pattern. He will only be able to leave this non ending waltz by going up the slope towards his celestial source. It is only while walking on the Buddha's steps that he will achieve, not only to leave this infernal circular dance, but to know the Awakening state before stabilizing himself there.

The three blazing jewels

The three supreme gems: Buddha, Dharma and SanghaThe blazing pattern or the Triple Jewel associates the Principle (white) and the two descending (blue) and ascending (yellow) paths.

White symbolizes either the principial Unity or the being in quest of the unified state. It represents the Centre, the mountain summit from which the being will undertake the voyage towards the Heavens and the state of Buddha, of Awakening.

Blue represents the Law which governs the terrestrial world, i.e. any thing and any being it is made from. As the "lowest" rainbow colour after purple, blue perfectly characterizes the manifestation outcome on Earth. It symbolizes the Heaven's Law or the Dharma, source of balance and harmony between things and beings. The Dharma forms an integral part of the Buddha's teaching.

As a median colour of the visible light spectrum, yellow characterizes the route of the disciples on the way of the happy medium during their ascension. A path out of the way of extremes, sources of imbalance and disharmony. It is the way of the true knowledge, which makes it possible to become a full human being before reaching the higher states. Then, the disciple leaves the circular periphery to join the Centre. No longer the prey of the movement of the “cosmic wheel”, he is standing motionless in the Middle. He has left the outer world for the inner world; he no longer is a part of the world, the world is now part of him. In a general way, yellow symbolizes the path and the community of the disciples who follow it or Sangha.

The red flame coating the Triple Jewel naturally makes an echo to fire, at the same time destroying and regenerating, but above all transforming the being and revealing his Buddha state.

Bibliography

  • Alexandra David-Neel:
  • “Buddhism”. Harper Mass Market Paperbacks, 1983.
  • “Lamaic Initiations”. Adyar Publisher, 1990;
  • In particular, chapter V and the work ending note on the Dalai Lamas' situation.
Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau tibétain (Page détaillée)

Résumé

Ancien drapeau tibétain

Drapeau tibétain actuel

Composition du drapeau tibétain

Cet article fait essentiellement référence au symbolisme du Bouddhisme qui est éternel plutôt qu'à son histoire exclusivement temporelle.

L'arrière-plan du drapeau consiste en un rectangle divisé en quatre triangles ayant le centre pour sommet et les quatre côtés pour base. Chacun des triangles supérieur et latéraux est lui-même divisé en quatre secteurs alternativement rouge et bleu. Seul le triangle inférieur, totalement blanc, évoque la montagne enneigée si caractéristique du Tibet. Son sommet symbolise le point de contact entre la Terre et le Ciel, le lieu de passage des états terrestres aux états célestes.

A l'avant-plan, sur le flanc de la montagne, deux lions des neiges se font face et tiennent deux motifs entre leurs pattes avant.

L'arrière-plan

Fond du drapeau tibétainLe blanc du triangle inférieur représente la couleur qui contient tout le spectre de la lumière visible et couvre toutes les tonalités de l'arc-en-ciel depuis le violet ou le bleu jusqu'au rouge. En ce sens, le blanc dépeint le Principe à la source de la manifestation des couleurs en particulier et de toute chose en général. Une manifestation symbolisée par l'alternance des secteurs rouge et bleu au nombre de douze.

Le nombre douze fait naturellement référence aux signes du zodiaque, enveloppe du Cosmos dont l'étymologie renvoie à la notion d'ordre. Lieu de l'ensemble de la manifestation, il a pour fonction première de maintenir tous les éléments qui le constituent à leur place. Il est tout entier contenu dans l'Unité à la source de la manifestation ou le Principe symbolisé par le Soleil situé au Centre. Un Soleil qui irradie de ses douze rayons alternativement bleu et rouge représentant la manifestation et d'un treizième rayon blanc émanant de son Centre et symbolisant l'Unité du monde.

