The flag of Sri Lanka

Abstract

Flag of Sri Lanka

The colours of the flag

The two flag panels are bordered with yellow, the medium colour of the rainbow spectrum. Yellow balances the extreme colours of the spectrum such as red and blue.

Mixed with red and blue, yellow provides the more tempered green and orange colours of the two vertical bands of the panel next to the hoist. As these colours are supposed to represent the Muslim and Hindu communities, the presence of yellow within each of them is a reminder that different traditions have more in common than usually recognized.

Similarly, the yellow drawing tempers the perception of the dark red background of the panel next to the fly.

Red is usually regarded as a symbol of life-force with a strength and power which are depending on whether it is bright or dark:

  • Bright red is diurnal, masculine, revealed to everybody and casting its glow on everything;
  • Dark red is nocturnal, feminine, mysterious and hiding things in the shadow.

Dark red is the colour of the hidden knowledge, kept secret in the background and which can only be revealed through the initiation to mysteries. The postulant has successively to die to a current state and be reborn into a new state. Cycle after cycle, he is progressing alongside or around a vertical axis represented by the upright sword 1 held by a lion. The yellow colour of the lion, the sword and the four leaves of a fig tree refers to the spiritual influence transmitted by the Sun.

The lion, the sword and the leaves

The lion

The lion symbol can be encountered in many traditions and particularly those the flag of Sri Lanka is referring to:

  • The Iranian state flag before 1979The Buddha is “the Lion of the Shakyas” 2;
  • The Bhagavadgita calls Krishna “a Lion among wild creatures”;
  • The Christ is known as “the Lion of Judah's Kingdom” 3;
  • Ali, Mohammed's son-in-law, is honoured by the Shiites as “the Lion of Allah”. He was represented on the former Iranian state flag as a lion holding a sword in front of the rising sun.

The lion represents the physical or terrestrial shade of the spiritual or celestial Sun as its mane testifies. As terrestrial shade of the celestial Sun, it is hiding the secret of the godhead that shroud the mysteries into the darkness depths. The firm standpoint of the lion shows that it is keeping the vulgar gaze away from the secret access.

The sword

The sword is a war symbol. The outer war undertaken to restore order is similar to the inner fight against our own enemies, our own devils (from the Greek “diabolos”, which means disuniting, splitting, dividing), which are opposed to order and unity. Outer or inner war always strives for establishing balance, harmony and unity between opposites. In various traditions, the outer war is considered as a symbol of the inner struggle and so are weapons.

The sword, which cleaves and sparks, represents the thunderbolt flashing against the enemies. It is also assimilated to the lightning in the form of the flaming sword. As the fire, the flaming sword is a symbol of the fight for the attainment of knowledge as well as the destruction of ignorance. It produces generation and destruction, life and death, light and darkness and can be assimilated to the Sun beam, the “World Axis”, the direct communication channel between Earth and Heaven often represented by a tree.

The four leaves of a fig tree

The Bodhi tree on a stupa reliefIn Eastern Asia, the fig tree has an extremely important part within several different traditions. The Bodhi tree at the foot of which Gautama received the enlightenment, the tree under which the Buddha preferred to sit when he was teaching his disciples was a fig tree.

With its roots delving into earth and its upper branches stretching up in the skies, the tree is universally regarded as a symbol of the “World Axis” and the cyclical development through death and rebirth. This is particularly true for deciduous trees since they shed their leaves and cover themselves with new foliage each year.

Beyond the reference to the religious trends in the country, the four leaves drawn on the panel next to the fly are related to the compass points and portray the terrestrial plan compared to the vertical axis symbolized by the sword.

Before climbing an indefinite number of states alongside the vertical axis joining Earth to Heaven, the being has firstly to be centred within his current state. Then, he will move from the outskirts of the terrestrial plan to the intersection with the vertical axis. From there, he will be able to gaze at all state centres on the vertical before integrating them one after the other or at once. At that point, he will be ready to follow in Buddha's footsteps.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symbols of Sacred Science”, Sophia Perennis Publisher 2004;
  • More specifically, chapters 26 on “Symbolic weapons” and 27 titled “Sayful-Islam”.

1 back In fact, the weapon held by the lion is not a (two-edged) sword, but a (single-edged) sabre. Nevertheless, in the whole text, we will refer to the richer sword symbolism as most traditions do.

2 back The prince Siddhartha was born to a noble family of the Shakya Clan.

3 back When King Solomon died, Palestine was divided into two Kingdoms: Judah and Israel.

Les couleurs du drapeau

Les deux pans du drapeau sont tout alentour bordés de jaune, la couleur médiane du spectre de l'arc-en-ciel. Le jaune contrebalance les couleurs extrêmes du spectre telles que le rouge et le bleu.

Mélangé au rouge et au bleu, le jaune donne les couleurs plus tempérées, verte et orange, des deux bandes verticales du pan du côté de la hampe. Comme ces couleurs sont supposées représenter les communautés musulmane et hindoue, la présence de jaune dans chacune d'elles rappelle que les différentes traditions ont davantage en commun qu'on ne le reconnaît habituellement.

