LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag of the Republic of China

(Summary)

Flag of Taiwan

The blue Sky, the white Sun and the red Earth

The flag of the Republic of China, commonly called “The blue Sky, the white Sun and the red Earth”, contains a twelve-branched white star in a dark blue canton on a red background.

The flag was at the origin that of the Chinese nationalist and Republican Party (Kuo-Min-Tang) founded in 1912 by Sun Yat-sen. Suppressed in 1913, the party was reformed in 1920 and reorganized in 1923 with the assistance of the Komintern, the directing centre of the International communist movement. An agreement was made to accept individual affiliations of communists.

The party gained in popularity in 1926 with the rising of Chiang Kai-shek who purged it from its communist members. It governed in 1928 and the party flag became national. The nationalist forces fought the communists during a civil war interrupted by the Japanese's invasion in 1937. After the Second World War, the civil war restarted and the forces of the Kuomintang were definitively defeated in 1949. They had to retreat to Taiwan Island (Formosa) where, since 1950, the same flag remains the emblem of the Republic of China.

However, the official flag of Taiwan is not recognized by the People's Republic of China which regards Taiwan as one of its provinces. It is seldom deployed abroad in order not to further worsen the relationships between both countries.Flag of the Olympic committee of Taipei At the time of international manifestations, in particular sport ones, the flag of the Olympic committee of Taipei is used instead of. Even inside the country, the national flag raises frictions between the nationalist factions and those favorable to the reunification. Modifications of the flag have been proposed, but hardly met success.

Among the various explanations related to the star and colours of the flag, one of them is worth to be mentioned. According to it, the flag represents “the three principles of the people”: white star (livelihood), blue colour (democracy) and red (nationalism). The other interpretations are as various as surprising, but none of them echoes the very ancient Chinese tradition.

However, the twelve-branched white star cannot fail mentioning the sun surrounded by the twelve constellation belt. As for the colours, the dark blue, the white and the red are not precisely defined and their intensity can vary from one flag to another, despite some recommendations.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau de la République de Chine

(Résumé)

Drapeau de Taïwan

Le Ciel bleu, le Soleil blanc et la Terre rouge

Le drapeau de la République de Chine, communément appelé “Le Ciel bleu, le Soleil blanc et la Terre rouge”, contient une étoile blanche à douze branches dans un canton bleu foncé sur fond rouge.

Le drapeau était à l'origine celui du parti nationaliste et républicain chinois (Kuo-Min-Tang) fondé par Sun Yat-Sen en 1912. Aboli en 1913, le parti fut réformé en 1920 et réorganisé en 1923 avec l'assistance du Komintern, le centre directeur du mouvement communiste international. Un accord fut passé pour accepter les affiliations individuelles de communistes.

Le parti gagna en popularité en 1926 avec la montée de Tchang Kaï-chek qui le purgea de ses membres communistes. Il gouverna en 1928 et le drapeau du parti devint national. Les forces nationalistes combattirent les communistes durant une guerre civile interrompue par l'invasion japonaise en 1937. Après la deuxième Guerre mondiale, la guerre civile reprit et les forces du Kuomintang furent définitivement battues en 1949. Elles durent se réfugier dans l'île de Taïwan (Formose) où, depuis 1950, le même drapeau reste l'emblème de la République de Chine.

Le drapeau officiel de Taiwan n'est toutefois pas reconnu par la République populaire de Chine qui considère Taiwan comme l'une de ses provinces. Il est rarement déployé à l'étranger pour ne pas envenimer encore davantage les relations entre les deux pays.Drapeau du Comité olympique de Taipei Lors de manifestations internationales, notamment sportives, le drapeau du Comité olympique de Taipei est utilisé à sa place. À l'intérieur même du pays le drapeau national soulève des frictions entre les factions nationalistes et favorables à la réunification. Des modifications du drapeau ont été proposées, mais n'ont guère rencontré de succès.

Parmi les diverses explications relatives à l'étoile et aux couleurs du drapeau, l'une mérite d'être mentionnée. Selon cette dernière, le drapeau représente “les trois principes du peuple”: l'étoile blanche (les moyens d'existence), la couleur bleue (la démocratie) et le rouge (le nationalisme). Les autres interprétations sont aussi diverses qu'étonnantes, mais aucune d'entre elles n'évoque la très ancienne tradition chinoise.

L'étoile blanche à douze branches ne peut pourtant manquer d'évoquer le soleil entouré de la ceinture des douze constellations. Quant aux couleurs, le bleu foncé, le blanc et le rouge ne sont pas définis précisément et leur intensité peut varier d'un drapeau à l'autre en dépit de quelques recommandations.

Page détaillée

Haut