LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag of Sri Lanka

(Summary)

Flag of Sri Lanka

A unifier flag

The flag design has evolved since the country (previously called Ceylon and in bygone days Serendip) gained independence from Britain in 1948. After the independence, the Lion Flag replaced the Union Jack and became the national flag of Ceylon. It represented a yellow lion holding a sword on a reddish background, bordered yellow, and four “spearheads” at the four corners. Then, the flag was subjected to several modifications, notably the substitution of leaves of a fig tree to the “spearheads”. It was adopted in its present drawing in 1972, when the country took the name of Sri Lanka, and officially approved in 1978.

The flag is based on two rectangular panels bordered with yellow. The panel next to the fly contains a yellow pattern with a lion holding a sword upright in his right fore paw and four leaves of a fig tree on a reddish background. The panel next to the hoist is made up of two vertical green and orange bands.

There is no doubt that the final flag project intended to reflect the population of Sri Lanka in its totality, which is composed of Buddhists in its great majority, Hindus, Muslims and Christians:

  • Firstly, yellow, the medium colour of the rainbow spectrum, tempers the perception of the other colours. It emphasizes the common features rather than the differences.
  • Secondly, the four leaves in the corners refer to the four spiritual or religious branches within the country gathered around the a single Axis symbolized by the Tree. The Bodhi Tree for Buddhists, the Banian for Hindous, the Universal Tree for Muslins and the Tree of Life for Christians. As for the lion holding a sword, it takes on symbolic meanings common to diverse traditions.

The Lion flag is at once civil, state and merchant flag of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka. It highlights the fact that banners are, principally, gathering emblems.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau du Sri Lanka

(Résumé)

Drapeau du Sri Lanka

Un drapeau rassembleur

La conception du drapeau a évolué depuis que le pays (appelé auparavant Ceylan et autrefois Sérendip) a gagné son indépendance vis-à-vis de la Grande-Bretagne en 1948. Après l'indépendance, le drapeau du Lion remplaça l'Union Jack et devint le drapeau national de Ceylan. Il représentait un lion jaune tenant une épée sur un fond rougeâtre, bordé de jaune, et quatre “fers de lance” aux quatre coins. Le drapeau subit plusieurs modifications, notamment la substitution de feuilles de figuier aux “fers de lance”. Il fut adopté sous sa forme actuelle en 1972, lorsque le pays prit le nom de Sri Lanka, et officiellement approuvé en 1978.

Le drapeau se présente sous la forme de deux pans rectangulaires bordés de jaune tout autour. Le pan du côté du battant contient un motif jaune fait d'un lion tenant verticalement une épée dans sa patte avant droite et de quatre feuilles de figuier sur un fond rougeâtre. Le pan du côté de la hampe est formé de deux bandes verticales verte et orange.

Il ne fait aucun doute que le projet final de drapeau entendait refléter la population du Sri Lanka dans son ensemble qui est composée de bouddhistes dans sa grande majorité, d'hindous, de musulmans et de chrétiens:

  • Premièrement, le jaune, couleur médiane du spectre de l'arc-en-ciel, temporise la perception des autres couleurs. Il souligne les caractéristiques communes plutôt que les différences.
  • Deuxièmement, les quatre feuilles situées dans les coins font référence aux quatre branches spirituelles ou religieuses du pays rassemblées autour d'un même Axe vertical symbolisé par l'Arbre. L'Arbre de la Bodhi pour les bouddhistes, le Banian pour les hindous, l'Arbre Universel pour les musulmans et l'Arbre de Vie pour les chrétiens. Quant au lion tenant une épée, il revêt des significations symboliques communes à diverses traditions.

Le drapeau du Lion est à la fois drapeau civil, drapeau d'État et pavillon marchand de la République démocratique socialiste du Sri Lanka. Il souligne le fait que les bannières sont, principalement, des emblèmes de rassemblement.

Page détaillée

Haut