De même, le dessin jaune du pan du côté du battant tempère la perception du fond rouge foncé.

Le rouge est habituellement considéré comme un symbole de la force vitale avec une intensité et un pouvoir qui dépendent de son caractère clair ou foncé:

  • Clair, le rouge est diurne, masculin, révélé à tous et inondant toute chose de sa clarté;
  • Foncé, le rouge est nocturne, féminin, mystérieux et tapis dans l'ombre.

Le rouge foncé est la couleur de la connaissance cachée, du secret bien gardé au fond des choses et que seule l'initiation aux mystères est susceptible de révéler. Le postulant doit successivement mourir à un état actuel et renaître dans un nouveau. Cycle après cycle, il progresse le long ou autour de l'axe vertical représenté par une épée 1 tenue verticalement par un lion. La couleur jaune du lion, de l'épée et des quatre feuilles de figuier est en rapport avec l'influence spirituelle transmise par le Soleil.

Le lion, l'épée et les feuilles

Le lion

Le symbolisme du lion peut se rencontrer dans beaucoup de traditions, particulièrement celles auxquelles se réfère le drapeau du Sri Lanka:

  • Drapeau de l'État Iranien avant 1979Le Bouddha est “le Lion des Shakyas” 2;
  • La Bhagavad-Gitâ appelle Krishna “un Lion parmi les sauvages”;
  • Le Christ est connu comme “le Lion de Royaume de Juda” 3;
  • Ali, le gendre de Mohammed, est honoré par les chiites comme “le Lion d'Allah”. Il était représenté sur l'ancien drapeau de l'État Iranien par un lion tenant une épée devant le soleil levant.

Le lion représente l'ombre physique ou terrestre du Soleil spirituel ou céleste comme en témoigne sa crinière. En tant qu'ombre terrestre du Soleil céleste, il cache le secret de la divinité qui enveloppe les mystères dans les profondeurs de l'obscurité. La posture droite et ferme du lion montre qu'il tient le regard du commun éloigné de l'accès au secret.

L'épée

L'épée est un symbole de guerre. La guerre extérieure, entreprise pour restaurer l'ordre, est similaire au combat intérieur contre nos propres ennemis, nos propres démons (du grec “diabolos”, qui signifie désunir, séparer, diviser) opposés à l'ordre et à l'unité. Les guerres extérieure ou intérieure s'efforcent toujours de rétablir l'équilibre, l'harmonie et l'unité entre les contraires. Dans les diverses traditions, la guerre extérieure est considérée comme un symbole de la lutte intérieure et il en est de même des armes.

L'épée, qui fend et étincelle, représente la foudre qui aveugle les ennemis. Elle est aussi assimilée à l'éclair sous la forme de l'épée flamboyante. Comme le feu, l'épée flamboyante figure le combat pour atteindre la connaissance et détruire l'ignorance. Symbole de la génération et de la destruction, de la vie et de la mort, de la lumière et de l'obscurité, elle peut être assimilée au rayon de Soleil, à “l'Axe du Monde”, au canal de communication directe entre la Terre et le Ciel représenté souvent par un arbre.

Les quatre feuilles de figuier

L'arbre de la bodhi sur le relief d'un stupaEn Asie orientale, le figuier tient un rôle extrêmement important dans les différentes traditions. L'arbre de la bodhi au pied duquel Gautama trouva l'illumination, sous lequel le Bouddha préférait s'asseoir quand il enseignait à ses disciples, était un figuier.

Avec ses racines s'enfonçant dans la terre et ses branches supérieures tendues vers les cieux, l'arbre est universellement considéré comme un symbole de “l'Axe du Monde” et du développement cyclique par la succession des morts et renaissances. Cela est particulièrement vrai pour les arbres caducs qui perdent leurs feuilles et se couvrent d'un nouveau feuillage chaque année.

Au-delà de la référence aux courants religieux du pays, les quatre feuilles dessinées sur le pan du côté du battant sont reliées aux points cardinaux et dépeignent le plan terrestre par rapport à l'axe vertical symbolisé par l'épée.

Avant de gravir un nombre indéfini d'états le long de l'axe vertical joignant la Terre au Ciel, l'être doit tout d'abord être centré dans son état actuel. Alors, il se déplacera de la périphérie du plan terrestre vers son intersection avec l'axe vertical. De là, il pourra apercevoir tous les centres des états de la verticale avant de les intégrer l'un après l'autre ou d'un seul coup. Parvenu à ce point, il sera prêt à suivre les traces du Bouddha.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symboles de la Science sacrée”. Éditions Gallimard 1962;
  • Plus particulièrement, les chapitres XXVI sur “Les armes symboliques” et XXVII intitulé “Sayful-Islam”.

1 retour En fait, l'arme tenue par le lion n'est pas une épée (à deux tranchants), mais un sabre (à un seul tranchant). Néanmoins, nous nous référerons dans l'ensemble du texte au symbolisme plus riche de l'épée comme le font plupart des traditions.

2 retour Le prince Siddhartha est né dans une famille noble du Clan des Shakyas.

3 retour Quand le Roi Salomon mourut, la Palestine fut divisée en deux Royaumes: Juda et Israël.