Les motifs à l'avant-plan

Les lions des neiges portant deux joyauxLe lion représente l'ombre physique ou terrestre du Soleil spirituel ou céleste comme en témoigne sa crinière. En tant que pendant terrestre du Soleil céleste, il appartient au monde de la manifestation, de la dualité par excellence, par opposition au monde du Principe, de l'Unité. D'où les deux lions se faisant face et tenant deux motifs entre leurs pattes avant.

La roue tournoyante

Symbole yin-yangLe motif circulaire rappelant le symbole yin-yangLe motif circulaire tournoyant à la base renferme deux spirales bleue et jaune enroulées l'une sur l'autre. À l'image du symbole yin-yang de la tradition chinoise, repris explicitement dans le dessin du drapeau actuel, il évoque un double mouvement:

  • Un mouvement (en bleu) descendant d'un pôle céleste non manifesté vers la manifestation terrestre ou de l'Esprit vers le corps.
  • Un mouvement (en jaune) remontant d'un pôle terrestre propre au monde manifesté vers le non manifesté ou du corps vers l'Esprit.

Le premier mouvement est indéniablement d'ordre métaphysique et correspond à la corporification de l'Esprit tandis que le second, de nature cosmologique, symbolise la spiritualisation du corps.

Produit du premier mouvement, l'être humain ordinaire reste happé par les aspirations de ce monde, prisonnier du mouvement de la “roue cosmique” symbolisée par le cercle entourant le motif. Il ne pourra sortir de cette valse sans fin qu'en remontant la pente vers sa source céleste. Ce n'est qu'en marchant sur les traces du Bouddha qu'il parviendra, non seulement à quitter cette ronde infernale, mais à connaître l'état d'Éveil avant de s'y stabiliser.

Les trois joyaux flamboyants

Les trois sublimes refuges: Bouddha, Dharma et SanghaLe motif flamboyant ou les trois joyaux associe le Principe (blanc) et les deux voies descendante (bleue) et ascendante (jaune).

Le blanc symbolise soit l'Unité principielle soit l'être en quête de l'état unifié. Il représente le Centre, le sommet de la montagne d'où l'être entreprendra le voyage vers les Cieux et l'état de Bouddha, d'Éveillé.

Le bleu représente la Loi qui gouverne le monde terrestre, c'est-à-dire toute chose et tout être qui le composent. Couleur la plus “basse” de l'arc-en-ciel après le violet, le bleu caractérise parfaitement l'aboutissement de la manifestation sur Terre. Il symbolise la Loi du Ciel ou le Dharma, source d'équilibre et d'harmonie entre les choses et les êtres. Le Dharma fait partie intégrante de l'enseignement du Bouddha.

En tant que couleur médiane du spectre de la lumière visible, le jaune caractérise le parcours des disciples sur la voie du juste milieu durant leur ascension. Une voie à l'écart des extrêmes, sources de déséquilibre et de disharmonie. C'est la voie de la connaissance juste qui permet à l'être de devenir pleinement humain avant d'atteindre les états supérieurs. Le disciple quitte alors la périphérie circulaire pour rejoindre le Centre. N'étant plus la proie du mouvement de la “roue cosmique”, il se tient immobile, au Milieu. Il a quitté le monde extérieur pour le monde intérieur; il ne fait plus partie du monde, le monde fait à présent partie de lui. De manière générale, le jaune symbolise la voie et la communauté des disciples qui la suivent ou Sangha.

La flamme rouge enrobant les trois joyaux dans sa gangue fait naturellement écho au feu, à la fois destructeur et ré-générateur, mais avant tout transformateur de l'être et révélateur de son état de Bouddha.

Bibliographie

  • Alexandra David-Neel:
  • “Le Bouddhisme du Bouddha”. Éditions du Rocher, 1989.
  • “Initiations lamaïques”. Éditions Adyar, 1990;
  • En particulier, le chapitre V et la note en fin d'ouvrage sur la situation des Dalaï-lamas.
Haut