LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The Tibetan flag

(Summary)

Old Tibetan flag
Present Tibetan flag

The path flag

A long time ago, Tibet was one of the most powerful empires in Central Asia. Its army was important and each of its regiments had its own banner. The military banner multiplicity ended in 1912 with the adoption, by the thirteenth Dalai Lama, of a single banner which became the flag of the Tibetan government in exile.

The Tibetan flag testifies to a major coherence between two complementary ways:

  • The metaphysical way or the descendant movement from the self-coloured Principle (white) to its coloured manifestation (blue and red) or from Heaven to Earth, from Spirit to body.
  • The cosmological way or the ascendant movement from the colourful manifestation to the self-coloured Principle or from Earth to Heaven, from body to Spirit.

Terrestrial product of the first movement, the being can only go up to his celestial source. For this purpose, he will take the way followed by the Buddha and depicted by the Triple Jewel (white, blue, yellow).

  • White represents the ultimate state of achievement, the state of Buddha.
  • Blue symbolizes the divine Law which orders any thing and any being in this world, the Dharma. To follow the Dharma can only be a source of harmony and balance, which are essential to walk in the steps of the Awakened Master par excellence.
  • Yellow corresponds to the true knowledge allowing the community of the disciples or Sangha not to deviate from the way of the right balance leading to the ultimate state.

The significance of the yellow ribbon bordering three sides of the flag remains a mystery. Insofar as yellow symbolizes the way followed by the disciple and the disciple himself, the edge open at the two ends could represent the beginning and the end of the path on the way towards Awakening. The beginning of the way depicts the innocent, but unconscious child. The end of the path expresses the return to original innocence in the full consciousness. Then the being has reached the state of Buddha, the state of the being remaining pathless.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau tibétain

(Résumé)

Ancien drapeau tibétain
Drapeau tibétain actuel

Le drapeau de la voie

Il y a bien des lunes, le Tibet fut l'un des empires les plus puissants de l'Asie centrale. Son armée était importante et chacun de ses régiments possédait sa propre bannière. La multiplicité des bannières à caractère militaire prit fin en 1912 avec l'adoption, par le treizième Dalaï-lama, d'une bannière unique qui devînt le drapeau du gouvernement tibétain en exil.

Le drapeau tibétain témoigne d'une cohérence profonde entre deux voies complémentaires:

  • La voie métaphysique ou du mouvement descendant du Principe unicolore (blanc) vers sa manifestation colorée (bleu et rouge) ou du Ciel vers la Terre, de l'Esprit vers le corps.
  • La voie cosmologique ou du mouvement d'ascension d'un manifesté haut en couleur vers le Principe unicolore ou de la Terre vers le Ciel, du corps vers l'Esprit.

Produit terrestre du premier mouvement, l'être ne peut que remonter à sa source céleste. À cette fin, il empruntera la voie suivie par le Bouddha et décrite par les trois joyaux (blanc, bleu, jaune).

  • Le blanc représente l'état d'aboutissement ultime, l'état de Bouddha.
  • Le bleu symbolise la Loi divine qui ordonne toute chose et tout être en ce monde, le Dharma. Suivre le Dharma ne peut être que source d'équilibre et d'harmonie indispensables pour marcher sur les traces de l'enseignement de l'Éveillé par excellence.
  • Le jaune correspond à la connaissance juste permettant à la communauté des disciples ou Sangha de ne pas s'écarter de la voie du juste équilibre menant à l'état ultime.

La signification du ruban jaune bordant trois des côtés du drapeau reste un mystère. Dans la mesure où le jaune symbolise la voie suivie par le disciple et le disciple lui-même, la bordure ouverte aux deux extrémités pourrait représenter le début et la fin du chemin sur la voie de l'Éveil. Le début du chemin dépeint l'enfant innocent, mais inconscient. La fin de la route traduit le retour à l'innocence originelle dans la pleine conscience. L'être a alors atteint l'état de Bouddha, l'état de l'être qui reste sans voie.

Page détaillée

Haut